Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dama 3 stars

Via Milazzo 42, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#348 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 303 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were friendly and helpful. The room was exactly as pictured, and the location was close to Termini Station. The breakfast was very nice, with cappuccino, assorted pastries, juice, yogurt. There were plenty of restaurants and pizzeria's within close proximity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was mostly pastries and jam and serial. Not a lot of variety but not sure if this is what a breakfast in Italy should look like. My sister did not mind loading on sugar every morning but i got over it fairly quickly. It was ok for the price that we paid.

    The room was large enough for 2 people and there was a sofa in it as well. The building was only a short walk from the main train station in Rome which was very handy. It also had a market, restaurants and a supermarket nearby. The owner tried to get us as comfortable as possible. Overall a good experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like is that we had no heat in the room (both heaters - in the room and in the bathroom were very cold) and we had to use the AC to keep the room warm. We told about this issue to Mr. Massimo and he said that we will have heat in our room but it was not so.

    We liked the fact that the room was quite spacious and very clean, the bathroom as well. The location was ok also - only a 5 minutes walk from Termini station, a quite street. Mr. Massimo is a very nice person, he helped us with indications on how to get there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room amenities: coffee, tissues, fluffier pillows, more comfortable mattresses

    Room Size, superb cleanliness (everyday) 4* level barhroom, location is amazing, you can take the 492 from behind the hotel or anything else from the Termini.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no reception and the room was quite cold.The heaters were only on for a couple of hours i think 18:00 - 20:00 and even though there was aircondition it took for ever until we get warm enough every night.Another thing was that after we booked and payed the hotel, booking notify us that we need to pay an extra tax according to Rome municipality or something.It was 4 euros per person, so we end up paying 60 euros more in total. I would cancel the booking if i knew that in advance but it was not possible for bookings in that hotel. I am not sure if the tax situation is like that in every hotel in Rome, but if not, with these extra money we could definetely find a better place to stay.

    The room was around 6 minutes from the Roma Termini, so quite easy to reach all destinations from there. The owner and a cleaner we saw were really polite and helpful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. Met our needs exactly.

    We needed an easy layover near the train station. This fit the bill perfectly. Had we more time in Rome on this leg we might have chosen a different location but 5 min walk for such a good hotel worked great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no kitchen in property even though boiling water isn’t exist. Really really bad thing in this hotel was the smell of room. The detergent used for cleaning obviously could be heard and it was terrible. Specially I was sick and really bordered with the smell and non existent of hot water.

    It was clean with helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blankets not clean, no A/C. We arrived late midnight by taxi and first we didnt recognize it as a Hotel, we were so scared . There was a tall door with no Hotel name or signe on it. It was a shock .

    Only wifi was good and really a good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amenities are super basic. Crappy breakfast. Super tiny room. Safe in my room didn't work. Was promised repair, never materialized. Not sure why others praised this place so much. Other hotels in the same area of the same class are better and cheaper. Water pressure in the show kind of low

    Location was ok for my purpose. Clean. Staff was polite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was small, nothing was working ex : the safe box, the air condition remote control, the room view was bad!. exactly like small dark box!. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone else... I feel I payed more money and I had rubbish service in returns.

    I like the location near to the transportation and some museums as well, the stuff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was convenient to the railway station, it was fairly quiet (for Rome!) the cost was fine and the proprietors spoke English very well. breakfast was continental and of good quality-great coffee!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor and the room for it very small !!!

    Very good location! The staf was very helpfull and clean rooms! The bulding was old but in a very good condision!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi did not work in my room. It was fine in the breakfast room but who wants to only be able to connect once a day during breakfast. This is a deal breaker for me. Two mornings I did not have hot water.

    Close the train station with a number of decent restaurants close by.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What I disliked: the breakfast let's say that it doesn't exists(the only thing that is ok is the coffee:)), everything in the room is old, tv has only italian channels, the blanket is old and it smells, is not easy to find the hotel.

    What I liked: the hotel is near the Termini train & metro station, clean room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took a while to warm up

    Have stayed here several times, a great base for touring the city and good transport links with the station being a 10min walk away. Perfect if a budget hotel is what you're looking for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Paying the bill was quite an issue. Only part of the bill was to be paid by card, the 20 Euro for breakfast and city tax had to be paid in cash and getting that specified on the receipt was problematic and resulted in a messy bill.

    Nicely located in walking distance from the termini station. Clean room and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff - Massimo was excellent but his brother is impatient and has a very short temper! Could use a small shelf or two to rest some items in the bathroom.

    Very Clean Reasonable location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress felt cheap and hard, but otherwise everything else was fine.

    Hotel Domus Praetoria is in a great location near Termini Station, so if you're travelling in and out of Rome by train it's well situated. It's also a short walk to a few decent cafes to stop at for breakfast, and also very near the start point for the hop on hop off bus tour, which is key during the busy season if you don't want to wait ages to get on a bus. Just a note on the location - Termini has a reputation for being a rough and dangerous area. It really isn't. If you're from a big city, or have traveled through bigger cities it's comparable to most central station areas. Yes, it's a bit grotty and there are some rough sleepers, but as long as your a reasonable level of vigilant with your possessions you'll be fine. It's not the prettiest area of Rome, but it's very central and very convenient. The whole city was crawling with police and military forces, so it's hard to not feel safe (if not a bit unnerved) if you're a law-abiding citizen. As for the hotel itself, it offered all the basics without any frills, but was clean, safe and quiet. There's a fridge/minibar in the room, which seemed reasonably priced. The front desk is staffed 24 hours a day, so there's always someone on had if you have any issues. Our room was on the ground floor and faced the street, but we had no issues with noise as the exterior walls are quite thick. The air conditioner worked very well, so despite it being 30+ degrees outside we slept in comfort.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger sign board as locating the entry at night was not easy - other nearby hotels had big , lit up name boards More information regarding popular tourist destination , how to get there , tickets to skip line , bus n metro pass , bus routes from hotel etc would be very good value addition

    The response of the staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very limited and room fridge was not cold enough.

    Everything was very clean and staff obliging. It was handy to the station and had plenty of good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could be arranged better.

    The room is big, clean and quiet. It is located very close to the train station, very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Comfortable and clean room. The owner is wonderful. This place diserves 5 stars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The premises are in a great central position, easy to reach and close to the University and CNR

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could use a heater as it got extremely cold in the bathroom.

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Excelent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was small and the furnishings were dated

    Handy for the train station

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    24hrs reception, friendly and helpful service. Clean and comfortable place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean hotel, great location, quiet room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safty box doesn't work, Tv the same And unfortunetly staff weren't friendly at all

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV channels to keep up with news.

    The bed was very comfortable. Spacious compared to hotels in Paris.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find the hotel signage at first time and small shower booth.

    Great location and lots of good restaurants around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty streets, but it is not the problem of the hotel. No sign with hotel name on the street. Not easy to find.

    Nice, clean room with daily service, breakfast was simple and mainly sweet but good and acceprable for few days. Hotel position is very good close to train station and city bus metro transport.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Hard to find the place, there is a market on the street until the afternoon, the noisy preps begin as early as 5AM, waking you up if you have a room facing the street. Wifi occasionaly loses signal, but generally OK. WC was running, making constant noise, radiator was a bit noisy too. No sockets in some of the bathrooms, I had to shave sitting in bed. Plastic glas was hard to find. Breakfast is typical local sweet-only stuff, but coffee is great.

    Calm and safe place close to Termini, and University. Desk open 24/7, they suggest to keep keys there. Room shading is effective. Low noise level for non-street facing rooms. Loved the 'Domus' feeling, as the hotel has the rooms in an older building, created from flats. Family run business, they were very helpful when e.g. priting boarding passes, they gave maps with detailed directions without asking, offered luggage storage, etc.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very comfortable and clean hotel, with spacious room for 2 people. The staff was very nice and helpfull, they evan tried to book us for the Borghese Gallery. Most delicious breakfast, italian cofee and pastry. Good location, near the Termini Station and the Metro.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy ventilator in the bathroom, as well as very noisy toilett, only a little of warm water - definitely not enough to take a solid shower (2-3 min). Hotel is quite hard to find without adress - no banner or advertisement. In summary, a little too expensive.

    Kind people at the reception, no problems, looks as really safe place, very good localisation

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Internet kept disconnecting (3rd floor), they should use some reliable and long range routers.

    Staff was very helpful, room and bathroom was clean. Hotel was easy to find (with proper research before) and very close to Termini station.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stayed at this hotel 5 yrs ago and it is a lovely place to stay. Our room was clean, the breakfast good and the staff is lovely. It is very close to Termini which is great for train travel and the metro. Will stay there again!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was slim. Fruit, juice and maybe hard boiled eggs or any kind of protein would have encouraged us to return.

    Hotel staff. Elevator. Location. Staff really tried to satisfy any requests. Street market right outside the door.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Clean, modest room. We wanted to stay near the train station since we arrived late at night from the airport and were heading out by train in the morning. Otherwise, stay clear of the train station. Not a great neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Great location near Termini. Good security. Staff were friendly. Room was excellent and great value compared to another hotel we stayed in the same area. Breakfast was ok. Coffee was the best I in 3 weeks travelling Italy. I would return to this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    WIFI in room constantly dropping out. Had to go into corridor to connect.

    Location, friendly staff and comfortable. Very close to the main railway station with metro links to tourist sites. Also excellent links by bus to and from both airports.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast and room at the ground floor on the local market

    Staff courtesy and availability. Location in the centre of the city and close to all public means of transportation

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staffs are very helpful and the place is clean even the management is very accommodating with each request we have. Highly recommended if your looking for a budgeted place with right facilities and comfort.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the first day, only one of us was able to take a hot shower. There was a problem on the water heating after that and my husband had to go with a cold shower. It took them 20 minutes to have a look at it and, after fixing it, asked us to still wait for "a few minutes" more. We waited for 15 minutes but it was still not working. Later, they admited it would normally take half an hour to work again, after having been fixed. We couldn't wait all that long. Hot water is just one of those basic things, so, I was not happy.

    Staff was nice.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have liked more choice with the breakfast - fresh fruit and plain yoghurt would have been welcome.

    The bedroom was a generous size and the staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room and staff were great. We arrived early around 10am and we were given our room (just expecting to drop off bags). Front desk was really kind and helped me sort a problem with airline. Will recommend to friends

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old fashioned room, we booked a double bed room but in fact it's 2 single beds put next to its other to make them a double....very very uncomfortable and disappointing for 110€/night

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Just didnt know tht the heater is off every 11 pm

    Location its good, the staff really nice, the room its huge i said, but whts bothering me its the heater always off at 11 pm, but there's aircon, so noproblem, for me all its good, very nice i love it

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very bad sound proofing (when neighbor flashes the toilet You can clearly hear it-it annoys at night time; You can hear noise from outside as well; Breakfast is quite poor-only cereals and buns. Internet was very slow and reception was always cutting off.

    Room was spacious, renovated.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    - bathroom sink had a stinky smell - wouldn't bother with the breakfast

    -I loved the location -Staff was courteous friendly and kind. - Room size just right - Quiet - I would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somewhat hard to locate

    Centrally located friendly and helpful ataff

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff who were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast is poorly, heat the room is moderate

    hotel location, room, elevator, staff, ingenuity in building security system

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No cheese or ham at breakfast

    Location, silence, friendly staff, spacious room

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    great hotel friendly staff always there to help

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful staff

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast just so so

    great location

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no wifi , difficult to find front door

    size of room

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great restaurant across the street!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to parking, near a puvlic transportation.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi didn't work in our room but was fine in lobby.

    Very ready and to Termini station. Great beds. Quiet for Rome. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a it light on, compared to others in italy

    Beautifulbuolding

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Coffee, cereal yogurt and danish only for breakfast. Layout very difficult. Small bathrooms.

    The location was great. Good price.

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: