Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Del Campo 4 stars

Via Lucrezio snc, 75100 Matera, Italy

#23 of 34 hotels in Matera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 264 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    It’s a nice, chain-like hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I returned from dinner, I asked about the pool, for the next morning, because it was obviously too late to use it after I checked in. She replied that the next day I couldn’t use the pool because it was my check out day... I added that I could only use it before check-out, she insisted that it was impossible, because they had to make sure there were not too many people wanting to use the pool at the same time, so only guests who were freshly arrived could use it (!). I’ve never heard such nonsense in my life. I travel to visit places, not to spend my waking hours in the hotel. I book nice hotels to get a good rest and enjoy a pool whenever possible (often in the morning before I go other places). It’s never been a problem before. If it truly is hotel policy, it’s not only stupid, it should also be clearly mentioned in the conditions of the stay before booking. Not only that, but the person was very unapologetic about it. Oh, and when I left in the morning, the surveillance screens behind her showed a very very empty pool / poolside.

    It’s a nice, chain-like hotel. It has some historical features in the garden / pool area that I didn’t get to enjoy due to somewhat unhelpful staff. The person who was at reception was nice at first, telling me about a pizza place not too far where I could get some dinner. Everything was fine thus far.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Good standard a bit outside town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    admission for pool, not too much parking lots for hotel guests

    sophisticatedly english-speaking receptionist giving valuable advice for parking in and visiting Matera

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bath tub with no shower curtains so ended up doing a mess every day... Pool only opens at 10am and closes at 7pm. I didn't have the chance to use it...

    Good value for money. Very good hotel to stay in Matera if you don't need to stay close to the city center. Nice room size, good breakfast and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay with an amazing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was amazing! Thank you.

    Fantastic stay with an amazing hotel. Gardens and swimming pool were a wonderful escape from a beautiful (albeit hot and crowded city - 11 August) and the restaurant was fabulous!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One thing to keep in mind: the towels at the pool are not included in the rate. The hotel would be better include this service instead of inspecting uninformed hotel guests when they are trying to relax at the pool. Rules are important but a hotel should focus on delivering service :-)

    This hotel is a decent hotel at good value (we payed €137 for 3 people) at 10 minutes drive from Matera, close to the highway. Nothing special, nothing fancy but nice to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    6.7
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned room.

    There are few renovated rooms. Bit we slept in the old fashioned one. It definitely needs renovation, since it was done in the seventies. The rest of the hotel looks very nice. Beautiful garden and nice pool area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel and a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, letting us have a kettle put in our room to make our own English tea whenever we liked. The balcony was fantastic and spacious. The parking was easy and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel, beautiful gardens, lovely pool. Unfortunately, The restaurant was not open the evening we stayed, however the breakfast was good. Three km to Sassi by car.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    4.2
    Soulless, dull out of city hotek
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has poor location in the middle of a simple nieghborhood out of matera old town. The hotel is clean but oldfashion. Rooms without color or soul-dull and brown. The night before we stayed for the same price at Matera old city in an amazing hotel. Now- when we entered and saw this hotel we prefered to loose our 170 euro and leave. It was a wise decision.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.2
    Locating outside the old town makes it very easy to access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is not particularly comfortable.

    Locating outside the old town makes it very easy to access with a car. Even it is a pain to drive in town, you still have to take the car there to see all sights. It costs 1 euro per hour to park in town. Hotel room is spacious and clean. Breakfast is good .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    Clean comfortable and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was good but seemed to get turned off during the daytime. The location is out of town so you need a car to access the main town. Not many options for eating close to the hotel other than the hotel restaurant which was limited in range.

    The location was easy to find. Nice and clean. Quite comfortable and good value for money. Onsite parking was good although not secure.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The safe was not working

    Fantastic swimming pool. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spirit of welcoming. Nothing in the fridge of the room was included in the budget. Too expensive compared to the services offered.

    The breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Time of breakfast and wi-fi passwords not offered at check-in

    Nice gardens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.1
    Great staff, near matera, a good choice at a low cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.4
    La atencion al CLIENTE, salvo alguna agradable excepcion
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La atencion al CLIENTE, salvo alguna agradable excepcion

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Swimming-pool and breakfast very d
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming-pool and breakfast very d good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Easy to find, good location for travel by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find, good location for travel by car.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    10
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Great room spacious spotless,lovely big towels.Crisp fresh bed linen. Good choice for breakfast food.Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    4.2
    The room was comfortable clean but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were not friendly of pleasant, the hotel was a traveller hotel and the breakfast was worse than average

    The room was comfortable clean but noisy

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.6
    East to drive to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Wifi did not reach our room? Not much within walking distance of the hotel.

    East to drive to. Very safe and secure.Easy parking. Great staff. Easy 3 km drive straight to Sassi. Very good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    9.2
    A very nice hotel, lovely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to do with the hotel, but a 5 minute taxi ride to the old town, cost €15

    A very nice hotel, lovely helpful staff. The position is very good, and easy to find if arriving by car.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    3.3
    The garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We checked in and the toilet had leaked all over the bathroom floor floor the Aircon was also being repaired upon our arrival with the left ladder in the room the Aircon stopped in the middle of the night, we phoned them first thing and came and fixed it but it was a long hot night no apologies when we checked out why not tell people there is a problem with the air con or just give them a different room upon checking in? Spoilt the whole trip never again.

    The garden

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful, polite and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very helpful, polite and pleasant. Had large room with balcony, good position. Evening meal delicious and breakfast plentiful and tasty. Good to try different things

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    8.8
    Very clean, modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a distance from Sassi district if you are walking.

    Very clean, modern hotel. Everything you would expect from a 4 star. Supermarket very close. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    5.8
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi limited. Clean but could improve.

    Very comfortable bed. Nice staff. Nice breakfast. Nice restaurant and good service but limited menu.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    Although out of the centre the hotel's location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although out of the centre the hotel's location is excellent for access to the road network to visit the region.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.6
    Amazing breakfast and beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing breakfast and beautiful grounds.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful host, excellent tips, beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only downside having to bus to main centre, 20 minute ride to plaza republica

    Very helpful host, excellent tips, beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful room, lovely gardens with pool, delicious dinner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    n/a

    Beautiful room, lovely gardens with pool, delicious dinner and breakfast served on an outdoor porch overlooking gardens.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.9
    clean, spacious room, nice food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool not open

    clean, spacious room, nice food and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    10
    helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    8.8
    The design and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No comments

    The design and comfort

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    8.3
    good location easy to drive into the city very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location easy to drive into the city very clean and comfortable we had a good stay

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2015

    9.6
    Very good breakfast, competent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good breakfast, competent staff

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: