Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Don Diego 4 stars

Localita' Costa Dorata, 07020 Porto San Paolo, Italy

#4 of 19 hotels in Porto San Paolo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 239 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    To not return...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was poor, the TV is almost a PC screen, wifi didn't work, room phone didn't work, the room was far from reception and I walked a lot to complain, twice. The room is far away from the photos and description on the site. The first lines of loungers on the beach is reserved for premier rooms, standard room has loungers on back.

    Localization in front of the beach, and the magnificent pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Staff in the restaurants and pool areas were very attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The WiFi did not work in our room which caused a problem and in other areas of the property. I asked 3/4 days without any response or remedy. i think if you market a property having WiFi and it doesn't work then there should be a rebate offered

    Staff in the restaurants and pool areas were very attentive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    A fabulous, safe bay, friendly staff and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is very cut off, so you do need a hire car. The hotel organises taxis but they are eye-wateringly expensive, even in to the local town we were charged €20 for a 5 minute drive. It should have been a free service. Information given out at reception about the local area was not always accurate. Visitors should do their own research to get the most out of their stay. Evening entertainment was dire! So if you choose to stay at the hotel rather than going out, you’ll be having an early night! Finally, the bedding was not 4 star standard - it needs updating.

    The staff were very good - nothing was a problem, especially in the restaurant and Davido who looks after the bay and the sports equipment is a fun guy. Food was outstanding. The salt water pool is beautiful and well maintained. The sea views day and night are exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location and beautiful view but a bit too pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room is definitely the negative point here. We had a standard room which was far away from the lobby (207 which was the farest). It was in front of the main road to reach the hotel so noisy when you have cars as the parking was next door. The room was big but the bathroom was too small compared to some of the other rooms with no bathtub. Room was also a bit dark but we could not really open the windows as we could heard the cars coming. The price for the room was too expensive for what it was but definitely you pay for the view and environment.

    This is the 3rd time that we come back to this place. We love the environment there with well-maintained flowers everywhere. The view is incredible with the view with the pool which overlooks the sea. The breakfast is great with a lot of choice. The pool bar is good as well (but a bit pricey for what it is). Location is amazing, very close to beautiful beach. Employees were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lunch at the pool needs much improvement.

    The suite was comfortable with a large, clean, update bathroom and had incredble water views from every window. Beach and pool access were convenient and clean. Breakfast was elaborate and delicious. Above all, the staff was superb and made for a wonderful stay. Will be back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.7
    Only spent a night, so not enough time for a fair assessment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our order got lost at dinner, which meant a long delay in getting food, never good when you have hungry children, effort could have been made to compensate, some drinks or complimentary coffee (nothing was offered). We departed early next morning, and there was no possibility of a coffee before leaving, the simple purchase of a Nespresso machine for reception could solve this problem for people departing before breakfast service, and would be hugely appreciated, I am sure, for people who have to drive.

    Only spent a night, so not enough time for a fair assessment, but the glimpse we got was very good, staff were particularly helpful, if we stayed in the same area again we would definitely consider the hotel for another stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location for a relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast buffet was average at best. Whilst all the usual fare was provided it was not very exciting. No problem for us but if you want to see the island or eat out you really need a car.

    Great location for a relaxing time away. Staff very professional and friendly without exception. Restaurant meals were varied each evening and were of excellent quality. Plenty of sunbeds by pool and on beach with great views. Free use of Kayaks and paddle boards. Good well equipped gym.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Great Place in Sardinia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great Hotel and Staff! Great location right on the sea with private beach and the best thing going is that you can rent a boat from the hotel at a reasonable price and explore the area for miles and miles, going to secluded beaches, island restaurants and see more of the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Spectacular view, relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weather was not as expected, looked for local activities. Walked around Porto San Paolo, but because of timing, many things were closed for lunch.

    The hotel was about 20 minutes from the hotel. The private beach was very quiet and relaxing. Our stay was at the beginning of the season and there were not many quests, so we felt a bit secluded. The weather was not the best. Breakfast had many choices and was a nice way to start the day. We enjoyed a light lunch pool side on our first day. We at dinner at the hotel two of the three nights. Very convenient and the view is spectacular. Food was excellent. We ate a local restaurant in Porto San Paolo that I would highly recommend. The hotel provided shuttle service into Porto San Paolo for minimal charge. Overall, we had a pleasant exerience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    An Oasis in Sardinia and top recommendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, but Car essential for Travellers who wants to visit Towns/ Place nearby, coz the Location of the Hotel is really isolated.

    Absolutely an Oasis for a relaxing Holidays! Great Facilities not only for Water Activities ( eg Gym, Table Tennis), very friendly and nice Staff all around( Bar , Reception, Restaurant, House Keeping...), old but well- maintained Room , very good quality food and Wine for all Days( Breakfast, Dinner, Snack...), nice Sitting Area/ Bar with live Music... the whole Area just surrounding by beautiful Garten/Green/Nature! We spent 5 Days all our time there and havent left the hotel until Check Out. We have a great Holiday here and thanks alot! Will like to come back again for sure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful, beautiful grounds, very well maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom in standard room is old and needs updating, room however has a charm about it

    Fabulous breakfast, the setting is second to none, a peaceful oasis, just what we needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but car essential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room in block 100 yards from main building quite cave like and dark with one tiny window. Clean and spacious but bed a bit hard and short on shelf/drawer space. No bath. Isolated position at end of narrow bumpy side road. Car essential. Four course lunch and dinner menu available at 38E pp. Lovely ambience restaurant but food a bit 'posh nosh' and not really to our taste. Alternatives in nearby town 5 mins drive away.

    Very good buffet breakfast served on balcony with superb views over pool and sea. Medium size private sandy beach with plenty of sunbeds and shades and good swimming. Well maintained gardens, 2 unheated pools - too cold for us (late September). Plenty of parking space near room. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Good free WiFi everywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.8
    Would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit overpriced for what you get (standard rooms). Quite small, but otherwise fine.

    Very nice hotel in mediterranean style with rooms in different buildings. With own small beach where you can find chairs and umbrellas for your convenience. Very friendly staff. We would book it again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay with exceptional food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Hardly anything. If I had to be very picky, I wish dinner started earlier (it starts at 8 pm), for me it was a little too late. There is not much around the hotel so it's best suited for travellers with a car. Otherwise it's hard to get around and taxi is very expensive. Sunbeds could be softer.

    The staff was extremely nice and well-trained, particularly at the restaurant. Receptionists were also very helpful with all requests. The park area around the hotel is beautiful and has a true retreat atmosphere. Perfect getaway from urban hustle. The beach is not crowded and quite relaxing with a fascinating view of the sea and islands. You can rent a kayak for free or pay for a speedboat. While the breakfast was very filling with a great variety, the dinner was the best part. You get a really high-end service and fabulous three-course meal every night as well as a salad and dessert buffet. Complimentary massage was pretty good. I would definitely come back and recommend this place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic private beach (which is sheltered if there is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Junior suites a bit too small although they have great views generally. Breakfast food could be definitely improved (UHT milk not acceptable for a cappuccino and freshly squeezed juices should not come as extra). Bland pastries and bakery and limited choices of cheese and cereals. Car is necessary. Gym equipment could be improved.

    Fantastic private beach (which is sheltered if there is mistral wind) with bar, good free tennis court and ability to rent excellent RIB boats (with 40HP engine) on site, free kayaks and stand up paddle boards. Oustanding service at reception. The property has a good vibe. Great location for visits to Tavolara and Molara. Easy accessible from Olbia Airport.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    I recommend this place for adults. I will return next year for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    air condition in standard room is very noisy, rooms small and dark. I miss a small shop in the area to buy some fruit, water or missing equipment (for example body milk that is not in the bathroom). Beach is partially public, entry is stone (childern have to have water shoes)

    Exellent food, clean rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.5
    Great location but still...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated gloomy renovation overdue room with an appalling bed and thin walls ridiculously overpriced for what little comfort it offered. The reception staff as opposed to the waiting or other employees were disinterested and ignoring.

    Absolutely gorgeous location with spectacular views overlooking a scenic island panorama with a private beach and marina. Sun beds, canoes and other equipment available for free to guests. An amazing breakfast served on a picturesque terrace by competent waiters.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent beach holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice in the restaurant was not enough for 9 days stay. Also, no program for kids.

    Great holidays! We went with 2 little kids and really enjoyed it! The sea, its turquoise waters and shellow sandy beach made it great stay. Hotel is nice, well mentained.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel, badly let down by the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The room itself was tiny, old and dingy. The bathroom was dark and smelly with no natural light (no windows). Noisy children making total relaxation hard. Salt water swimming when the sea is only 200 metres away.

    We found the amenities at the Don Diego excellent. Whether you sat by the pool or walked the 100 metres down to the beach it was nice to have that choice. Breakfast was superb with a wonderful selection of both hot and cold food. Staff were very accommodating and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    The property, surroundings, views and food were all stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Airconditioning wasn't powerful enough to cool the room down adequately. Lots and lots of mosquitoes in the room! Bed was a little hard too to be honest.

    Amazing views from the public areas! Both dinner and breakfast were very good and there was a huge variety to choose from. Live music was really nice and made for a romantic experience. The private beach was great for snorkelling. Nice bathroom, great toiletries and the supplied sewing kit was a lifesaver for my wife.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Very nice, relaxing & calm place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is quite remote: if you don't have a car and the weather is not nice you may feel trapped, as there is nothing around that can be reached by foot. Standard rooms starting with 1xx and 2xx are quite close to parking area so you might be waken up by cars (depends how deep you sleep).

    Hotel staff was excellent! Service was often worth a 5*. Very nice and not overcrowded beach Stunning views and nice green territory

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful location with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to be careful if it rains for there can be a problem with getting bitten by mosquitoes. Be prepared.

    The standard of the food was first class and the staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    The location is superb the food was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If I was to be really picky, then some of the rooms are a little far from the main reception

    The location is superb the food was excellent. With its own private beach it was very relaxing. The staff were very helpful & friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    A glorious haven; we loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel Don Diego is set into the hillside leading to pretty private beach. The flowers are stunning and grounds beautifully maintained. The facilities are immaculate and it was a real pleasure to stay here. The staff at Don Diego deserve a special mention as their thoughtfulness and kindness make this place really special.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Sardinia at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much more you can expect for a short holiday. A very nice hotel in a perfect location with an extremely friendly and helpful team and a very good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in range 200 are actually at a significant distance from the main building. Guests should be warned in advance if booking such rooms in case of problems with mobility. Our room was next to and had partial view of car park from one window. It was well obscured but resulted in boxed in terrace. We spent our time around main building rather than on terrace of the room as a result.

    Location on beach. Views from hotel grounds. Variety of options of seating.Friendly and helpful staff. Food - we had half board option and found the options always had something for us. Everything but the view from our room....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    An amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel setting is sublime, situated on top of a wonderful, clean, secluded beach with Cristal clear water and a magnificent view on the island of Tavolara and Molara . The accommodation: the hotel is very well maintained and the room we booked was simply gorgeous with a stunning sea view. Not luxurious but cozy, elegant and with everything you need Breakfast is one of the best we ever had with delicious Italian espresso and cappuccino, fresh fruits, juices and all kind of dairy products; great choice of croissant and home made bakery, salads, salmon, cheeses, hams, eggs, etc... and served until 10:30 in the beautiful sea view terrace!!! Lunch and dinner à la carte with real Mediterranean taste and at dinner there is also a salad-, cheese- and dessert-buffet. I think that it is a superb hotel and a must visit for those who can appreciate the luxury of relax and simplicity The staff is top notch! helpful, polite, clearly well trained, and very professional. I would recommend it to anyone in need of nature, good food and good service. You will feel better then at home.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.4
    nice location but not 4 star in my book!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had a junior suite which had a smell of sewage in the room and also whilst we were having breakfast on the terrace there was a bad smell of sewage around the pool, very off putting there must be something seriously wrong with their plumbing. could of done better with the coffee in the suite, sachet of nescafe not up to 4 star standards and an Italian staying there would be horrified.

    the view!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    A perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We liked everything about the hotel. There was nothing to dislike

    Location, comfort and quality of food and service were all excellent. Very peaceful. Beautiful secluded beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Superb location and the staff were incredibly helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The beach and pool were delightful - perfect place to enjoy the sunshine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    The location is GORGEOUS!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had cobwebs hanging from ceilings. Interiors were old... outdated.

    The location is GORGEOUS!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    every think about this place its wonderful very friendley...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    every think about this place its wonderful very friendley staf very clean food very goog just fall in love

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    6.3
    Interesting discovery for a 1st time but not very convenient if you don't rent a car...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was very hard and pillows and quilt were bad quality

    The food was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.3
    The restaurant, waiters, hotel staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was very poor and you lose it often. The breakfast was in a terrace quite warm.

    The restaurant, waiters, hotel staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    The staff are amazing and helpfull and they go above and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No taxis available

    The staff are amazing and helpfull and they go above and beyond to assist

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Amazing!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect! Amazing view, great place, clean and cosy. Will return next year for sure!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Place with special atmosphere that like to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast can be improved.

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner portions on HB a little too small on some courses

    Beautiful place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Don Diego - Perfect Hotel in Costa Dorata
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, good stuff, perfect beach, wonderfool food. You definitely need the car to travel around Sardinia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Beach vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    the property was well maintained, the rooms were comfortable and clean, the beach was amazing and the views of the bay and ocean incredible

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to travel over half an hour to Oliba or similar to do other activities

    Great boutique hotel with excellent staff and atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Everything PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure of shower & internet in the room

    Quite,views, very friendly & kind staffs Very helpful & kind reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    I really liked how warm and welcoming the staff was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I really liked how warm and welcoming the staff was. Most of them spoke fluent english and they provided high quality service. Food in the restaurant was excellent both during dinner and breakfast. They also offered me special opportunity to get a junior suite even when I had paid only for a standard room. I loved the suite! I had my own private roof terrace for sunbathing and really nicely decorated room with own terrace as well. And of course the view to the sea and Tavolara island was stunning. Really loved also the opportunity to usethe private beach. The atmosphere of the place was really relaxing and when I went to sleep I could hear how waves splashed and night crickets chirped. 100% relaxed feeling after my day and night at Don Diego. Would defenitely go back there. However, if you want to discover different areas of Sardinia, you should rent a car. It's not easy to go anywhere from Don Diego without a car. For me this wasn't a problem since I just wanted to spent my last night in Sardinia at this luxury place and get relaxed. I liked how close the airport was, so it was easy to go there by taxi in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Perfect peaceful location with fantastic views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    junior suite bit disappointing although had fantastic view, rather a small space.

    Perfect peaceful location with fantastic views. wonderful restaurant with excellent food and staff x very romantic hotel for a sunshine break.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    8.8
    Actually on the shore of the Med with unspoilt views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pillows were too hard. Some balconies had noise from AC units.

    Actually on the shore of the Med with unspoilt views. Junior suites had private terraced balconies some with stunning views. Extremely good food.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.8
    Superb location with amazing views of Tavolara island, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Standard room is nice but a bit dark, could have done with more light. Bit disappointed to learn that there is an extra charge of 140 euros to use the facilities after checking out on departure date, although we were able to take a shower and change before leaving which was really appreciated at no charge.

    Superb location with amazing views of Tavolara island, which can be enjoyed while having breakfast, or by the pool or from the beach. Customer service provided is great overall, staff is very kind and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.8
    We have just returned from a lovely weeks holiday at the Don...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No milk supplied for making tea in the room. Bar staff could have been more attentive. More information could have been supplied on arrival relating to local attractions. eg, markets, towns, trips etc

    We have just returned from a lovely weeks holiday at the Don Diego hotel. We thought the accommodation, facilities, location, food and staff were all first class and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.2
    We liked location, breakfast, private beach, friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too much services (like towels, minibar) you need to pay for such expensive hotel. Should have a little bit higher price or all included offer, avoiding thinking about all small things you need to pay after you leave.

    We liked location, breakfast, private beach, friendly staff, beautiful property of hotel. Also there is private zone near apartment.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Great location with access to a private beach a beutiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room comfort could be improved (safe and water boiler not working)

    Great location with access to a private beach a beutiful sightseeing. Very friendly staff and good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    There should be a separate concierge desk to assist hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There should be a separate concierge desk to assist hotel guests on what to do on the island, the hotel reception staff did try to assist, but they could not do it to the best possible level since they had to meanwhile answer phone calls, and respond to other guests.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.2
    Large area including private beach, pool, garden and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large area including private beach, pool, garden and passages. The hotel room has private outside sitting area which is perfect for relaxing after dinner. Hotel restaurant serves great food and excellent service.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    Great location, very nice, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Key for the safety box in our room was not available ( reportedly it was lost). However a central safety box at the reception was offerred instead.

    Great location, very nice, friendly staff. Spacious, relaxing resort, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas available at the private beach and at the pool - no need to rush in the morning :-). Good quality tennis court, nice boats for rent in the harbour.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    breathtaking view, excellent pool, very relaxing - would be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    buffet meal went for quantity rather than quality but I could've chosen a la carte, so in the end, the hotel does give a choice!

    breathtaking view, excellent pool, very relaxing - would be easy to stay a long time here

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    10
    If you are looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway, this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are looking for a romantic and relaxing getaway, this is the place to stay! It is very peaceful and relaxing, exactly what we were looking for. We stayed in a Junior Suite and the view was lovely! The room was spotless. The staff was ultra-professional, kind, courteous. They go out of their way to make you feel welcomed and ensure that all your needs are being met during your stay. Excellent location if you walk a lot; it is less than a mile from the town of Porto San Paolo. In the Restaurant, the ambience is beautiful with a great sea view and an excellent choice of Italian dishes. The pool and beach area was perfect with sun beds, lounge chairs, and many places to hang out. We absolutely loved this place because it was built to feel like it part of the island Would highly recommend it and we will hopefully return.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    6.7
    staff at reception, rooms very cosy, view from pool, private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    shower with hot, cold experience, mouses, birds in the gym, ants sneaking up on you, pool a little worn down, but not too bad

    staff at reception, rooms very cosy, view from pool, private beach, courtesy room when you stay after check out

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    A warm welcome as a returning guest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A warm welcome as a returning guest. Staff are exceptionally good . Breakfasts and Dinner of a high quality.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    Location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    Location, helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Lovely staff, gorgeous place and view was the best I've...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff, gorgeous place and view was the best I've ever seen!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.6
    Nearly everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wish rooms would be bigger

    Nearly everything

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    8.3
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not much selection for breakfast

    Superb location Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were very small and dark. Food very expensive- a 1 litre bottle of water was €3.90!

    Excellent location. Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was 5min walk to the main building

    Excellent breakfast !

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    Rooms have been refurbished and are nice & comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fresh orange juicy at breakfast

    Rooms have been refurbished and are nice & comfy

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    9.6
    Really beautiful place to relax next to the sea and have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really beautiful place to relax next to the sea and have nice time!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.2
    Location was great - away form the road and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location was great - away form the road and very quiet. Staff were very good always helpful but not in your face all the time

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    Beautiful location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location; 20 minutes from Olbia; friendly professional staff; good food at reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    10
    Stunning grounds and rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Stunning grounds and rooms. Delicious regional restaurant and poolside bar options.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: