Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel dei Consoli 4 stars

Via Varrone 2/D, Vatican City - Prati, 00193 Rome, Italy

#776 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Directions around Vatican City were not very clear...I found the maps not very helpful ... need better definition of streets and way points...

    The room was adequate and staff were very accommodating ....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi in my room was poor at best. When it worked it was slow, very slow, more often than not I was unable to connect.

    There was a very good selection for breakfast. Since my last visit to this hotel I was happy to see that they got a new coffee machine - much better coffee from an American perspective.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, there was a noise coming from walls and we asked to change rooms but we had to pay the diffrence in room rate to change which is not at all professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop terrace was closed on the Monday night. Very disappointing.

    The rooftop terrace was as usual a beautiful place to have a bottle of wine at 6.00pm. The location near to the Vatican, shops and restaurants is fantastic. Recommend the junior suite. We've stayed in it several times. It's reasonably priced roomy and quiet, often difficult to find in Roma.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was good but often the eggs were cold due to perhaps not getting upstairs to the roof terrace first thing. Other than that, it is a buffet style breakfast perfect to set you up for a day of walking and site seeing.

    Hotel was a bit tired in decor etc but in a prefect location for us. Walking distance to the main routes to Basilica, buses, etc. Concierge was very helpful and explained a map before we went exploring on the first day. bed was roomy and comfortable and it was very quiet and peaceful (considering the location). The restaurant across the road which could be seen form our room, highly recommend. It is run by a family of 3 and the food was delicious and the service send to non. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stayed at this hotel 10 years ago,not as good now,has it changed hands in that time?roof resteraunt and bar excellant addition,but beds extremely uncomfortable,far too firm,staff barely spoke english or none at all making comunication difficult or in some cases impossible,sure it was not like that last time,bed linen was not of the same standard either,unfortunately I would have to remove this hotel from my list of hotels to recomend,its not as though its bargain basement price,get away with it because of its proximity to st peters basilica.on the same trip we stayed at san georgio hotel civitavechia also 4 star for almost half the price,in reality a far better hotel,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Around the corner from nice bars, cosy restaurants and the Vatican entrance! Junior suite didn't have a good view but it was a good size with a sofa and table and the staff were friendly. Good variety for the buffet breakfast, served up on the roof terrace which was really nice in the mornings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help with bags on arrival. Man sat at reception while I hauled suitcases up stairs to elevator with my young grandson. No complimentry water in room.

    Roof terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small. Reception is just a small desk before access to the staircase. Nothing qualifies the place as a 4-star hotel. Just a 'boutique' B&B.

    Staff is helpful. Nice terrace on the roof.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our party dropped his room key on the carpeted floor and the fancy designed key ring attached broke. The hotel management immediate and sustained response to this was 15 euro charge. We pointed out that 15 e was high charge plus it was an accident, previously glued and fell on carpet. At no time did the management take a customer friendly compromise approach, resulting in us paying the correct bill without the 15 e extra and leaving this hotel in a management imposed sour atmosphere. Very disappointing, obviously we wouldn't return to this hotel or recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No baby chair in the breakfast room. Airconditioner was not working properly. Wifi didn't work at times. Breakfast was not 4 star. Actually, the hotel was not 4 star in our experience, more like a 3 star.

    Upstairs terrace was pretty. Staff were friendly and always willing to help.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities

    A basic hotel within a quiet area and an easy location for the Vatican and Metro. Rooms would benefit from coffee/tea making facilities and a guide to TV channels would be helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 rooms for single use with double beds. Despite a print out showing this the hotel claimed booking.com had only sent information regarding single beds. Booking.com never replied so We met in the middle and got one double and one single (had no other choice). The hotel was quite smelly and given my hotel room flooded while having a shower, I'm not surprised (the shower basin had a very bad leak and the run off for water was towards the room). The dirt that came off the carpet onto the drying towels was horrible. The best part there was no room to change to so I got stuck with a swampy carpet. I thought it couldn't get any worse but when trying to relax in the room I found out the TV didn't work (maintenance issue) and when I tried to go for a drink at the advertised rooftop terrace bar I was told that was also closed for maintenance.

    Close to Vatican

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No 4star hotel experience! The room was tiny! No WIFI connection at arrival, due to a fault with the WIFI router. House keeping was inadequate, no fresh towels on the second day. Most television stations did not work and the minibar was almost empty. Filed a complaint with Booking.com. No response whatsoever after 48 hours. Would I book this hotel again, or recommend it? No! Would I make another booking with Booking.com? No!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lounge area, so you have to go to your room if you want a rest during the day, our room was quite small but enough for our short stay. . There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Great location for Vatican City, which can be reached within 5 mins. We also walked further afield to the Pantheon, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Centro Storico and the Metro is close for all the other sights!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read upstairs.

    Nothing, was very small for a Deluxe suite they changed now after my complain.I Let they know about the very small place they told me to wait untill the morning,VERY very Cold Room the insolation is none. The hallway on the evening very loud with people taking.I Tlod the owner that heat was very important because I travel with my mother 85 years old I am 60. I told them that I was unhappy there and the response was sorry bye.I Said I want my money back which they had charged the whole amount as I step on the place. O do not like this and hope your company will be more careful which hotel you work with.They are private and even charge me in cash$6.00 Euro p/p per day I know you paid this however, Frist time they want in cash and they are just 2 star hotel in my opinion, I change went to Best Western Spring house hotel what a world of difference and less money ,bigger room, great restaurant, service and people they said my opinion about Rome Hotel the Best Western Spring house hotel ofcourse.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man in the reception was rude me and my people felt no comfortable with the way he talk to us.. apart from him everything was great

    Everything was very good!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very basic. Toaster not very good. Bread and croissants were stale. There was no clothing washing facilities or drying room.

    Roof terrace was special. Rooms clean, water supply good and warm. Staff friendly. Happy to print off tickets via e-mail. Well located and we'll kept hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is more a 2+ instead of 4 star hotel. A refresh of the rooms would be welcome, lack of cleanliness in general.

    Perfect locations, lots of nice restaurants and bars in the neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a bit expensive for traveling

    loved the breakfast on rooftop terrace and beautiful view bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more fruit at breakfast. Maybe a fried egg.

    Excellent location. Staff really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    4-star hotel services leave to be desired.

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the friendly staff, room was lovely and delightful fourt floor terrace restaurant overlooking the city. Very convenient to many sites.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and staff were excellent! LOVED the rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Staff very friendly willing to Help us very friendly. It was a great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee or espresso was lacking and our shower door did not close.

    Amazing air con, comfortable bed!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe less oil used for the bacon

    The food was always fresh and the area was clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible. Average selection but cold eggs

    Location Staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was TOO small.

    Location is perfect for visiting Vatican.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bar or restaurant, although a great little Trattoria across the road.

    Location is fabulous - view of St Peter's from the window!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bigger elevator-

    Had an elevator - breakfast was included in a great rooftop setting. 24 hour door opened by management security.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms decor old and tired no lobby or bar

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was basic and hot! food was not.

    Location and very helpful staff, will go back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It is 3star hotel. Not recommended, poor condition.

    Only staff reaction: "this property was not planned to be a hotel. Sorry!"

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location friendly staff. Loved the room. Breakfast simple but satisfying.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise of chairs being moved around on the terrace until 1am. Then hovering starting at 7/8am every morning

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restaurant

    Disappointed that the restaurant and rooftop bar were not available except for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof terrace only open for breakfast despite signs saying differently. No other meals catered for.

    Excellent breakfast choice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in.....nice clean bathrooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything...not a 4 star, myb a 2 star .. room SMALL , TV NOT WORKING, not o clean.. no restaurant or bar.. no good at all

    location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent travel links with metro, 15 minutes walk away. Buses, trams and taxis round the corner. Only seven minutes walk to Vatican so you can beat the queues and get there for 7am - perfect.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    First room bit small and could see out window.

    Location was great. Rooftop breakfast was lovely. Room clean. My 2nd room was much nicer than first. Bigger and with a view.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not a bad experience as much as a small inconvenience(small shower stall)

    Extremely helpful and friendly front desk staff. Great location close to Vatican. Nice bar on the roof. Firm beds. Decent breakfast spread.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One particular staff member had a "take it or leave it" attitude that left us cold at check-in. A simple explanation of which of our 2 rooms was the Superior would have resolved everything, rather than, "Here are the keys." One call to Booking.com and the attitude changed immediately.

    We love this location. So convenient to everything we wanted to do. Breakfast is delicious and staff was so pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The site lists parking as an amenity, however it is not included not is it run by the property. My wife and I had to drive around looking for parking ended up paying more to do so. I choose this hotel only because booking.com had it listed as such. and I paid more for it! Not happy!

    The location was close to Vatican City so that was a plus and it was a good street for food and shopping

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some small problems with electricity (but I must admit I should have pushed with more strength the card to make contact).

    The location and the comfort of the bed.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Couple

    2 people in reception impolite...1 quite rude demanding the room key like i stole it from him, very very rude. and another one that i asked for a clean set of towels(because on the date we arrived one towel had some hair-no big issue but wanted a clean towel), the guy of the late shift did not even bother to hear what i said..100% ignored.

    one name for reception: Fabricio! ask for him to assist you in anything. He speaks perfect english, he is very polite, friendly willing to help you out for anything. Fabricio if you read this, thanks a lot again! the location is very good! right next to vatican city and castel d'angelo. i stayed 6 days, walked all rome and did not need any public transport. also the owner is polite. clean place.the overall feeling i had when i left is that the hotel was fine. i would recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the roof top breakfast. Staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast finished very early

    Location was amazing

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wifi didn't work at all

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not very friendly

    The location.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful. Location perfect

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stairs to the lift made it difficult with luggage.

    Location was great

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower door was broken and I didn't find the room very clean.

    The location and the price

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi bit slow

    Perfect for site seeing

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location was good for sights and restaurants

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: