Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Della Fortezza 3 stars

Piazza Cairoli 5 - Fortezza Orsini, 58010 Sorano, Italy

#3 of 11 hotels in Sorano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 781 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Highlight of our family holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing! Can't believe we only stayed one night, it was the highlight of our trip. The rooms are beautiful with the most incredible views, the staff are extremely nice, and the town and location is simply magical!! We had dinner at their restaurant Fidelma in town, the best pasta ever! The whole experience was unbelievable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous town, fabulous location & excellent service. Feel like a princess in your castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the price I paid on a last minute offer it couldn't have been better.

    Lovely hotel professionally run. So nice to have a breakfast of fresh food instead of a buffet of package & processed food. Spending a night in a castle was an adventure but still easy walking distance to town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    An experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guggenheim meets medieval. Not for me.

    Everything you needed to know was sent via email so communication was great. It's an experience staying in the fortress and a perfectly central place for visiting tufa country. Staff were lovely. Sadly didn't fully live up to what we had hoped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    The best place we ever stay in Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The best place we ever stay in Italy. Everything is perfect! Everything! The best is the view from window of room, also is magic when you live in historical building. Very comfortable room, bed, everything clean and made with soul. Personal - 2 sweet girls. Thanks to this place! We wish to stay there longer but have to on.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Breathtaking location, staying in the hotel was a unique...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately no WiFi in our suite as it was situated away from the main building, this wasn’t an issue for us. We were given a key to main reception so we could access the building should we need WiFi. We unfortunately didn’t enjoy dinner at one of the partner/recommended restaurant La Fidalma. Food wasn’t to our taste and was extremely salty. The staff however were all lovely but unfortunately we left feeling hungry and unsatisfied. We did find other eateries locally within walking distance that we felt were much better. Locanda dell Arco was lovely for lunch. https://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g664984-d1889129-Reviews-Locanda_dell_Arco-Sorano_Province_of_Grosseto_Tuscany.html Final issue we had was that during the day a drone was be my flown up to the bedroom windows of our suite, which was firstly annoying and secondly a violation of our privacy. I mention this because it seems that the drone wasn’t being flown by a random tourist in the courtyard but the man who reappeared in the kitchen the day after and was serving breakfast. We didn’t mention it at the time as I didn’t want the hassle with language barriers of trying to explain my upset. A tourist behaving in this way is understandable but a member of staff, not so much, in my opinion.

    Breathtaking location, staying in the hotel was a unique experience. Rooms were decorated to a high standard, in an individual style which was in keeping with the building with slight contemporary colour schemes. Spacious and bright. Plenty of bedding and towels. Amazing views from the windows and balcony. Breakfast was held in a the dining area of main building. Everything was fresh and service was given to a high standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Incredible views & standard rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly outdated, the road leading to the hotel is only for braver drivers, parking is 5 mins away but with steps so bringing luggage from the car is a little bit of pain.

    Breakfast was good, staff was extremely nice and helpful with any information needed. The views from the hotel was incredible! Sorano itself is a small hidden gem without any tourists, absolutely a must visit!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    The Staff were all so helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs. We did not realize how tired we would be after sightseeing all day!

    The Staff were all so helpful! Staying in the Fortress was amazing. The breakfast selection was very good. Wi fi was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    10 our of 10 for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Zero.

    Amazing location, we were provided with the tower room and it felt like we were particularly spoiled. Amazing location, excellent value for money and wonderful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing except the hallway to the rooms was very chilly - but hey, it's a fortress! The room itself was just fine as far as temperature.

    Loved the location and our room overlooked the village down below. We spent every evening enjoying a glass of wine on the common patio. Easy to walk to the village and so much to see and do nearby. Great staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    unique accommodation, super friendly staff, very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    reaching the hotel with car to drop off luggage can be a bit challenging, especially with a big car as it is quite a climb... (after dropping off luggage you then need to move car to permanent (free) parking, which the hotel provides). you do not have full control of heating in room (i.e. the radiators are sometimes switched off centrally)

    beautiful location - I think most visitors to the region stay in Pitigliano which is the largest of the 3 villages, but we felt lucky staying in tiny Sorano (just a short drive away) very nice staff comfortable rooms and beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay in a magical place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The castle hotel was wonderful! The room had an amazing view! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good. The resturant in town was fabulous! The location was great, in such an interesting area. We will come back for sure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    We liked everything;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything; the place itself, the kind, gentle and professional people at the location, delicious, high end food of local origin, the feeling of being special and very welcomed guests.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    a night to remember
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it is a fort you have to walk stairs to your room:)

    It was truly an amazing experience to stay in a fort. The room had an amazing view . It was a last minute booking for only 59 euro including breakfast. It was worth every penny! Look at the pictures.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were a bit hard.

    Lovely apartment, very centrally located. The room we stayed in was really spacious with all facilities needed, including an equipped kitchen and comfy sofa. The price-quality ratio is really good! Free parking was also a big advantage.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful hotel in the heart of a lovely medieval town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an 11th century building part of which has been carefully modified-however as an older person with balance issues I found the stairs rather difficult to deal with.

    Beautiful room, great staff (that spoke very good English), incredible view, wonderful breakfast all in one of the most beautiful old villages that I have ever been in. I travel a great deal but I have never given any place a 10 before but this place deserves it! We could only stay one night but have already made plans to come back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    This was a chance to stay in an interesting and historic building..We would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was remote almost hostile. Many stone stairs to reach doorway, which has a dangerous frame, that creates a trip hazard.. Was told that safe parking was available, but in reality, it was a public parking lot a block away .. No internet in room. Had to go to office area to connect to internet...

    Oh the beautiful view from the room's window over the rooftops of the town and to the ridges and valleys beyond. The room was adequate. The bath was clean.. Did I mention the view at sunset? Or at dawn?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.2
    Real ancient fortress by the price of standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was one of the most particular hotel in all our trips! Stay in the real fortress is very interesting, colourful and mysterious. There were some disadvantages, but in general it’s a wonderful highly recommended hotel! - The breakfast wasn’t various, salty part and hot drinks are provided on request and then you should wait for it, meanwhile sweet dishes (cakes, muesli, bread, butter, jams, milk, juices and fruits) are unlimited and served in the dining room. - Our double room had one bed but two mattresses (very uncomfortable for romantic trip), and in the evening there was no enough light. - There were some problems in the bathroom: no towel hooks, switching upper/lower shower and water discharge didn’t work well, but the last is because of ancient fortress. - Wi-Fi in the hotel is very uncomfortable - only in the reception area, but we had a room in the another part of fortress and we had to go through the courtyard, not very comfortable in the night or cold weather. - Reception is open only till 8 PM, so if you arrive later you will make check-in by yourself with the instruction sent by SMS. - Soap and shower gel were given not every day. Not defects, but pay attention: - There are two schedule for the breakfast (8:00-9:00 and 9:00-10:00), but if you don’t like yours it can be changed. - Most of the rooms are on the first and second floor (without elevator), so it can be a problem for some guests.

    + The real ancient castle with the interiors in the same style! + I have written at the hotel in advance and asked for the biggest room cause I know that Standard rooms are not very spacious, and as we have stayed for 4 nights during our romantic trip we wanted to have more comfort. And we have got the best Standard room! + Our room was clean and comfortable, with TV, fridge and hairdryer. There was no air-conditioner, but we didn’t need it (in the beginning of September) cause on the fortress hill it’s always a little bit colder than in the town. There was also heater, but we didn’t use it. + We had an ancient-style room with the modern bathroom: so we stayed in the old fortress with the modern comfort! + Bathroom was very light and spacious. + Our room had a fantastic panoramic view to the old Sorano. + There were delicious local cheese and ham on the breakfast. + The reception was very polite and helpful and there were many free maps. + There are many relax places in the hotel: cosy ancient-style living rooms and some tables in the charming courtyard of the fortress. + Old Sorano is within a few steps from the hotel, literally under our windows. + There is a large free parking in 2 minutes from the hotel, but you can also arrive directly to the fortress for leaving the luggage. + All guest of the hotel have a discount on the visit of dungeons of the fortress and some other places of interest in area Sorano-Sovana-Pitigliano. + Near the hotel there is a delicious and not expensive restaurant Fidalma - highly recommended! + And for all this pleasure we have paid only 55 euro per night – very-very good price!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff is very kind, super view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room even for two, no air conditioning, no possibility to park the car close to the hotel, it's good when you don't have the baggage with you, no lift .

    The staff is very kind, super view from the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    The girls at the reception were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Wi-Fi in the room! The awful smell of the painted shelves next to the bed. It was rather gloomy in the room.

    The girls at the reception were lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    This is an excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is an excellent hotel! It is actually in the castle. Great room. We sad in the castles courtyard where we were served wine and cheese. We wanted to leave early and were provided with juice and cakes and fruit for breakfast the evening before. We could not have asked for more. We could park our bicycles inside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    10 days of bliss at Hotel Della Fortezza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing.

    We spent a wonderful 10 day holiday at Hotel Della Fortezza in the middle of June. We really enjoyed the location and the tranquility of the place. The view from the hotel was incredible looking down the pretty village roofs, the clock tower and the green hills beyond the village. The only sounds we hear were church bells and the chirping of swifts flying over the sky. Cristiano and his staff offered friendly service and they were very accommodating to our requests. Even though the hotel doesn't have a restaurant (there is an option to have wine and the local cheese and hams for £15 on request), there are lovely local restaurants nearby offering good quality and reasonably priced food and wine. During our stay, Cristiano was setting up a bar using the space which used to be a kitchen of the fortress and it will offer the choice of good quality local wine and food he sourced from local vineyard and farms. Unfortunately it wasn't ready during our stay but that gave us a reason to go back there again in near future. We were very impressed with Cristiano's passion and his effort to strive better for the future of hotel. The hotel is successful already but it will be even better in future, I'm sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    Exploring the Etruscan trails
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a superior room and got an upgrade that we experienced as a downgrade: a dark room without the promised view of the village, old bathroom and 2 broken chairs. When we expressed our disappointment, an alternative was offered quickly. The rooms did not look like the pictures at all.

    Friendly staff. Spacious room with new bathroom. Nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    The highlight stay of my trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This 1 night transit stay was the highlight of our trip. The hotel is incredible in every aspect. You probably haven't experienced anything alike. Shout out to the property owner, Cristiano, a man wonder. Go meet him and talk to him. It's worth every moment. One of the most passionate, knowledgeable and customer oriented persons. I arrived later in the evening and parked the car on the street. I had received the best written indications, to get to my room, in my whole travel experience by a member of Cristiano's staff. And believe me, it's a surprise ride up to the rooms. It has been a pleasure to be able to post about this place and definitely would go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    What an experience! You are staying in a real fortress on top of the city, the views from the rooms are spectacular. Super friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was great, home baked goods and fresh treats from the region. Free parking is just an easy walk. We loved our stay, this place is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Medieval feeling with modern touch......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not working at all during our stay. The owner needed to gave me another connection to go online. Parking is not really a problem and is around 5 minutes walk in front of the fortress.

    Hotel staff and owner were very friendly. View from the hotel room is magnificent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice room in a stunning setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi did not work

    Very nice and comfortable room (we booked a double but got upgraded to a suite) with a view over the village. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.2
    Luxury castle with amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with everything

    The room was very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful The breakfasts were beautifully prepared. The views from the room were stunning. Staying in a genuine old castle added a special atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    The most romantic place in whole Tuscany
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is 100 m from hotel but because it is fortress you cannot expect that hundreds years ago they thought about parking next by :)

    Amazing hotel, friendly staff, comfort room with gorgeous view, outstanding service. Homemade cakes for breakfast. We are in love with the hotel and will return!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Staff was amazingly friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a little walk. A little difficult if you are dragging luggage. There is a courtyard between the fortress and the hotel which could be used for parking.

    Staff was amazingly friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was phenomenal and the views spectacular. The discounted tour of the fortress was great too!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Great place with the great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We could not get better place than Hotel della Fortezza to stop at Sorano. Right from the window we had a beautiful view to whole the city. Unusual room just beneath the roof had two floors with stairs. Breakfast is usual but served beautiful. Also some cakes made from domestic products. Personal was friendly, spoke English and helped us to reserve a place for us at restaurant. You can fell that you live at real fortress. Sorano is beautiful and unusual city. You should see it. And Hotel della Fortezza is the great place to explore it!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Elinora from the reception helped us a lot in directing the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is poor. The mattresses are not comfortable.

    Elinora from the reception helped us a lot in directing the area. The shower and the rooms are spacious. The place is simple and charming. Breathtaking view. I highly recommend visiting this ancient place. Hope to come back here in the future.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.3
    Very good option.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs - if you are travelling with toddler and luggage, this might be a troublesome. Parking - it is less than 250 meters from the hotel but pavement are bulky (made of stones) making it difficult with large luggage.

    Cristiano (owner) is very friendly and helpful in every aspects, since your luggage though your breakfast. Dinner indication was perfect, even when most of restaurant were closed (winter time). Learned they will be closed for 2-3 months for a master remodel. Look forward for next visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    10
    The best breakfast you can get in Italy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No WiFi in the room, but it's available in the public areas if needed. Really, who needs WiFi in a medieval fortress?

    The best breakfast you can get in Italy! Atmosphere is great! Splendid view from the window! The sleeping area is separated from the TV. Free parking is not too far from the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful historical residence for a comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing at all to dislike. Moreover, they plan to slightly renovate the hotel to make it even more comfortable for the next season. I am sure they will do a great job while still preserving the authenticity of the place.

    You sleep in a true, old, rugged but well preserved castle, dominating an enchanting small town far away from touristy routes. The region is full of history, with etruscan vestiges as well as Renaissance fortresses and Baroque churches, totally worth the visit. The hosts are friendly and professional. The breakfast is continental and Italian, with home made cakes and fresh produces of the territory. The room was comfortable. We even got un upgrade to the suite, which is at the center of the main tower. An incredibly beautiful experience: great quality for a good price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    So special place! For sure we come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is a bit poor in the room and outside but in such a perticular hotel it is understandable

    We came strait from airport in delay at around 21:00 and they realy tried to catch us by phone, facebook, mail to tell us where they leave us the keys. The hotel is in a wonderful castel that we would visit even without the hotel but when it is our room it is something special!!! All the design respects the castel and this winter they even plan to reareng the hotel even more. The stuff and meneger are wonderful so is the breakfast. The view is teriffic!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    I would live here if I could....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is not fantastic, some of which is to blame on poor reception in the countryside.

    The location is perfect and beautiful. The breakfast was lovely and the staff very helpful. We got upgraded and loved the extra space and views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    9.6
    Great vantage point
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in room. Quite a steep walk to town for some but well worth that effort for views along the way

    Very friendly helpful staff. Views of the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    2.5
    instead of room with style i was given a prison cell with no window
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very misleading photos. on arrival instead of room with style i was given a prison cell with no window. they do have few nice rooms and with their photos cell prison cells. once you have booked on arrival you are trapped and no choice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay with local touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Realy nice owner and staff WHO where super friendly and had a lot of good hints and ideas of what to do and where to eat aside of touristic places. No problem to communicate in English. Great view over the village and valley.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    The hotel is in a wonderful location, the pictures on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a wonderful location, the pictures on the site cannot do it justice. It is set in the fortress on top of the hill in Sorano and it has views on the beautiful hills of Tuscany. The apartment we had was large and comfy. Crisiano, the hotel manager, was a great host and over the top friendly and helpful in making us discover more of this area of Tuscany.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    Very nice but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little bit dusty. Some slices of dried bread in the mini fridge, probably belonging to the previous guest. Breakfast could be improved (cereals should always be available).

    Location, charme, price, view, staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    10
    Great night above the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect location in the fortress, 5 min to walk into the city centre, beautiful city, great view from your room and very nice and patriarchal atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.2
    Amazing position
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been to this hotel many times over the years. It is in the most amazing position with great views from the rooms and Sorano is a beautiful town to visit.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Superb location, breathtaking views, amazingly friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location, breathtaking views, amazingly friendly staff, I am surely coming back with my wife (as this time she was not able to join).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Amazing location with beautifull countryside, wonderfull...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location with beautifull countryside, wonderfull hotel, friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast... We liked everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    very warm in one of the rooms we booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very warm in one of the rooms we booked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds

    Historical place, special hotel, old, fantastic view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Amazing location and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location and wonderful staff. Incredible view from the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location ,warm staff, good view of the town :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room abit small ,but over all great for travelers!

    Great location ,warm staff, good view of the town :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great friendly professional servuce

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous Fortress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous stay in old Fortress, amazing area with beautiful countryside, amazing ancient history, wonderful food .Could return again and again..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay. Highly recommended. We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved the spectacular location, the spacious room, the kindness of the staff, and the delicious breakfast (both sweet and salty).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Unique experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Unique location in a stunning fortress. Beautiful out of time village. We enjoyed every moment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    very relaxed and comfortable even memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very beautiful, cozy hotel with helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Great staff and wonderful people in the hotel make sure that the stay is 7-star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints at all :)

    Amazing breakfast and excellent aperetiv

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything about the place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    V modern bathroom. Cool hostorical building. Nice view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Living In The Medieval Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, and the view from the room is stunning. you're literally living in the medieval castle

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.6
    location all'interno del castello molto suggestiva;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location all'interno del castello molto suggestiva; staff cortese

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Hidden treasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    loved it all

    A rare find, so lovely, so peaceful, unbelievable amazing view. Great walking plus a fortress to call your own

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    location fantastica
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location fantastica

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Best view you'll ever get from a hotel's room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best view you'll ever get from a hotel's room. They're going to renovate this winter so next summmer will be even better

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Colazione un po' povera.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colazione un po' povera.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.1
    Location was amazing, while the hotel itself lacked a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was amazing, while the hotel itself lacked a little character on the inside. The building itself was great - but the original features have been stripped away, and the rooms are quite ordinary. The view from our room was spectacular. Breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    The view over the town is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was the usual Italian hotel breakfast. Not terrible but nothing special. The bathroom, though clean and roomy, could have been improved by having a bigger shower box than the standard smallish one with cheap plexiglass shower doors. There is the space for a bigger one so why not? The toilet seat is due for renewal with the white paint starting to come off and why no extractor fan? Apart from these quibbles the bathroom was fine and the shower pressure good and water hot.

    The view over the town is great. That's what you book this hotel (and pay) for. We had room 16 which is one of the superior rooms and would recommend that you ask for this one. It has two windows and looks directly over the town and the countryside beyond. It was roomy and interestingly shaped with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was big and with a view in the opposite direction. The short walk from the car-park in via San Marco was no problem and with the approach to, and the setting of, the hotel you really know your are in a genuine fortress. There's good eating nearby. A 10 minute drive to the agriturismo Sant'Egle for great organic vegetarian food. Grown by them or sourced locally. There's also a non vegetarian option. Do book though. A 5 minute walk down the hill from the hotel the Fidalma restaurant has good traditional Italian food. Ask at the nearby tourist office about guided tours (in Italian) of the below ground parts of the fortress. Really interesting. Also walk the 'vie cave' and other walks in the area. Some start from Sorano itself.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    10
    The superior rooms have the best views I ever saw from a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The superior rooms have the best views I ever saw from a hotel room! The area is perfect for a vacation combining history, walking, eating, and hot water bathing.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.2
    The dramatically striking location of the hotel itself, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The dramatically striking location of the hotel itself, the beautiful village and more generally beautiful region, the fine restaurants in the neighborhood, the breakfast in the hotel

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.8
    The staff here is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The church bells chime like a grandfather clock once on the half hour and the hour it is on the hour, only louder. This probably wouldn't have been a problem had we been able to figure out the air conditioning. Being a pretty light sleeper got about 2-3 hours. I missed two and three o'clock

    The staff here is wonderful. It was pretty neat staying in a castle.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.3
    The view was excellent, couldn't ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expected more "castle like" accommodation.

    The view was excellent, couldn't ask for more.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in rooms

    Beautiful view

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    9.6
    Amazing place, above the roofs of a charming village, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No wi fi in the rooms

    Amazing place, above the roofs of a charming village, very friendly staff, this is my third and not last time here

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    10
    Amazing to stay at a place so old and full of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing to stay at a place so old and full of history.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower head was not functioning well. The breakfast was so so.

    Excellent location. Beautiful and large room.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.3
    Location,views and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Location,views and quality

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: