Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sant'Eligio Hotel 3 stars

Via Bernardino Rota 36/38, Port of Naples, 80133 Naples, Italy

#91 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 309 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 67

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very poor. Web said internet was available throughout the hotel. This is not true. I was unable to do any work for the three days I was there

    Staff were very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little lukewarm but that could be down to the timing of our showers

    The staff and owner couldn’t do enough to help! Good location for the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Would be great, if quality of internet access could be improved (it was working poorly). My travel companion commented about inconvenient shower cabin: access a bit too narrow, water stayed too long in shower tray.

    Very friendly and helpful Staff. Our special requests (for example hot water delivered to the room) were fulfilled without any issue. Nice terrace on the roof for breakfasts.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt uncomfortable during our stay, water from the bathroom travels to the room, now you will know about the accommodation

    Walkable distance from the central station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There may be more glamorous parts to stay in but you're not far from most attractions and we felt very relaxed as in any other major European city centre. The new metro at the end of the street was undergoing construction so not yet open. The ancient stone pavements can be slippery in the wet so take care.

    Friendly, authentic Neapolitan hotel in historic port area, 10 mins from the central station. Cosy, spotlessly clean and very well-maintained rooms and communal areas representing excellent value for money. This is a traditional hotel in the vibrant, authentic heart of Naples, full of character and a million miles away from international hotel chains. Fresh croissant and coffee are delivered to your bedroom each morning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no hot water and rooms are not like on booking at all. No slippers for toilets, tv isnt working, very poor breakfast and the street is ery noisy

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didn’t work, reception said it would be fixed in 20min, it wasn’t even fixed the next morning. There was no heating so the room was freezing. Breakfast was just bread with nutella not so good. Parking was awful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on arrival they asked about what time I wanted my breakfast! A strange question because I was ther for leisure and I did not reay want to fix a time for breakfast the next day they knocked on the door to serve the breakfast in the room , which I didn"t ask for because I don;t really enjoy eating breakfast alone in a room which even does not have a proper window. That night I asked if I they did not have a room to serve breakfast , the receptionist who could not speak wel in English said that only on terrace which I said that was Ok but the next day again they knocked on the door and as I was taking a shower and could not open the door, called and again knocked and drove me crazy.

    the Location was Ok, in waling distance of the central station and the port.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    internet speed, pillows.

    Every member of staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The hotel is in a good location, not too far from both the historic district and the port, about ten minutes walk to the nearest metro station. Although quite central, it's quiet at night for sleeping. The internet varied between very slow and perfectly fast. The beds are comfortable; firm but not at all like the usual hard italian mattresses! (my pillow was too firm and the staff got me a softer one straight away). We rang the hotel an hour before arrival and had a parking space directly outside the hotel. The sheets and towels were snowy white and changed every day. The room could probably do with a coat of paint, but we didn't spend a great deal of time in the room. The price was reasonable, and compared to what else was on offer in Naples, pretty inexpensive. Breakfast is coffee and croissants served on the roof terrace. I like coffee and tea in the mornings so they brought me both. Again, staff were super friendly and helpful as they were in the small restaurant next door - the whole place is run by one family. We found the food to be both delicious and cheap - on average, around forty euro for sparkling water, half carafe of wine, bread, pasta, meat dish, salad and pudding. But if you just wanted a very good pizza, it's between three to five euro. (On our first night, we paid fifty for two burgers and a bottle of wine in the old town!!) We had put off visiting Naples after hearing reports of lawlessness, but we found it to be vibrant and exciting, with incredibly friendly helpful people. We went to view the art and were not disappointed. Many of the museums/galleries have cheaper or free times to visit, so we planned our visit around them. Most museums/galleries are closed on Tuesdays. We are looking forward to going back one day and would definitely stay at Sant Eligio again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't find any fault worthy of mention.

    The room was individual, unlike the normal hotel chain. This was a delight rather than a disadvantage. All the staff were polite and friendly, and the customer facing staff spoke excellent English. If you want a real taste of Naples this is the place for your stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is located between the port and the central train station (10-15 min walking). I wouldn't recommend leaving the car over night because the street is very narrow and a bit "shady". The breakfast on the terrace was very nice and calming (the juice was super tasty!!)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Naples... it's the most scary and dirty city I ever visited. And the breakfast was not much (just one croissant). Many places in Italy they eat and provide only sweet things for breakfast and I couldn't get used to it over my 2 weeks around the country.

    The staff was nice and we had free parking place at the front of the hotel. The coffee was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My friend was covered in broken glass in the shower and sustained superficial cuts on her arms and legs as shower door collapsed when she was getting out.

    The price and location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is in a not so pretty street The breakfast is very simple, fixed amount per person (something like one sweet croissant, some packs of mini toasts, coffee, milk, chocolate, and packs of jam, butter and a Nutella-like if I'm not mistaken) and you give a estimated time to eat it Wifi signal had its ups and downs Mattress was thin

    Staff very friendly Good shower pressure Very clean (they even changed the used but not finished soaps every day) Good size (bathroom and room) even with a table with two chairs in the room The (melted?) chocolate for the hot chocolate in the breakfast was soooo good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was a bit rough.

    The room was great for the price. We got good help from the staff. The Breakfast on the terrasse in the Morning sun was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WIFI has a lof of interuptions, no fresh bread for breakast, only croissants (very sweet) and "fette biscottate" (biscuits). Some cheese and fresh bread would be great and bring some more points.

    The location, the size of the room, clean towels and sheets, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more choice for breakfast would have been good.

    Bed was super comfy! The staff were really friendly. Breaksfast is served in your room every morning!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't really understand how the radiator worked, it went form on to off during the day/night. There was an AC you could use to warm the room, but the air that it blowed didn't feel clean (got me coughing so I couldn't use it). So I was sometimes freezing in the room, but got an extra blanket when asked.

    The hotels was clean and the neighborhood quiet which was a big plus. Of course you heard something but not much. And nothing from the other rooms. The breakfast was good (mostly sweet but that's quite common I guess..)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The heater in the room only came on for a couple hours each night so the room was a little bit cold.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast came with a jug of warm milk, a jug of hot chocolate and a jug of espresso. It was fantastic!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The local area is not the best: our taxi driver was surprised we were staying here. The thing to remember is that Napoli is a poor city in general.

    Nice modern decor in our room, but renovation is incomplete so the rest of the hotel looks a little dated. But it's a nice relaxed place, popular with young people.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were a bit too soft

    This hotel is quiet, clean and well situated just a few minutes walk from the historical centre. Don't miss the fantastic hot chocolate for breakfast which is taken on the roof terrace.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got moved to a different Hotel, Hotel Diamond, because of some problems with bathrooms at St. Eligio's. Breakfast was very poor, the shower door didn't close properly causing a proper flood in the bathroom, the hairdryer could work just for 2 minutes and then stopped because it was getting too hot so you had to wait for it to cool down to be able to use it for 2 more minutes... Walking downstairs for breakfast we saw that one of the maids was smoking in a room while making the bed...Overall not a great experience, it's good it was just for 1 night.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - uncleaned rooms - dirty underwear from the previous guest were in the room - not suitable for 4 persons (no family room), no space - Air Conditioning defective - window not to open - insufficient breakfast - dirty bathroom - uncomfortable bed (to thin mattress) - defects in bathroom - bathrooms for disabled - oversized Toillette (not to use for children)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people of the staff were not really kind with us. But you find that in all the places.

    Location and facilities. The room was very clean and comfortable. The rooftop it's good for have breakfast, although the are some dove.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff helpful, good location for old city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff and comfortable beds !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast served in room, usually not at requested time

    Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even with GPS, the taxi driver could not find it easily.

    Friendly staff. We had breakfast on the roof, nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi

    Very good people . Near the historical city center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the bathroom everything should literally put back to the wall.

    Extra friendly staff. Stylish room. Generous breakfast served in the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, just a few minutes walk to Via dei Tribunali. Nice and helpful staff. Clean and nice room. Next to the hotel pizzeria.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had small problems with the heating

    very nice staff, breakfast to the room, good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    near ,car parkir all day free

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in a residential area

    Nice room decor, helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    floor of the room can be cleaner.

    considering the price, the best hotel in Napoli! nice people, nice breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    In real need of updating. Fixtures falling off walls, leaving exposed nails (not great with kids!). Problems not sorted when staff said they would (e.g. air conditioning remote - they were unable to get us any batteries for 2 nights.

    Location good. Allowed for late check in, 24 hr desk.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    After walking down and dirty backstreet alley way into a hotel when nobody could speak one word of English entering a room with the door falls off dirty bathroom stinking of smoke I would like to know who would ever recommend this hotel to anyone is the worst place I've ever stayed in my life the photo on your site need to be look at again as there not the same as the hotel

    Nothing at all

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Upon arrival and throughout our stay the hotel staff were lovely and so very helpful, the manager was especially helpful. The room was just like the picture and was clean and tidy. If we return to Naples we would definitely stay here without hesitation.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little difficult to get to by car but not that big a deal.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful, breakfast is brought to your room, the shower is good and the room comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A little squeezy with everyone in one room and area is off main tourist routes.

    Only a sort stay and hotel chosen because of proximity to Circumvesuviana trains (for visits to Pompeii & Ercoleum). Market and little supermarket nearby. Staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A tough neighborhood if you are not savvy but the hotel made sure we had a local with us when we walked to the ATM.

    The staff was very kind and the rooms were perfect for our short stay. We picked the location to be close to the ferry to Capri and it was walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast proudly presented as "Italian breakfast" comprised of a tray of one croissant per guest, a packet of toast per guest, plastic cup of juice and a pot of coffee sufficient for one cup per guest. The bathroom door was a sliding door which had to be worked around to open with some difficulty. The shower when shifted to hot was just a trickle and not a pleasant flow.

    Friendly staff 20 minutes walk to the train station.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beds are kind of uncomfortable, but it is not a big deal

    The staff is super friendly and will help you in whatever you need. The hotel is close to great restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lift is tiny but not a problem in operation. At times the foyer smelt quite smokey.

    Staff very helpful, good distance from central train station but more importantly for us, only a short walk to the Circumvesuviana. Great restaurant beside the hotel. A good hotel if like us you enjoy getting into the real places in a city rather than tourist hangouts.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was told parking was free - we were directed to a carpark by the receptionist and on collecting our car had to pay 40 euros!! Very annoyed especially when we asked where we could park - Get the details right on the website. Sadly the streets of Naples are very dirty and full of litter but hotel was clean.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You can't ask more for your money. Nice, clean hotel with the best possible personnel. They were glad to help their guests in every way thay can. Especially signor Emilio. Breakfast on a terrace was also nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We took a family room for four. It was a litlle bit small, but as we spent only the nights in the room, this wasn't a problem.

    Perfect location for visiting the city, evening walks, and to reach ferry to Capri and train to Sorrento, Amalfi. Room is clean, breakfast on the terrace is especially pleasant. Staff, especially Emilio is very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Make sure to figure out where to park if you have a car. This is a pretty sketchy area and I wouldn't recommend walking around outside at night. We didn't where to park and parked in a spot about 5m away from the hotel and ended up getting our car window smashed at night...

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi was available only in the corner of the room and the strongest signal was only near the stairs.

    Room was nice with a big bathroom, nice bed. The staff was nice and helpful, breakfast was served in the room, by appointment.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, a good base for.sightseeing

    Breakfast in room a treat for us, warm croissants, hot chocolate etc.staff very friendly, hotel very clean.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was cleaned everyday and the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. Great location in the middle of everywhere great place to stay

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - almost in the historical centre! Comfortable place! Supportive staff! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    exellent location, the staff was very helpful, the breakfast was nice and served in time, the rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work well.

    Location was good, and price was reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very helpful, nice breakfast-terrace, comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location was difficult for taxi to find and difficult for me on foot.

    Clean room.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very good staff and excellent location in the center

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very good and convenient hotel! Recommend for stay in Naples!

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location and nice breakfast on the roof balcony

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is a restaurant downstairs which was a little noisy on weekend nights, however stopped at midnight.

    Friendly staff and clean room

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The bed was very comfortable and the room very modern and spacious.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No milk or fresh bread at breakfast. Stale fruits.

    Clean and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi connection not strong but staff keen to assist

    Cultural history of Naples. Metro artwork.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Cistern leaked and aircon made noise.

    Authentic hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location

    Everything about the hotel with the exception of the location.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 67

Browse Sant'Eligio Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: