Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Des Artistes 3 stars

Via Villafranca 20, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#371 of 965 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1413 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Awesome and safe location, great breakfast, extremely clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Awesome and safe location, great breakfast, extremely clean. Probably the best service and the nicest staff we have seen. I was specifically amazed by the cleaning service. We left for breakfasts for about 20 minutes and some magic happened - everything was perfectly clean! I would like to thank everyone, working in Des Artistes hotel. Definitely made our stay in Rome amazing, thank you, Des Artistes!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.4
    Location is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we stayed in had the room next door bathroom just by our main room wall. At 6am we were awakened by the next door guest waking up having a shower every morning, it felt like there was someone in the room. The facilities are a mix of hostel and hotel, but the price doesn't really reflect that. Some staff are nice but many are very rude and short tempered.

    Location is good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good location to train station and metro. Comfortable and clean room. Breakfast had a good selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we were in another building from reception and the breakfast room.

    The room was good and the bed was very comfortable. We were not in main building so that was disappointing. We weren't told about any airport shuttle if there was one. The taxi was pricey and it took a long time. Breakfast was good lots of choice but staff were not friendly. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. Go for the red bus tour as there is a closer stop to hotel. There are lots of restaurants close by but we went to one called Brambles and the food and staff were excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    A good base for exploring the sights of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the annexe which was next door and not a problem but property is mixed with a hostel which meant could be quite noisy at times.

    A good base for exploring the sights of Rome. A clean room 10 minutes from the train station and 30 minute walk from the historic centre or Colosseum

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything, the room nicely decorated, good size for 5,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear the noise of other rooms, like toilet flushing. There was mini bar but didn't cool down.

    Everything, the room nicely decorated, good size for 5, really clean. Tasty breakfast with plenty of choices. Staff really friendly and ready to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Everything is real good!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too Italian...didn’t see hot dishes except of scramble egg...

    Everything is real good! Will choose this accom. again if there’s chance! Very close to subway station! Very cosy and beds are comfy!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    A nice comfortable friendly hotel. Lovely room & roof terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They shut and locked the breakfast room just before 10am even though it should have been open until 10am, which meant on the second morning when we arrived a dot on 10 we couldn't get breakfast. I've never know a place that doesn't even give you a couple of extra minutes to get down for breakfast!

    The room was very nice and big, as was the bathroom. The beds were very comfortable. Parking was very easy and cheap on the road outside. The staff were lovely and helpful. The guy on reception even came out with an umbrella so I wouldn't get wet coming in from the parking the car. There was plenty of choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    LOCATION WAS GOOD.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A NUMBER OF YOUNG PEOPLE LYING AROUND ON BACK PACKS IN THE FOYER OF THE HOTEL WHEN WE ARRIVED.POOR NATURAL LIGHT IN ROOM.AIR CONDITIONING POOR.NOISE COMING FROM OTHER ROOMS EG RUNNING THE TAP .ALSO BEING CLOSE TO TRAIN STATION THE TRAINS WERE RUNNING LATE AT NIGHT AND EARLY IN THE MORNING.A LOT OF ITALIAN HOTELS DONT PROVIDE TEA OR COFFEE MAKING FACILITIES.VERY POOR MOBILE PHONE COVERAGE IN ROOM

    LOCATION WAS GOOD.CONVENIENT TO TERMINI.NICE RESTURANTS LOCALLY.STAFF WERE FRIENDLY.PAINTINGS WERE LOVELY

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.1
    a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sound isolation in the room is not good, clearly hear the talk of next room.

    hotel staffs are very nice, the room is clean, and good location, beside the metro and about 15 minutes by walk to the central railway station. and the breackfast is good as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.1
    Very okay for proximity to termini
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very much a large group hotel . I was in an annexe . The staff were a little officious.

    I needed a hotel close to termni . They stored my luggage for 2 days which was fabulous . My room was spacious and clean . Breakfast was fine

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in the bathroom needed unclogging.

    The room was very spacious, clean and quiet with beautiful paintings on the walls, very comfortable beds and a nice bathroom. The staff was really friendly and helpful. Location was great and felt safe to walk around at night. Overall a very positive experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast, good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left earlier than the breakfast time and we couldn’t take some breakfast with us, we told the staff about it one night before and they said they could only have helped if we have said it earlier which is strange.

    Good breakfast, good room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall hotel was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lacked tea/coffee making facilities and breakfast wasn't great .

    Staff were friend , hotel was clean and tidy , roof garden was very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location and decent value-for-money.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Within VERY convenient walking distance of the Castro Pretorio Nice, compact rooms. Comfortable bed. Warm shower with decent water pressure.

    Within VERY convenient walking distance of the Castro Pretorio Metro station, so it is EASY to get to this hotel. Nice, compact rooms. Comfortable bed. Warm shower with decent water pressure. We didn't go to breakfast, but other guests seemed to have no complaints. Decent price, so good value-for-money. Obviously, being so close to a Metro station, it was convenient for getting around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints worth mentioning

    Great hotel clean, great showers, good breakfast, great staff, close to train station, location was reasonable but quiet. As good as our four star hotel in Sorrento with the exception of the views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room for 2, is only for two. However in the website when booked it appear room for 2 adults plus 1 kid.... extra bed was placed but I already have booked an extra room. Information is misleading

    Locatie

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice clean hotel has all the basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little too small and pokey with allot of unnecessary furniture. No where to comfortably open out a large suitcase .

    Lovely neighbourhood with restaurants , supermarkets , main train station and metro only a step away !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Location + enough breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on breakfast level. They even don't say good morning, I stayed 4 nights and the ladies were always surly. ( Seems like they dont like what they are doing )

    Location + enough breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Stayed for 2 nights. Close to train station. 7 city block walk. Metro station close to hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Roof top deck not so great. Dirty and dead plants. No cover/shade or umbrellas to sit under from sun. Photo on website not true to condition of deck.

    Rooms clean, breakfast good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    It was close to many great authentic eateries that were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was close to many great authentic eateries that were cheaper than the big tourist areas. Supermarket also around the corner and 1 minute walk to the metro!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Confortable to stay stable internet connection, helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we had a breakfast, one staff asked our room number and she said "your plan doesn't include the breakfast" But we were sure our plan is including the breakfast, therefore we showed our email that mentioned "it includes" but her reaction was really irresponsible and rude she just abandon us and said "ask reception" which made us feel really uncomfortable during we had the breakfast there. We went to the reception after that and the receptionist said "Don't worry the breakfast is included" also she apologized for other staff's behavior. The hotel is not bad overall but need to train or educate all staffs of the hotel to provide same level of hospitality for customer.

    Confortable to stay stable internet connection, helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    Croissant had sugary icing and not fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissant had sugary icing and not fresh Check out experience want nice they didn't explain that we have to check out at 1pm. We had to shower in common bathroom with a 1 year old. Other than that staff was nice, hotel was clean and breakfast was reasonable. Bit pricey though.

    Croissant had sugary icing and not fresh Check out experience want nice they didn't explain that we have to check out at 1pm. We had to shower in common bathroom with a 1 year old. Other than that staff was nice, hotel was clean and breakfast was reasonable. Bit pricey though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast included cereals, toast, cold meats and cheeses...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room in the annexe and it was just too small. We both had large cases and no where to put them. Room was clean, relatively quiet and the aircon was good. Bed very short so if you are tall request a room in the main hotel. Those rooms look bigger.Ok for one night but would find it difficult to stay longer in such a small room. Also beware of thieves. 2 circled me and tried to steal my bag while walking to the Termini from the hotel. Lucky I was not by myself and all was ok in the end. Not a pleasant way to end my stay in Rome.

    Breakfast included cereals, toast, cold meats and cheeses,scrambled eggs and bacon. Fresh fruit and cakes were also included. A wide variety. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel, delivered on all aspects, would definitely recommend it. We would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault this hotel at all

    The hotel is excellently placed, just a 10 minute easy walk to the termini, the main train station. It was very clean, nice rooms, fresh towels & bedlinen changed daily. Good air con Lift always worked The staff were always happy, very friendly & extremely helpful The breakfast was plentifull and offered a great variety. The service was excellent -a good hotel and we would definitely stay there again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Very clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived they infomed us that there was a problem and for 1 night we had to go to another hotel. They did not sent us any email a few days before our arrival. Our room was at the first floor and it was a bit noisy because of the road.

    Very clean rooms. I loved the perfect beds. Great breakfast. The staff was very friendly. They kept our baggages for the last day until the time of our flight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Looking forward to going back there, always a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times, the last time was over 15 years ago and it's even better than I remember it. Excellent location near Termini station, clean rooms, good rain shower head, good choice at breakfast and helpful staff. Look forward to going back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Amazing fabulous time. Loved it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything. Would’ve liked a kettle in the room but that’s my preference.

    Location perfect for sightseeing. Staff incredibly helpful, nothing too much trouble. Amazing terrace to relax on. All spot on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    It was very close to the main terminal in Rome which allowed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms were very dark as it has quite outdated furnishings etc.

    It was very close to the main terminal in Rome which allowed us to travel through the city and further afield with ease. The staff were very attentive and helpful. Great shower and breakfast was always plentiful. We managed to leave our cases for the day as we had a night flight at no extra costs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    The room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was small. Bathroom was old and to set hot water was sometimes problematic. Bed was not comfortable.

    The room was clean. Breakfast was good. It is close to metro stop and railway station. Direct transport exists to all sightseeing's. (Even possible to walk everywhere) Staff was helpful. But bed was not comfortable at all!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    the accommodation helped make our stay in Rome memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a little time to reach the historic sites.

    The room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful. Good variety of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    The room was very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was the worst I had in my entire trip! (Although the breakfast was decent) . The lift was a lil scary but atleast that had one!!

    The room was very comfortable and clean. The TV had a few English channels too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.4
    One night, the safe started beeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night, the safe started beeping. We called the porter, but he did not know what to do, except to organise for maintenance the next day. I had to take it apart to stop the beeping. Maintenance didn’t bother turning up the next day and we left the following morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Location ✅ Aircon ❌
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con didn’t work. When we asked about this they told us it wasn’t needed in April. The room was hot for us. Wifi could be better. Breakfast was good if you timed it right- fresh fruit a real chance if you got lucky.

    Good location on the metro with great restaurants nearby. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.4
    Rooms are smaller than the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the booking was done correctly and that it was super noisy and you heard doors and drunk people until 1 am and metal dragging on the street at 11pm. Bad location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.0
    The location beside the Metro was ideal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof terrace could have been utilized a little more. The bar wasn’t really a bar, more of a common room.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The continental breakfast was well stocked and well maintained by attentive staff. Room was very clean and shower was brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel in overall is not as bright and shine as what it shows on the internet. The WIFI signal is very poor in room. And the hotel uses a lot of plastic cups, for breakfast and in the bathroom (global warming concerns)

    The quadruple room is clean and spacious enough for family of four. Beds and pillows are comfortable. Location is OK. although not nearby all the top sights but bus station and metro are in just a minute walk. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can t think of anything.

    The bedroom was very comfortable, the bed was amazingly comfy, a three pin plug was a bonus , really enjoyed my stay , if I come back to Rome l ll stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Very expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some smell in the bathroom. Very small room. The neighborhood is not the best in Rome. The entrance without seating room. Old elevator. Expensive.

    Clean. Good renewed bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel for Rome stay that gave very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee machine at breakfast was a bit temperamental

    The breakfasts were very good and you could eat as much as you wanted. The room was large and airy and must have good soundproofing as there was no noise from stair well or lifts etc. Staff were very helpful and all requests (taxis etc) were fulfilled politely and efficiently. Good metro links too Would go back again to this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was served in a crowded room with lines of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was served in a crowded room with lines of standing people next to the breakfast tables and it was of very low quality. I had the worst coffee in my life. The location was good, but there are other hotels in the same area and costing the same. If you can, choose another hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    All in all - pretty satisfied and will come back again!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fresh air in the corridors (I was on the 4th floor)

    The location is pretty good, close enough to Termini station (5-7 minutes by foot) and main streets towards the center. Room was comfortable for one person and clean, good breakfast with fresh salad and fruits. Reception staff was helpful when booking the taxi to the airport. "Do not disturb" sign was respected by the cleaning staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.3
    A bit overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast ladies were a bit grumpy all the time. Room was smaller than expected. A bit worn out as well and a funny smell inside.

    Buffet breakfast was ok, not very wide selection of breads. Some plates were empty but were filled quite often. Location is excellent, 2 min walk to subway. We asked and got a very quiet room. Water pressure was good. Reception guys were very nice and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Good location to a variety of wonderful cafe's and restaurants. Not the most centrally located hotel, but very comfortable and value for money. Rooms were very quiet with min to no noise and disturbance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.5
    four nights at hotel Des Artistes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were smaller than expected, wifi is slow.

    The rooms are very clean with large tv and nice furniture. Large bathroom. Very nice rooftop terrace. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.9
    Good quality for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the window.No day light in room. The lift looked bit unsafe for me but didn’t need to use it as I was on second floor.

    I liked the design of the room and the pictures on the wall.Good selection of pastries for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Very good room with pretty design.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good room with pretty design. Tasty breakfast and full amenities. Excellent neighborhood with metro and bus station nearby. Super clean and warm all day! Also walkable distance to termini but in a very safe and good looking area. Reception sir was very kind informative. I have already suggested it to two of my friends who will visit Rome in the next few months!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    The room was big, beautiful and very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big, beautiful and very comfy. The staff was very helpful they provided us with a map and some recommendations of where to go and how to move.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    A gorgeous gem with staff that go above and beyond to make your stay wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything! The location was perfect; right next to a metro stop and far enough out of Rome that the area was comfortable and quiet at night. The staff were all absolutely amazing and I cannot compliment them enough. This hotel deserves far more than 3 stars. The room was comfortable and perfect for my needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel. Clean and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. If I have to say something it's full of art paintings in the walls, some of them a little bit scabrous :P

    Very clean, quiet and with everything in place. Comfortable bed and big flat TV. Rooms and bathroom is spacious. The shower cabin is narrow but works like a charm. The hotel has a dinning room in the upper floor with fridge and microwave, ideal for a fast-dinner with friends before going to bed. Breakfast is ok from 7 to 10, from 8 to 9 is usually very crowded.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Bad was big enough (I am about 2 m high ) and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kettler, glasses, few cups (tea/coffee set) would be recommended! Wi-Fi could be improved.

    Bad was big enough (I am about 2 m high ) and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, with very wide offer of food! Room and bathroom were really, really clean and tidy! Pleasant temperature in the room. Hotel is close to Termini station ( distance about 500 m), which is the key position to get any point in the Rome. Also, close to the hotel (less then 100 m) is metro station Castro Pretorio, metro line B.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable 9 days. Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite small and over hot - a common problem in city centre hotels and not unexpected.

    Excellent value for money and good buffet breakfast. Helpful staff. We consider the hotel a good find and will certainly use them again if in Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.3
    Of our 6 visits to Rome, this was the poorest choice of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no hot water for the first 4 days - just very mildly warm There was no bar as described on the Booking website - nowhere to socialise with your friends The shower room was very small so difficult to use The breakfast room was very small so you were always bumping into people whilst trying to collect food and eat, and the quality of the food and drink was disappointing There was very little storage area for ones clothes in the bedroom - given the space it could be much more efficient

    Reception staff were great as were the bedroom cleaners The bed was comfortable and the bathroom towels clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast is fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived there was just one towel in the bathroom, but the next day the staff provided more towels, so there was no problem. The view from the room wasn't really pleasant - very small inner courtyard with lots of balconies, motorbikes and stuff like this ...

    The breakfast is fabulous! We also liked the location of the hotel; it's a little bit far away from the old town, but close to the main train station. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was very nice with a very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They could clean more often the common areas.... In some places there is a lot of dust and dirty.

    The hotel was very nice with a very friendly staff. The breakfast is fine but it could have a bigger variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Very adequate for our trip to watch the rugby match and see the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very good and gave us a really nice welcome. The location is great as it’s near the station so perfectly located for the buses and metro to get around the city. We were in an area. Ext door to the hotel however this wasn’t an issue and once up to our floor the room was fine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Good apart from double bed. Breakfast very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was great with our stay apart from the bed. It was comfy itself but when its says douvle bed, its two singles put together with a double sheet across! Meaning if sleeping with a partner they bed goes apart from eachother. Apart from this, lovely hotel.

    The staff were very welcoming and friendly. They educated us on the map of Rome and how to get from one place to another and recommended us to a few lovely restaurants. Also the breakfast had a great spread, from bacon and eggs to fruit and toast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakdast was the same everyday, but cannot really complain.

    Very comfortable to stay! Recommend it. Breakfast was included. Very clean and comfortable place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Satisfactory but wouldn't come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location - again our fault! The fact that you stay in a different building than the main hotel - I don't get this? We had to stay in an 'Annexe' rather than the main hotel?

    Overall the stay at Hotel Des Artistes was nice. I wouldn't recommend it as a hotel for families - at all. We were staying there with our 3-year-old and definitely felt like at breakfast time, there were eyes on her to 'shhh'. The room was really clean, can't fault it. Location of hotel not great in my opinion - a lot of walking needed but to be clear this was our fault and should have researched this more! Satisfactory but wouldn't come back - with or without the bambino!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    2.5
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Young skinny boy on the front desk very un helpful, talking and laughing about us in front of us. Watched us struggle with our luggage up stairs without even asking to help. Would not bring an iron to the room asked us to go and get it! The room was in a separate part of the hotel - had to go outside and into a different entrance that looked like something out of taken! Very disappointed

    Young skinny boy on the front desk very un helpful, talking and laughing about us in front of us. Watched us struggle with our luggage up stairs without even asking to help. Would not bring an iron to the room asked us to go and get it! The room was in a separate part of the hotel - had to go outside and into a different entrance that looked like something out of taken! Very disappointed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.8
    The hotel location was more than perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    The hotel location was more than perfect. The person was very helpful for all my requests. Overall, the hotel quality was good for family, who is travelling with children.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Good choice H D artistes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room bit old and bathroom the same , another room much modern ,especially the bathroom ( had 2 room) .. but definitely we would come back in the future

    Location, staff ,value for money,breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff are very nice to us and help us with everything, close to metro station, supermarket and not too far from train station. Moreover, we can leave our luggage there even we already check out from the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only very small down side were the fact that there were no tea and coffe facilities in the room. You could only get tea and coffee at breakfast. There was a kettle and microwave and fridge facilities in the self kitchen areabut the cups. However they did sell water and soft drinks, but as a British person a cup of tea and the end of the evening would have been great .

    The staff are very approachable and friendly. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The art around the hotel was stunning. They made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was lovely with a wide selection of food . The rooms were very clean and had a calming element to them. The whole experience from start to finish was fantastic. I would definitely visit again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Excellent experience, great location, very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - ceramic flooring inside the room, typical of Italian buildings (whould have preferred carpet)

    - excellent location, close to Termini station and A metro line - quiet neighborhood, yet nearby a major street - the service was excellent, the staff very friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room could have been colder. We couldn't open the windows because the noise outside was too loud for me and there are no window screens. I'm a light sleeper. On a good note, the windows do a good job of blocking the noise outside.

    1. Room: We had booked a double room/bed but ended up getting a double room/bed and a single room/bed. There was enough space that you can freely move around with the furniture (luggage rack & mirror, desk, mini fridge, wardrobe, beds, and nightstands). We had a private bathroom with sink, toilet, urinal, and shower. 2. AC/Weather: Even though there was directions in how to use the air conditioner (AC), we could not get cool air to come out. Maybe because it's preset to a certain temperature? We were there during Thanksgiving weekend so maybe the hotel didn't think anyone would AC. We thought that the weather was super nice during that time of the year. I get cold easily and I wore a sweater most of the time. I think the weather was in mid 60s during the day. 3. Breakfast: Free. It's from 7-10am on the first floor. I thought they had more than the typical hotels. Drinks: machine with coffee, hot cocoa, hot milk, juices, and water. They had cut up fruit, whole fruit, cheese, cut meats, breads, scrambled eggs, bacon, dessert pies, cereal. It was all buffet style. 4. Sight seeing: We walked everywhere. Originally, we planned to take the public transportation to Vatican City (I think it's 3-3.5 miles one way) but you need cash in coins or 5 euro increments to use the machine at the train station (lower level). You could go to McDonald (on main floor) to break down bigger cash but we didn't want to. 5. Transportation from/to airport (CIA): On the way to the hotel, we just took a "private" transportation for 40 euros (2 adults, 18 month toddler, big stroller, diaper bag, and 2 carry-on luggage) and it took about 30 mins. Right before you leave the airport, all transportation methods are located in front of you so you don't have to get your transportation ahead of time. On the way back to the airport, we decided to ride the bus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    Milena's review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the reception was unkind. They had some problem with our reservation, and they gave our room someone else, without informing us. The staff was blaming Booking, but that wasn't my problem at all. We lost that room and they replaced but it was unprofessional.

    Location was great, close to the city square and Termini train station. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very varied, great for that price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel close to train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - small room (pictures on the website give impression of larger room) - shower gel bottles could be larger (they are very small) - a bit more bread variety (it had basically toast bread and one more local type of bread)

    The hotel was really nice - centrally located, continental breakfast included (eggs, salami, cheese, bread, sausages, sweets, müsli, etc., nice coffee), room was nice, although a bit small (pictures tell your otherwise) metro stop 2 min walk, bus stop in front of hotel, two supermarkets opposite room was comfortable and clean, towels changed daily - offered fresh brewed coffee, cappuccino, espresso :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great Hotel and excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..well perhaps a second coffee machine at breakfast would be useful. There were long queues at times.

    The location was very good,less than 5 minute walk to Termini bus/train station. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Very modern bathroom. The breakfast was also very tasty and lots of options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    Very good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room - Annex
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has 2 properties and I was booked in the Annex located few doors away from the "main" property. The elevators in both buildings are tiny, old and very slow; it fits one person and a carry on only.

    Very good location; 2 blocks away from a Metro station and 10 minutes walk from Roma Termini - main train station. Please do not miss "Pizza Rustica" just around the block from the hotel - delicious pizza!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic location, would stay again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevator was rather old and took a while to come. The hotel is only 5 floors so it isn't so bad to use the stairs. The shower cubicle was rather small also. There were issues with the air conditioning so we left the window open as it was quiet warm.

    Super comfy bed, the decor was vintage. The hotel was close to so many amazing places to eat and super handy to the main train station. Was great value for money and would stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Very pleased with the overall quality and location for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room was pleasantly muted but it was hard to read or see items clearly.

    This is the best value hotel we have stayed at in recent years.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel, had fantastic time and would absolutely recommend this gem of a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room would make the stay absolutely perfect.

    Great location, very central - a short stroll from Termini Station and also Metro literally just around the corner. Beautiful room, full of character, nice and quiet, serving fantastic breakfast with plenty of choices, which helped set us up for a day. Last but not least staff was very helpful and couldn't be nicer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel, great value for the money and close to public transportation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses on the bed were a bit hard so hard on the back. A bit noisy when a family with two small children were next door to us on the third day. Very quiet before that. Otherwise little to distract us.

    Proximity to Termini station and metro. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast included. Room serviced and beds and towels made up and changed daily. Terrace where one could relax with a glass of wine. Great art work on the walls.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Will book again if we return to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would have been perfect.

    The hotel is very clean .The rooms are serviced every day.Breakfast is very good and plentiful.The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the airport shuttle drop off,city bus tours and metro.There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money and met our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being British (!) the tea at breakfast just didn’t do it - cups too small, water not hot enough and would prefer fresh milk rather than UHT. Would have liked more fancy breads rather than cakes at breakfast. Heard a fair bit of noise from other guests and outside, although probably par for the course in a city centre. Much quieter after midnight.

    Rooms are attractively decorated Beds were very comfy and sheets crisp Location was very handy for public transport Lots of good restaurants nearby Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: