Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Diplomatic 3 stars

Via Vittoria Colonna 28, Vatican City - Prati, 00196 Rome, Italy

#304 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1237 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed bug bites . . . what a horrible experience. They did move our room after we were bitten during two nights, and the new room did not seem to have them.

    Convenient location & staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best value hotel and one of best locations in Rome - quiet area within easy walking distance of all attractions . Very clean rooms , bathrooms are modern . 24hr staff who are always polite and welcoming. Will return time after time for excellent value for money. Breakfast is very good value .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was useless and I ended up using my phone as a hotspot unfortunately.

    Great and friendly staff made this stay a good one. Small but clean and adequate room with a view of the road and river. Double glazing made it all OK though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lot of things could have been better but it does the job

    Very good location in between most of sightseeing spots next to the river bank. Football stadium is not too far away either. Tiny room but does the job to sleep and shower. At this rate and location no complaints really.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very weak breakfast, if you stay here don't pay for the breakfast. Rooms could have been better, different than the ones in the pictures.

    Location for sure, the best places of rome and restaurants all 3-5 minutes ahead by walking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I requested an early check-in and late check-out, this didn't filter through to the hotel. At check-in the hotel said they couldn't accommodate this but then 5min later they magically had a room ready to give us. Same with check-out; I asked again about a late check-out and they had no notice of this then magically I could get a 1hour late check-out which didn't filter through to the cleaning staff as they walked into the room while I was in bed! The room was ok (as you not spending much time in your room, only sleeping). The bathroom was tiny and in need up updating. The shower head kept spraying water out the bath, the only way to make this stop was to shower up against the wall which is impossible. "Toiletries provided", don't count on this, there was one bottle of shower gel/shampoo and 2 boxes with shower caps and cotton wool.

    The location is good as close to the city centre and all attractions. Didn't need public transport just walked everywhere. The breakfast was nice, good selection of teas and coffees.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The photos on Booking.com gave me the impression that the hotel had a nice lobby so it was disappointing to find only a small ground floor entrance and everything else upstairs in 2 buildings with an outside patio that could be used for breakfast in the morning with good weather. The patio area was not being used and needed cleaning before summer.

    The location was good for what we were wanting to do, also on a bus line.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the building is a little older, you quickly overcome that fact with how pleasant and friendly all of the staff are. Their attitudes turns this hotel from a 6/10 to a 9/10.

    Service was astounding. Location was perfect for sightseeing - central to everywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None.

    Very good location of the hotel near the Vatican and most of the popular places in Rome. Very clean. Despite the location in the center of the street the noise was not disruptive. The area around the hotel was orderly and seemed secure. A very varied breakfast. No problems with WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to make use of the public parking garage which was very close by, but cost a small fortune for two nights stay. Extremely expensive!! I would suggest leaving the car somewhere else if you have one and using public transport to commute to the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like the breakfast much, as it was too heavy. No eggs (boiled or omelette). Too much oily pastries. No vegetables or fruit. If the room faces the street, it is too noisy to open the window.

    The location is superb. The place is within walking distances of many major sights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Almost nothing.

    Excellent location. Very close to everywhere but far enough to find original Italian restaurants rather than "touristic" managements. Very kind, polite and helpful staff. Public buses from the airport directly stop in front of the hotel. If I knew this, I wouldn't take the train+metro. I really enjoyed the art-deco enterance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was too monotonous.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient for all who want to do the sightseeing. You do not have to take any transport to see the Vatican city, Piazza Navona, the Trevi Fountain and many beautiful basilicas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wider selection of breakfast would of been nice. Fresh fruit and not tinned fruit would be a bonus.

    Fantastic location, friendly staff and the room was really clean and comfortable. Bathroom was great too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the carpets in the rooms must have been dusty as we all ended up sneezing. Pictures we had seen, compared to the reality were a bit of a let down but on the whole it was good.

    Very central, taxis were provided to and from the airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit far from Colloseum - didn't manage to get there. Somebody who wants a TV may be disappointed - it has about 15" TV in the room. The room is pretty small.

    Very friendly reception. Nice location. Very very nice restaurants nearby. Close to all nice places and city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were do i start The elevator was tiny and very very slow and old - only fits 3 people at a time and you wonder if you will going reach your destination The room was tiny for the 3 of us, the shower was very uncomfortable, no lock, very tiny, the exhaust not working I requested on my booking a top floor with a good view and i was given the room opposite to what has been requested. Although we are in the 4th floor but we are facing in the wall by next building all you can see is the crack wall of the building and the rusty pipes Noisy at night when some guest arrived after clubbing The room was too hot as there is no air conditioned we have to leave the window open but at the same time we are scared as the window are widely with no security The breakfast was not bad but you get the same stuff everyday , the fruits from the tin nit fresh, i just wondering if they change it or not The area was not accommodating at all Sorry tobe banting about it but cant help with my disappointment as i wanted to experience a good stay in Rome

    Location was good if you want to explore vatican as it is a walking distance The receptionist and staff are friendly and accommodating We arrived early and the room was ready thats a bonus that we are able to check in early

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We faced two unexpected issues, which were not mentioned in the hotel description. Internet speed was very-very low all 3 days we stayed: 0.1-0.2 Mbyte/sec, and regularly interrupted - I've checked it by different gadgets on any floor. Now I see other guests report the same for a long time. Second, there is no ironing opportunities - ironing is not allowed in the rooms, and the Hotel has no laundry or any special room for it.

    The Hotel has very good location - close to the downtown, easy to reach from the airport by bus shuttle. It was quiet, as our window looked out upon the courtyard. Breakfast is common for Italy, met our expectations. Staff is very courteous.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a superior room and the mattress was horible, we had neck pain all vacantion. The door from the first floor on patio it gets puled every time it opens because it doesn't have stopper and every morning around 6.30 everyone from the floor was up.

    Location Very good coffee Staff amability

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room Bathroom extractor didn't work Double bed was two singles pushed together Breakfast was very basic

    Good Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was extremely slow: I had urgent work with me and working both via dropbox and email was very slow - it took all night to upload and download files and to send emails with attachments. The air conditioning in the room was a too noisy, so we had to turn it off to sleep. There was not an ironing board nor an iron in the room.

    It was a good experience overall; nothing exciting though. The staff were helpful (sometimes smiling) and the breakfast ladies were very good and worked hard to keep everyone happy. The location is very good - a short walk to Spanish Steps (actually built by the French, so too the church at the top of the steps) and a short walk to the Vatican and some good out-of-the-tourist-trap-way cafes and restaurants around St John the Baptist Basilica. There are similar options at around half the price but these are more than 3-5km out of the city; the location of this hotel is very good....handy to just about everything, safe, quiet, not in a tourist trap area and away from crowds. I would consider it again for next time, but I would probably spend just a little more and stay at a better option.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    other than the location and the staff are nice, everything else is bad, door of the next room was very very close to ours, when they unlock it, it feels like they are entering our room, the towels smell, the bed feels like sleeping on a rock, the mini bar fridge doesn't work. the elevator is the oldest I've ever seen, only fits 3 persons, and takes a very long time.

    let's say the good thing is the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea making facility in room. Although you could get from downstairs I love to be able to have a quiet cup of coffee when I wake up and a cup of tea at night. This is the only hotel I have stayed at in the world that didn't have a jug

    Breakfast was great. The staff were great. Location was extremely convenient

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    when we arrived a porter insisted on taking bags to the room even though we wanted to do it and then hanging around outside the room waiting to be tipped.

    The support of the reception staff the fact that the room was cleaned daily and towels changed. the hotel was perfect for my family.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could do with a kettle in the rooms - if there was one, we couldn't find it! And, it's an old hotel, so the lift is not that adequate - only 3 people at a time - no problem for us but maybe for some travellers.

    The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had a bit of an emergency with our daughter and the staff went out of their way to help us. Can't thank them enough for their kindness and support. Rooms are clean and spacious. Beds are big and comfy. Not huge on breakfast personally, but the family enjoyed their breakfasts and their was plenty of if! Ideally located for an easy walk to the Vatican, Spanish Steps and Shops. Want to go anywhere else, the concierge will call you a taxi which will arrive in under 3mins! Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was not any bad circumstances

    We were travelling to Rome to sightseeing all days so we were in the hotel only night time. The room was great with clean nice bathroom. Windows faced inside the courtyard Calm and quite. Breakfast was good as continental. Parking place was very closed at an underground garage for daily 22 EUR. The famous places were close to the hotel and we just walked everywhere. If you travel to Rome buy your tickets in advance. The Vatican has huge lines before entrance. They are not strict as written on the ticket to cover shoulder and knee and small packet allow carrying on with you. We have seen back packs and long shorts also. ( It was summer 35C)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    An excellent location walking distance from a huge range of Rome 's sights. Nice staff and a great breakfast. If you are in Rome an excellent place to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I have is that the wifi signal was very weak!

    The room was a good size with great pillows and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was almost perfect, especially the area to eat breakfast where there was a little outdoor terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was somewhat cramped & lighting was low.

    The attention of the staff was excellent. Very helpful by answering questions & arranging taxis. Good location & tasty restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a bit patchy and a pain to sign into. Hotel slightly dated, needs a spruce up. Bathrooms outdated.

    Just over the river from the centre but close to everything. Staff friendly, quiet neighbourhood but close to public transport and a few local restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view from our window was another building, air conditioning units and roof tops.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast room and food was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say I didn't like anything, would of been nice to have a night cap after the day of exploring fabulous Rome. A bar would be a good addition. Hotel a bit tired looking, whoever was clean and comfortable.

    Hotel was situated in a central position. Staff very helpful. Breakfast ok, but could of had some fresh fruit and maybe a boiled egg. On the whole my stay was a pleasant one.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong cigarette smell in our room on day 2, pretty sure the guests next door were smoking in there room. Asked reception and they provided some air freshener for us which helped.

    Room was large and had everything we needed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was clean, well appointed and within walking distance to all major tourist sites and great restaurants nearby. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend staying at this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's no parking lot. I would have parked at public parking lot and payed parking fee.

    it's a good location to go sightseeing and staff was so kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude and disrespectful, especially two of them. The room was cold and not very clean. The bed was very rough (I suffered from backache during and after the stay)the lift was very very small and it was broken one day and we had to climb 5 stairs which was very tiring.

    The location of the hotel was good. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room slightly smelled of smoke. A small TV in the room. The dirty walls. Hard bed. Quite well heard the noise of the street. Poor Breakfast without hot dishes.

    Staff can anticipate your question. Large room. Very large bed. large bathroom with toiletries. Quite convenient location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was great that the hotel offers to keep luggage when you leave but the receptionists should ticket items properly and give a receipt. Ask for a room at the back because the street side is quite noisy - and there are just one or two cars in Rome!!

    Great location for both Rome and the Vatican. Efficient and friendly service both at reception and breakfast. Clean, well looked after rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is always something that can be improved, regardless of the hotel and number of stars

    Very centrally located, just 15 minutes from Vatican and Spanish Steps. Rome is compact city and all the attractions are easy to find from the hotel. Good cleaning and very good room service, they changed towels ewry day, bedcloths changed other day. Good service and friendly helpful staff. They serve a OK Italien breakfast. I coming to live at the Diplomat, next time I'm going to Rome .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffe making facilities in room and only news in English on tv

    Good quality breakfast and capucinno on order. Can eat outside in courtyard as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tinned sweet fruit for Breakfast, plus the staff coming in and out of the kitchen . They were very loud and noisy and started clearing away well before Breakfast time had finished.

    Bathroom and bedroom was comfortable, however we missed being able to make a hot drink in our room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe hotel needs a little refurbishment but still good.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Went on an early organised tour so missed breakfast - staff organised a carry bag of food to tide us over until organised stop on tour

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfasts were just ok. Americano coffee not great but cappucino was offered as an alternative.

    cleanliness,comfort,plentiful supply of hot water. Reception staff excellent nothing was too much trouble. Super location with good bus services and easy walking to most attractions. Decent restaurants in immediate vicinity one to avoid vitos.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value of the room and bed wasn't comfort.

    We've been extra charge for the room at the property and they were blaming the booking.com. However we've paid extra £30 per night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be more ecological not to change towels and linnen every day - for me unless I put them on the floor, they are still ok

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had arrived at New Year's eave to spend holidays in Roma and though I'd booked a standard double room in hotel we were allocated into B&B section on the top floor with tiny sordid, however rather clean, rooms. We were just cheated! I fully understand that working at holiday's period might be stressful, but the person on the reception was really trying to make life complicated and create issues. Breakfast was very basic.

    location and view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a front of the property room and it was very loud. Also the staff were vacuuming at 10pm on Saturday evening which kept me awake. Walls very thin and could hear everything.

    Friendly staff Good location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff excellent. Bus stop outside hotel door to go to most city attractions, Pantheon, Trevi, Colloseum, Termini station. Yet all approx. 15mins walk if you want. Vatican also 15min walk away.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi was poor - but hey - it was there - it was free and it met our needs - but slowly and intermittently.

    We arrived in Rome at 11pm on a Friday to find out that we didnt have access to a B&B that had been confirmed. The Diplomat Hotel was 50m from where we were, homeless, hopped on Booking.com and saw the Diplomat had 24h reception, walked over - the price on booking.com was €70 cheaper than the rack price, so at reception, I booked the room for 2 evenings. The hotel is lovely, the staff amazing, friendly, great sense of humour and made us feel welcomed and important. The breakfast was plentiful, buffet styles, continental, cold meats, pastries, fruits, yoghurts, cereals and lots of coffee. Very friendly breakfast staff. The bedroom was huge room 304 is where we slept - great comfortable bed, good views from a small balcony. Great sized bathroom with magnificent water pressure and hot hot hot hot water. The hotel is situated about 13 minutes walk from The Spanish steps metro, a great walk down the posh shopping streets. Just minutes walk also from Castel d'Angelo and of course a few minutes further along you will find the Vatican. Can not recommend this hotel more.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a small issue with the electricity cutting off in our room if we used more than one heavy electrical appliance at a time but it was immediately solved

    The hotel's staff was very friendly and welcoming. Concierge helped us with our luggage. Rooms were adequately sized and the bathroom was excellent and clean. Location was superb as you can either walk Westward towards the Vatican, South towards Navona, Pantheon, Colosseum, and Lively Campo di Fiori or East towards the Spanish steps and via di Corso where all the shopping is. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was small and there was some noise from neighbouring rooms. The TV was small in size and there is only one channel in English. The bathroom could have used some repairs.

    Everybody in the staff is very warm, welcoming and nice! The location is splendid. The furniture in the room is classic and nice, the bathroom is luxurious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor wi-fi, breakfast fare for few nights, for more, too less choice. Some of staff on reception were ok, and some not the best. Booking option for late check out for genious member was not possible due to availability.

    Excellent staff in breakfast room, we've had apartmant on last floor with great terrace and nice view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing :)

    Location was excellent. Everything what you want to see was in walking distance. One more thing near to Hotel is bus station for Fiumicino Airport, so you dont need to go to Roma Termini. The last thing: cappuchino for breakfast was more than excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I would change

    The location for a tourist couldn't be better as it was in easy reach of all the main tourist attractions ... The staff were ultra friendly and helpful especially at reception..... Nothing was too much trouble and the advice they gave us always turned out to be spot on .Room was warm and the bed was big and comfy but the thing I was most pleased about was the room was quiet and the shower was brilliant !!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows..softer pillows

    Everyone was most helpful and cordial..They stowed our bags after we checked out Monday morning which gave us a whole extra day in Rome.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The terrace could have been made available at all hours as it would have been a pleasant place to sit in an evening.

    Breakfast was very nice and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not the most comfortable, but that is minor considering all the great things about this hotel.

    Great location...walking distance to many sites & good restaurants! The daily breakfast was excellent by European standards.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi isn't the greatest. You have to log in everyday and it's extremely slow. The photo's didn't really look like the room, but we didn't care, it was a comfortable place to sleep while we ventured out to see Rome.

    The staff and location are this hotels greatest assets. The staff were so friendly. The night receptionist recommended great dinner spots at local trattorias which was incredible. When we didn't take their advice and ended up at another restaurant for one night, we really regretted it! They also helped us with a shuttle to the airport. The staff are a 10/10, no doubt. The location is 10/10, because that side of Rome is beautiful and less congested and touristy, but all attractions are walking distance and public transport is excellent there too. When we didn't feel like walking (after days of walking and standing in queues), there was a bus stop right out front of the hotel!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea/coffee facilities in room. First morning NO MILK at breakfast. Told to use yoghurt on cereal. Bar wasn't open 8pm !!!!!

    Good location for Vatican and bus routes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea/coffee facilities in room or ironing board. Overall quite expensive for what you get, but that's Rome I guess.

    The location was good, right near the river and easy walk into cafes/restauarants and tourist attractions such as the Colisseum, Trevi and Pantheon all within 15/20mins. Also nice walk along the other side of the river to the Vatican abut 20mins. Average breakfast with great coffee, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    Great location within walking distance of everything. Great value for money. Loved the complementary breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't really say that we didn't like anything

    Fantastic position ,within walking distance to everything. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I searched for somewhere to stay close to the Rome's train station as I had a late flight in and an early flight out. This hotel came out on top and it is NOT close to the Terminale station. It is in the Vatican city, a 20-minute cab ride away. By the time I realised this, it was too late to change my booking. Not sure with whom the fault lies here, Booking.com or Hotel Diplomatic but it was annoying and expensive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot to dislike really. Had difficulty adjusting temp of A/C (although that may have been due to me rather than anything else).

    Incredibly friendly staff. Reception staff spoke perfect English and had great local knowledge. Gave honest opinions that were specific to our own needs. Staff at breakfast were very accommodating and were very tolerant of our 1 year old who was a little 'enthusiastic' about her food! Location was perfect for walking to main tourist sights (& shops for the wife!)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning fan didn't work the first day, but it was repaired promptly. A minor inconvenience.

    Great location - close to everything, but quiet enough to get away from the crowds. Terrific staff - very helpful and provided excellent dinner options.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow each on bed and staff couldn't find any more. Breakfast could have included eggs, even just hard boiled, would have made a difference. Parking for our vehicle in parking station was convenient but staff could have provided a map to explain location.

    Closeness to Via del Corso and Spanish Steps. Balcony off room with lovely views was a pleasant surprise. Room was clean with nice bathroom amenities.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a little bit uncomfortable

    The staff were so friendly and helpful and the hotel perfect for us because of the close proximity to all of Rome's amazing sites

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very welcoming! So nice and helpful. Considering. El personal muy amables, serviciales y colaboradores!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is excellent. Walking distance to many of Rome’s main sights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too utilitarian. It did the job, but little else. A refurb is long overdue but would be greatly beneficial to all parties.

    Clean simple bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Location Good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise: two bus stops in front of my window. Impossible to sleep before 00.00 and after 6.00 Breakfast quite simple

    Situation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    more noise on the street in night.

    super place near Vatican

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to the Vatican and simple bus ride to the centre!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facility in the room. Shower could have been better.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Diplomatic traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: