Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domus Cavanis 3 stars

Rio Terà Foscarini 895, Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy

#260 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2081 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is a short walk from Academia waterstop but to get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a short walk from Academia waterstop but to get on waterboat from train station was a 1 hour wait . The hotel has a small sign to go across to check in and this was quick and easy . The room was very big with a great shower . The breakfast was a very good buffet selection that we had included with our room .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.5
    Location of hotel is worth the lesser inconveniences associated with the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an implication from the photos that there was reception on the premises. In fact the reception was across the road at the hotel belle arti. I found it a little unnerving to have no one Entering the hotel with the card from the main reception, there was a deserted and rather spooky feel to the place. You had to find your own room, fathom out the over cold air conditioning, out how to work the safe etc. there were no instructions for using anything or a phone directory. A notice on the main door asking for it to be closed is essential , as I found it left open for anyone to wander in. The room was very small, but comfortable le. There was absolutely nowhere to put the suitcase. Lucky I was one person and a small bag and suitcase. As a double room it would be a challenge.

    The location. Excellent for getting vaporetti either on Guidecca canal or grand canal. Main hotel public area seemed very nice with a patio and sitting area with comfortable chairs. breakfast good and luggage storage which was a good bonus for me, staff courteous and helpful . Room very clean. Good tv reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    In a good location to walk around and explore the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to check in at the opposite hotel which might be a little confusing at first, but the room, area and everything else is really good.

    In a good location to walk around and explore the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Find somewhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you've ever seen the episode of Suite Life of Zach and Cody with the Haunted Hotel this is what this is like. Check in across the street, not a problem. Walk over to Domus right across the way, and there is no one at the front desk. No one in the whole hotel. Also, please see the picture for the sign for the hotel. It's hilarious.o My friend and I felt like we were the only two people in the entire 35 room place. The lights were off throughout the hotel, it was dark, the elevator worked sometimes and was eerily slow and tiny. We could not get the TV to change channels or languages. The maid service came by every morning at 8 AM sharp, and woke us up but did not understand that we were in the room still. She continued knocking every 20 minutes. Walking across the street to breakfast was a waste of time. If you like ONLY bread for breakfast then you'll be fine. Nothing but croissants and toast. Also, the staff working at the coffee machine or drink fountain is EXTREMELY rude. Can not make your own coffee, and do not fill up your glass of water twice because they will DUMP OUT THE WATER AND TAKE IT FROM YOU. HA!! It's literally a glass of water. from the fountain. We came into breakfast area with our school sized backpacks (no luggage) and the room was empty. and the breakfast staff lady screamed "Deposito!!!!" we obviously did not understand her, and even though it says this location speaks english, most of the staff does not. She forcefully guided us out of the room and yanked our backpacks off in a sketchy side area closet and then pointed us back to the breakfast area shaking her head yelling "mama mia!!!" We were very confused. The room itself wasn't bad, but we paid over $450 for three nights and also you have to pay a city tax in euros upon check out. So, for the price you pay you're getting ripped off.

    The room was clean, location is super easy if you get off at the Zattare boat stop. Air conditioning works well. The restaurant right beside the boat stop has the BEST Bellini. This area is so much less touristy than San Marco, but is a short walk over to all the sights there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient location, lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the room were smelly, definitely not the smell of vintage Venetian furniture. Aircon wasn't working well. Found a few stains on the sheets and towels. Wifi kept dropping out unless you walked across to the main check-in building. Hair dryer was broken. A mini fridge in the room would've been nice.

    Staff was helpful in trying to resolve problems mentioned above though some things were out of their control. A hair dryer brand new straight from the box was given (a real hand held one, not a dodgy wall drier). Fantastic location- minutes from the water bus, close to conads grocery, galleries and cafes. Good size room. Functioning elevator. Brekky was standard. Overall, great stay and feedback was addressed immediately by staff where possible which we really appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    room met the expectations bed was comfy and we couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    had a bit of a problem figuring out the flushing of the toilet. it kept running. shower wasn't the biggest and tallest one but was okay.

    room met the expectations bed was comfy and we couldn't hear a sound from outside. view on an inner court from our room was really pretty. location is great! a few steps from vaporetto station Academia and Zattere. breakfast was okay, nothing to fancy but enough to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Relaxed Veince
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall very comfortable stay. Staff very helpful. Breakfast great, staff handling breakfast very onto it with not leaving any bowls empty and great coffee nice and hot. Location handy to all. Directions to retrieve the key is spot on. Hotel Bell Arti is just opposite 895 pathway. To get here found it easier to ride on the boat going to Zattare which you can get either boat number 5.1 or 5.2 which is platform/dock E from Venezia S Lucia Train Station. Once you hit Zattare platform turn right to find your pathway.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean, central, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be better. It was ok but pretty basic and limited. What was there was quite nice.

    The area is quite central and very good for vaporettos. Our room was clean and quiet and air conditioning was working well. We had a good stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Great concept - pay for budget friendly hotel, while getting higher level services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you miss the sign with regards to going to another hotel for keys, information etc.. then you are in trouble! We arrived late in the evening, so at first didn't see this sign.

    I loved the idea of paying for budget friendly hotel while enjoying breakfast and terrace at the higher end hotel. This is just awesome!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    For one night okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition didn't have enough power and it was very hot at this time. We kept the windows open during the night and were attacted by mosquitos consequently.

    The room was clean and decorated in Venetian style (at least as tourists would imagine, I guess). The check-in took place at the hotel Belle Arti just across the street, same as the breakfast. The breakfast was a mix of continental and Italian. The hotel is located in the district Dorsoduro and is in 200 meter walking distance from the Vaporetto stop Accademia. The disrict San Marco is in 15-20 walking distance or 10 minutes by boat. The price for one night including breakfast was moderate for that time, I guess.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be improved, not everybody likes to eat sweets in the morning

    Location was very good, easy access to all interest points. Also quite clean. Building looks bad on the outside but the inside will surprise you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful room which requires upgrades. Staff needs lessons in humanity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Arrogant and unfriendly staff members: My wife asked for a glass of water while picking up our luggage just before departure. The reply was “ Sorry madam you have to wait till 4:30 until the bar opens”. Seriously for a glass of water *&*&&&&&+&+#$$##...We wanted water not booze....one among the few experiences...... 2)Air conditioner needs to be replaced. 3) City tax had to be paid in cash. 4) Mosquitoes in the bathroom. 5) Bathroom was leaking.

    Location just next to Academia. Awesome Venetien interiors. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.2
    Expected better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff, part of ‘sister’ hotel belle arti which is across the road from it. Essentially just a bed sit. Breakfast options were very limited, available at the sister hotel only. Just really expensive for very little in return. Would not recommend.

    Room was clean, that literally is it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.3
    This was a subpar hotel that I would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was an additional flight upstairs without elevator service. Room was extremely small. Bathroom smelled of mildew and the shower head was leaking. Staff was not very friendly. Breakfast was just okay.

    Location was good by the Academia bridge and vaporetto stop. Restaurants close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    All stated on the site corresponds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some lights in the room did not work.

    All stated on the site corresponds I had a difficult situation with several cancellations and cancellations of cancellations) The staff and the hotel owner came into the situation and helped solve the problems. I was given a room in another hotel despite the difficult situation with booking rooms in the high period. The level and service provided by the hotel did not disappoint

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are used to having hot water kettle in all hotels in European hotels that we have visited so far, that is why I would request you to keep a kettle in room as most people want some hot water as soon as they wake up

    The room was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Location is excelent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had some kind of a smell. Recently painted... some insect killer... I could not tell. However, after few minutes inside, we adjusted.

    Location is excelent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.3
    Do not stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t mind an old place but the management and maintenence of this hotel was poor. Room needed basic maintenance. The bathroom smelled of mould and mildew. There were lights missing bulbs, the sink was cracked and it leaked on the floor, the heated towel rail didn’t work, so nothing would dry, the toilet roll holder was broken, the shower head,was broken and the list goes on. The room itself was filthy and smelled, it needs airing out and a good vacuum particularly under the bed we found sombody else’s dirty underwear among other filth and rubbish. There were stains on the carpet, dints in the doors etc. It was not pleasent to be in. The Staff at checkin were rude and unhelpful, all they did was take our card details and gave us a key but nothing else. This hotel is separated from the main hotel Belle Arti, so there isn’t a main reception or anything like that the hotel feels like a ghost town. The breakfast (served at Belle Arti) is okay, if you can get in to it. The room is tiny for the amount of people at the hotel, we had to sit in the reception to eat and couldn’t even get coffee because it was to busy. I’m not sure Gordon Ramsey could save this place.

    The location was the only good thing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since the check in was in another building, getting to the room was little confusing, and the staff didn’t offer to help or give enough direction.

    The location is really good.. the room has very nice decoration and it is big too. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    This hotel met our expectations, was well located and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no eggs with breakfast. The decor was dated and very dark!

    The bed was good, the bathroom was spacious, as was the room, staff were friendly and helpful . Great location close to ferry and walking to every where else. Good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Convenient, traditional, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be water glasses in rooms, the plastic cups wrapped in plastic and replaced every day is awful for the environment!!!! Bar opening time should be later, or tea and coffee facilities in room

    Convenience, location, yogurt, traditionalness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Not so satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The equipment was not good in the bathroom. The water was not running in the right way. And the hairdryer didn’t work

    The breakfast service was good. The madam helps us with the cafe machine and keeps bringing new dishes. The location is ok. Always take a bus if you arrive by train! It’s very near to the station. It has a beautiful reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyed the room and location but not the service
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is opposite of the hotel, located at another separate hotel (this was confusing upon arrival because the sign on the window wasn’t too clear with directions). The breakfast was packed with people and few tables (had to wait a while to get food), there were few food options, and the staff wasn’t very pleasant. To get any assistance, you have to walk over to the opposite hotel as they were not picking up the phone. The hotel was pretty deserted as there is no front desk.

    I really enjoyed the location of the property. We were able to get around by foot. As well, the room was really cute and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.6
    Good European breakfast, easy location, nice courtyard - I would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow elevator.

    Very nice breakfast. The staff was helpful and nice. 24 hr check-in. Free baggage hold area. Nice location between Academia stop and at the other end the Zatere stop which has a express to the buss/train area. Near a gelato shop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    3.8
    Unrealistic pictures, do not stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom smelled dusty and damp There were no bed sheets on the bed when we checked in There was no receptionist, have to check in at hotel across the road.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location and good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was great, I am dairy intolerant and was provided with a soya cappuccino. The buffet was lovely but my partner is a coeliac and it wasn’t so great for her as it is mostly bread and pastries. The room was nicely designed. The hotel is near a water bus stop which is handy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    3.3
    Safe didn't work, phone broken, could not turn heat off...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Safe didn't work, phone broken, could not turn heat off in the bathroom, large dent in the middle of the bed. I usually don't right reviews but would not recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall, it was a nice experience - fair value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have been bigger The breakfast could have been different every morning I would have liked to pay the entire amount when booking the room - we were charged at the end of our stay for the tax imposed by the city, but we could only pay with cash

    The rooms were clean The staff from Belle Article was customer-oriented

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Couldn't ask more, very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We had an issue with our flight and we arrived incredibly late. The receptionist was very nice and comprehensive regarding the situation. Loved this property and I would surely come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Venice Domus Cavanis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generaly Domus Cavanis is close to the Galeria Academia only 250 m.And Piazza San Marco for walk is 1hour.Room is smaler but very pleasant with Venice wallpaper.We are stay 3 days.The quality is so good per price.Breakfast is so good (cakes,croasants,ham,salami,pastry,fruits,youghurt,coffe...)we are very happy that can be stayed.And for the future we are come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Just at place to sleep no more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No atmosphere at the hotel. It felt very empty without people. We had to take a long walk though corridors and stairs to get to our room. On the other side: the breakfast was very crowded. The staff seemed unintestered and busy.

    Warm bathroom and the view to the inner yard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Moderate services
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    two separate beds, very small room, the heat stops at night and the room becomes cold

    location is good near tourist attractions, good taste breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    The shower was very uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very uncomfortable. If i didn't have a shower cap, i would have wet my hair. The hotel is opposite the main hotel. It was like an abandoned house and the bathroom was really uncomfortable. Too small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    We used the hotel as base to see the Carnival and take a day trip by train to Verona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is actually no longer an independent entity but an annex of the Belle Arti Hotel which is over the way and 30 metres to the left as you look away from the front door. The entrance is somewhat obscure and check in and breakfast are done at Belle Arti. There is no restaurant in the hotel and it lacks some warmth although there is a bar in the foyer at Belle Arti. January in Venezia is very cold and the heater in the room just managed to keep up. Room could have been warmer.

    Great location with access to some interesting shops and restaurants. The shop where Tom Cruise and Nicole Kidman got their masks is quite near. Staff are friendly and breakfast is adequate enough. Access to two water bus stations (Grand Canal & Lido) is excellent and only 100 metres away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.7
    Good location, average room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast every day same, not so big offer. Slightly damaged equipment (lights, shower). Problem on the bed, where matracess are separated and slippery, therefore there is always gap between partners (not possible to fix it)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    We made a reservation via Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We made a reservation via Booking.com and also paid by credit card which was provided to Booking.com Once we were checking out on reception we were asked to pay extra tax – 21 EUR. We paid it to receptionist by cash and left your hotel. How badly surprised we are now when we found out you have charged us 21 EUR once more again via credit card!! So it means we paid special tax twice! Not 21 EUR but 42 EUR in total!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    not this hotel, not the rooms we've booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked Domus Cavanis but we were registered at the Belle Arti Hotel and nobody has let us know about it before. We decided on the hotel because of the pictures of the rooms, and we got completely different rooms in a different place.

    great location, the rooms were old but clean, good coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    Won't stay there again as it's not a very inviting place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, the building had no staff in it I felt like I was in a gohst building no lights I had to physically turn the lights on in the corridors myself, not very welcoming at all.

    It was easy to find.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    False advertising!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    FALSE ADVERTISING!! When I booked/paid for the rooms online, i expected to get what I paid for. Firstly, on the hotel website and on booking.com the pictures of the hotel rooms looked very luxurious and modern, but when I entered the rooms, it was quite small, NOTHING like the photos, and the name of the hotel was different! I didn’t like that the housekeeping would ask you to leave the room so that she could clean, I mean they are all nice, but I don’t like being told to leave otherwise they won’t clean later. I paid to relax not to be kicked out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    convenient location reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we stayed in the belle arti hotel opposite domus i think belle arti was a better hotel

    location walking distance to grand canal and st marks square. Breakfast buffet was very good a variety of croissants rolls and pasteries fruit yoghurts meats cheese. Bed was large and comfy The area around the hotel was quiet for such a central location The academia stop on the grand canal a few hundered yards away Nice resturants ans bars nearby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator only took us half way to or room, so we needed to climb stairs. Our bathroom had a sky roof with direct view from a taller school building next to the hotel. We only accepted the room because school was out during our stay. The hotel reception was on another hotel across the street, such made us confused.

    Good location. Comfortable and spacious rooms recently renewed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    It was just the perfect place for us, being accessible to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was just the perfect place for us, being accessible to the important spots we needed to go, the breakfast was healthy and abundant, the place cozy and quiet but most of all, you get to feel the Venetian vibe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all to find the hotel was a mission as there is only an A4 paper advert on the window stating this is Domus Cavanis. The building from the outside looks very rough. Next thing you're not able to check in there and have to go to other hotel which is opposite the street called Belle Arti and breakfast also will be provided here. Very uncomfortable. The room was clean but that's the only thing about it. Shower was missing the lid so water was splashing everywhere. Receptionist wasn't very interested in anything we were saying. Would not recommend it at all.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, comfortable and well serviced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is excellent, the rooms are spacious and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is varied and generous. The rooms are well heated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Would probably not stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly staff; communicating in English can very frustrating (you will be okay if you speak Italian); limited choices for breakfast (no hot food either); no fridge or kettle in the room; uncomfortable double bed (2 single beds/mattresses with one headboard - not steady); the hotel is actually owned by another hotel opposite the street where you need to check-in from and go for breakfast etc; no staff available or any help in any matter at Domus Cavanis building, desertification at its best!); poor WiFi; overall, it’s not worth the money we paid for a budget stay when comparing the service we received.

    Good location close to waterbus station. You can also walk to pretty much everywhere in the centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    4.6
    Location was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating is too high. The room is small and clusterphobic and poor quality bedding. The staff are non existent. You get charged an extra £10 for city tax that they do not tell you about.

    Location was decent. That was the only good thing about it. Don't go here if you're going to do anything more than sleep in this property.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Pretty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed and pillows were extremely hard and the keychain was unnecessarily heavy.

    Upon arrival we were notified that we had been upgraded to a room in the fancier 'sister' hotel. Was a very nice (but slightly small) room. Good breakfast and friendly staff. Perfect location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Overall, it was really good stay and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception in the hotel. The bathroom is ok, but shower box very tiny, if you are overweight, there is no possibility to have a shower. The hotel is working in a partnership with another hotel, so it was confusing finding the location as it had no indication in the facade or something. You need to go to this another hotel to make chech-in, check-out and for breakfast. There is no mini-frigibar in the room and if you need water or something else to drink, there's no place to store it. If you need the bar, you must go to the other hotel, I found it pretty inconvenient.

    The hotel overall is very good, the room is as in the pictures. Breakfast is very good and happens in a partner hotel as checkin and checkout. Cleaning and comfort was good as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.3
    Good all rounder
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of seats at breakfast. No murano glass tour on a sunday- should be notified about this when we booked/check in.

    We were put into the main hotel when we arrived although we booked the sister hotel. lovely hotel. Lovely room, very spacious, black out shutters. Close to everything, lovely restaurants near by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    3.8
    unpleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor breakfast unhelpful staff unclean small room the bathroom is stinky no radiator and we are so cold as we stay in winter the tv is broken

    nothing reli

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location and nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too cold, the air conditioning was turned on only after our visit to reception.

    The room was spacious enough and clean with a nice bathroom, at breakfast there was a great choice of pasteries

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    3.8
    Very unwelcoming staff and hotel.. don't stay unless you're they're a very short period of time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't even ready after trying to find the place and she made us wait too long for it to be ready, and didn't even apologise. The staff were unwelcoming, and moody. Being woken up early to banging next door for most of the holiday, which was a member of staff. The duvet didn't even have a cover on with just a sheet underneath and telling the maid wasn't possible as she didn't understand what we meant. Checking out, I found out (excluding the exchange rate) we were overcharged for the booked amount and the receptionist response was "I don't know" and shrugged her shoulders and basically ignored us .. pretty awful hotel and staff for foreign travellers. Would never dream of staying again.

    It's location within Venice, and the breakfast included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    2.5
    It was just waste of time and money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the rooms are very small. The bathrooms tini. When you sit on the toillette, you already touch the bd! - the walls are like paper. You can hear everything what the neighbours do or say. - the bathroom was broken. When i had a shower, everywhere was water on the floor. - the room was dirty, it was stinking. The phone was not working and the air condition was very loud. You can not sleep - the breakfast ist old, the bread is not fresh or soft. Very poor selection!!!! After that hortible night i spoke to the man on the reception. He did not care and did not say sorry. Please!!! No one should support places like this! It is not one cent worth it! Under the bridge it is nicer than there!

    Nothing was good. Not even one cent worth. Please do not book it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a little bit thin, and it was difficult to reach the reception, since you have to go to another hotel. The reception of the Domus Cavanis is not functional and that was a little bit tricky.

    The bathroom was really modern, clean and the shower really comfortable! Also I loved the style of the furnishings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    6.3
    I consider the location very good and the hotel terrace a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were separate from the main hotel (Belle Arti), the room was very small and we found hair on the blanket (blanket that was very used and seemed dirty). Poor breakfast and coffee.

    I consider the location very good and the hotel terrace a really nice feature.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Came back here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrogant staff Breakfast room is very small and becomes very crowded

    Pretty large rooms nicely furnished and with good amount of daylight Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    I thought the staff were grumpy and it felt that we were an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the staff were grumpy and it felt that we were an inconvenience to their day. We were right at the end of the hotel - so bad wifi and the hotel felt empty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    2.5
    BED BUGS EVERYWHERE! STAY AWAY!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is basic, stale bread and croissants The Bex was full of bed bugs and when notifying the receptionist she made out that we are idiots and have been bitten by mosquitos. So I went back and found the bed bugs and took a picture. Once showing this to her she said I didn't say it was mosquitos, no apologies just rude. My girlfriend woke up on her birthday covered in bites and no compensation was given! Funny thing is they moved us to another room and continued to sell on the roo. Full of bed bugs! Disgusting and money hungry people!

    ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    4.2
    Good location but poor sound insulation and ventilation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proof was very poor. Was woken up twice in 2 days in the middle of the night due to a child crying and someone using the bathroom in another room. No fan or air-conditioning, the room was very stuffy and the staff was not helpful at all. It seems from October they are switched off.

    Easy to reach the hotel as it is close to the Accademia bridge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    I might stay at the main hotel again but never in the Domus Cavinus annex.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in the annex (Domus Cavanis) across the way from the main hotel. There were no staff present there and the place felt deserted, quite creepy. MY room was at the far end of a long corridor. When I returned to my room after dinner, the lights in the corridor went out before I could reach my room, leaving me totally in the dark. I had to feel my way to my door - scary!

    Staff at main hotel courteous and professional. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is actually owned by another hotel and it seemed almost deserted entering my hotel, kind of spooky at night. My room was kind of dusty and the bed was pretty hard.

    The decorations were nice, the area is pretty nice it's close to all the artistic spots in Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.9
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How the apartment building felt a bit empty on occasions and you felt like the only person staying in them.

    The location was perfect. We couldn't have asked for a better location to stay in. You use the hotel opposite for their facilities and their courtyard is beautiful. A lot more could be done by the owners of this property and they could charge significantly more.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    3.3
    The worse hotel I have been
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there with my 7 month baby. The room was very hot - no air conditioning working. Staff were not friendly and would not provide a fan. No kettle in room to make baby milk bottle. No iron facilities, no mini bar/fridge. The hotel reception desk is in a different building opposite so you have to go out for anything you need and breakfast is also served in that building also. Limited options for breakfast.

    Location was good, close to public transport, attractions were in walking distance

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    Had a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 seperate mattresses...wish they were held together by a single sheet. They separated during the night

    Conveniently located Breakfast was very good and the morning breakfast lady who took your coffee preference was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    4.6
    Expensive and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an annex and sits across the road from its sister hotel which has a working reception and staff The bed was very poor and had two mattresses so it was very difficult for two people to sleep together. The room was incredibly small I understand that this is a budget hotel and therefore expectations should be low but I paid almost £500 for three nights, which is hardly budget. Booking.com does not specify that it's an unmanned annex, or that the bed is actually a sofa bed with two mattresses. You have to "steal" wifi from the sister hotel and the television is dismal and tiny This is not a 3 star hotel - it's built more like a bedsit

    There was free breakfast and the location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Good location in the peaceful district of Venice near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Room with canal view" actually had windows looking to the next house wall.

    Good location in the peaceful district of Venice near to the Accademia Bridge and Galleria dell'Accademia. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location,amenities could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO air conditioning..the room was quite hot during the day..open windows for cooling aT night,mosquito hordes arrive..either hot and sweaty..or cool and eaten alive by mossies..not good at all..the room itself looked like a bordello,red fabric walls,red chandelier,...comfortable tho..there is NO air conditioning in the entire building..not good for a summer stay.there was a dIily breakfast included with the room for the price

    Close to local ferry,plenty of shopping in this area..easy to reach by the local ferry service..public transport..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pillow was like a brick. Breakfast was typically Italian, only fruit, cereal, cornetti. No hot food at all, not even eggs No reception staff, you had to go to the hotel opposite if you need any assistance.

    fantastic location close to Accademia bridge and vaparetto stop. Nice (but typically small) venetian style room and clean bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.6
    Hotel not great value for money, basically paying for the privelege of staying in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Couldn't get the room A/C to work; room very basic; no laundry service; number for reception not indicated on the phone; some of the staff quite sullen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    A perfect place for comfort and convenience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, location, location - easy to reach by vaporetto from train and to airport. Very close to Accademia Bridge and gallery. The neighborhood was surprisingly quiet, but so close to everything. The breakfasts were varied and abundant, and the staff were accommodating and friendly. A bonus was the restaurant, Agli Alboretti, close by, which made each evening meal an event with fine food and charming service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.1
    Venice is very interesting and restaurants are very good although very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, window had to be left open and then mosquitoes came in and bit us, room too small, no drawers for undies etc, no hangers for clothes, shower only had a fixed head above (women need flexible hoses) alternative was bidet but the plug broken, so couldn't fill it.

    Bed comfy, room clean,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    It was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking Domus Cavanis, I was looking forward to staying there mostly because of their website. For $180 euro a night, they placed us in the tiniest room, which was okay for two people. We made it work. However, the staff was incredibly rude. You would think for being in the hospitality business they would be more welcoming to guests. Also, I unfortunately got food poisoning and the bar tender refused to give us bottled water because we didn’t have small change to pay for it and they didn’t have change to give us back. ALSO- I booked the hotel with my American Express. Paid for things at the hotel with my American Express, but when it came time to checking out, the front desk said they did not accept it, refused to take payment, and then demanded we pay with visa or MasterCard. Thankfully, we were only there three nights!!

    The only decent thing about this hotel was that the location was convenient and it was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.3
    Avoid this facility
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean at all. There were bugs in the bed, my girlfriend got bitten by some insects. Besides that, the bathroom and bed were too small and uncomfortable. Stay away from this place.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    3.8
    Small expensive, dark room, horrible breakfast, unfriendly waitresses
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very (!) unfriendly older ladies serving breakfast, just one young guy at reception was nice. Breakfast room is too small for guests from two houses (they finished service in one house, all guests had to walk to other hotel). For 210 euros per night a room totally dark, windows high under cealing. Smelling of mold, heater was broken, room cold.

    Nice pictures online, but in reality it is not close to it. Just seats in small garden are nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.2
    The first room we were given was so small you could hardly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first room we were given was so small you could hardly put down your suitcases, let alone open them. The room we got after complaining was more like a dark shoebox. The hotel itself is not in business on its own anymore, it is operated from the hotel Belle Arti across the street. So no reception, no services, no breakfast room. It is not exactly run down, but getting there. The breakfast at Belle Arti is scrimpy and the breakfast facilities are inadequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Domus Cavanis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: