Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domus Ester

Via S. Salvatore In Campo 38, Navona, 00186 Rome, Italy

#2500 of 3,119 B&Bs and Inns in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1182 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front is super dodgy and the staircase not much better. If you can deal with that you're getting awesome value for money. If you're not happy you'll pay 500 euro per night somewhere else.

    Awesome location. Very friendly staff. Room was ideal for a solo traveler. Felt 100% safe. Very clean. Great sleep all 3 nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location ,a great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance of the building is hardly seen as there are no banners to locate the hotel

    Location is amazing,we didn't need to use transportation at all except for the airport, everything else is easily walked from colliseum to vatican

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Excellent and central location to city area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk up route to the hotel. Nobody would know there is a hotel upstairs an old door Room is extremely small Bathroom is extremely small

    Excellent and central location to city area Room is clean Bathroom is clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for a Roman holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not what we didn’t like but what most people write about. The front door has some graffiti on it which can be a turn off to some. After seeing Rome, there is graffiti everywhere I was so surprised. The entryway is run down and needs some updating. The hotel occupies the second, third and fourth floors in this historic building which are fine. I was told the first floor doesn’t belong to them which explains the condition. No reason to spend absurd amount of money at another hotel, this place is very sufficient if you look passed the entry, trust me!

    The hotel is in the most perfect location for traveling around Rome. All of the attractions are within half an hour walking, some closer. The room was what we expected, nice and clean. The a/c worked great and the was plenty of hot water, the pressure was great! We were four in the quad room, two adults and two college aged kids with no complaints. Daily maid service kept the place nice and tidy when we returned from our daily adventures. Would definitely book this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small. No facilities to make a cup of tee or coffee. The fridge door fell off. The entrance of the hotel looks run down and dilapidated.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Clean rooms and friendly staff. Good location. Everything else is below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are super small and any noise made outside can be heard in the rooms. Also you have to make extra effort to be super quiet in the rooms because guests next door might get disturbed. The hotel is just a floor in a building and super tiny. A place meant for only sleeping at night and waking up early. Breakfast is super simple and worth having outside. WiFi was okish. Rooms are neither cool nor warm.

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Comfortable beds and clean rooms. Location is just amazing. Value for money because of the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    The close proximity to our daughters student room made it ideal for this trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom facilities. A bit cramped.

    Comfy bed and pillows. Willingness to change rooms when one of us was on crutches temporarily due to accident week before trip because no lift at property. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Had to take a bus most places, thought it would be closer. But did learn the bus system.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Better bed ...so thin. Thin walls, could hear everything like they were in my room. Didn't know there was breakfast. 4th floor...steps were a killer with heavy suitcases, but the little reception girl helped me.

    It was very cute.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very friendly, the location is great for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No ventilation in toilet, shower rail was broken, shower curtain was missing, bed was not comfortable, no space to store your toiletries bag in bathroom

    The staff was very friendly, the location is great for exploring Vatican, Trastevere, Colosseum and City Centre by foot. Value for money is top. Overall we really liked it there except for a few things (like broken shower rail) that could be easily fixed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apparently the main building, it doesn’t have a good look, BUT once you enter to Domus Ester you will be amazed of it!

    We love the location! we visited lots of main tourist attractions only by walking! The staff is very kind and very helpful for our short vacation! The room is very clean and it has all we need for our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Not possible to get a good nights sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Do not choose this place if you like to get a good nights sleep! We stayed in the Small doubleroom, and the bed was terrible. Hard spring mattress that pierces through the bed sheets! The worst thing though was the noice level. You are situated aprroximately 2 meters from the reception and the doors are paper thin so you can hear every sound made in the "hotel". The receptions is open from 07:00 to 23:00 so make sure you sleep every hour possible in between opening hours. All guest were complaining and wanted to change rooms (yes,we heard every conversation), so i would avoid this place. They really need to isolate/sound proof the rooms and get some decent beds and this place would not be so bad!

    The location is perfect, close to Campo de Fiori and Trastevere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Location was perfect, rooms were also clean but our first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a room on the 4th floor, with stroller it was complicated but done for now.

    Location was perfect, rooms were also clean but our first room had an issue in the bathroom, changed the room, but next room had no windows to have a fresh air, it was very very hot days at Rome and not so good to sleep. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    2.9
    Horrible stuff, small and really bad smell in room, entrance like horror movie!! NEVER AGAIN!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! First of all The stuff dont know english language, they are not helpfull. We book domus ester with breakfast- and we email them that i have allergy to- soya, lactose, gluten. We ask if its possible to make breakfast without these things -they email that ofcourse. So when we check on hotel reception (the entrance look like from horror move)and the reception is also tooo small for just two people. So when we check in hotel we just ask again if they can prepare gluten free and everything free breakfast they say yees ofcourse again. Then ask us what we want to breakfast( they bring your B to your room- to your small room where you dont have 2 chair or normal table to sit). We dont know what they have so we ask from what we can choose. They dont understand. So we just left with some croasant (for my boyfriend without allergy). The morning come and they bring us the breakfast- for me with allergic - they bring some cookies, milk, and bread but everything was open and on the plate. So i ask them if they are sure that is without everything. They say yees ofcourse! But im very very scared of that so i ask them for original package. And there was a SHOCKING SURPRISE! they bring me - SOYA MILK, and cookies and break was with soya and also with lactose. Im was in SHOCK!!! If i eat that i was going to end in HOSPITAL for sure!!!!! Im was so angry that they told me several times that the breakfast was going to be without everything and than they put me with everything inside!! They absolutly not realized that i can end realy bad just for them, for they BIG MISTAKE!! The reception lady then told me that- when she is shopping for gluten free ppl they just buy these and nothing else. And she just dont care, she just dont care that i can ended in hospital after your super “ gluten free, soya free, lactose free breakfast” that is no free from that at all!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls- neighbours kept us awake a lot. Very early check out time.

    Location was amazing- didn’t need to use any public transport to get to all main sights. Staff were all very helpful and friendly- helps us arrange transport back to airport and kept our bags for us. Nice clean, bright rooms- all that you need. No tea/ coffee facilities but this is not a hotel so wouldn’t expect it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    3.8
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, entrance is appalling, pictures were deceiving, rooms were really small, mattress uncomfortable and noisy neighbours. We checked out after one day and lost the pay we made for 4 nights.

    The room was relatively clean but that is the only positive thing I can say.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Lots of potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi didn't work in our room, neither did the hot tap in the bath. Also the mini bar wasn't stocked and we had no glasses. The smoking area in the hallway meant the room smelled of smoke the whole time.

    The building and room were really beautiful and the location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance was grotty, then 2 flights dirty dark stairs before finding reception . Room - floorboards lifted and uneven , radiator cover broken , shower trim ripped, toilet flush temperamental . No dining room - tray brought to room , cup with warm water for dipping teabag in , dry croissant.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water was luke warm and the room we were given just next to the reception desk was unacceptable. Luckily we were given another room on a different floor

    Staff very helpful, and location perfect. Very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice location, but loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. It is really noisy. Our room was exactly in front of the reception and even though we had the door closed, we could perfectly hear the reception staff talking (and they were talking in a normal volume, not really loud). Of course when the people comes in and out of the hotel, you hear them as well. You can also hear your neighboors in their rooms (a lot, even though ours were really quiet, but you could here them going to the bathroom for example). You can also hear the street, but at least, because it is a small side street, you don't hear cars, only small Vespas or loud people. 2. The breakfast was not good. I was expecting a bit more. It consists on a coffee (quite good), a not-fresh orange juice, a small piece of something like a croissant (not from the bakery, but from supermarkt, and they were not tasty) and two small bread biscottes with a bit butter and nutella. If I knew it was like this, I would have not taken it. 3. The breakfast in our room was really difficult. We had the small double room, and there is no table so that two people can eat.....

    1. The staff are really nice and they help you with everything you need. 2. The room and bathroom were clean, as we expected. 3. The location is great, you can go everywhere by foot. We were every night going out for dinner to the Trastevere, and it is only 5 minutes away from hotel. Piazza Navona is 10min away, and Colosseo and Foro Romano are 15-20min, everything is really near. And it is really good that it is situated in a small street, so there is no traffic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Great location and very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entrance door and shared stairwell are really grim, as is the litter in the lane outside. however the rooms are excellent if a little small. There are four flights of stairs to the reception and no lift. However, if you are able to deal with stairs and want value close to the centre of Rome this is excellent.

    Great location and very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They change the towels every 3days. If you want to change it before 3days, you have to pay extra. Not so good.

    Location was perfect. Very close to all touristic areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    It was fabulous! Thank you for a great week 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only real issue we had was the room next to us brought a pet with them. However they locked the dog in the room and it barked from 6 pm when we got back until after 12 that night. The walls are quite thin so you wouldn't want to be sensitive to noise, but the location and everything more than makes up for that which would definitely encourage to stay there again!

    Fabulous location, lovely staff and really beautiful rooms that were spotlessly clean with everything you could possibly need!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.3
    Fairly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled bad. Like bathroom cleaning chemicals or whatever was in air conditioning unit. There is a 7 euro fee that was not communicated at booking. I was told this during check in. I left 7 euros on the desk with my key in room and somehow they lost it. I find it odd they found the key but not the money... cleaning people probably took it. Wouldn't stay here again. Has potential but too many little things ruined the stay. Smell of cigarettes entered the room once too.

    Fairly clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    5.8
    Cheap for a reason but it's a bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly 'renovated'. Light fixtures falling off walls and ceiling. Black mould through bathroom and very poorly finished. Noisy doors and buzzer inside and paper thin walls.

    Good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    6.7
    Wasnt bad but wasnt great!...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was 2 single beds and single mattresses pushed together. Bathroom had signs of mould and frames rotting. General TLC required. Staff room next door to our room and they talked loudly and played music that we could hear every word at around 10/11pm. Breakfast was a bit substandard too!

    Good location and friendly staff! Loved the power shower!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    4.6
    Shockingly old and bad until you get into your room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, and they didn’t change our towels, even if we left them on the floor! They put them back up!!!! Also there is no hot water-just warm enough. The building was shockingly old. There is no elevator and the rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floor. The condition of the stairs, floor, walls, and ceiling until someone gets into their room is too too bad and old!

    The room was artistic and cozy, so was the bathroom! Very clean too!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money, all sights within walking distance, nice area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Matrass was a bit thin.

    Great location, all sights within walking distance. Nice staff helping you out if you have any questions. Clean cosy room, nice shower. (Great bakery called Roscioli about 2 min from the hotel! And very close to Trestevere, nice area for restaurants/cafés)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    Convenient and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it is an old building, the hotel tics all the boxes for a basic property. Staff, room, and amenities are great for the price, and location is great. Thanks for a great stay in Rome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    8.8
    Incredible position,in the middle of everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We payed for double bed but the bed in our room was 2 single beds..Not comfy

    Incredible position,in the middle of everything!Very kind and pleasant staff😊

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.8
    Prison must be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was horrible! The pictures online look good, but in real life it is absolutely awful. When you arrive you feel like you are entering a crack hole with graffiti on the walls and doors and you are afraid you might fall on heroine needles in the hallway. The room itself was smelly, noisy, the bed was hard as a rock, toilet seat broken, no wifi and on top of all we couldn't shower because there was no hot water!!! Unbelievable. Never ever going back here.

    -

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Great value for money in the best location to stay in Rome. Great restaurants and nightlife nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The entrance was hard to find as not much signage and looked a little run down on the outside. The shower had little hot water and the Wifi was bad.

    Great location and great staff, plus the room was really clean and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    4.6
    terriblle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tacky cheap and damp. Tiny little rooms badly put together. The ad misrepresented the space. It smelled dank and the lights were dim. the bathroom was moldy. even the internet did not work. It seemed like somebody just slapped it all together to make some money and does not care about hospitality.

    character building in a good neighborhood

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Great little hotel in a really nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi Fi was a bit sketchy. But the staff tried to help by putting boosters on our floor. We didn't mi d the stairs but if you have heavy bags it could be a problem. Don't get put off by doorway, just find button and press and staff will let you on.

    The decor was delightful, the staff very friendly and helpful, we loved our room. The location was ideal for walking around the city but quiet enough to sleep well. Fantastic little hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Comfy, fabulous location in rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A full map of how to get there, it was probably provided but we relied on taxi driver/gps so our fault

    The staff were all super helpful and the room was lovely and clean. Breakfast was good and coffee much appreciated. This was a great little BnB in Rome, fantastic location and value for money. Was a little hard to find when arriving late evening but on e we did we felt very welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    Smart location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building with scary entrance. Extremely small rooms with now sound insulation. You wake up until 7:30 because reseption opens. And if you want to have sex everybody has fun. The last day of our staying there was no hot water!

    Only the location and the staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    3.3
    DO NOT STAY HERE. YOU WILL REGRET IT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst hotel I have stayed in, period! Don't let the highly photoshop'd images mislead you. DO NOT BOOK HERE!!! 1. No hot water for 3 days. One bloke said "don't worry, try again in 1 minute". Magically the hot water came on... for 3 minutes and then back to cold again. When I asked the girl to perform the same miracle she told me there is nothing wrong with the water. IT WAS COLD!!!!! 2. Wifi doesn't work - it connects but there is no internet. This is cos they have stuck cheap useless wifi extenders around the place which DO NOT CONNECT to the router. The bloke kept restarting the router... 3. Rude staff - they just say "ok sir", nothing more, nothing less. 4. Hotel owner never showed up once to handle a complaint and instead had a "robot" keep saying "OK sir" 5. Dangerous floor tiles which are about to give way on the main external stair well, covered by a dodgy dirty red rug. Son fell over twice as they are crumbling away. 6. Had to carry a pushchair up 4 flights of stairs each day as no lift - no mention of this when booking! 7. Water leaking from the bathroom across the floor (room 206), son slips over & bangs his head. Staff? Nowhere to be seen. I rang the bell 5 times - NOBODY TURNED UP! 8. Walls are so thin you can hear EVERYTHING!!! Even people who pee during the night or use the hair dryer at 1.30am!!! I wish there was something nice to say. I never review hotels but this one was absolutely needed.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    when you enter the hallway up to it, it looks kinda sketchy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bad first impression with the entrence, maintenance of the rooms could be better

    when you enter the hallway up to it, it looks kinda sketchy. (expecting a hotel like entrence) but when you come to the floor where it is, it looks just fine, like a mix between a BnB and a mini hotel. good value for money and the location was perfect, we walked to every single sight (vatican, colloseum, ect) and the food arround domus ester was exceptional. service was great, beds could be better but you get what you pay for:) the biggest + was the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance is a little of putting, bed was hard for my liking no English channels or subtitles on the tv. Breakfast was fine but very limited (crossiant and coffee or juice only)

    Location- you are with a 15 minute walk to most of the major attractions, bars, restaurants and shops almost on your doorstep, staff where really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.6
    Good location, then everything else was bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The house where the hotel where located, the broked toilet seat, the not existing hot water, the leaking tub, the broken shower cabin, the dirty sheets, the noise from the other rooms etc..

    Only the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.2
    Very good restaurant at the bottom of the hotel on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small. The paint was coming off the walls and they were discoloured (maybe through damp). We asked for a double bed and got two singles pushed together which kept separating. The entrance to the hotel was dark and dingy and smelt like rubbish. There was not enough space to unpack and hang clothes so remained packed for the 5 days.

    Very good restaurant at the bottom of the hotel on the corner. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.3
    Amazing city, we loved Rome!! Room needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower leaked a lot onto the bathroom floor and the hot water didn't run consistently, we informed staff who seemed to sort it but after using it again it went back to the same temperature as before and we only had Luke warm water for the rest of our stay. The room was smaller than what it looked when I booked it from the photos they put online. There was no ironing board available from the staff, they said to use the bed. One small mirror in the bathroom only. No complimentary tea or coffee in the room. There was some form of grouting or dust falling from the wooden ceiling when the level above was being used and it was directly above the bed, also informed the staff and no other room was made available to us, we were told all the ceilings were the same. Overall I didn't feel the room was worth the money we paid for it, you'd paid for location but the room should reflect the price.

    The room was kept clean daily, they provided clean towels daily also if required, the lighting in the room was nice. The location central and near attractions. Staff were friendly. Domus ester held a friendly vibe overall.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    We enjoyed..thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit tricky to find..but great location

    Outside building was looking not so great..but the rooms and staff was excellent.. very friendly and clean and great value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    Location and staff wer great. Rooms are small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our first room, 305, did not have wi-fi as advertised and the AC was not working. However, we asked to change rooms and it was not a problem. Room 205 was very small, but had wi-fi and AC.

    Property location was great, within a short walk of Campo de Fiore, and close to shops, restaurants and public transportation. Hotel was within a reasonable walking distance to the Coliseum, Spanish steps, Piazza Navaro, and Trevi Fountain. Staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.8
    Staff were nice, property was dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Local taxi driver couldn't find the place. Air conditioning was lousy, OK it unusually hot in Rome (43°C) but even with a fan the aircon struggled in the small room. Power supply shut down entirely one night, unbelievable! We had to change rooms 3 times, TV didn't work, no toilet seat in the ensuite. There's no elevator, six flights of steps, wouldn't recommend if you're over 55 or got knee trouble. Damp coming through the bathroom wall into the bedroom. If Ponza was the highlight of Eurotrip 2017 then Domus Ester was our low point. Online photos suggested a small boutique hotel...it isn't.

    The staff were very helpful and recommended good local restaurants, points of interest. Location was good, easy to get to public transport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    staff pleasant, minimally aceptable room and bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1st breakfast quosiant was packaged, barely eddible, second day better. I would recommend not paying extra for the poor breakfast. airconditioning inadequate to the room, no windows except to a largely blocked air shaft.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little small but it was still manageable. It doesn't have a lift so it can be difficult to lug your bags up stair (in the summer heat)

    The hotel is in a good location. Walking distance to great restaurants, monuments and super market. It's very clean and the decor is modern. Staff were friendly and helpful. Their is a bike rental place around the corner which is super convenient and a great way to get around the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    It was our first honeymoon destination and they surprised us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was supposed to be served at 7:40 and we didn't receive it until 8:05. We felt rushed and didn't even finish breakfast because we were late to see the Pope!

    It was our first honeymoon destination and they surprised us with a bottle of Prosecco !!!! So lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    loved Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed attention. A kettle and tea making facilities would been an improvement. Picture on website is not off the hotel but off restaurant near by. The stairs to the hotel are a pain.

    Location great. Breakfast OK. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.3
    Perfect location, Not so perfect room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet seat and shower were slightly broken. They both still worked fine, it was just tricky to manouver them. There were a few power outages while we were there. The wifi was very slow as well, which when you are travelling is very important.

    Great location with pleanty of things close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Great location and cheap price, but some things were kind of ugly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - air conditioning wasn't very strong; on warm days (38 degrees) it got pretty hot in the room - no lift, so you need to carry in your luggage on 3rd floor - some fungus or mould on the walls - very ugly - changing the towels not everyday, but every 3 days - no (even small) bottles of water in the room - be prepared to pay the city tax in addition to the booking amount (not too cheap; 28 EUR per 2 people for 4 nights)

    - great location in terms of the city, however the building itself very hard to find (good that one man we've met was so kind to help us) - nice and helpful staff - nice decor of the room and wooden ceiling

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.0
    Unexpected. Not like the photos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely however the place needs investment and overhaul. The entrance is uninviting and grotty, room was small which in itself not a major problem but when you add in intermittent lukewarm (not hot) water, broken toilet seat, threadbare linen, broken air conditioner, mismatched messy coat hangers, blown light globes.......it all adds up to a poor experience. It isn't expensive however compared to other accommodation in the area it doesn't provide equivalent value.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice and clean but not spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much space to walk around the bed/bathroom even for a couple. No elevator so be prepared if you have large or extra luggage.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and brought to the room. Booked a taxi for us for the airport. Our room had an air conditioner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    The building itself and entrance will leave you a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The building itself and entrance will leave you a little confused, wondering whether you're in the right place or if its a hotel at all. The room itself was great and worked out really well but the rooms are close together along with the reception and there isn't much privacy when it comes to noise through the walls.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, small rooms in apartment building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Don't expect much luxury, the rooms are on two floors of an apartment building and are small. We were not lucky as the air conditioning was not working the first night and it was very, very hot in the room (and in Rome). Luckily we changed rooms the next night.

    The location of Domus Ester is great, right of Campo de' Fiori. Personnel is very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely little base close to all the sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance to Domus Ester was a bit grotty and not the easiest to find - the stairwell could use some attention! But once you're inside it's lovely, clean and quiet. Would definitely stay again.

    Great location and lovely staff - despite the 11am checkout time, they were more than happy for us to leave our bags with them for the day. Breakfast was quite simple (croissant and a coffee) but both were tasty! Delivered to your room rather than in a restaurant / dining room. Really central, clean, quiet and peaceful. Would stay again!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.6
    Don't judge the book by its cover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The outside looked like it was a fire and it had tagging everywhere. The hallway was scary looking and did not look welcoming. The place itself was small. We weren't impressed by the way the hotel looked from the outside. It was until we got into the hotel room where we felt safe and comfortable.

    Clean in the rooms everything was all white. The staff was kind and great and helped me with everything I needed. It is close to public transportation and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Ok stay if you aren't spending a lot of time in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as queen bed but it was two separate twins pushed together which caused some cuddling difficulty with my husband because there was a noticeable separation right in the middle. Air condition wasn't the best, that was the main reason we booked it because we know it's hard to come by.

    Close to public transport, restaurants. Good value for the price. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Nice room, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance area and building was extremely run down and appeared unwelcoming. Entrance was in addition almost impossible to locate without help from locals. Rot and mould in bathroom due to extremely leaky shower.

    Nice room, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, central for all attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a little loud with people using stairs/hear peoples in other rooms, but not really an issue when out all day/eve. Entrance to building gave bad first impression but no need to worry once upstairs.

    Excellent location, central for all attractions. Lovely room, very spacious and good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Hotel description is deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was awful! It was very HOT in room! Was also not told you had to climb 2 flights of stairs with luggage to check in! Taxi could not get very close to front door so had to drag it across rough cobblestone!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    Good location, poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner was broken, got changed to the other one on the second night,it was noisy and just circulated the hot air around the room, very uncomforting on hot days. The bathroom doesnt have an extraction fan so the room was boiling hot and moist throughout the entire stay.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Cute petite hotel in a lively area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit difficult to find (even though we had a map and instructions sent to us by email were quite clear). A sign here and there wouldn't hurt ...

    The room was small, yet had everything a traveler needs - a comfy bed, clean bathroom, fridge, and, most importantly, is perfectly located as you can walk to all the main sights but this particular area itself is not all that touristy. It is clean and very nicely decorated and the staff is nice. Don't be scared away because the building itself is old and not very well kept - once you enter the hotel, everything is nice and clean. Overall, a good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Great central walking location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slight issue with payment at the start, but between booking.com and Dario it was resolved. No other issues at all.

    Great location easy walk to all main attractions, maybe 20/25 minutes most. Great place to stay especially for the price. Hosts were fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Great comfortable stay, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wifi connection in our room was poor. Therefore we had to almost survive without wifi or data during our stay there.

    The bed was comfortable, room was spacious. Generally quite comfortable. Good location, near to all the tourist areas. We walked to all the tourist areas as it was all really near.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    Not a good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - bad internet connexion - two beds instead of one - issue with the shower as the fountain was broken - issue with the toilet as the toilet pan was broken - lot of noise -

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work but the staff were great and gave us a fan from the reception which was a lifesaver! The B&B is the top two floors in an apartment building which is run down but room made up for it.

    Great location being within a 20 minute walk of main tourist sites. 5 minute walk to lively Travestere which was perfect for dinner and drinks. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Great hose Dario was very helpful,room clean, bathroom lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The negative part was the 3 flights of stairs to climb to get to the room with heavy cases

    Great hose Dario was very helpful,room clean, bathroom lovely

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a little small, but not really much of an issue for me. Despite the hotel being nice, the location was quite noisy, both inside and out, so was unable to sleep well. Hotel didn't have a lift either, so there were quite a few staircases to climb!

    Wonderful hospitality, and clean rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful and when they knew that I would be leaving the hotel before they served, they came up and left breakfast in my room the night before, which was really nice of them to do so.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water, so cold shower. Wi-Fi poor. Including breakfast means simple breakfast, served in the room, but you have to eat on the bed.

    Location and staff was very good. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    It is more like a guest house, not a hotel as expected which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing that was not so great was, that our room was located next to the reception. But since we were only in the room for sleeping it didn't bother us to much. So if you ask for another room this is a great accommodation.

    It is more like a guest house, not a hotel as expected which is located right in the center of Rome. A tourist attraction could be easily reached. The room are very stylish and clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for a room away from the reception desk. Our room was so close you could hear every check-in, check-out, breakfast order!

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location, Breakfast is good, Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you study their map on the website. Took me a while to find my way back because of small winding streets. Map is a big help. Close to Trastevere, restaurants, grocery, buses, tram, Campo de Fiori . Would stay there again. If you have bad legs will be hard to walk up the three flights of stairs to your room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Location good. Accommodation not so good. We had 5 nights in the cupboard; our nickname for the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water was not always readily available. A quick word with the reception resulted in hot water within 5 minutes. I guess it must be on a timer. We had the small double room (205) so my wife sleeping nearest the wall found that getting out of bed to be inconvenient to say the least. Bathroom was small and only suitable for one person at a time. Breakfast in the room really didn't work for us as it was too small.

    The location for us was very convenient as we needed to be in the area for family reasons. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    - the staff is helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - you'll hear everything from the hall and neighbour rooms - there aren't any real windows at all and no air conditioner as well. That's why there's REALLY not enough fresh air. (we had to keep the room door opened sometimes to mitigate it) - the safe weren't working. Perhaps it would has been fixed if I had asked but I haven't tried

    - the staff is helpful - the room is very cozy (especially the light) - location is good enough (far from the train station but close to almost all the sights)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    A good place to stay when you want to be in the heart of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor. We bought our own bread and cheese. The coffe was ok.

    The location is fantastic. There was a bad smell from the bathroom. No problem in changing to a new and better room. Very friendly staff and a good service.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Domus Ester traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: