Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Domus Aventina 3 stars

Via Di Santa Prisca 11B, Aventino, 00153 Rome, Italy

#467 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 301 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fine hotel located not far from the subway station and pretty not far walking distance to the downtown but its not for old people. too simple breakfast but very good and friendly staff. compare to some other hotels in close downtown its not so bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three main problems: 1) The member of staff at the door when I arrived made me feel like a prostitute! That has never happened before. I was there for my ex partner's dad's funeral and was asked for payment upfront (usual??). My ex partner kindly paid for the room with his card, at which point the man sniffed. When my ex partner offered to carry my suitcase to the room, the man protested and said there was only a single bed and 'what was he doing?' (despite the fact we'd already discussed the fact it was a single room and explained I was the person staying there). If I hadn't had other things on my mind, I'd have complained there and then. 2) Room 27 is very dark and has doors rather than a window. The doors open onto a dark outside space, so can't be left open. 3) Tea and coffee making facilities would be a great improvement.

    The bed, shower and location were very good indeed. The fact there was a TV and minibar also good. Two of the three members of staff were friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator could be a problem for older or disabled.

    Very good location, clean rooms, and very good breakfast. Safe area with restaurants a short walk away Staff was great .. The attendant at breakfast was extremely nice ... Tip him .. he deserves it !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows are quite hard and for us they were uncomfortable. There was a strong smell in the room, probably from the cleaning process. We had to exchange the room and the smell was still present, although much less intense and it was ok.

    Great location, close to the city centre and the Colosseum. The neighborhood is fantastic, very quiet, lots of trees and beautiful views from the top of the Aventine hill (you need to walk up the hill to reach the hotel). Easily reachable from the airport: you can take the regular trains to Roma Ostiense and then continue by foot for 15-18mins, which can be convenient if you don't have a lot of luggage. Less than 10mins from the Circo Massimo metro station. Typical Italian breakfast for a 3 stars hotel, not very diversified, but fresh and good. Only cold dishes, no fruits. Real, hand made, espresso and cappuccino. Friendly staff, very good value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better internet connection please

    The room was very nice, the bed really comfortable, a well designed bathroom that had everything you needed: hair dryer, smooth towels, well sized, naturally illuminated. The thing I liked the most was the balcony with a view in the interior garden. Breakfast was very good and diverse. The gentleman who was serving was also very kind and hospitable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room on 3rd floor is not good (have stayed in much better room on ground floor. Bed made me itchy.. shower is tiny and had old shower gel bottles from previous guests, toilet was cramped, bad air and loud AC unit. When checking out, very rude and unhelpful lady at reception, who didn't seem to want to talk at all, hence I didn't mention problems with room.

    Most of reception staff very friendly, staff at breakfast very friendly and efficient. Very nice breakfast and coffee. Great location for visiting FAO

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The two small and cheaper rooms (27 and 37) don't have a view - good to know when you book. The others have a view on a lovely courtyard with trees, some even have a small balcony with chairs and a table. The soap/shampoo was so well hidden in the drawers I only found them after I had bought my own supplies.

    All staff were very friendly. The hotel is in a superb location for tourism (Circo Massimo, Colosseo, etc.) and is a stonethrow away from the FAO.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Close to the centre, 15 min walk to the colusseum. The staff was very nice and spoke english, the nicest of them all was the philipino guy at the breakfast, tip him he deserves it

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms have cloth fabric on the walls and a strong smell of funghi. The staff was kind to move me to a higher room, that was simmilar; being alergic- i had to leave the place after two nights of strong reactions. Strangely I was charged for the whole planned stay (4 nights) on the arrival day, and apperantly it will take them one month to get half of the money back.

    The location was calm, the garden is nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It looked a little tired.

    Good location in a nice residential neighbourhood. Close to metro station that links to train to airport. Also close to antique sites.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bar or facilities to get a hot drink outside of breakfast hours.

    Great location if you have a meeting at the FAO. Comfortable hotel. Very helpful staff especially in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small and shower even smaller - all very outdated (1960s). Surprised the bathroom has not been enlarged and refurbished as there is plenty of space available in each room! Outrageously expensive - even given the good location, the shortage of rooms in this area and my late booking!

    Delightful hotel. Setting and location are excellent. Very, very spacious room with a lovely view from the window / balcony onto a church courtyard - very peaceful and quiet. Staff were friendly and helpful. Walking distance to a range of sites, restaurants, metro, etc. Hotel is quiet as there is no on-site restaurant or bar - although there are plenty of restaurants nearby!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was in one of the most beautiful parts of town and accessible to public transportation. There were many great restaurants within walking distance. Gorgeous neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms was a bit damp, I think it had been steam cleaned? Shower tiny

    Clean & tidy, nice helpful staff, good location good breakfast, comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We had ANTS in our first room (nr. 33) even in the bed! After we changed the room (nr. 43), no ants.

    We spent 11 nights here. It was an interesting experience. Supermarket nearby, a 5 minutes walk from Circo Massimo metro station or the nr. 3 tram station. 10 minutes walk from Terme di Caracalla and Colosseo. Excellent location! Good breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Lift. The TV has no English channels.

    Location and Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee maker in the room

    Super comfy bed. Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Difficult access to iron/ironing board. Breakfasts without vegetables!

    Perfect location, very nice personel, spacious room, tasty breakfasts.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central , would go back😀

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silence

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    my bed was so noise!

    good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing

    Clean, spasious room, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aventino hill

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift, no gym.

    Quiet hotel, clean, basic, adequate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a quiet place giving onto a garden and chuch

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.. was great. We will be back.

    breakfast was brilliant. Staff delightful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room apparently had not been updated since the 1950s

    Happy with location and grateful they had a room at the last minute

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    did not have cooked breakfast

    nice hotel and very close to centre

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room key is too old

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are dusty.

    Location. Hotel style.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was terrible!

    Location is very good, although needs a short walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to small, not at all what had been shown in booking. Smells humidity. Floor with carpet very dirty.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a quite area close to city centre and historic places

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no elevator

    very good hotel in great location close to historik center, nice staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A good location for those who like to walk and like some of the less touristy areas of Rome.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The internet of the hotel was really annoying, even though I was connected to the Wi-Fi I never enter the internet. I had a strong signal but never a internet connection. Also i think they should have more foreign channels. Its funny in more then 500 channels i just found 4 foreigns channels.

    The location of the hotel is the best. Also the staff is very polite. The view from my room was very beautiful and the corridor of the room was very big.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Did not get value for money at all, everything in the room was in very poor condition, looked old and disgusting (especially the bed covers and blanket). There was a strong smell in the room (seemed like a cleaning product), so we had to keep the window constantly open. Essentials such as glasses and toilet brush were missing as well and there was no access to the garden. I think the hotel has a lot of potential but the owner should definitely consider a full refurbishment of the rooms.

    The location was amazing, very close to the centre yet a very quiet area. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the guy managing the breakfast who did the best coffee!

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a medical emergency during our stay and the staff's response was great and very caring. Balcony was a quiet, serene place to relax after a tourist filled day and before tackling the crowds of Rome for the evening.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    old style and furniture needs refurbishment, room carpet did not look clean, wool blanket looked old, searched for guest soap and accessories and found them in bathroom closet, limited breakfast, terrass not clean, no access to hotel courtyard,

    location, room size, terrass and courtyard,

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    1. One of the rooms I stayed in had been smoked in previously- so perhaps a bit more urging guests to not smoke or perhaps set aside some no-smoking rooms. 2. Shower is very very (very ) small. 3. Having a small cafe for evening would be nice.

    staff were great

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is no luxury in any sense (even the TV is rather too small, but I am not a fan) and there was a rather strong smell of the cleanser, but nothing to really dislike.

    Personnel (everyone, no exceptions) was very kind and polite and helpful. the price was right. The location is also perfect for the particular business area (close to Circo Massimo) but also for taking a walk to Colosseum, Fori Imperialli etc. And it feels secure.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    too close to the road without little space for cars. Taxi driver went away with my receipt because he was in hurry to leave the road for others

    Staff approach to me was very comforting. It made me to feel at home. Communication in English was very clear

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi connectivity is not stable around the area

    The staffs are friendly and the room is clean. Moreover, the area is also convenient because of restaurants , supermarket and the breakfast is good

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I would like the staff to volunteer more infoation on public transportation and have a bus map available This location is close to both bus trolley and metro stops

    Location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    domus aventina is located on samll hill in the southern part of rome. after a day in the hub of rome we were glad to come back to this quiet hotel. the break fast was above our expectation. cheese ' cold cuts' lots of fruits and excellent coffee. the room was not huge but entirely adaequate. matress. shower.' AC all fine. don't think, that because it's abit ouside your cut off from the city. there is a bus 50 m from the hotel into the city centre. To Travestere or the ghetto districct you can walk or take a tram in the neighbourhood are diverse stores and restaurants. not expensive. definitely an adress to be remembered

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi in my room was poor, maybe because the room was at the end of the corridor. Sometimes I had to stand at the door to get connected. If they provided water heater (for tea) that would be great.

    Location. Not far from metro Circo Massimo. in a quiet circumstance. Simple but efficient breakfast. Though I had a single room, they gave a queen bed. Everything needed is provided, including hair dryer and clean towels

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    It was perfect! We will be happy to come back to this hotel. Very nice and friendly staff. Good coffe. I felt like I am at friends house. Beautifull indeed.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only that my stay could not have been longer.

    Domus Aventina is located in the most beautiful neighborhood in Rome. Church bells and bird songs fill the days. The informed staff, especially Stefano, take a personali interest in the guests. The daily breakfast is excellent. I hope to return soon.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, great room with a courtyard view, friendly and helpful staff .. This place was perfect for sightseeing but felt like a peaceful oasis. We loved it!!!

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No internet connection in the room. Just on last day. Beds are hard. You can hear the other guests from your room.

    Nice hotel quite near all the sights. Walking is No problem. Loved the smell of the flowers when opened the window to the garden even on the 3rd floor. Breakfast ok but good coffee!

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I asked for a single room as I was traveling solo. Bed was small for a man but can't complain as as I was searching for value.

    Good location and great breakfast. Coffee is wonderful.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower cabin tiny!

    Nice, quiet area, still near everything I needed. Train and metro stations close, also city tour bus route bus stop near hotel. Room perfect for two night stop.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    new customer needed to know about how to manage himself in the city economically, for food, travel and others. so hotel management should give all basic information.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The weather was very cold (between 5 and 1 oC, but no complementary hot tea, coffee or chocolate drink). Two of the five nights, my room was very cold.

    The location was close (10 minutes walk) to my conference centre, FAO headquarters. I felt safe going from, coming to and in the hotel. The members of staff were very pleasant and willing to assist, especially Mr Dario, the President.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very much dust in the room, you can easliy see this how is floating in the room. No heating system in the room, only the air condition system that is generating more dust and a bad smell. Breakfast is very poor and there is a funny guy that can tell you that "they don't have salami, prosciuto, cheese, eggs, but is comming on Monday"; I was there Thursday to Sunday, so I had a bad luck :)) If you like to have a nice breakfast, than is not the wright choice. The price include this, but better pay any other similar hotel without breakfast included, you will save 25 euro/night and you will get your breakfast to the firts restaurant you find. Small thing, but important some time, they don't have a brush toilet to clean the WC, so some times is very brown :)). Dirty remot for TV. That it, they have to improve that, otherwise they will never get good recommendations.

    Good location, close to center. You cand walk to most of the turistic destinations, if you like waking othewise close to the subway station.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Couple

    -no elevator, for someone maybe the problem

    -near the metro station -near the ancient monuments -good breakfast -pleasant service

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small shower area, Price is little expensive, too basic breakfast

    Location and staff support

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kind staff--very helpful! Excellent situation next to FAO. Beautiful view on the garden.

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cleanliness and a general smell of the property

    good price, close to FAO and the metro station. Staff is very helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the staff is extremely helpful and smiley

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff and a great location for walking around Rome

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower was quite small

    both the breakfast staff and those behind the front desk went out of their way to be helpful

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of lift to upper floors

    Reception staff very efficient and helpful. Location very convenient to FAO. Air conditioning good.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have been good to have a tea/coffee facility in the room.

    Location was good, room was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities are a bit worn out

    Great location Quiet rooms Friendly staff

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Hotel Domus Aventina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: