Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Diva La Canzone Del Mare

Via Marina Piccola, 93, 80073 Capri, Italy

#27 of 36 hotels in Capri

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could be improved, the rooms are very dated

    The location is perfect, away from the tourists but right by a bus station so its easy to get every where. The view is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was incredible!

    The best view on the whole island. The service was excellent and also the restaurant was one of the best meals we had. Try the risotto con pulpo!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It's a little 'tired' and in need of renovation in a number of places but this didn't spoil our visit at all, as we knew the background of the property and what to expect. We will certainly visit again after hearing of the upgrade/renovation work etc.

    The service was exceptional (excluding the children's pool attendant unfortunately). The room was very well looked after throughout our stay and the lady who brought breakfast to us each morning was delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Guests should be provided with a hotel shuttle to get to Capri or Anacapri, or Grande Marina (like a neighboring, cheaper hotel - Weber... )

    Everything (despite the fact that hotel needs some renovation yet)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is a 5/10 min taxi drive to the main square. I would not let this stop me from re-booking this hotel but would advise allowing around 30/40 euros per day for taxis, as there is not a lot to do in or around the hotel after dark. That said there is a bus but we didn't use it.

    Right on the beach overlooking the Faraglioni rocks. Superb views from all areas of the hotel and room. Breakfast area views superb. Friendly waiting staff. Great beach club set-up. History of the building also interesting, Canzone del Mare set up by Gracie Fields and had many famous guests in years gone by. There are other beach clubs and boat rental companies in the area, so plenty to do during the day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels and bath robes were extremely hard and unpleasant to use. The rooms are pretty small.

    The property is in a great location. The restaurant had decent food and the amenities we nice. Although the rooms are next to each other, the privacy is great. Rooms had an amazing view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the furniture is not for our taste, but that doesn't mean it bothered us, if we weren't ok with it, we would have not booked it :) - one of the showers could not be set to a bearable temperature, only very hot, but do not forget you have an extra shower, plus a bathtub - sometimes the toilet couldn't be flushed properly, you had to wait a couple of minutes until it got full - the day there was too short, so we were sorry we couldn't stay longer

    - Stunning view from the balcony, from the bed, from the room, from the bathroom - breakfast a la carte included, and very, very tasty - quiet - not full with tourists - amazing surroundings - the whole property is very beautiful - the welcome drinks - the access to the pool, towels included - amazing bathroom: 2 showers, 1 bathtub, bide, you can see the sea from the bathroom - 1 min to the bus, 15-20 min by foot on the stairs until Capri Center The negative comments are just about small things that can be fixed easily. I just mentioned them so that they can be aware of them. Thank you for everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location, much quieter than other side of the island, right next to bus station which made seeing all of the island easy, could walk right into the sea, poolside food and beverage service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain had lots of mold needed to be thrown out and restaurant is closed for dinner.

    This property location is remote and quiet, just what we needed! Restaurant is delicious and breakfast brought to your private terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't exactly what I expected. There are only a few rooms and the hotel can feel quite abandoned at night time even though there is a 24 hour concierge. The restaurant doesn't open in the evenings at all. On one occasion we couldn't find anyone to give us our room key back on arrival, after returning from a restaurant. There were two weddings on the weekend we were there, which we didn't know about in advance. Whilst it was lovely that people were being married in such a superb location, it was extremely intrusive on our holiday. From midday onwards that day we were not allowed to swim in the sea or the pool. The wedding went very late with amplified speeches throughout, fireworks at midnight (although that was a great if you love fireworks) but then loud doof-doof music till 2.30am, impossible to sleep! The staff did not seem to have any control over asking the wedding party or DJ to turn the music down, and kept giving us false deadlines about when the wedding would finish. In general the staff seemed sweet but not very experienced and their English was not always great, although I accept that my Italian is terrible! They did eventually do one load of clothes washing complimentary for us in consideration of what I have written above, but first tried to charge us €54 euros for it, to which we protested strongly. I think it is worth knowing these things in advance if you decide to stay here. But if it is quiet simplicity and beauty you are after, you will have it (but ask first about whether there are any weddings booked in during your stay).

    I would like to preface any comments by saying that I would return to La Canzona del Mare in a heartbeat! The location is incredible, and it is quiet and far away from the crowds of Capri tourists and day-trippers. The physical beauty of the location of the hotel and its history are totally alluring.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we couldn't stay longer...

    Everything! The food, the location, the view, the staff, the bed and the bathroom, the grounds, just everything...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we didn't stay longer :(

    The view! The room! The staff! The location! Just amazing. We were upgraded to the Soraya suite when we arrived which we were stoked about.The views of the faraglioni are stunning. The service by all staff exceptional. We were able to book a private tour of Capri only thanks to the staff at the hotel. And our tour guide Luigi was amazing also. We got to swim in a secret blue grotto with not one other boat or person near by! Hope to visit again soon!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total bait and switch. Our room looked nothing like the pictures on booking.com. Total mis-advertisement. Not worth $400 USD/night. Very disappointing. There are only 7 rooms at the hotel. As other people have mentioned, it's more of a locals beach club and then they also happen to have a few hotel rooms.

    On the water. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are not dark early in the morning.

    Near the sea and the reception staff is very proactive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is paradise. I never wantes to leave.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s totally worth it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fantastic location, excellent restaurant, very friendly personnel, convenient public and private transportation to and from Capri center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't very helpful towards us.

    The location was great!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All around breakfast was great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!!! My heart stay with this hotel! Highly recommended!!! Meraviglioso!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff awful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No evening meal but a very quick bus ride into Capri town

    Loved the sea view fabulous lunch great staff just a jump into the sea

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked it at the last min and had a great time

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we received the Room one hour and a falda before we arrived at 2 PM

    Location, views and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a hotel. This is a beach club and they have no business renting rooms at all. The day we arrived they had a huge event they were setting up for that night and said pool was closed and let us know the huge event was all night and was going to have a ton of people and load music until 1am. Huh?? I spent this much money Per night AND came all the way to Capri from the US for this. The "1" pool was not heated and after 6pm good luck getting any kind of service, or even finding a person to help you. It was a ghost town after 6. False advertising is what this "beach club" is. Not good. Do not stay here.

    Clean room

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. All was perfect!!!!

    When you stay here, you are most definitely paying for location location location! The service is also amazing! We have no issue sacrificing extra luxury rooms for location and such amazing service! Definitely returning!!!

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to the water makes this hotel the best location on Capri. If you are looking for a 5 Star hotel, this isn't for you as the rooms are cute and boutique style but the hotel overlooks the Mediterranean with the best view on the island. We spent everyday in the sea, having breakfast on our private terrace overlooking the water and enjoying the views.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing - everything was lovely.

    Most incredible views from the hotel, awesome beach club that we had free access to as hotel guests, delicious and beautiful breakfast brought to our balcony every morning, kind and helpful staff, warm swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's really a swimming club resort visited by locals for the day. So empty morning and evening but very busy during the day. Pool closes at 6:30pm just when it's quiet. No room service and no restaurant other than lunch time. The one occasion we when ate there the waiter talked over us in Italian and ordered us what he wanted us to eat! Tried to force a €250 lunch on us. Never went back.

    Beautiful views and room was ok. Bus into town is close and easy.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think of anything at all.

    Tranquil, beautiful setting. Views looking towards Faraglioni. Beautiful swimming pool and bar area. Breakfast delivered each morning to our own terrace.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing, we enjoyed everything!

    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. We couldn't have asked for a better view and better accommodations. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very accommodating and nice. Facilities were clean. Rooms are nice and cozy. Very traditional decor with nothing fancy.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Run down

    Beautiful views

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was our favorite place on our whole trip in Italy! The most beautiful picturesque hotel, amazing staff, good food and amazing stay!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The magnificent view The staff and their attention to detail

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Browse Diva La Canzone Del Mare traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: