Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Desenzano 4 stars

Viale Cavour 40/42, 25015 Desenzano del Garda, Italy

#27 of 39 hotels in Desenzano del Garda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 589 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would suggest to inform Customers on booking platform if restaurant is available or not, or even with a confirmation mail. Shall be useful for the ones incoming late in the evening. Desenzano del Garda in winter time sounds like a desert of possibilities for dinner.

    Family feeling that's always a plus in hostelling. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think the hotel was anywhere worth the money we paid. Yes it was clean and tidy but for the money I expected something a little bit better than average

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing, I really liked it.

    Spotless, recently refurbished rooms, lovely pool area a bonus. Staff were really helpful. Could see the lake from the balcony of my room, which I didn't expect. Close the station, but in a quiet residential area. Less than 10 minute walk to the centre of town, boats etc. Good range of breakfast options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This isn't an hotel for those with limited fitness Being located at the top of a steep hill out of town. Public bus finishes at 8 and taxis difficult to locate

    Friendly and helpful reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool looks much bigger in pictures. No lunch or dinner facilities and shops quite far away

    Great location and perfect for chilling. There was a jacuzzi on top terrace which was great surprise and breakfast was great however not great for vegetarians

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The room was big and and the bed was comfortable. Good selection for breakfast. Receptionist and chamber maids were very helpful. It's only about 20 metres from the station which is very good for people who travel with a lot of luggage like me. Only 10 minutes walk from the town centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a large balcony with a view of the lake. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Close to train station and about 10 to 15 min walk to lake.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a wonderful place for holidays. The hotel is very close to the train station, very convenient. By 10 mins walk, we can reach the del garda lake which is extremely beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with fantastic views of the lake from the roof terrace. A really nice welcome with a bottle of prosecco to enjoy the start of our honeymoon! Lovely breakfast in a beautiful room. A little bit of a walk down into the town but it's right next to the train station which is great, we went to Verona for dinner!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest nothing ,it was perfect.

    We extended our stay from three to six nights ,we loved the hotel so much . The staff were super friendly and the location was perfect for us . We have recommended this hotel to our friends and family and will continue to do so . Thank you again to all the staff and we will book all our hotels through booking.com from now on .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a vacational area, the breakfast closes in my opinion too early , at 10 am. Not a great breakfast either. Swimming pool picture misleading , not too big . Pool is in the entrance of hotel , not a pleasant, private area. The presence of the senior woman owner at all times is not pleasant either , the environment feels is tense when she's around giving orders to the employees.

    Large rooms .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was so small that unless you bagged a seat at breakfast you had no chance! The sun loungers were seats so no chance of tanning your back

    Lovely helpful staff but didn't go out of way to provide information. We only knew the breakfast time because we saw on the lift.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was a little hard for my taste.

    Provided gluten free options for breakfast, which were always delivered to our table without us asking after the first morning. Room and hotel in general spotlessly clean and staff very friendly. Quiet location near station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean contemporary rooms,nice quiet room, great location for railway station and to Lakeside with all the bars and restaurants. Very helpful staff for local information. Plenty selection at breakfast. Enjoyed our stay and if we were to return to that part of the Lake we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report here.

    Excellent location from which to explore lake Garda. The room was very clean as was the ensuite - great breakfast to set you up for the day. Secure garage parking for peace of mind.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over price.

    Location, very near train station, and within walking distance to the lake and town. Spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel with good size comfy bedroom with balcony. Secure parking garage. Lovely pool but sadly not warm enough for a dip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff

    Price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the evening.. maybe.... fried eggs in the morning

    Size of room, location.. Quiet 🤫 and safe Cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable stay. Breakfast was average.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not actually have breakfast at the hotel during our stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was in excellent condition

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. 4 stars?

    Very clean hotel. Friendly staff. Close to station for day trips. 10 minutes to town. Coffee good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was too hard, pool not heated,

    location excellent, free bike hire a big bonus, pity there is a charge after two hours of hire

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No electricity outlets in the room

    Breakfast was good. The lady at the reception on the night shift was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Definitely not a four star one so at this price there is very little value for money.

    A good hotel close to the train station but...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better coffee please!

    Decoration of comfort room, room, friendly staff, location, breakfast pastries and sun terrace

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    location, size of room, breakfast & cleanliness - easy to park the car

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place to stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The terrace and the jacuzzi are great to relax and enjoy the great weather

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very close to the railway station. The breakfast was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and friendly to us!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a short walk from the train station, and not too far a walk to the Lake. Lovely, clean, modern hotel. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner facilities if you wanted to buy dinner at the hotel, which meant you had to walk in to town every night.

    Relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None.

    Fantastic friendly service. Great variety at breakfast. Nice clean hotel! Would recommend!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    stuff very poor in coustomer service and not good English speakers

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms with good bedding. Friendly staff. Proximity to the train station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was just ok. Breakfast were very poor. Man at the dest was not really helpful.

    Hotel has gym, ladies at the desk were very nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows, but changed when asked

    Cleanliness, friendliness .relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There wasn't anything I didn't like. For some people to have an evening meal could be good. We evenings at relatives house for meals.

    Breakfast, staff, rooms excellent. The staff accomodated for our needs when we had early starts before 7am. Closeness to to Railway station 2 mins to travel to Venice, Verona etc, 15 mins walk down to town. 15 mins drive to see family who live there..

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personally the bed was too hard,along with pillows. No other negatives

    The hotel was spotless and clean, breakfast each day was excellent and the stall were very helpful always.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't understand the coffee machine as everything was written in Italian!

    Hotel very convenient for railway station. Grateful for fact that hotel staff speak English.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't have proper sunbeds so difficult to sunbathe. More like posh deck chairs

    Very good breakfast with lots of choice. Nice bar with good selection of drinks Reasonable sized pool Good sized bedroom and bathroom Car parking on site free of charge

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee making facilities but I was able to get a pot of excellent coffee from the bar each morning

    The hotel was so well managed with the comfort of the guests always a priority.the staff were always so pleasant and attentive to any request. Room was very clean with comfortable bed .free parking.By the train station but train noise not an issue due to good pitio doors on our balcony even though our room faced the station.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a 10 minute walk to Desenzano town centre - not a problem for us but a little far if you have mobility problems or small children.

    We loved this hotel! It was spotlessly clean with modern rooms and a good breakfast. The staff were great and there was a lovely roof terrace with great views of the lake and plenty of free sunbeds/parasols. The rooms were a good size with huge comfy beds, a mini fridge, balcony, and large bathroom with a good shower. Free parking but also very close to train station (but no noise from trains). Would highly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is limited free parking, 3-4 spaces, if spaces are full you must park in the underground at a rate of €10 per night. Only 1 electrical socket in the room.

    Location is in walking distance to lake. Staff were extremely friendly. The room was beautiful, clean with a balcony looking towards the lake. Free wi-fi. There is also a pool with a small poolside lounging area. Breakfast facilities are excellent.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi speed is strong enough for browsing only. The procedure to get in and out of the garage is a nuisance. Only four parking slots are available above ground even though free parking is displayed on the website. Parking in the streets is difficult, garage parking is charged. Breakfast is moderate by continental standards, no scrambled eggs for instance.

    Immediate reaction to fix the blocked faucet in the bathroom. Relatively good location in the city. Cleanliness, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing to dislike ...

    breakfast had a superb choice ... staff were brilliant ....hotel was spotless .....pool was lovely ...great views from roof terrace....6 or 7 minute walk to town may not suit everyone but it is no problem at all ....

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit far from the beach and center of this nice place, but this is not a big problem.

    Nice hotel, kind staff -especially Mr Giuseppe. Small but useful swimming pool in front of the hotel. Comfort beds, air-condition worked well (comparing to other hotels I've visited in the same place). Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If we had anything negative it was that the beds were too firm for us, but this is just a matter of personal preference. They are of good quality.

    Everything was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wasn't a dislike, but the truth is, the hotel is going through an overhaul. Whilst we were very comfy, the room we were in was really dated, but tidy and in good condition.

    Family run business and couldn't be more welcoming. 5 stars. Truly lovely folk.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    could have done with more English TV. channels

    This hotel has excellent location. It is very close to Desenzano railway station.10 minutes walk to city centre and the lake.Rooms are clean and good size. Staff very friendly and helpful.Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rude receptionist

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Short walk from railway Station and only a few minutes walk downhill into town centre. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not to far from the town, amazing room with shower and bath tube, balcony and comfortable bed! Had so much fun

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    excellent

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. Even they help us with the transport and they had got ready breakfast out of time.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to train station and bus stop. The town is cute and on a lake.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast is very poor Staff are unprofessional Hotel owner is very rude And they took more money when i arrived

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited free parking.

    We had a great time. For our anniversary we received from the house a bottle of wine and a room with a nice view on the lake.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    10-15 min walk uphill from centre

    Reception staff very helpful & friendly. Close to train station if taking day trips. Pool.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel with a family feel.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cleanliness location

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Friendly staff!

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the shower pump pressure was too low

    location

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: