Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Domus Sessoriana

Piazza Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 10, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

Review score

Based on 1499 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    4.2
    It was terrible. No service whatsoever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basically everything else was horrible. the first night I stayed there it was incredibly hot. I should have figured that something was not right because there was a fan in my room. The room was so hot but I did not make a fuss because I was so tired from my trip. I left to go sightseeing the next day and came back late in the evening to a room that was like a sauna. When I spoke to the front desk about it they were completely unhelpful. They knew that the room's air conditioner was broken and they still booked someone in that room. They offered a room for us to sleep in that night, but we could not keep it because it was needed the following day, so we would have to move again the following day. So at midnight we had to pack up our luggage and trek it down across the property to the other side where the room we were to sleep in was. The in the am we had to leave all of our luggage packed so that it could be moved to the new room the following day. Mind you... this place is HUGE, with several sets of stairs where elevators were not available. It was a terrible experience and I would not recommend staying here.

    The facilities themselves were very pretty. The high ceilings and the fact that it was right next to a church were very cool. It was a unique location to stay at.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff was nice, the place is clean and its relatively...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a small problem with out rooms keycard, resulting in there being no electricity in our room. andfortunately it took a bit long to fix it. But that really wasn't a big problem as we were in the city for that whole day. Also the breakfast was in this cold and unimportant room in the basement and we could see that it used to be on the beautiful terrace. we don't know why it's not like this anymore, but it would really be much nicer if they could have the breakfast on the terrace again.

    The staff was nice, the place is clean and its relatively easy to get to all the main attractions and especially getting back there at night as the bus stops directly in front of the hotel. But most importantly this place used to be a monestary.. so you will be staying inside a beautiful building complex almost as nice as some of the sights you will be visiting.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden costs (3.50 daily city tax pp) Noisy lift next to room Noisy cleaners at 8am Two bunk beds instead of double bed Old and used interior Bad coffee at breakfast (come'on we are in Italy) Unfunctional key cards Rubbish around the place

    Spacious and clean room Scenic location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Something a little bit different.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking is expensive, but hey, it's Rome.

    The hotel building is amazing. The rooms aren't luxurious, but they are comfortable. Good shower in a large bathroom. Just walking around the building is a calming experience. Breakfast is ok, with decent coffee - the better coffee is from the machine in the corridor, just 50c! The hotel is not far from the metro, in a pleasant area. A good variety of places to eat nearby. The roof terrace offers a good view. Secure parking is just a short walk away, but you can pull up outside the hotel to drop off and collect suitcases. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    Quiet good choice for budget holiday in Rome. Poor breakfast. Very uncomfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small, dark room and even smaller bathroom - you can't open door for all width. I really regret, because in photos on booking.com there are presented very spacious rooms - that's why I decided for this hotel. Rooms were dirty and old-fashioned, cleaning was very sketchy. Very uncomfortable beds - after 4 days I dreamt about normal bed. Poor breakfast - small pieces of bread, cheese and ham. Any vegetables, any fruits. Only instant coffee. Lack of possibility to iron clothes in hotel. Homeless sleeping in front of hotel.

    Very curious location of hotel in the neighborhood of church. Great view from terrace on roof. It's a pity that breakfast is served in underground without windows, not on terrace. Good location for sightseeing, about 5 minutes on foot from subway station and Archbasilica of St. John Lateran. Fine cafeteria and markets across the hotel. Air condition, fridge in room and vending machine with snacks and water in hall.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Impressive building and close to transportation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about. The accomodation was pleasant as described on the site.

    The location was close to the bus station and metro, making it easy to get to the city center. There are restaurants and shops in the area and the building is very impressive, since it is part of a church. The staff is also really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    All, breakfast, snack & drinks vending machine, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Euro cash, no change with them, Easy by credit card payment

    All, breakfast, snack & drinks vending machine, friendly reception staff, 3 min to Metro, bus to colleseo, vatican, spacious bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only wish the breakfast variety was a bit more..diverse. As a person who is not much into food at early hours of the day, it'd be nice if more fruits were available.

    The location is great! The staff is super nice and friendly (and 24/7 which is convenient!). The building itself is georgeous - you can visit the church on your way out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent quality for that price.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent quality for that price. Looks stunning from outside, cozy from inside. Staff was very kind and helpful. Everything you need for a few nights sleep

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Surrounded by history
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was old, walls were painted in very simplistic manner. Breakfast was simple but enough to fill a stomach.

    The hotel situated in historical building. This creates specific nice atmosphere. The sealing is very high, the corridors are very large. View is amazing. Roof top is fantastic not just because of view but also space to spend evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    We really enjoyed staying in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It will be fair to mention about one remark concerning to wi-fi connection, which is unfortunately available only within general areas such as hall and corridors. It will be better to provide internet access directly from the rooms. Anyway, we are satisfied by the hotel hospitality and services provided. Thank you.

    We really enjoyed staying in this hotel. We liked their breakfast with a rich menu, comfortable and big room with excellent city view. We also appreciated the service provided by friendly staff, who tried to help us with any inquires.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    It was nice to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice to stay there. Room was very spacious, clean, breakfast tasty plus you get nice view from upper terrace, everything was just fine. I surely recommend to stay there. Its easy to get to very center within few minutes by public transport or take a walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Excellent retro style place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No restaurant or bar, except for breakfast. The hotel has an excellent roof terrace, fully furnished. Guests would be happy to have the opportunity to have some drinks there.

    Excellent retro style place. Nice spacious room. Excellent rich breakfast included. Great location, with handy public transport to most of Rome's places of interest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    We had really great time in Rome. Domus Sessoriana is cheap, clean and friendly :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, very friendly hotel staff - the taxi to Ciampino airport is fixed to 30 euro and for Fiumicino - 40 euro. If you order transfer from the hotel you pay much more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    wonderful roof terrace, good enough breakfast, non-failing...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    first you think that location is also good enough (it really is in some way) but then you walk for 5 minutes to the subway under rome sun in july and understand that it’s pure infliction😅

    wonderful roof terrace, good enough breakfast, non-failing air conditioning. very clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.3
    You get your money worth!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even though I was really satisfied with the overall job the hotel did, the beds were really hard and gave us a hard time sleeping, but this might differ from person to person. Another thing I would like to see is WIFI being available in the rooms. So far it is only available in the lobby which is a little inconvenience.

    I really liked the location of the hotel. The tram, bus and metro lines passed right by the hotel which made it really easy to get around Rome without a problem, and get home from anywhere at any time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Absolutely worth if you don't need a five star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no wifi in the rooms and the double bed is just two beds pushed together. The hotel is quite a walk from metro stops and bus stations if you are with a suitcase and the main atractions are on the other side of the city centre.

    Great value for the money, the staff was extremely polite and helpful, they even borrowed us a wine opener. The breakfast offers a wide variety for a few days stay. The historical building is amazing. There are also plenty of nice not too expensive restaurants in surrounding neighborhoods.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    On the top roof there has seats to see the sunset, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In rooms has no WIFI!!! We took international exchange plug, but in the room, only one plug canbe used.

    On the top roof there has seats to see the sunset, very beautiful. A little far from city center.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff, good breakfast, nice view from the window,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good to have wi-fi in the rooms , although we knew there will not be :) Some additional power sockets in the rooms would be great. Air refresh in the toilets would be nice to have :)

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, nice view from the window, location is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice quite stay but poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Included breakfast was poor. For example there was always shortage of food. Fruits were all gone and we asked if we could get some. The went and brought 2 bananas and 4 apples.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice, quiet hotel next to a beautiful church.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit creepy. Toilet is clean, but not maintained - the toilet cover kept slipping and sliding as you sit to do your business. The beds are uncomfortable and the mattress has an obvious dent in the middle. Pillows are thin, Wifi does not work.

    Breakfast is provided. Staff are nice and friendly. TV is included with the room and functioning perfectly. Located directly next to a beautiful church - make sure to visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    Basic Accommodation connected to one of the Holiest Churches in Rome (ask to see relics)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation is monastic and basic, so the beds were uncomfortable and hard with thin pillows. we also booked a room with two separate single twin beds, but they had not met our request, and said there was only one room in the hotel like that. luckily it was free but I suggest you phone in advance to ensure. Wifi was pretty useless as it is only in a tiny reception area. the rooms had no wifi, not much mobile phone signal and not much mobile web. we had to go outside the hotel to make calls. There were not enough plug sockets in the room for two persons. The hairdryer was ancient and hard wired . it looked like the antique curly wired phones, and only offered a gentle breeze of warm air so not that good. Could not locate access to the roof terrace on 4th or 5th floor. Shower was not very hot Breakfast was not worth it - buffet - with just tea/coffee automatic machine / pineapple and orange juice from concentrate and to eat was muesli or cornflakes with lukewarm uncovered milk, 4 types of cakes and tarts, glazed sweet mini croissants, and small hunks of bread with a selection of cheese or ham. No hot or substantial food. I recommend you skip it and get it elsewhere. Lighting throughout was very dim all around the hotel except for bedside lamps. this is ridiculous since the general lighting should be bright and the bedside lamps dim.

    The best thing is the huge novelty of staying in a converted monastery which is largely original, adjacent a beautiful church just next to it containing the holiest relics in Rome - a replica Turin shroud, the shards of True Cross of Christ, the Nails of the Passion, and other relics from the Holy Land. It is also close to Scala Sancta - the holy steps which Christ walked on in the Passion. There are also amazing ornate biblical gardens which are usually closed. I recommend you go in the church and ask to see the relics, they are in a special room behind the main altar and sanctuary area. The location was good - close to San Giovanni and Lodi stations. There was a 24 hour supermarket 20 minutes walk away. There were no notable cafes or restaurants nearby that I can recommend but the metro is nearby and you can go elsewhere. The rooms were very large for the low cost. They had all the basics and many original features. The staff were helpful. They were great value Air con was great worked real fast. room had a fridge which was super useful and worked great. vending machine was inside the hotel extra blankets avaliable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Unique, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a unique and beautiful place to stay The hotel is in a re-purposed monastery right next to the cathedral. The rooms are large and clean. The staff is helpful. The breakfast is European continental. This hotel is off the main path, but only 15 minute walk from the subway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Amazing building and the view from the terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's just a minor thing, but the coffee wasn't good at all and it was lack of the warm food during the breakfast.

    Very nice property, the building itself is old and well-kept. The terrace on the roof of the building is amazing, and the view is really great to spend the evenings there. The breakfast was quite good and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Large room,comfortable bed, nice breakfast and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk personnel in the morning was very unfriendly - I got double charged

    Large room,comfortable bed, nice breakfast and great breakfast service, it was nice that they kept our luggage - nice terrace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    I recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no Wi-fi inside the room. I heard the air condition voice at night, although I did not use it

    Location is very good. Collosium is ın walking distance. The room is very clean. Breakfast is simple but good enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful church hotel. Beside Railway station. Good for young athletes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad wifi in the reception area. bad light in the room. Horrible, rude and unhelpful receptionists. We were 70 year old and needed help with our luggage as we didn't expect to climb stairs. Receptionists ridiculed us and said this is the structure of the hotel, take it or leave it. Two 80+ year old french guests tried to help us with luggage but they ran out of breath too and receptionist was just looking at us doing nothing. Their check out is 10 am and we are genius members so we are entitled to ask for late check out but when we asked to check out at 10:30 am, receptionist said if you stay one minute late, we will charge you extra day. What kind of a religious church/Christianity image are these christian church receptionists giving? They don't lend a hand to help the elderly people; they are rude and they don't give few more minutes for checkout.

    wifi good in the room but not in the reception.. breakfast good. breakfast waiters were friendly. Beautiful church hotel. Beside Railway station. Beautiful park beside the hotel. This place is very historical and nice location. soap bars and shampoos were in the room. a/c available. elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Really nice for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were a little too hard for my personal taste, but after a whole day in the city they felt pretty good. Some of the power outlets were of the italian three-pin type, you will probably need an adapter. But there were some two-holed sockets in the room. There is no WiFi in the rooms, only at lobby and breakfast hall. It was not that bad, but sometimes it would be much more convenient to have a hotspot somewhere else in the building.

    The hotel is in great location, with hight transport accessibility. The breakfasts are good, may get a bit boring if you stay there for long. The pastry and coffee are great! Especially the warm croissants. The neighbourhood is pretty quiet. The church is charming, gives the place a nice calm feel. The staff was really friendly and helpful. You can leave the bags at the lobby after checking out for as long as you need. If you'll stay there, go up to the terrace sometime, the view is awesome! Wish we had breakfasts up there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    good location, close to city center, great basilica next to...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no wifi in our room - 3. floor, no vegetables at breakfast, breakfast wasn´t served at terrace,

    good location, close to city center, great basilica next to accomodation, close to termini station, helpfull staff, perfect view from terrace, big bed,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little far from the city center. If you are a walker like me then you will be walking at least 30 minutes to get to the train station and similar for the coliseum. I also didn't like the fact that they didn't provide a complimentary water bottle.

    Beautiful little hotel. It was in a nice area of Rome. My view from my room was a pretty one. The breakfast was not bad either. Not your typical American breakfast but it was enough to fill your stomach before you start your day site seeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I asked why the WiFi was not working properly a member of staff told me that on my floor the connection was bad, then i wend on the reception to ask again I was informed that the WiFi was only on the common areas (what is actually a corridor). The staff member was very rude when I asked. The same happened with the minibar. Mine was not working and when I made the complain i was informed that any of them work, when I asked other guests they told me that was actually not true. They fixed at the end.

    Location quite good. Nice area with good local restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the public spaces only. Would have been nice to have WiFi in the rooms. (It actually worked partially in one room, not at all in the other). On the outer edge of most of Rome’s City center so you will have to walk a bit more or take public transit.

    Good value for the money. Overall it was very clean but the shower could have been a little cleaner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Great location, stunning building - mediocre service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room stank because of some issues with pipes. We flagged that every single day, and even though the direction assured us they would have taken care of it (otherwise, they would have given us a different room) they didn't fix the problem at all. We were expecting some kind of refund but we only received a feeble apology the day we checked out. Not impressed at all by that. Also, water could have been a bit hotter.

    The location is to die for. Absolutely stunning. The building is gorgeous and the view from the roof is breath-taking. Extremely central. Everything is walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    The room and bathroom were clean and well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi does NOT reach throughout the whole place. I did not have any WiFi connection at all. The hot water wasn't hot enough and took a VERY long time to even get lukewarm.

    The room and bathroom were clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and helpful - the 24 hour reception is especially very handy. The buffet breakfast exceeded my expectations, with a reasonable selection of breads, cereals, yoghurt, juices, hot drinks.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Quiet area away from town. Pretty building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crowded breakfast area and poor choice for veggies.

    Pretty building. Nice room. Freindly staff and gave good local advice and map. Need to get the transport ticket to view rome attractions as quite far away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.2
    The reception team showed positive attitude and tried to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a lot of renovation, No services offered by the hotel except housekeeping and a free map for attractions, the aircondition is set to work 3 hrs and shuts down automatically ... They tried to fix it but they couldn't !!! The original room(included in Booking offer) was terrible and forced to upgrade it ( because it was non refundable) by 25% extra charge (After trials from the receptionist to offer other similar room but they were all inconvenient)

    The reception team showed positive attitude and tried to solve troubles

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could install WiFi in the rooms, also change the towels, we stayed for 3 nights and they didn’t change our at any day.

    The breakfast was good also the location was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Unique atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Beautiful, place with unique atmosphere! The location is good, and the breakfast was excellent for the price. The room is simple, but has everything you need. The staff was very helpful, and the 24 hour front desk is very convenient when you have a late check-in. Good value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room. You must go in another part of the building for the internet.

    Close to the city centre. There are a lot if public transport around.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Extraordinary. Stay here for a wonderful experience but not high luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower spray was so fine, it felt like needles. It was not adjustable. Very annoying. The blanket was rough and I hated it. I actually spent 10 euros on a soft fleece blanket for my stay. I gave the blanket to a homeless person on my last day.

    This hotel was truly extraordinary. The property was wonderful. The Basilica was absolutely gorgeous. You must keep in mind what you're signing up for when you choose to stay in a converted abbey. This is not "high luxury" hotel. It is everything you would expect of an abbey. It was very clean and sufficiently comfortable. I chose this hotel for the experience and it was all I hoped it would be. My single room was comfortable and welcoming. The mattress could have been a bit thicker, but again, think abbey/ monastery. The bathroom was well appointed with a bidet, towel warmer, 240/120 power outlet and lovely tiling. There was no tub, only a shower but, that suited me fine. The breakfast buffet was simple cold foods. Bread, pastries, an excellent coffee machine with multiple selections, cold cereal, milk, and yogurt. Every single member of the staff that I encountered was courteous and helpful. Keep in mind that wifi is only available in the community areas. They make this clear on the site so it shouldn't be a problem. It took some getting used to on my part but, in the end, it made for a good opportunity to meet some fellow travelers. Also, if you stay here, you should know that the train station is very close. Google maps was misleading. The train is an 8-minute walk away. Ask the staff. Regarding my photos. They are all turned sideways when transferred to this review. I don't know how to fix it. Sorry.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.5
    Helpful receptionist, inexpensive choise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was either freezing cold or unbearably hot. Wrong door numbering was quite frustrating at the arrival.

    Helpful receptionist, inexpensive choise.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    7.9
    The hotel has great localization, it´s really easy to reach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No wifi in the room.

    The hotel has great localization, it´s really easy to reach the historical centre by tram or metro. Small shops and restaurants around, nice breakfast, we enjoyed our stay there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Interesting combination of former monastery and hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There could be some veggies at the breakfast (there was none). There was qute cold in the room. No heating, just A/C where we could not increase the temperature (don't know why it didn't work, moreover the control panel was in Dutch).

    Interesting combination of former monastery and hotel facility, extraordinary. We liked it - the combination of old and modern is gentle and looks good. Comfy simple room, made up daily. Liked the bathroom, although we missed some hooks for towels. We had quite room - maybe there was not many guests at the time of our stay. Staff was friendly, breakfasts were ok - there was wider variety of sweet and savory (I'm ok with that but someone could not like it). There is nice basilica right in the spaces of the hotel. Wifi worked good. Recommend view on the 4th floor ;)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is no internet in the rooms. As they said, you have it in the reception, and other main areas, but I did not tried. Hotel is not in a quiet area, you could be disturbed by police or ambulance 's non-stopping siren sounds.

    Room was comfortable, breakfast was alright. For the price you pay, you get good service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    Amazing historic building and nice staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There could be thicker blankets during Winter.

    Amazing historic building and nice staff, good breakfast. The hotel is at a convenient distance from Termini and Tuscolana stations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.2
    We stayed here for 5 nights and we definitely enjoyed our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scratches on the wall and furniture in the room.

    We stayed here for 5 nights and we definitely enjoyed our stay thanks to absolutely fantastic location and uniqe genius loci (former monastery right next to St. Croce). We slept very well thanks to silence, window shutters and good bed. Personnel is very nice and always helpful. Last but not least there is wonderfull terrace where you can sit and enjoy awesome panorama of the city including St. John in Lateran, St. Maria Maggiore and St. Peter's basilica. Totally recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    walking distance from public transport, restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room, very old age, need some updating. beds was very uncomfortable. Booked a family room and 1 double bed and 2 single. Double bed was 2 single beds pushed together very uncomfortable. Breakfast - what happened to a normal hot breakfast in the morning like bacon and eggs?? will not recommend this hotel.

    walking distance from public transport, restaurants and Colosseum.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's close to the main Street which sometimes can be noisy.

    Great location. You can walk to S. Giovanni area. From there you can take the metro to anywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    4.2
    Too close to metro station San Giovanni, the tram station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all it wasn’t a hotel, were hostels in the church. There is no WiFi in the room. They didn’t change the towels every day . They didn’t bring us every day soap and shower gel. Too noisy. Dirty walls . The room needs renovation. There was only one key card so if you want to go to the lobi for WiFi and the other wanted to sit in the room he couldn’t . Poor breakfast , no hot kitchen . Not kind and caring enough stuff. As a genius member in booking I had the chance for late check out and they didn’t let us use it.

    Too close to metro station San Giovanni, the tram station was outside the hotel. Both water and room were warm all day. Very good location, near the center and nearby there are lots of restaurants. Nice view from the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.9
    Six days in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a three star hotel nothing sticks out

    The property is a 10th century monastery converted into a hotel....very interesting..lots of nearby old churches with amazing history.....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.1
    It was too loud at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was too loud at night. The doors to neighbouring rooms and to the corridor closed loudly. You could also hear the conversations and TV through the walls which made it hard to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water not very hot of an evening..

    Hotel within easy reach of attractions buses run frequent.. room spotless.. Hotel used to be an old monastery so has lots of character.. staff were brilliant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.5
    Communication is the key
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, some of previous negative reviews were true- they were not eager to change towels/bed-linen or fulfill the supply of soap. Although chambermaid did it upon request-this is a matter of communication)).The racks in the wardrobe were broken. Seems like the rooms are hardly ever inspected by senior staff.

    A very peculiar place to stay-unusual and atmospherical))fare breakfast, English-speaking staff-the young man st reception is very helpful and professional. Also the lady in the breakfast room-made our mornings :-)A nice terrace eith a panoramic view on the 4th floor(Unfortunately we found it only the day before leaving :-( would have been great to know about it upon arrival)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Neutral decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not really "cute" (everything was big) and the location is right on the left of the enormous church: you feel the hostel is on the church (which is normal as it is an ex convent !). Location on a big piazza - you have to cross a big avenue and you feel like you have a lot of autostrada around. You have to walk for a while to reach the room. The breakfast room doesn't have any window.

    Neutral decoration. Large room, lot of space. Everything was clear. Good price 40€/night for two persons. I assume it is better to stay on summer for the terrace!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Very pleasant stay and staff most helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A kettle in the room. We Brits like to brew our own nice cup of tea. Non Brits will never get a handle on this in a thousand years.

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.9
    Very good accomodation for low price, good enough for the turists who spend all day outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hot water wasn't hot, only warm. Blankets in italian style - thin cover with a bed sheet, a big one for double bed. One-person additional blanket available. Depending on a direction of the room - a noise from the street, we had to close window. According to the pictures we were looking forward to a breakfest on the terrace but it's probably only in summer. The breakfest was in basement. Wi-fi available only in basement corridor before breakfest room (acces only with chip card).

    The room was simple and comfortable, the bed as well. Everything was clean, in the bathroom were towels, soaps and shampoo in sufficient quantity and the hairdryer. Breakfest was great - large selection (bread, baquettes, cheese, ham, butter + jams, sweet cakes, jogurt, muesli, juice, coffee, hot chocolate, tee, ...). Good access to city centre (6 stations with tram to Colosseo), 5-10 minutes walking to a A-metro station. One hour to the airport Ciampino (walking + metro + shuttle bus). Historical surroundings. Nonstop reception desk, acceptance of the payment cards.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    4.6
    I was so disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was so disappointed. The heating didn't work and thestaff didn't take any action. We tried to talk with the manager but they just give us excuse not to talk with him.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    5.8
    Close to tram (2 mins) and metro station (8 mins).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom is pretty dated. No WiFi in room or breakfast room. Breakfast was served in basement rather than rooftop in the winter.

    Close to tram (2 mins) and metro station (8 mins). Hotel converted from a basilica which is still functioning. Outside of the hotel is beautiful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.3
    A nice place to stay over night in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had an old look, but I think they let it be like that to bring you in the time when the nuns staid there. The heating system did not worked that well (in the room we had around 20 degrees with it on). Also Wi-Fi signal was falling from time to time.

    Nice place in a historical house. The bathroom was wow (recently made from the looks of it). They had a terrace with a superb view of the city and also a garden with a lot of citrus trees. The room had a safe and an LCD in the room. The breakfast was good, but they could have changed it from a day to another. The Colosseum was at a 15 minute walk from the location and the metro station was at a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable ,relaxing staying, great placement of the hotel.A big square next to a park,airspace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be cleaner as a building ..painting the walls for example.And the furnish were poor and not matching with the overall look of the hotel in some cases.Again,for the price I paid,don’t really mind.

    The room was very comfortable and nice looking.The staff was excellent ,very polite!!Special thanks to Etza and the other girl (sorry I cannot remember the name) at breakfast!Very kind!Breakfast was poor but ok for the price.Only bread,cheese and ham for toast without machine to toast,pie and croissant.Corn flakes ,yogurt and marmalade.Machine for beverages was a plus.Maybe it was ok for Italian breakfast ,I am used to Greek breakfast at hotels witch are very rich.It was my first time in Italy.Very satisfying overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Lovely place with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were all friendly and helpful. I love the idea of a hotel in an old church and the location was great as well. Breakfast was excellent as well as everything else at this nice place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.5
    It was comfortable and spacious with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that the doors could do with a better locks as I felt anyone could walk in if they tried hard enough

    It was comfortable and spacious with friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    Ok if you are on a budget and don't mind the neighborhood and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi doesn't work within the rooms and if you are staying across the church vestibule, you have to come over to the main facility so use the wifi. It's a real pain. Also the location is too far from most of the main sightseeing locations. Once the Metro C line is completed, it will improve transportation immensely. Also the neighbor is pretty dirty, but it is populated by locals and not tourists.

    The hotel is a good value for the money and they do serve breakfast from 7-10 which is much better than most locations. Also the roof terrace is a great place to sit in the evening with a glass of wine. Overall the staff was very helpful, but it is a big hotel that is looking a bit tired and in need of a deep cleaning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful historic building (as it is clear - a working...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi Fi not working in room due to the fact that the building is not new and technically not possible to do that. But it's not very scary)

    Wonderful historic building (as it is clear - a working monastery). If walls could talk, it would be interesting to hear them! On the roof of the building is refined with a terrace for spending time in the evening to drink wine and eat prosciutto and Mozarella. Helpful and friendly staff helped to remove the purchased food in the fridge and call a taxi to Fiumicino airport (20 minutes).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    Quick 2 nights in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room is at the end of the corridor so the WiFi signal is weak. Coffee and juice at breakfast could be better.

    Spacious room. High ceiling. Amazing building, feel like staying in a museum. New clean bathroom. Air con works well. Not located in the busy area. Very comfortable stay all in all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay at this hotel was a pleasant experience. The combination of convenience and history was incomparable. The stuff was responsive and correct. The food was more than enough and very good. The room was clean, cozy and comfortable. Thanks also to booking.com for being correct.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.4
    Different than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small and very hot room, no insect net on the window, weak air conditioner, dirty walls, internet only at the reception, hotel far from the center.

    Friendly stuff, wonderful terrace

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    perfect accommodation for a roman city trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to say...

    Hotel is in a beautiful, non touristic neighbourhood and connected to all public transport you need. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfast gives u a good start in the day. The rooftop is absolutely amazing!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Great base to explore Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were very basic but to be expected at the price paid so didn't mind.

    Beautiful surrounding areas, vert helpful lady on reception and friendly young lady serving breakfast. Charming place to stay with lots to see.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.1
    Quiet atmosphere of Castel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View from room. Not all receptionist were helpfull. No any expected preferencies for Genius booking level. Not clear situation with parking: in fact places were there, but because of site information about no free parking we used to drop rent car 2 days earlier than planned

    Placement of hotel, interesting atmosphere of historical Castel, big territory for evening walking. Good for sleeping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming property! The rooms with basic facilities are clean and cosy. The breakfast terrace is spectacular. It is nice to be so close to the church bell. We were also very pleased to receive free tickets to the main Rome attractions offered by Booking.com together with this lovely hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi at the rooms. A bit far from such places as Fontana di Trevi and Piazza di Spagna if you walk. Odalarda WiFi bulunmuyor. Turistik mekanlara uzak.

    Enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace. The building was nice. Terasta kahvaltı güzeldi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.8
    A good value option without frills but with a little uniqueness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom water pressure wasn't that good so a shower was a little frustrating. The internet was a little weak but we were thankful it worked in our room (third floor) as we were told it may not due to the thickness of the walls.

    This is a 3 star hotel so comments are relative to that. Breakfast was decent, bedroom was a good size and very suitable for us with 4 single beds. We had a balcony too with good views and nice breeze. Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. We did like coming home to the place as being an ex-Monastery it felt like it had a bit of history. We also liked the park over the road that we walked through each day to get top the metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    5.4
    OK for budget accommodation but wouldn't recommend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Building is huge - took literally 10 mins to get to room Uneasy atmosphere - oddly empty and quiet Air Con in Room was poor and Bed was really uncomfortable

    Breakfast area at top of accommodation is really good Staff was helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Very cozy monastery in a quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled like smoke. Italy is one of the countries where unfortunately many people still smoke inside, which is insane.

    We got the room on the top floor which had a very nice roof with wooden planks! The bed was very comfortable and we slept really well as it was quiet in the surrounding area. Breakfast served on their roof top was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Domus Sessoriana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: