Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of As Hotel Dei Giovi 4 stars

Via Manzoni 99, 20811 Cesano Maderno, Italy

#5 of 6 hotels in Cesano Maderno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 807 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked family room. When we arrived there we discovered that the rooms are nothing as its shown on the pictures. First of all the hotel is actually MOTEL which is used most probably for NIGHT ADVENTURES. The rooms smelled like cigarettes and alcohol and covered all over with some lights like you are in striptease club. Imagine our surprise when we arrived with our baby-only 10 months old.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The douvets didn't have a case, there were bedsheets instead. I'm not sure it looks very good. It's just a detail.

    I was very surprised by the room. For the price, I expected something quite below. Very positively surprised. Very nice, large, comfortable and highstanding room. It was also very quiet. Nice and assorted breakfast. Parking on premises. Friendly people at the reception. It is just next to the higway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Breakfast is very basic - Expected a better breakfast at 4 star hotel

    - Great staff - facilities in the room are excellent - clean and spacious rooms - Excellent value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of noise next to the room by the room service staff was unbelievable, I was unable to rest. The pillows were very hard and work up sore and sick from them. Never coming back and won’t recommend it to others

    Storage

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - all rooms from this hotel are smokers room !!! - the smell , at least for nonsmokers , is horrible. I asked for another room and the answer was : let's try to find out a room which is not smelling so much ! - the rooms are full of mirrors...everywhere ! Definitely not my style - next day I left ...

    - rooms with nice furniture, pretty clean and good bed ! Unfortunately ... a lot of mirrors around.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Concerning breakfast, a couple of crucial items could have been of better quality, e.g. the orange juice and the bread. The location is not particularly attractive.

    A luxury hotel! We had a suite: our children slept in the "living room", we slept in a separate bedroom. There was a whirlpool in our bathroom. There was a big breakfast buffet with lots of choice, exceptional for Italy. The hotel is at some distance from Milan, for us it was perfect for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the breakfast room. The temperature in this room was Too cold. Needed to wear a jacket. Breakfast was just adequate. The hot food I.e eggs and bacon was cold.

    We liked the location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were very hard and had a plastic underlay. Shower was clean and functional, but poorly sealed and leaked onto the floor. The mat was too small to mop it up. There were three pillows (one a spare, all the same type) for two people. The main problem was that the room was way too hot - 27C on arrival. Reception controls the thermostat but could not get the temperature under 24C. Opening the exterior door in winter helped for a while, but it was too noisy to leave open while we slept, due to the adjacent motorway. Fix this, and we would consider staying again.

    Clean and safe, modern hotel. Parking is handy. Straight onto the autostrada. Free breakfast (though we didn't eat it). Restaurant looks good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service finished a little early.

    The restaurant is excellent. On this occasion we had Black Angus steaks cooked exactly as we requested. The wine list is good. The staff offer unobtrusive service and are attentive to the guests.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the hotel is not close to public transport, so you really need a car to get around. The hotel does offer a shuttle service on its website, but over the Xmas period this wasn't always available which means a 1/2 hour walk to the nearest station in Ceserno Maderno. It would be helpful if the shuttle isn't available that it was clearly advertised. The breakfast food (eggs and bacon) was not warm and the toaster was inadequate for a hotel of this size (only 2 slots and took ages to toast the bread) plus the bread was not fresh. For such a nice room its hard to imaging that there is no toothbrush holder or no kettle to make yourself a drink, otherwise the rooms are very nice and the staff are friendly.

    Standard of the hotel is generally good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor of our room was bordello-like with mirrors on all the walls and the ceiling and a color-changing light show. They seriously need to dial it back or save that particular room décor for the people who request it. We ignored it; the bed was comfortable. This hotel is not walking distance to any other dining options outside of the hotel's restaurant. Good to know if you don't have a car or are a finicky diner.

    The chef for the restaurant is phenomenal - the food was wonderful. Breakfast provided with the room is generous and has multiple selections. Dinners were a gourmet delight. The seared tuna was incredible. Overall service is first rate at the hotel. Everyone was polite, helpful, and professional. The rooms and the common areas were sparkling clean with lots of light. The restaurant and lobby were beautifully decorated. For aperitivo, the hotel provided gratis snacks with drinks purchased from the bar. Reasonably priced considering the race in Monza was the weekend we stayed. The shuttle service the hotel provided was perfect for ticket holders and fairly priced. Free covered parking is good for those who drive in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No outside space at all to sit out. Beds were hard. Although the hotel was easy to find, the surroundings weren't special - no where to walk to.

    Friendly helpful staff. Good food. Comfortable room. The shuttle bus to the GP was excellent, but no one told us to book it early so that we had good times for the Grand Prix, which meant that we had 3 hours to kill affer the GP on Sunday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The uncomfortable bed. The fact it was 2 single beds pushed together with one double cover sheet on mattress that didn't fit so I slept half on a bare mattress. Awful breakfast. Rude brunette breakfast lady shouting at us in Italian when we were 'late' for breakfast even though we were told it was on until 10.30! Left hungry and annoyed. Wifi took 2 days to work. (We kept getting told it was our phones but it was in fact an issue at their side) Our room key card stopped working on day 2, was reset and still didn't work so had to get an actual key No apology from any staff for any of the issues we had. Cheap makeover to rooms, elevators are very old and so slow. Would NEVER stay here or recommend this 'hotel' to anyone. Says its 4 star, more like 2 star at best!

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit firm and the pillows were flat. Seems to be the standard for Italy, however. Not walking distance to any other restaurants.

    The STAFF here is exceptional. They are wonderful, friendly people who provided gracious service. The restaurant has an incredible chef who serves gourmet cuisine. The seared tuna with orange sauce was phenomenal, as was the tiramisu. Morning breakfast was substantial, had a nice variety, and was satisfying. The entire property (rooms/common areas/restaurant) was spotlessly clean. Shuttles the hotel contracted for the F1 race at Monza ran on time. Free parking for those with a car! I would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent rooms and breakfast staff amazing nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    a little too much rumors

    Location clean and personal very friendly and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal for going to Fiera Milano

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its away from city centre.

    rooms are very romantic,parking in front of your room, friendly reception staff, shopping centre nearby,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean and comfortable room. The stuff were great! Breakfast excellent! The bed is very good, the bathroom big and very clean! Thanks for all!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff offered me free upgrade to suite from double with extra bed. I traveled with two children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pleasant bed, big space in shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nop

    Room facilities..room clean..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size.

    Place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    the athmosfer of the crew

    confortable room & bed room facilities very good,rich breakfest

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was not good.

    24h reception service

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet conection.

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For me bed was to hard. But somebody like it.

    Room service was very kind !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kind and willing staff, big parking, rich breakfeast. Thank you for pleasant stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel , very clean great facilities and staff were amazing

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Scrambled egg at breakfast was cold

    Motel room was excellent, room service very good. Transport to & from Monza was excellent on race weekend

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi not available without giving out email or social network details

    clean, quiet & friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little remote if you don't have a car.

    Friendly staff, good rooms, great breakfast. Handy location for Monza circuit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room-Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    If they had swimpool!

    All perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, comfortable beds. Good location traveling through Milan. Huge and extremely tasty breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the mood purple lighting very dark and not keen on the mirror on ceiling. Didn't realise that this hotel offered other facilities ie cameras in rooms etc

    The first hotel motel that has a car parking space for each room on each level. We were on level 2 so drove up ramp to that level and there was car park

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a room for 2 nights in the hotel side (because there is also a motel side) and the room was renewed, very clean, big and quite. The hotel looks like is going through renewal changes, so for reaching the room we had to go first on -1 floor and then take another lift for the 2nd floor. The breakfast had enough variety to accommodate different needs, include salads. The location is just at the exit of the main road, very convenient if you have the need to stay in that area (i.e Lentate, Meda etc). It also has a quite big car parking.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We were not accommodated at the HOTEL we´ve booked, but at a MOTEL. While booking, we were not reminded of the possibility of switching type of facility. Mirrors everywhere, lights, free porn channels, wondering whether it wasn´t a “wrong” hotel type.

    Staff very friendly, clean rooms, parking right outside room.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was pretty small, but ok if you do not need to spend time there. The breakfast was quite poor (the choice was limited, and some items - especially the fruit - were old and in bad conditions). The temperature in the room was 25.5°C, and after 4 hours with an open window it raised to 26.7°C. I asked the staff, and they set a lower temperature for my room, but it did not work (there was a thermostat in the room, too, but completely ignored my settings). The problem is that there is no air-conditioning in winter time, and the only way of cooling the room was by opening the windows. The high temperature and the very dry air made it difficult to sleep at times.

    The main road to Milan is just a couple hundred meters from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was perfect for the family. Staff were helpful. Lady at the reseption gave hot milk Even when the bar closed. Parking free, location perfect easy access to milano and como. Breakfast was excellent i can say best so far in Italy 3-4 stars hotels.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    As we arrived left the hotel straight away as we had lots of things to do and returned back at around one o'clock in the morning. Prepared to sleep but the lights could not be switched off and so I went down to the reception and he said that he will fix the problem and I returned to my room. To my surprise there was no lights but not even if I wanted to use the bathroom, so I phoned the reception and the answer was that is all he can do or else he can change the room for us and at first I agreed but then when I told my wife she said that is already two o'clock and we had not enough time to sleep imagine changing rooms and shifting all our goods! So I had to refuse and do the job myself. So I managed to take the bulbs that couldn't be switched off and so we slept. This situation was handled in a poor way by the receptionist and made me angry.

    The location, the fact that I was given the room at miday, parking and breakfast.This is the second visit to this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mirrors everywhere in the room - even on the ceiling. And UV lights and free porn channels made me wonder if we'd checked into the wrong hotel! Wi-fi weak. Badly bitten by mosquitoes outside room.

    Parking right outside room. Large comfy room and large bed. Restaurant very good - lucky as there is nothing nearby. Coach arranged by hotel to get to Monza for the Italian GP.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Requested a baby bed, was not availlible, took them 2,5 hours to put it in the room. Child could go to sleep at 22:30h.... We wanted to eat when we arrived at 20:30 but were ignored by the waiter. We left! And eat somwere else. Room didn't look like pictures. Room was like a porn movie, big jaccuzi and mirrors everywhere....plus red lights from every corner. Would not stay here soon...

    Parkingspace infront of room (motel) Staff al checkin was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    It was difficult in the morning to reach the freeway. Italien cuisine must have been represented at breakfast

    Near the road. Friendly staff. Good sleep. Very calm

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows where not comfortable - WIFI connection was very very poor and the room was a smoker room which I have indicated I am a none smoker

    The location and the parking was in front of my room as I have reserved it

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we were sent to was actually in the near and lower standard facilty "Motel dei Giovi". This was not detailed at reservation. Big mirror on the ceiling, blue tinted lights, you get the picture. Some may not like this.

    close to highway, open at all hours

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff....we were kept waiting at check in while the receptionist chatted casually and were then asked to leave our passports with him overnight. We politely refused, he grudgingly agreed to do the registration within half an hour, put our passports on a shelf and left reception unattended for 10-15 minutes, not impressed at this as the passports were in easy reach of anyone going up to the reception desk!! We had to remind him to register our details, he asked for another 10 minutes, we asked him to do it straight away (it was 10pm and we'd travelled for for 7 hours with 3 kids) he promptly got on with it and completely the task in 2 minutes!!! Very unprofessional service and to leave guests passports so open to theft is unacceptable.

    Modern, contemporary rooms with luxury shower room, air con and sound proof rooms for an undisturbed sleep.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I' book a room with twin bads, when i arrived they want to charge extra fot twin bads. Shower doesent work ( at 4 stars hotel ) , all room need to be renovate

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Can't say this was a bad experience and had to laugh about it afterward. I had booked a room for 1 person and took the economy room. was surprised when they told me my room was in the motel, not bad either as it is easy to unload the car. However when I switched on the light the whole room was pink and had mirrors all over. when I decided that was not for me and wanted to switch off the light I pushed the wrong button and got the normal light, the room looked to me a lot better and it was very clean so I stayed..... for 4 nights and not for 4 hours!!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ordered non-smoking room, but received smoking room what smell bad. Room looks as lately renovated, but obviously not well made as some sockets and switches are already not properly fixed in to wall and very large piece of wallpapers was also come loose. Furniture also already need some small fixing. Room was not very clean.

    Very close to highway Spacious room and bathroom Big bed

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After booking online via Booking.com 3 months ahead (!) we arrived to the hotel only to find out that our booking was made for the Motel (this hotel is half hotel half motel) and to upgrade to the hotel will cost 10 euros per night (70 euors total). But when I made the booking there was no mentioning (until now) on Booking.com that it is a motel room (we came with no car!). If I wanted a Motel room I would have booked one. Obviously the hotel and booking.com didn't help and we had to pay these surprize 70 euros. I will never use this hotel or booking.com again... By the way, the restaurant was closed allmost my entire stay and that should also be written on your web page, specially when a hotel like this is out of nowhere...

    Clean, renovated rooms

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    a bit old facility

    the room style no noise good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The coffee from the machine

    Good clean room

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hotel just took 5 Eur per Room from my card inspite I had free cancelation! Not acceptable!

    Breakfast ok

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is far from any city center.

    Staff was very friendly, breakfast was rich.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    NOTHING TO REPORT IN PARTICOULAR

    AAA +++ VERY GOOD INDEED

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    no porter Noisy all the time Elevator is not working well The building is very old Far from milan

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Usual breakfast everyday

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When we had arrived, the restaurant was closed.So we had to go out and spending too much time in order to find a restaurant.

    The room was good.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very far from reception area and wifi was terrible

    Jakuzi

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would recommend due to location for the Monza race track

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice renewed hotel

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    toilet leeking &shower not working properly

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was lovely, clean, and staff were lovely

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The area is not beautiful.

    Hotel is nice, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Air conditioning was broken!!

    Nice Room, nice staff, good location close to highway, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All, stay away from!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The service, the attitude.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Would stay here again.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse As Hotel Dei Giovi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: