Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Desiree 2 stars

Via Capo, 31B, 80067 Sorrento, Italy

#53 of 77 hotels in Sorrento

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1453 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    My flight came in two hours late so I missed my check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My flight came in two hours late so I missed my check in before the desk closed at 11pm. My husband called and said that his wife was traveling alone and if they could accommodate me checking after the desk closed and they said no problem. Very friendly, helpful staff! I would recommend for sure!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    The views were lovely, the little beach is nice and the sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t the cleanest, breakfast room was very small and cramped, only one lady replenishing items run off her feet.

    The views were lovely, the little beach is nice and the sun terrace is nice. Breakfast had plenty of options

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Clean basic accommodation for a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s basic, don’t expect a beautiful room for this price! Shower in bath and doesn’t hang on wall so you have to hold it.

    Clean basic accommodation for a good price! Nice staff...rooms are basic, garden is great and private beach is pretty good too. Great 10 minute walk from Sorrento city center....

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking spaces were minimal and you had to squeeze car into a teeny space. Lucky we had a small car but still had to ask hotel staff to help get in and out. No elevator. Room was 3 or 4 levels below lobby and you had to lug heavy suitcases up and down. With a bad knee, it was no picnic.

    Clean hotel, friendly staff, lovely view from our balcony, nice breakfast buffet. Loved hearing the waves lap the shore a distance below our balcony during the night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Fine but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We are a fit family, but it got a little old making the one or so mile walk (each way) to and from the hotel to town. Obviously thats not the hotels fault, it just became monotonous over 4 days time. The hotel and rooms were a little run down, but it was not bad by any means. No air conditioning so the nights were hot this time of year (August)...and if you open the windows the mosquitos would come say hello. It also didn't help that the one small fan they place inside the room liked to make a rattling noise. There were no glaring problems with the hotel, the staff or our stay...it just didn't quite live up to our hopes or expectations. While there was a private beach below the hotel, it was not that nice and you still have to pay, I think it was 8 euros, for a day-bed to lay on. Better off just going to one of the nicer beaches in town and paying to use one of their day-beds since you can also get food, drinks and a better atmosphere and beach.

    The view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Great staying felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi signal wasn't great. A bit far from train and boat station.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.Beds very comfy. The view from our room amazing. Private beach with restaurant. Breakfast was nice. They have a nice terrace.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Hotel had good points and bad points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No AC Hotel is a outdated Breakfast is very basic.

    Extremely friendly staff Private Beach Centrally located to the Sorrento town center Car parking space.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need update. Bathrooms need major update. We booked a tour. Verified twice about the time of pick-up but gave us wrong information which made us to rush to join the tour bus.

    The private beach was a welcome treat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was clean despite fact that it is an old hotel, but is kept in good condition. Personnel is really nice and gives good advices on what to do in Sorrento. If you don’t mind a little bit older facilities, I can suggest to stay. Location is not bad, bus stop is almost next to hotel and to reach center by foot is easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Just about comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was compact,basic and just about comfortable. There is no air conditioning in the room. Nothing great about the view. The breakfast spread could be better. They ran out of croissants both days even though we were at the table by 8.30 am. There is no elevator. You may struggle with your heavy bags.

    The location is good. 10 mins walk from centre. Easily accessible by bus or own transport. Antonio at the reception was helpful with tips for sightseeing. Good WiFi in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No stand up shower. Breakfast was ok if you are vegan and area to eat was too small for the volume of guests.

    The view from the balcony. Peaceful setting with easy access to a beach and town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Great Staff. Beautiful Beach. Lengthy walk to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that became an inconvenience was the walk to the town. It's a decent 15-minute up-down walk, but with that also comes access to the private beach, so it's a trade-off in my opinion. If you have trouble with mobility issues and require flat-surfaces this may be a challenge. It's not severe, and we were fine, but I can see trouble for some people with bad hips and knees.

    The staff is great and the private beach is very nice to access. The breakfasts were terrific and there were surprisingly a fair bit of vegetarian and vegan options at breakfast. There were fans in the room, which was helpful, as the time of the year was extremely hot and humid.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Cheap and great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does not have an elevator. We all had heavy bags and had to carry them down and up 2 floors of stairs.

    The private beach was really nice and beautiful! We were also able to park our car at the hotel parking lot which had security cameras, when we checked out and went to Capri over a night. It only cost 10 euros for us to park there and we were away for over 24 hours :) This was a really cheap stay and we got alot out of it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful rooftop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little hot but you can’t really help that

    The staff were helpful and really nice. The location was perfect for us, a little bit out of the main town centre but that was fine for us, plus the view and the private beach were absolutely worth it. Up the road is a lovely restaurant called VerdeMare try that too if you stay here. The room was very spacious and had a fan. We loved watching the sunset in front of Mt Vesuvius with some drinks on the rooftop.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.5
    Old hotel, no airco, bad breakfast, terrible communication with owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Cold shower, no warm water -Bad breakfast -Old facilities - We needed to pay for the 'private beach' -23min walk to the centre -No airco, sleepless nights

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    2.9
    Cold shower, no airco, bad breakfast, old facilities, terrible owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Terrible welcome! We did not get the room q we have booked. -Cold shower, no warm water -Worse breakfast ever. -Dirty -Old facilities - We needed to pay for the 'private beach' -23min walk to the centre -No airco, sleepless nights

    +Wonderful views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Hotel Desiree with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have no air con

    Hotel has amazing views and a quaint private beach with bar facilities, breakfast is good and staff are helpful, only downside their is no air conditioning

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!

    The staff was great, really kind and open to help us. The private beach really nice and not expensive compres to other places... Our camera was amazing!!!! The view and the balcony... no words.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    6.7
    This hotel has so much potential to be one of the best in Sorrento!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The hotel has amazing sea views but needs a good renovation to help freshen up it’s appearance, as the decor is very old. A few tips: The beds are hard and quite uncomfortable and should be replaced. Add proper air con to the rooms instead of old fans. Also, the shower head is not bolted on the wall, meaning you have to hold it the entire time. Soundproof the walls as well, as we could hear every noise. Replace the strange antique art with something pretty like scenery of sorrento. Replace all of the old and hole filled towels, bed linen etc. 2. Breakfast needs to have more variety and fresh fruit. Also should offer the espressos to guests as they arrive for breakfast instead of having guests having to find out they are available through other customers. 3. The sun beds at the private beach were €8 a pop, which was ludicrous. Also, guests reserve them ahead through the hotel, so if you don’t, you will be given an unreserved one, which may not be ideal. Book ahead!

    The host Pasqual was extremely helpful with tips and recommendations during our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent holiday in an inexpensive hotel that provided for all our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff who could not do enough for you. Location was a steady 10 walk to the main centre. Room basic but satisfied all needs with small but nice terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for the money. Good location, not far from the Sorrento city center. Great views to the sea from the balcony and from the garden area. The hotel personnel were super friendly and helpful. The beach is also nice and so close, just an elevator lift down.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    This is the place I felt like belonging and I would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of air conditioning in the room, but for us that was not a big issue, since it had ventilation.

    This is the place I felt like belonging and I would definetely return. Don't expect luxury, you will find a basic room, spotlesly clean though. It's rather a place for nature lovers, away from the crazyness, but you can still reach the center of Sorrento by foot in 20-30 minutes, while admireing an amazig view; plus the garden with flowers and birds singing, the terasse, the spectaculare view and the little private golf beach that you can reach very easily by taking the elevetor, and where you can take a swimm while looking at Vezuvium mountain...OMG! This must be the place my true God lives, I thought. A place I deeply fell in love with!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again next time in Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included was a bit limited.

    Beautiful views from the room, rooftop terrice and garden. A short 10 minute walk along coastal road to main Sorrento or 3 min bus ride as stop is right outside. Staff was very friendly. Access to small private beach with neighbouring hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, good location, amazing view and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay in the Hotel Desiree was amazing ! The stafg provided a lor of help and great advice for our stay in Sorrento. Breakfast perfecto and thanks for Corinna's suprise. Hotel definately clean and has superb view. I hope to come back sometime!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    This is a wonderful lace to stay at the top of the hill in Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Laundry service unavailable. At times the staff does not answer the phone.

    I loved the location and the beach that was included with the property. The breakfast buffet was amazing with attention was placed on those with food allergies. The staff was helpful with setting up the tours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Best value accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not in anyway disappointed as we were not expecting a modern hotel

    The location is perfect with a 20 min stroll to the train , bus station. The staff and owner can’t do enough for guests and provide you with all the necessary assistance and information.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    The view from the room and terrace was absolutely stunning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The 'shower' in the room could use improvement, perhaps some curtains so water doesn't go everywhere as well as an actually holder for the head so you don't have to hold it yourself. That being said it's a pretty trivial criticism.

    The view from the room and terrace was absolutely stunning, great to sit back and eat some caprese and prosciutto while watching the sun set. The private beach was also really nice and quiet, great for relaxing while also soaking in the surreal scenes of the Amalfi coast. The staff were also extremely helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was not very reliable. Also, some walking is needed to go to the town centre because the taxis are quite expensive in Sorrento!

    Very helpful staff, great breakfast (with lots of organic products), private beach that can be accessed by a lift. We really liked the terrace - a beautiful view across the bay. The rooms had a great view too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.5
    The front desk was helpfu re: bus. And the had great recommendations on restaurants. Reasonable and
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were not friendly or efficient. The food was underwhelming. No eggs, weak on fruit and cappuccino was weak.

    We had 2br for 3 people. It was large and had a nice view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    We had all we needed for a good holiday : ) would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorrento seems to be quite expensive for accommodation...Hotel could do with some updating : ) but I knew that before we went...at the same time all was sufficient for what we needed : )

    Really friendly helpful staff : ) the tour company they work with for boat trips to Capri is amazing & I highly recommend! Breakfast was nice! The walkway down to the beach is beautiful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was amaizing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from citycenter and the shower was like a pool... Not in a good way

    Breakfast was amaizing! Fresh home made cheese, a lot of vegan or natural options i thought it was Heaven every morning :))) private beach is a bonus but the downside is that the sunbeds were not included

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    We were able to book it the night before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was extremely slow and oftentimes nonexistent at any point in the property. The room was two floors down with no elevator. Room was small and bathroom and balcony were also on the small side. Breakfast room was crowded and not much fresh fruit on offer

    We were able to book it the night before. It has an elevator down a cliff to a flight of stairs leading to a private beach. Spectacular views!! The beach was really nice. You could rent lounge chairs with umbrella and table for eight euro a day. The water and view were lovely. And the garden at the nieghoring Hotel La Tonnarella was pretty. There was a beachfront cafe at the end of a shady path that sold ice-cream and cold drinks. The walk to the hostoric center is lovely with a breeze and magnificent panoramic view of the Bay of Naples. Took about 10-15 minutes so very convenient to shops and restaurants. There was a rooftop terrace on top of the hotel where they had a huge tv and were showing World Cup Soccer and you could order drinks at the front desk. Price was great!! Room had a small terrace with sea view. Lobby was very attractive with flowers ceramic floors and magnificent view. Staff was very helpful. They did our laundry for free and were helpful with directions and information. We will be back!! A hidden gem in Sorrento and great point for exploring the Amalfi Coast. In addition bus stops were only 300 meters away. Perfect location view and staff and great value!! Loved the private beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    A scenic walk from the hotel to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not available in our room the whole time and also unstable in the lobby. The rooms and facilities were a bit old. Some parts should be refurnished The towels provided were so old, looked like they’ve been used for many years. Beds weren’t comfortable Breakfast was ok Car park was difficult to get into if you have a big car

    A scenic walk from the hotel to the centre. Staff were very helpful and suggested some nice places to go in pompeii and Capri. Nice view Private beach but you need to pay to use the sun beds and umbrellas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    Okay for a one night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has such a potential. However, it's not being used. Uncomfortable beds, very old shower, and the breakfast room looks like a cantine. Not worth the money we paid (100€). Even for a one night stop I would consider a different hotel, but you have free parking so that's a bonus.

    Free parking, short 20 minute walk from the centre. We were lucky to have a room with a balcony and view to the ocean. Private beach, which is nice for pictures.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    The Beach on your doorstep was fantastic
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More than happy with everything Breakfast Lady was superb with individual coffees

    The staff were as good as the view, We were treated like long lost friends and nothing was a problem. The location and the Private Beach made our stay with a easy 10min stroll to town Definitely The Place to stay in Sorrento value for dollar but more so for the staff!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel did not offer a hair dryer and did not have air conditioning but we did have box fans to keep the air moving.

    We stayed at Hotel Desiree on our honeymoon. The location of the hotel was a little away from the downtown area and an uphill walk, but we did not mind at all because there were wonderful views along the way. Plus, we enjoyed being outside of the busyness of downtown. The hotel offered us a great room with a beautiful view of the water. The hotel also offered a day excursion to the island of Capri which we were able to book once we were at the hotel. The excursion was amazing and definitely worth it! They staff was very friendly and offered great information on the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Close to all amenities and very comfortable. All staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed air con as was very hot at night and fan only moved the air around. Overall very good.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Center of town was nice walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff was wonderful, so friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs an update. Bring money down to the beach with you, it costs 5 euros per chair.

    The staff was wonderful, so friendly and helpful. The views were spectacular. Our room and patio space were so nice, even had a seaview! Beach was a nice addition. Breakfast was really good. Hearing what other people in the area payed for a sea view room I think this place is well worth what we paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Id give the over all stay a 5.5, we considered moving to a different hotel BUT didn't, wifi good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dislikes: Aircon didn't work when needed it at night, bed hard, no shower curtain (water went everywhere) quite "run down" in parts"... breakfast had too many vegan options and too many carbs, weird

    Likes: the views are good, wifi great, and the staff is really nice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Location worked for our time in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath towels were frayed. Bedspread looked like sandpaper. A few liight fixtures not working and staff was informed.

    Cliffside view of the bay from the rooftop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff, great breakfast, lovely views, private beach and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was quite noisy,nothing excessive just because of the layout of the building and other guests, so we were woken up early most mornings. The staff didn’t advertise the beach to us and we had to ask. It was obviously unstaffed and a little unkempt, though I did enjoy the quiet as a result of very few others using it.

    Breakfast was amazing. So many options and fresh food and super tasty. The private beach is lovely, great location, friendly and informative staff, plenty of options for activities which they will organise on your behalf, private balcony for our room was great and the view spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn't working. Only one plug socket in bedroom. No hairdryer in room. No mirror in bedroom. Tax on room had to be paid in cash,seemed a bit bizarre.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Awesome view and value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Simple room surrounded by nature. Walk or take the elevator to the beach. Stunning view. If taking the bus, get off at Hotel La Tonnarella. Sorrento in May is packed with tourists. This place provides a peace of mind and a little away from down town Sorrento with short bus ride of 5 min. worth it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great little hotel near the sea with a great private acces to a private beach. Inside of the hotel and the rooms need some renovation to have a younger look but it was clean. If you're looking for a vintage - oldfashioned style of a hotel, you're in a good place, if you're looking for something more luxirous maybe you should look away. It was very confortable for us and the personel was very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Exactly as described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exactly as described. Clean, simple, good location and great view from the room. We loved the non-contrived quirkiness of the hotel and the staff were great and very welcoming. Handy to walk into the centre of sorrento, but also nice to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service and fantastic location with a private beach!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given an amazing apartment, excellent views but no lift. I would suggest to provide guess with assistance on arrival and at departure.

    Just 15 minutes walk from the main square of Sorrento. Amazing location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Grest location, good breakfast but facilities would benefit from a make over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was comfortable but bathroom was very tired. The hotel is in a great location but could really do with updating and making the most of facilities available. It has access, with the hotel next door, to a private beach, but facilities were not yet open. We visited mid May but were told it was not really the holiday season yet! Good value but could be so much better.

    Staff were really helpful. Good choice of cakes/breads etc for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Loved it 👍☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron, shower was a little awkward but very good value for money the host was EXCELLENT AND VERY HELPFUL.

    The View AMAZING, the host Pascal wonderful 🙂

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice private beach, a pretty nice location around 25...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi was pretty low. It works better in public areas. Breakfast was just fine, not too variate tho. The bathroom is a bit oldfashioned.

    Very nice private beach, a pretty nice location around 25 min away walk from the train station. The room had a wonderful view. The staff was friendly and helpfull. Has private parking too. For the price of the room it was a good choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Great staff,very helpul and kind:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ok, the blankets and towels looked old,after many washings.The feeling was the room was not clean enough.

    Great staff,very helpul and kind:) Vegan options in breakfast.good location with parking, only 10 minutes from center by walk.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was little uncomfortable, but that`s because we are used to a different mattress.

    The staff was very nice and kind. They`re were actually what makes the property ,what it is.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Delicious organic breakfast in the mornings.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furnishings and mattresses are a bit old.

    Delicious organic breakfast in the mornings. Very close to Sorrento town, 10min scenic stroll downhill. Make sure to brave the lift and check out the private beach, you won't find a nicer spot in town!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can't think about

    The staff are friendly and helpful Antionio is one of them. The breakfast selections bread, cereals, cheeses and cakes as well as fruits and yogurt n orange juice. Alioni the one in the restaurant is so nice made us a nice coffee n seeing that is always top up the breakfast table. The private beach is just downhill of the hotel. Definitely coming back😍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Budget friendly stay with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was disappointed in the small room for a quadruple. Thought it would be a bit bigger and this was for 4 adults. I was hoping the beach would be in better condition but I understand it was a bad winter and staff was still trying to catch up to get ready for the busy high season.

    The staff was excellent especially the reception desk. All 3 of the receptions staff that we interacted with were very helpful and knowledgeable. The courtesy shuttle to and from the restaurants was a bonus too. We did the boat tour to Capri. The tour picked us up in front of the hotel which was nice and easy. Breakfast was ok. Variety of meats and cheeses, cereal, fruits and yogurt along with coffee, tea and fruit juice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value..would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corinna was beyond helpful. My son left his computer charger in the room and she met our bus the following day at a bus stop to return it!!! The whole staff was friendly, informative, and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, simple room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite plain.

    Great location. Could hear a waterfall and birds from our room. Friendly and helpful staff. Very good price for the location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay, decent value and good views. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to the hotel from the train station was a bit confusing - make sure you jump on the right bus! If budget allows, I would recommend a taxi.

    Staff were very friendly, the location was great. It is up the hill and away from the loud noise from traffic and the town. Our balcony faced a waterfall and the sound of birds and water was very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Worth booking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t complain, good value for money.

    Look, this is not a five star hotel, but it does exactly what it says on the tin (in an over priced market). Good value for many, the brekkie is extensive enough, but the staff win out. We were talking to Antonio - he is like google. So helpful, saved us time and money on activities, where to go and what to do. A beach located down the steps, there’s also an elevator too if you don’t want to walk down. Location was good to the station (walk in about 25mins), longer from the port (with a lot of steps, but doable), bus stop to amalfi virtually at the top of the drive (or walk to station ensure you get a seat, but at least you can jump off at your hotel at the end of a long day).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Probably better in the season when there is a bar by the beach open and area to relax all set up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Outdated- could do with a bit of modernising Shower head was dirty We had an invasion of ants (but it was sorted out straight away!) A bit loud, you can hear people walking or talking in the corridor inside your hotel room

    Lovely, very friendly and helpful staff Breakfast was deacent Private beach Sea view to die for Short pleasant walk to town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    2.9
    Not impressed and NOT recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty and very dusty. Hair dryer didn’t work. Neither did the WiFi- very frustrating. Unfriendly staff and extremely unhelpful. Towels were disgusting and old. Cats roaming around hotel and smoking in the bedroom/passages.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Very close to a beach with direct access down an elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a walk from the centre of town. Its about 25min uphill but we still managed it with big suitcases.

    Very close to a beach with direct access down an elevator. Breakfast was good and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.0
    Place is not so bad, but hotel is too expencive for standard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Condition of the hotel is not so nice as at the pictures, ants in room, many broken things in room.

    Place is not so bad, but hotel is too expencive for standard which we get. Time in that hotel stoped 20 years ago. Condition of the room is not really good. We had ants in bathroom, many things ware broken. I can say like this, good place if the price could be lower 50%, not for that price which we paid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We looooved it! The hotel’s location is incredible, offering a breathtaking panoramic view, an awesome garden and a stunning private beach. We had a wonderful stay here! The access to the beach is by elevator followed by walking through a luxurious garden. We enjoyed the private beach with sunbeds, crystal clear water, cliffs nearby, birds singing, city view...simply breathtaking, although the beach isn’t very large and it has pebbles. The room was very clean and spacious, the furniture was simple and efficient. Also, we had access from the room to the garden’s pathways and outside space with table and chairs for relaxation. The bathroom was situated 3-4 steps down the room’s level and it was very clean and spacious. Breakfast was also incredibly good and fresh with lots of stuff: bio cakes, fresh croissants, many types of cheese, salami, milk, bread, tomatoes, cereals, fruits, honey, jam and many other things. We also enjoyed the communication with the staff which were very helpful and gave us all the necessary details. Many thanks to them!!! Another big advantage for us was the free private parking situated in the hotel’s courtyard. We will come back here and we recommend everyone else to visit this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay in Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waterpomp is a bit noisy when you stay downstairs. Bring earplugs!

    The location is great. Also the breakfast is great (loved the vegan options). Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Lovely location on a small cliff of Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location on a small cliff of Sorrento. I had a small health problem while I was there and the staff went above and beyond to help me. The staff talk perfect English and they will help you with maps of the town and indication. Buses arrive very close to the property, the property will provide you with the timetable of the buses. There is a lovely private beach in the property. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    It wasn’t exactly what we needed, relaxing and peaceful as a couokes first holiday away together
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real shower and shower bath head leaked.

    Staff and roof terrace with fantastic views. An extremely comfortable stay, clean and excellent value including breakfast. It’s

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.0
    Lovely staff and view but hard bed and worn out old furnishings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was the hardest thing I’ve ever slept on. Bedspread and blanket were very old and looked like they’d been used for many years. Furniture fabric worn and torn. Towels the same. For a few euros these things could be updated and make a huge difference. Hand held shower didn’t hang up so difficult to shower. Water temperature not very hot. Roof terrace needs a good clean.

    Staff were great. Very friendly and welcoming. Had a bottle of wine for our anniversary. View from our window lovely. Elevator to beach was good. Breakfast nice. Although there is no bar fridge or tea and coffee in room there was a shared bar fridge outside.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Good for a short stint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a bit hard and 2 single mattresses together

    Communal fridge and kettle on each floor was good, parking ok, easy to walk to town and stunning views. Very good WiFi Very clean and rooms serviced everyday with clean towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    A lovely spot but needs a lot of TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We walked down to the beach and it was an abandoned ramshackle affair that had seen better days, I hope! Wisteria taking over the area was beautiful but the whole place seemed haunted.

    The breakfast was delicious and had a good variety of foods. Great view on upper terrace where we drank a bottle of wine one evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Great host. Clean and comfortable 😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of a good shower in room 13 and no coffee/tea facilities inside the room.

    Great location, gorgeous views from our room number 13 and lovely breakfast 😃

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    The private beach is just awesome! I would stay at Desiree anytime!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have stayed with Hotel Desiree on a previous occasion. It is not modern and some of the interior is outdated. But the location, value for money is good and the view is breathtaking. Friendly and very helpful staff - gave us great ideas for trips in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed my stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed was too soft and was two singles pushed together (albeit with a mattress cover)

    Excellent location, and it makes the most of it with not only a roof terrace, but a couple of other little terraces tucked away, that are perfect for a little al fresco dining. Breakfast was better than expected for a 2 star, and included vegan options

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel Desiree was pleasant and met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room/bathroom were outdated, and the bed was uncomfortable (could feel springs). The walls are thin, and we could hear other guests often.

    Hotel Desiree was pleasant and met our expectations. It was a little farther from the central area of the city than we thought, but not a bad walk. The breakfast has choices, and coffee and other coffee drinks (cappucino, espresso, etc.) offered. Our room was a good size, and there was a small refrigerator and hot water kettle in the hall available to use. The outdoor balcony was great for watching the sunset with a bottle of wine! The staff was helpful and gave recommendations and directions to places to visit!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money and great location / views over the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast food was a little plain and underwhelming.

    The staff were super friendly and helpful! Especially on reception. Excellent restaurant recommended to us nearby called "Verde Mare"!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The powerful noise all the time-day and night. Breakfast-same thing every day. Towel was broken. It is not a hotel for 2 star. I stay in other city from Europe- Munich, Augsburg,...were 2 star are 2 star. I don’t come again on this hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: