Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais Della Rovere 4 stars

Via Piemonte 10 - Località La Badia, 53034 Colle Val D'Elsa, Italy

#8 of 10 hotels in Colle Val D'Elsa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 2 standard rooms which were small and had little storage space for clothes. Only one available electric socket in the room ? Cramped bathroom with ancient hairdryer. In general the room let the place down.. Surroundings 4-5 star, rooms only 3 star at best.

    Nice pool area, lovely old building, nice restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two things to note: The hotel seems to be stuck slightly in the 80's decor wise. Don't get me wrong, everything was functional and clean but was out of date and slightly tired. It states room service is offered but when we tried to order some, we were told we had to go down to the reception to view a menu and to order the food- that's not room service!

    Staff were very efficient and helpful. Pool area was relaxing and a nice area to read a book. Rooms and all public areas were very clean. Hotel had a good buzz about it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom: bath only, no shower. Breakfast: disgusting powdery orange juice - must be something typical for Italian hotels though. For the rest it was okay. Different types of cold cut meat, cheese, jam, fresh fruit.

    We chose this hotel because of the location directly between Florence and Sienna. A large part of Tuscany can be visited from here. Excellent restaurant (Il Cardinale) on the hotel premises (but not part of it). We chose to dine there 3 out of 5 nights. Rooms were large, old, but well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the immediate area outside of the hotel but the hotel more than made up for this

    Beautiful old building, tastefully converted into a hotel. Bedrooms very spacious with lovely comfortable beds. Staff very helpful. Food at the wonderful restaurant was excellent. Although the location outside the hotel was not attractive it is a good location for public transport to Siena or Florence.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tacky decorations, very plain room, impersonal service. Not what we expected; we thought this would be a charming hotel in a historical building, but it feels like a Best Western with a more objectionable aesthetic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    IT has the possibility of being GREAT but was a tad bare and cold feeling. Car park really bad especially as we were with low slung sports car POT HOLE S etc

    Querky with un used potential Great Shame

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a busy road along the hotel garden. The restaurant was playing loud music untill late, even after all the guests left. The large stairs and hallways amplify noises of other guest. Some people dont take a shower before they use the pool. A sign stating to shower before entering the pool would be welcome. There was a used band-aid on the side of the swimmingpool for two days. Poolservice costs €2,- on top of each order, but you have to wait quite some time before someone arrives, either at the pool, the terrace or the bar. It wasnt busy! The waitress prefered to clear tables before helping us. House keeping ignored the do not disturb sign and knocked on our door to ask if we wanted our room to be cleaned.

    I liked the green field around the pool. The receptionist spoke Englisch very well and walked us to our room. The room was nice with airconditioning, garden view, a good bed and a clean bathroom. We could park our car without extra costs at the hotel property. The restaurant, independent of the hotel is really worth a try. The hotel used to be a monastry, the building has character with high windows, and beautifull hallways and stairs. They offer a variety of things to choose from for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Incorrect information about the room when booking - I chose a Superior room as the info said it had a bath, and my husband and I had just spent 3 months on a sailing boat and really wanted to relax in a bath. When we got to the hotel we were shown a superior room but it had no bath, only a shower. In fact the hotel's own website also advertised superior rooms with "whirlpool bath". We complained to the staff and were told that 3 of the superior rooms did NOT have baths! Unfortunately we could not be moved into another room as the hotel was full so we were not happy about that. 2. We put the "Do not disturb" sign on our door when we went for breakfast as we didn't want the room serviced until we had gone out, only to get back to find th chambermaid stripping our bed. She had actually had to move the "do not disturb" notice out of the way to put her master key in. Not happy about that either! 3. Although it was very hot and sunny (30C) breakfast was only served indoors and the buffet was spilt into two rooms. We would have preferred to eat outside in the garden. 4. Location of outdoor area for the bar was very gloomy and would have been better in the gardens round the pool.

    Lovely swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    More vegetable for breakfast. Better mattrass in the bed. More place to put our things in the bathroom.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Quite large pool in the beautifully kept garden. Ideal location for visiting Tuscany: Siena, Volterra are close and Florence, Pisa and Lucca are not very far either.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast time, it was very very early

    The garden and the surroundings were really nice. Also, incredible restaurant to have dinner

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel in a great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythink was o.k.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was amazing with it’s deep papal history.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in our room

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the very heart of tuskany. We especially enjoyed the swimming pool in the afternoon after visiting Siena etc. in the summer heat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No shower, only bath with hand held shower head. Very messy

    Very relaxed atmosphere. Excellent resturant

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything

    Lovely big room and bathroom. The fact that the cardinal who tried to depose the Borgia Pope once owned it. The breakfast. The piano music at breakfast. The waiter remembered our coffee choice every morning

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Driving into town in evenings aborted owing to difficulty parking.

    Original ancient features both interior and external, unique. Superb swimming pool in beautiful gardens.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well situated near the beautiful town of Colle Val D' Elsa. The restaurant is magnificent. A great place to celebrate a birthday. We stayed 20 years ago and loved it. Now even better.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is a beautiful ex monastery hotel in a rural area with a rustic feel. The staff were very helpful and it was very peaceful. The food in the restaurant was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After spending 2 weeks in Tuscany and Umbria at the most fabulous locations we looked forward to spend time at the Relais. However the experience was rather disappointing. The location was mediocre at best. I was used to great views over the typical wineries of the region. Instead Relais is located near a busy road with only bushes between us (at the pool) and the cars. Also the site is very smal, you can't take a walk. Maybe I should have payed more attention when I made the booking. But honestly when I look at the pictures again I think that they suggest a much larger site. I can agree with a former reviewer that especially the bathroom was very moisty. We grew our own porcini in the shower! Definitely in need of an upgrade. Summing up: we've been in much better places for far less money.

    Proximity to places of interest.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    at the time to see the pictures on internet look likes you are in the middle of the mountain, however you are in the middle of the city next to the route

    the common areas of the hotel, the swiming pool, the restaurant, the green yards and the services

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I liked the whole experience, the way that a former convent was converted into a fully 4 start hotel with all amenties, a lush garden with a pool, a great awarded restaurant (Il Cardinale) , an excellent, tasty, fresh, yummy breakfast.It was indeed a unique experience to be there even for one night and we plan to return to stay longer. Staff was really friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The broken pavement and distance from the parking lot to the property can be difficult on luggage wheels!

    This property was just what we wanted - nice location, quiet, unique. The staff was very nice. The breakfast was awesome - a very large variety!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None really

    The place is very well located to visit all the nice places in Tuscany by car. The staff were superb and accommodated all our requests. The property is very beautifully renovated and situated on extensive grounds.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The grounds and pool were lovely. The staff helpful and friendly. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly staff.good food.tuscany is always wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a very nice hotel built on ancient building

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very bad the room and the furniture not 4 stars maximum 3!

    Location and swimingpool

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing room (with a 2 pax Jacuzzi), staff, building style, swimmingpool

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious and airy. Artfully renovated Abbey. Fantastic garden pool area. Great courtyard restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the place itself and the staff

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Woodfloor in the bathroom.....

    Garden, very friendly staff, wood floor in the bedroom

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: