Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal Positano 4 stars

Via Pasitea 344, 84017 Positano, Italy

#36 of 36 hotels in Positano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 323 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    We had an amazing experience at the hotel from clean rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an amazing experience at the hotel from clean rooms to a very helpful staff and amazing/elaborate breakfast buffet each morning. Mario at the front desk particularly was very helpful and provided great suggestions for dinner each night. The bus station is only a 5 5 minute walk down the panoramic road with convenience stores in the neighborhood. Beach is about 400 steps down. Only minus is that the beds weren’t too comfortable and gave me and my husband both really bad backaches each morning. Other than that the hotel and Room were A+ in terms of cleanliness, location and facilities. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you don’t want to break your bank and enjoy scenic Positano views from the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Nice terrace, pretty nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s about 35 years past a good refreshing. The wi fi was terrible and the restaurant is not great compared to where you are.

    Nice terrace, pretty nice staff...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    3.8
    Staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated and people should definitely read reviews. 4 star rated from probably 10 -15 years ago! In comparison to what is provided else where, it is very very poor value for money. It is an extremely long staircase walk down to the beach highly recommend using the bus early on in your stay the bus stop you will want is internal Positano. Rooms look nothing like photos, accommodation is very disjointed and confusing. Cold shower in rooms, warmer shower in the pool area then the room. You have to wear swimming caps in the pool, it is a requirement, although you have to pay for them. Breakfast is not buffet maybe + continental.

    Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very dated, looks like it's furnished from the early 80's. The air conditioning in the rooms barely worked, we were there in late June, I can't imagine what it would be like in July or August. To go swimming, they require you to wear a swimming cap! And the pool area is also dated, the umbrellas were stained with mildew. We were very disappointed, especially since it was not a cheap place to stay. Will not go back or recommend.

    Walkable location to main square or close to local bus stop

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay when visiting Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although a pleasangt walk to the town for fit people, probaly a bit far and steep for elderly or infirm. But that location gives it the view!

    Spectacular view from the terrace, friendly staff, great breakfast well located

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast was nice and it was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little worn down, and far from the city centre. It was 400+ steps up from the city, and the roads is one way only, so you have to take a taxi or the bus all the way around to the hotel. When swimming in the pool you were also required to wear a swimming cap, that you had to purchase by the pool, it was not included. Value for money is not that good, even though Positano is an expensive place.

    Breakfast was nice and it was clean. We got an upgrade on our room without asking, which was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    old hotel, just basic, over priced. NO welcome drink for Booking geniuses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything in the room is very old and does NOT feel like a 4 star hotel at all. The service is just basic. no welcome drink for booking genius as indicated, let alone no cup to drink water from in the room, and we had to make several calls, and then went out to the cafe to borrow and only got 2 plastic cups for all the effort.... the breakfast is also very basic....

    Location is near Sita bus stop. Nice view from the terrace and clean nice pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    3.8
    The location is ok as there is a bus stop right out the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You would be better of sleeping on the floor, the bed was absolutely horrible. Our sink drain was blocked on day 1 which was an a virus inconvenience. We found it hilarious and completely out of date that to be allowed to swim on the pool you were required to wear a cap that you had to hire. We also witnessed a heated discussion between management and a guest regarding this rule and access to the pool during certain hours. The wi-Fi had a very weak almost non exist a single. The real problem however came when my wife discovered what appeared to be a small snake getting in under the apartment door next to us. One of the staff flicked it outside with a coat hanger and then laughed it off. We called management and they justified what ended up being an earthworm with the reason being that the hotel has a garden “and it’s just an earth worm”(photo attached) We would not recommend this property for any one.

    The location is ok as there is a bus stop right out the front of the hotel. The view is also a plus but that is all we can say is good about the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location and Clean - but basic and wifi unusable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was really bad could not use it. The walk to town with 400 steps was a lot with kids. Parking was expensive. Pool use was very restictive and you have to wear swimming hats which was a bind.

    Clean and great location and views of the valley. The staff on check in were very helpful and explained clearly the arrangements for the stay. Hotel had parking, which is a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.6
    The views were nice and the room itself was very large.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are many things here that could greatly be improved. First of all when you book you are expecting to have access to a pool, tennis court, gym and spa. The pool is fenced off and you can only enter the pool with a swimming cap, the tennis courts look like they have not been maintained for years, the spa is completely non existent as well as the gym or as the call it the "mini club". We tried finding them and all we found was a wasteland of unmaintained rooms which may have been these areas in the 1980s. The restaurant inside the property looks like a retirement home and the breakfast included was a very poor selection of items except for the fresh squeezed juice option. The design and organization of the rooms on the property is extremely confusing and not easy to navigate. Now on to the room itself: The room was very large and had a nice balcony but the furniture and bed was hard as a rock with sheets and comforters that look very dated. the bathroom was very small and not updated in a long time. The walk to get down to Positano takes about 10-15 minutes and even longer coming back up because the climb up is very steep and over 400 steps from the beach. Overall if you dont anticipate being in the room or the hotel very much at all and want to spend less money this is an okay option. But be prepared to walk ALOT and the breakfast in town will be much better then the one included.

    The views were nice and the room itself was very large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.0
    the property was aweful, its nothing like in the pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the property was aweful, its nothing like in the pictures. the layout its a mess, no elevator. it smells bad. the furniture is broken and old. it is not a 4star hotel at all. more like a 2 star hotel. it is far and hard to get to. dont go there!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    A very nice stay which we enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel because it said they had massage facilities, but it didn’t say that they were closed during the low season. That was a disappointment, but the staff gave us great recommendations for a place called “royal divine” so it worked out well. The room price is however a bit steep if you plan to spend the majority of your time on the beach/main shopping street - and the steps up to the hotel is no party either (leg day). Once you get the hang of the local bus this doesn’t offer much of a problem though.

    The best thing with Hotel Royal Positano was the staff! They are so nice, smiling and speak some English. They’re also very helpful. The hotel is super clean - it even smells clean- and the maids did a very good job. The view from the balconies are amazing. We didn’t try many facilities, but if you don’t like the beach/it’s raining we’re certain they have everything you need in high season. The breakfast was also super delicious with good variety and the hotel is close to cheaper hotels on top of the hill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed compared to photos and publicity on the site and the price asked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very hard to access as we travelled by road. Parking was additional. Ants in the bathroom. Restaurant menu not up to par with publicity. Had a poor view from the room, on the cliff behind the hotel!!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    The room exceeded our expectations, it was basically a 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room exceeded our expectations, it was basically a 2 room, 2 bathroom apartment and very spacious and comfortable. We thought it was going to be 1 queen bed and 2 twins, but this room was perfect for 2 couples. Very comfortable, and stunning views. Be prepared to climb a lot of stairs!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.2
    Positano is nice, this hotel seems over priced and dated though unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A special hat is required when using the pool! The WiFi was almost impossible to use. The lock for my door took about 10 minutes to open. The layout of the hotel is like a maze

    Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.3
    Not ti be reconended, difficult to move around in hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not ti be reconended, difficult to move around in hotel, very simple standard, restaurant not worth money. Basically to much money for what you get, rather a two star Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    A tranquil, early Spring break with breath-taking views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the location - a few steps (only 95!) up to the real local Positano! At the hotel we were greeted by excellent and friendly staff. We had a wonderfully spacious room with a lovely view of the swimming pool and mountain beyond. Very much enjoyed sitting on the terrace looking down onto the town of Positano. The staff were all highly efficient and well-trained, nothing was too much trouble. Everything was spotless. We enjoyed the variety in the buffet breakfast and lovely freshly-squeezed fruit juice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Nice place, wouldn't stay here again as they were not able/interested in fixing my issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THERE WAS NO AIRCONDITIONING!! Ok I know its April and they said they hadnt turned it on for the season but really? It was very hot. We tried leaving the windows open as it was cool outside but then woke up to being chomped by giant mosquitos. When I complained at the desk they just said it hasn't been turned on for the season "sorry" there is nothing we can do I was very uncomfortable. I mean for the price I should at least be comfortable.

    The location is lovely and overall the facility is acceptable clean and ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.8
    The place showed pictures of a different room, said the beach was a short set of stairs Away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room... not as pictures. bed... lighting , internet was horrible. Pictures misrepresented the property. Location description was misrepresented.

    Really good breakfast. Nice views. Close to bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    Memorable stay in positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resturent facility’s and staff

    Very spacious and clean rooms and good toilets. Good for a family .but the Resturent has specific times to open breakfast start from 7.30. Technically other hotels in same town gives breakfast by 7. Main chef was very rude to people and even 5 minuets late he says Resturent close. Very good front office staff always helpful to guests .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.9
    The room was spacious, with two bathrooms, and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms. Wifi was available only in the lobby. Parking is paid 20€ per night which is unacceptable for the the clients staying at the hotel. The furniture in the room were old and the faucet rusted.

    The room was spacious, with two bathrooms, and comfortable. It was clean and the breakfast had a variety to choose.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    It was exquisitely beautiful hotel and the place was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only down side was car park. Couldn’t get car park there as I booked the hotel only because of car park. Had to pay some amount for car park outside of the hotel. It was managed by hotel anyway.

    Room was very specious and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.6
    A bad experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not kept clean and look very tired. Glasses and plates for breakfast were dripping with water. Food was not replenished. When I told the front desk female staff on checkout morning that the minibar in our room was empty without even water she became mad and screamed that we did not inform earlier. She then thudded down two bottles of water on the table where we sat. We never experienced this kind of manner from a hotel in our fifty years of travel around the world.

    on arrival the receptionist was helpful. The location was good and the walk from the hotel to town takes one through many vantage points.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Positano was worth the cost, overall, but the hotel was not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were as hard as a rock. My body is very sore from staying 4 nights there. For over 1400 € (1600+ USD) for 4 nights, you would think they could make the beds more comfortable. There was also a night I asked for a taxi to Constantino restaurant. Instead of letting me know there was a free shuttle that ran from the restaurant, I ended up having to pay 30$ for the car ride. Even the taxi driver asked why we didn't use the shuttle. I wish the front desk let us know. In the mini bar there was 1 bottle of still water, one sparkling. They did not replace these all week. They also only provided 2 shampoo in the bathroom, no conditioner. This was the most expensive hotel I ever stayed at, and feel as if I have paid way less for much better accommodations.

    The view was great, the staff was helpful, there were 2 bathrooms, nice space in the room, balcony was great. Check in and out was easy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    Not up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were very tired. The restaurant staff were slow and uningraciating, receiption staff whilst pleasant lacked the ability to manage resonable requests, for example check out before 7am and the ability to deal with getting luggage up to the car park. This hotel has the hallmarks of being a very successful operation, with some thought and care into customer needs, staff training, and investment in tidying up facilities it would be a very desirable location.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    4.6
    The views in Positano are spectacular but next time we will choose our hotel more carefully.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very poor I thought. The carpets throughout were beyond worn out. The enitre place was very tired looking. The staff in the breakfast lounge were not good at all. It felt like we were bothering them just to be there. I would not recommend this property at all. I undertand that Positano is very expensive to stay in but we paid 300 euros a night. We should have paid another 100 and gotten something for our money. A taxi driver told us that is was the worst hotel in Positano! Old and the service was very poor so I would take that opinion to the bank.

    The view. The front desk staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    4.6
    Not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money was terrible. Says a four star but was two star at best. Nice staff, good location but just not worth 260 a night.

    View, location, town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    2.9
    Long way from centre & uncomfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is long overdue for an update. A few staff were helpful, restaurant staff were not. Ants in the room. Beds extremely uncomfortable.

    The view was nice. Pool was good except for the swim hats.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    4.2
    The view from the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff rude , pool closed at 6.00 pm , you had to put on a hat to swim in the pool !!! At breakfast the first coffee was free, then you had to pay , they did not tell you this !! Woman could not wear shorts to the dining room for dinner at night !!! Was told by a staff member ''Marco'' if I came to dinner I needed to put on some makeup !!! I was on holiday, and relaxing. To get to our room it become a bit like ''snakes and ladders '' . The cost for 3 night stay was 890.00 Euro , not cheap but wanted to treat ourselves . Very sad !!!!!

    The view from the room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    3.8
    The hotel needs a major renovation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a major renovation! Carpet was old & dirty in hallways & furniture & pool are outdated..A little out of the way from town..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    Great spot but bring your shoes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi was almost non existent. You actually do not get the connection into your room. Only the in the reception, pool and restaurant areas. Of these three, only the reception worked (so there's always a crowd at reception)

    The location, view and shear size of the property was amazing. The personal staircase into town was also impressive

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.0
    A disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at breakfast were incredibly disrespectful! We waited for half an hour for the water to bring us silverware. (We had to ask for new silverware because they gave us dirty ones from the previous people from that table. The table itself was dirty and the staff refused to clean the white linens so we sat at a table with yellow stains! One of the waiters was very rude, and kept shaking his head disapprovingly and sighing tiringly when we asked for our table to be cleaned. He ignored us a lot of the times and refused to come near our table. We felt very discriminated by the staff. Now we know why the hotel's rating is so low. The staff has no manners! The second thing that we were disappointed about is the fact that there was only wifi in the reception and restaurant, but there wasn't any wifi in the hotel rooms! We were forced to sit in the lobby and use our own international roaming that we pay for if we wanted to stay inside our room. Just note that it is also very difficult to come to the hotel by a large vehicle (such as a Jeep) because the parking spaces are small and limited. But if you're coming by a smaller car, then the parking will be perfect for you! Overall, if you are considering coming to this hotel, think twice. It will be a very disappointing experience for a four star hotel.

    The location of the property is very nice! We had a suite with a balcony that had a nice view on Central Positano!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    gorgeous views of Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kids beds were very hard and one was missing several slats. They were also ants in our room and we were on floor three. The building was very confusing to get around in. And there was no washing machine as listed on the booking site. Also it took about 400 stairs to get into the main part of town from the hotel. Wifi was not available in my our room and so you need to sit in lobby to use wifi (and it's really slow).

    The view from our balcony balcony was gorgeous and the staff at front desk were pleasant. Breakfast was included each day and two of the days we left earlier than breakfast was ready, the front desk I offered to make us take away bags and had them ready for us which was very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Reasonable hotel for the fit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Family Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is looking very tired in places, holes in the carpet, blinds in the windows did not work etc. The beds and pillows are very uncomfortable. The Wifi is only available in public areas and is not very good (major problem for my family!). You need to be physically fit to stay here as the hotel is on an assortment of levels and most rooms require stair access. From reception to our room required a lift down 3 floors, down another floor by stairs, along a long corridor including 2 ramps and up a floor by steps or lift. The layout is very confusing at first. It is over 400 stairs down to the town centre. The restaurant is quite expensive by normal (though not Positano) standards.

    Reasonable location, good breakfast, nice swimming pool. The local bus stops outside, though it only runs every 30 minutes. We had a family room which was a good size. Good views but it is difficult to find a bad view in Positano.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    4.2
    Book as a last resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was appalling. Beds and pillows below standard. Tv virtually non-existent. No porter service to carry luggage up 20 steps

    The waiters were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a real rabbit warren. We struggled to find our room every time. It all looks a bit tired. The TVs was not working when we arrived. This seemed to be a normal occurrence and was fixed but no English channels available. It was a long walk from the town all up hill but local buses were frequent and inexpensive.

    It was very clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and the views wonderful. Piano bar was lovely Breakfast was very good. Especially fresh smoothies made to order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    3.8
    Don't waste your money
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The woman at the front desk was rude, not helpful at all. The wifi is pretty much nonexistent. Only possible access is in the lobby but so weak you can't load anything much less check schedules, book ferry, or make arrangements. The room was moldy, chipping paint, smelled musty. Walls are paper thin. Could hear the water running in the room next to us, and everything else. They don't bring your bags up or down from the ferry dock, and it's much too far to lug your stuff. Neighboring hotels send cars or offer to transport your bags free of charge and had cheaper room rates. Charged for a hill view, all you see are pine trees.

    The breakfast staff was vet nice. Mario at the front desk was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    4.6
    Another bad experience with unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another bad experience with unfriendly staff. Warning - the sea facing rooms are not sea facing!!! You have to walk out to the balcony and stick your hwad out to the right to see the sea! Breakfast was ok. But the worst was the staff - very unfriendly front desk. Won't visit again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    3.3
    Not worth it AT ALL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth the money AT ALL, the wifi is the worst I've experienced, very slow staff. You would think when you pay 5000$ you would get more. But no, the rooms are big but the tv is smaller than a computer screen, there are plenty of other hotels that are much better.

    The location was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was clean, and the attendant at front desk were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quiet good, but If you want an orange juice you have to wait 10 or 15 minutes. There was a few people attending the table and you have to wait for your coffe, etc. It would be much more better if you can take them from an auto-service machine. At night the hotel was a little noisy.

    The hotel was clean, and the attendant at front desk were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    Good location with onsite parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very old and needs URGENT renewal and refurbishment. The pictures in the Booking.com site gave an impression that it would be much newer.

    Location, onsite parking (even though paid), breakfast included

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was warm not hot, would have preferred hot water to shower. There was no Wi-Fi in the rooms but there was in the public places like the hotel lobby and the restaurant. There was no tea/coffee station in the room although there was space for it, would have liked a kettle in the room even if tea/coffee was not provided.

    Breakfast is included. We enjoyed the coffee, eggs and bacon every morning. The kitchen staff made us omelettes on request. The view was superb and the hotel is beautifully maintained even though it is old. The hotel staff were very accommodating and very informative on where to park the car and what to do in the area. Very safe to walk around Positano at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful view, but pay extra for best views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far walk to beach. Limited facilities in room.

    Beautiful view, but pay extra for best views. Good breakfast with freshly squeezed juice. Food location, can walk directly to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    8.8
    Great views with friendly staff who made it a relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean but a little dated Wi-Fi was not really available in the rooms

    Great views of Positano Good facilities with the pool Decent breakfast Parking arrangements were easier than we thought

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.7
    Staff were very helpful with our group booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was noisy. None of the hotel facilities were open, pool, children's play area, tennis court.

    Staff were very helpful with our group booking. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful view from the balcony, clean and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi only worked at the reception and there were a lot of people so it was very slow.

    the room was very spacious and clean. The morning breakfast was good too. The dinner menu wasn't good as expected, only few selection on the menu. The view from the balcony was amazing, I would sit there hours after long day sight seeing. The staffs are very lovely and super helpful. The bus stop to Sorrento and Amalfi is only few minutes away which was very handy. The stairs to town starts from the hotel which was very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location - particularly good for public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame the pool was not open - or even the area around the pool for sitting out in the sun. Shame the wi fi was only in reception

    Fantastic breakfast with freshly made juices

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.0
    Don't expect much from this hotel. You pay for what it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff, especially at the breakfast, was not helpful at all. You have the impression to bother them when you have for a coffee. The room are very big but feel kind of empty.

    The view and the location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    5.8
    Definitely not a 4⭐️️ more like 3⭐️️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looked ragged. No internet. Staff not very helpful. Restaurant, boring food service terrible. They did change our rooms when we complained Giovanni the pool guy was the best they had. Would not go their again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    Positano love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi was available and we stayed 2 days there. But it was a good stay nevertheless, could enjoy myself more without constantly checking the phone.

    Big room, with great views with swimming pool and tennis court included in the price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.3
    Good but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The condition of the resort seems to be aging. The wifi was awful (slow and only available in the lobby) and the breakfast was unremarkable at best. The room was functional, but a little dated.

    Interesting property location and nice view from the sea view room. This seems like it was once a premier property. The stairs down into town (once we found them) made it reasonable to walk down.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.7
    Good location, excellent view. Very poor WI-FI
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms lack character. Somewhat basic. No internet in the room and extremely poor in the reception area. Breakfast could improve. For the price was expecting more.

    Location was good. Close to bus to explore the area and restaurants. Room was big with lots of extra beds. Conveniently it had 2 bathrooms so my friend and I had full independence.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    5.4
    Faulty towers meets Positano. Bizarre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was stuck in a time warp, the pool was creepy! No one there and you have to wear a swim cap if you want to go in. Honestly so bizarre. The carpets in the hotel were old and stained and the staff were all pretty clueless.

    The view was incredible and the breakfast was pretty nice. Lots to choose from and a beautiful setting to eat in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    no wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi. biggest inconvenience ever... only available in lobby and bar but that is probably a 10 minute walk from your room. however, understandable for the hilly conditions and location just very frustrating

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was basic, ants in bathroom, carpet in stairways needed replacement. Service at bar was poor. WiFi non available in rooms and operated poorly in other areas. Required multiple passwords that changed daily.

    View was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.3
    Good accommodation for a short stay & great value for money in positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit dated, could do with a renovation of decor and carpet... and lots of stairs and corridors, but good value for the price I got the room for.

    Massive room, 2 balconies overlooking positano and ocean views, breakfast was good - lots to choose from and lovely wait staff. Great coffee. Make sure to ask for a sea view room!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    4.6
    Bad and unhappy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to wear swimming caps in the pool and no one warns you before is ridiculous No option of having a duvet in a hotel at this price is not good The whole experience wasn't good we spent lots of money on taxis for a hotel that was supposed to be in the middle of things and had to go to the beach each day rather then using the pool we paid for

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    9.2
    Big rooms great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool has too many rules and is not kid friendly.

    Breakfast was nice, rooms were large for Europe and the walk down to town was nice and took about 12 minutes. The walk back was a good workout, there is always the bus.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    4.6
    Disappointing for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Swimming pool caps are obligatory and entering into the water is only via the steps in front of the supervisor - sides all roped off. Restaurant food is only just OK. Wi-fi is very irregular and largely only available in the lobby. Staff information is not precise enough. Overall it is an expensive hotel for a package tour feeling where attention to detail is missing.

    Breakfast on the terrace is fine. Swimming pool is great but not how it is managed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.5
    Great Family Trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complain about. Great vacation and reading reviews prior to booking really prepared us on what to expect.

    Great location. Nice staff. Room was good. Lots of steps to get down to town, but we knew that by researching the property. Pool was nice and we really enjoyed Positano!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    7.9
    The complimentary breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been better is wifi. Not having wifi in our room definitely impacted our stay. There was wifi in the lobby and by the pool, but it's not quite the same as having it in your rooms. Other than that the place was great.

    The complimentary breakfast was amazing. The view from our room was incredible.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    One Night in Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were many stairs to get to the hotel from the ferry port. Not sure if it's accessible by car/taxi. Also, confusing layout inside the hotel. It was hard to find our room and reception but there were good labeled signs.

    The sea view! The pool! The breakfast! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The receptionist gave us a great restaurant recommendation near the hotel. It is quiet and peaceful but there is also a piano bar/lounge on the terrace which was nice for the evenings.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    We only stayed for 1 night but had a nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool closes too early. They have great facilities but close the pool at 6pm which means you can't be out exploring all day and then come back and relax by the pool for the evening.

    We only stayed for 1 night but had a nice stay. The location isn't in the heart of Positano but is relatively easy to get to by bus or taxi. It's an easy walk from the hotel into Positano as it's all downhill. Walking back is a bit harder especially with children.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    2.9
    Terrible hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible hotel - not a 4 star. I am not sure how they have such a star rating. I saw 3 star hotels with beautiful foyers and more inviting environment. I hated it there and it ruined my experience. We stayed out as much we could and the wifi is terrible. Had to login every 5 minutes - don't go there.

    View from the terrace. But you get that everywhere in that place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.3
    Authentic Italian hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was on the poor side. Obviously not why you come on holiday, but still could have been a bit better.

    Good staff and beautiful views. Check in and check out very smooth. Lovely food at the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    5.4
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi access in rooms, only in the lobby when it sporadically worked. Room furnishings were ordinary at best. Satellite tv didn't work.

    Breakfast was reasonable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    3.3
    Grimmer than grim
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double/Twin Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Unless you want to be stuck at the hotel (I wouldn't advise this!) or at the mercy of the bus, getting to the hotel is tough going. We chose not to spend any time at the hotel due to the poor facilities and bizarre "swimming hats must be worn in the pool" rule. This meant making the 500+ step journey to and from the beach area twice every day (once in the morning for the beach and again at night for dinner). The steps are steep! We are a very fit and active couple in our 20s but the steps really were challenging! Remaining at the hotel wasn't however an option for us. Our room, whilst large, was really dark and old fashioned. It had a weird, dark wood partition running down the middle of it which essentially rendered half of the room redundant. We also had an ant infestation in our bathroom, which was tiny and badly ventilated. Breakfast was a sad affair with food often running out long before the 10am finish - I also found an ant in my ham on the first day. This poor hotel is nowhere near a 4 star and would need a serious amount of love and money spending on it to bring it up to anywhere near to that standard. The hotel is also extremely overpriced but as there seems to be a dearth of modern boutique options in Positano, I'd recommend going down the Air BnB route.

    The hotel is situated right at the very top of Positano (there are 400 steps down to the road alone and a further 120 to the beach) so it does enjoy nice views. Other than that, I am struggling for anything positive to say - sorry!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    8.8
    Great price, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room furnishings and carpeting in halls definitely need updating.

    Loved the pool, and the facility. Access to buses was great and hotel was quiet and in the perfect location. Hotel manager was extremely friendly and accommadating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    4.5
    Good views but hotel not up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt that as guests of a 4 star hotel it did not compare with other hotels we experienced one our three week stay in Italy Staff did not seem genuine and inexperienced in customer setvice

    View only and pool was ok

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.5
    POSITIVELY POSITANO
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loud music in the late evening/night coming from band playing on restaurant patio could be heard from our room. Wi-fi not in all hotel areas. Room plagued by ants.

    Friendly staff. Good position. Nice buffet breakfast. Close to public transport.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    4.6
    A lot of money for little return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They would physically disconnect the wifi continuously therefore not providing Free Wifi as advertised. When questioned why the wifi wasn't working they would physically reconnect the cords, however, once connected you could only receive connection in the reception area, there is no wifi availability available to any of the rooms. The pool has grim all around the edges and closes every night at 6pm. It was mandatory to wear a swimming cap which could be purchased from them for €3.50 per person.

    The location generally is good but too far from the beach. The room& bathroom were clean

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.6
    The views from hotel were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from town centre.

    The views from hotel were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Bus services out the front of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was rock hard and the pancake pillows were shocking !!!!!!!

    Bus services out the front of hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    Good location but not great value. Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was old, not value for money Had to wear caps in the pool

    Good facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    The bar terrace balconies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room - Hill View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we loved everything

    The bar terrace balconies... location... everything was superb...

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: