Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Desiree 4 stars

Lido di Spartaia, 57030 Procchio, Italy

#9 of 17 hotels in Procchio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 201 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Natural beauty of bay with immaculate and tranquil beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in room, of course, as this is rare in Italy but good fridge.

    Natural beauty of bay with immaculate and tranquil beach facilities safe sandy swimming lovely bar with charming service from Martina and Bagnino. Wonderful dedicated breakfast room with choice of indoor outdoor and covered terrace with sea view and tablecloths in use. Excellent dinner menu lots of choices four courses plus salad bar and ice cream bar and good wine list. I realised day before arrival that there was no lift and phoned ahead. They kindly arranged a ground floor room for my parents with sea view without extra charge. Attractive Acqua d’Elba toiletries in room gave extra luxurious feel. Shaded parking in allocated space and efficient welcome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    wonderful shallow beach excellent for families with small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    horrible beds narrow parking and some moron scratched our car as there is no space to get out of the car food in the hotel is at best bland and at worst not worth the money zero noise insulation zero privacy as windows facing other rooms most definitely NOT staying here again

    wonderful shallow beach excellent for families with small kids breakfast was nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel (the only hotel in that fantastic small bay), with all facilities. Very good pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The internet is terrible, almost unusable. A drawback of the cleaning excellency is that housekeepers are starting the activity early in the morning, and they may disturb your morning sleep.

    Very nice hotel, with all the facilities. The beach and the sea are fantastic, in a bay with a wonderful view. It was the cleanest hotel I ever encountered, and I travel a lot. Gentle and helpful personel. Very good pool with sea water. Very good breakfast, with the best scrambled eggs I ever eat in a hotel (like homemade).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall a nice hotel in a beautiful location but with lots of room for improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our air conditioning didn't work and we had to be moved which only happened because we insisted, the manager was not very apologetic or helpful to start with which left us feeling very disappointed and stressed when we were meant to be relaxing. In addition there are only two sun loungers allocated per room, even if your room is for 4 people. The food was very average and some of it far below, not what we were expecting at all (lunch menu at the restaurant). We couldn't have dinner in the restaurant, we asked the first two days well in advance of dinner time and both times were told they didn't have capacity so we stopped asking after that and found lovely restaurants in town.

    Our room was clean with lovely toiletries, the domestic staff were very friendly and pleasant The beach was beautiful and the beach cafe very convenient. We enjoyed the large swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    5.0
    The location is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else: the service, the staff is not all friendly, the room is very old, the breakfast is average. They refused a 30-mn delay in check-out. It is a shame given the location.

    The location is amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    5.8
    the location is very beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some of the staff members were not at all kind and courteous. as soon as we arrived we were informed that the restaurant required long trousers. on Booking.com is not mentioned anything about. We requested half board so we expected at least an informative email! the restaurant staff did not give us room service because it was under staffed; lastly the room had to be left at 12 o'clock by regulation written inside the room and instead they contacted us to tell us literally: "leave the room as we need it!" What ???? the price, quality and courtesy of the staff is insufficient for a 4-star !!! It also isn’t disable friendly, not acceptable in 2018.

    the location is very beautiful. the spacious swimming pool, the beach a few meters from the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    I would go back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We initially stayed in a family suite and the family from hell were in the room next to us with a 2 year old that screamed regularly. It was so bad we asked to be moved. The hotel did this eventually. The only comment I would make is that this 2 year old was in the restaurant every night and just screamed, which was very irritating. I know that Italian Hotels are family friendly but this was unacceptable behaviour and no one commented. The sound insulation between the rooms could be improved.

    Food was very good value for money, staff were very friendly and location was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, extremely clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed in the family room. Because it was September most of the hotel facilities were closed.

    Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, extremely clean. Very nicely kept beach , i found it rather strange that you had allocated sun beds, as the beach was almost empty the time we were there. The pool was lovely and the breakfast very nice. The little gym has a lovely view, but rather small and not much equipment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly staff and a private beach area in front of the...
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and a private beach area in front of the hotel. We booked full board and the dinner was ok, three course meal the pasta was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Lovely stay but a bit too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the hotel were looking a bit dated including our bedroom. The bathroom had no bath and for a family of 4 with 2 teenagers, it wasn't what I expected from a 4* hotel. We didn't like the fact that you had to pay €10 for a sea front beach bed which nobody tells you about. Overall despite the lovely location of the hotel, we felt the price was too high for the facilities provided.

    The staff were very generally very friendly. Wonderful beach and excellent food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.8
    Disappointing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid eur 500 per night with half board. Compared to other resorts, in overall aspect, it is not worth the money by far.

    Great beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful.Will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    food at dinner

    location and staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    manager of the hotel rude, no information on the site nor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    manager of the hotel rude, no information on the site nor services just toss you in your room and figure it out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No lift.

    Confort, Staff, food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.4
    Very crowded beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very crowded beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful staff, enjoyed stay and relaxing time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More food choices on evening meals

    Senza Glutine very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Great stay - could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.5
    weekend all'elba
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    il breakfast

    distanza dal mare

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.9
    excellent beach, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast, dinner (average maximum)

    excellent beach, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.3
    Location staff breakfast lunch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner only ok. Food precooked and not hot and service absolutely rushed with plates taken before you had finished and the next course placed immediately in front of you (having been covered by a plastic stacking container-not nice) Not particularly good with limited choice and odd Germanic influenced dishes. Less authentic seaside Italian than anticipated. Very Disappointing.

    Location staff breakfast lunch

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    Location and staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    bed was uncomfortable, wifi was rubbish, sunbeds are the most uncomfortable I've ever experienced and their policy around allocation of sunbeds is a joke. I will not be going back.

    Location and staff were excellent

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    6.3
    Beach, breakfast, staff (especially beach staff), and quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Front row on beach you must pay extra, it doesn't have a completely private beach (beach is shared with another property), dinner is not good.

    Beach, breakfast, staff (especially beach staff), and quiet setting.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.6
    it was very clean everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Just the comfort of the beds a little poor

    it was very clean everywhere

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    6.7
    Beach And garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Sun beds first line to the sea extra fee!!!

    Beach And garden

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: