Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Donatello 3 stars

Via dell'Indipendenza 65, 40121 Bologna, Italy

#83 of 93 hotels in Bologna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1338 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the air conditioning didnt really cool us down. we couldnt really feel any cold air in the room which we needed as it was very hot. apart from that all good

    everything breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked double bed room, but I got two bed attached which would have been okay but individual mattress keep falling apart which made it hard for me to sleep. Hair dryer does not work well and there is no shower gel in bathroom.

    Location of this hotel is very good. Close to central station, restaurants and sightseeing. Easy to find when coming from airport. I liked street view from my room, room is spacious and staff is friendly always gives a smile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small and slightly dated rooms. Also over-priced, but then that is the case for most hotels in Bologna

    Good location, close to the center and the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiny and dark room, noisy air conditioning, poor facilities. The layout of the room made it impossible to move around freely and with comfort.

    Hotel in a great location, within walking distance of station and of centre of Bologna.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little dated but i guess if it was fully renovated the price level would be higher.

    Location was great and really the hotel while being a little dated was great for my short stopover. Staff and breakfast were great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NA

    Location is a short walking distance from the railroad station, on Via Independenza shopping street, It is also near the Montagnola Park and the open flea market. I stayed at the Donatello many years ago. It has since been renovated and is in good shape. I'd stay again. Value for price is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was somewhat disappointing and let our stay down. Tomatoes and other salad ingredients would have made the breakfast better but more importantly, the bread rolls were very hard and dry and inedible

    The location of the hotel, the size of room, the friendly and helpful staff and the general cleanliness all around are all very positive aspects of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fine, basic needs for sleeping only... which was our intended plan. Close to bike hire and the famous undercover shopping areas. Close to Bologna centrale station, walking distance (10min). Close to piazza maggiore too (10min).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The traffic is very loud during the night as well-the windows are hardly keep the noise out. In the morning the market - which was right under my window - starts at 6 a.m. The bathroom is extra small, the toilet paper holder was broken. The breakfast was mainly sweet, vegetables were not served at all.

    Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Exceptionally nice staff. I requested a quiet room which overlooked the rear courtyard - not a good view, but very quiet. . Better than overlooking the street as my friends said it was very noisy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon did not work. You had to leave the window fully open to get fresh air which then made it very noisy as well as light all night from the street lights.this would not make it a 3 star hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the stains on the carpet which are unfortunately not possible to remove unless u replace the whole carpet, AC doesn’t work the only option is to keep the window open which is okay, shower was clean, bed was comfy, don’t have much to say as I only stayed for one night.

    I just liked I had a pretty decent place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel old and a bit tired with small rooms.wifi was poor and erratic. Massive market by the side of the hotel on Fridays and Saturdays which starts noisily at 5.30 erecting scaffold style stalls.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, the location is great the price is aceptable hot water, clean room, just there is not private parking so you should search parking behind the hotel there is a underground parking 24 hrs = €20 eur. Or the other street blue zone parking but recommending underground parking 3 floored parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They charged us an extra 100 euro's for my partner even though when I booked it was the same price for 2 as it was for 1. I just chose the wrong option on the site, which I explained to them.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One thing is I paid one euro more ) , pillow was with the iron ash , or something like that, but it was changed quickly !

    Agent on the desk is very kind , location is perfect , wifi can be more fast) breakfast is good enough !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High premium due to event in cosmoprof Shower was cold on my first morning (at £400 per night not what I expect). I was advised it worked but you have to turn the buttons carefully - they were right it does but took me over 5 minutes to get the balance right Smell of smoke at some times which wasn’t great Breakfast selection fairly limited

    Good location Ask for espresso at breakfast (excellent) as the regular coffee is not good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled a little because of old sewer smells. It is hard to eliminate this in an old city but perhaps the ventilation could be improved.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very disappointing, although no included in the room price I decided to have it at the hotel my first morning for the extra 8 euros fee, however, I saw no one attending the room, over the tables were place mat used. and napkins that someone had opened. Eggs were there, but I didn't see anyone how cooked them, or who tells me where I can cook them. Anyway next morning I had my breakfast out of the property, and my third morning in the room with the instant coffee and kettle provided.

    I like the location, Veronica the receptionist who was there at 7 pm when I checked in was very helpful and kind, the same with Dimitri the night receptionist. Actually Dimitri helped me with my cellphone to get connected to the wifi, because I was no able to do on my first day of stay. Dimitri and Veronica both speak English, I ignore the name of the morning receptionist, she spoke to me only in Italian. The location is super, no far from the train station, no far from the main center of the city. Well located, there busses passing by on the street, restaurants, coffee places, snack bars all around within feet distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi sometimes slow

    Good location, easy to find (especially when coming with airport bus), near to the city centre, main square, shops etc, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small and it is convenient for one night stay. Breakfast could be better.

    Location is perfect and near the train station and city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpetted floors and the spray the staff used to clean with

    We arrived to find no water in our room which we could have been advised about prior to occupying it and were not

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much space in the room. The hotel is on the main street between the station and the centre so may be noisy for some.

    Busy hotel, good for price and for overnight, breakfast expensive but plenty of choice. There are breakfast bars nearby. Our room had a big window overlooking the courtyard. The location is convenient: not a long walk to station / from the airport shuttle / into Bologna (on edge of the vehicle exclusion zone). The desk is manned 24hrs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy people on wooden floor above us. Not the Hotels fault as the lady in high heels did not stop walking about

    Sensational bed with modern king size memory foam mattress Extra helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe warmer in the room, other than that everything was ok !

    Nice stay for one night in Bologna, the hotel is situated on the main road between the train station and the city center. 10 minutes away on foot to the station and 15 minute away from Piazza Maggiore. The staff was very helpful and nice, the breakfast was good - some types of ham, boiled eggs, croissants, bread, jam, yogurt, fruits, juices and cereals. Be aware that you have to ask the coffee lady to give you a cappuccino, or whatever you want because at the self-service buffet is only filter coffee + cold milk. All in all, a very good one night stay in Bologna.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The proximity to both Bologna centrale station and the historic centre of town. Walking distance. Very polite, smiling and helpful staff happily answered all our questions. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    attention to important details... power outlets and remote TV not working in the room. Heating off and not possible to switch on autonomously... structure is old and outdated, nevertheless clean. Personnel is kind but not too competent. Breakfast sucks, get it in a bar outside, much better and cheaper. Overall it's been ok though. With little efforts could be much much better.

    simple hotel, everything fine, nothing special.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The outside of the hotel is pretty, the inside shabby. Rooms are extremely small, with barely enough space to walk around the bed. We requested room changes 3 times! Our first bed was thin and split in the middle (slid apart) causing back pain. The carpet was depressing and the hallway smelled of cigarettes. Our last bed was better (and the floor was not carpeted - so cleaner) so be sure to ask for matrimonial. The inside court views are horrible (cigarette butts and toilet paper) the street views are ugly & noisy. Going back to our hotel room each night was not a fun experience. The blanket was shabby. Only 1 pillow each makes it super uncomfortable to read in bed. Very small bathroom and shower. Paper thin non-absorbant hand towels. The bed frame sticks out with a sharp corner so my husband hurt himself on it. The inside of the hotel looked nothing like the photos listed!!! A lot of special photography must have been used. We would not return here.

    a 10-minute walk to the old center, near restaurants, bars, cafes, town squares, and university. 1 block from airport bus stop. Bologna is a fantastic town, especially the narrow winding streets. If you order an aperitivo for €7 or €8, you can eat all you want at the bar tapa buffets. Eating breakfast at the many cafes is also a wonderful experience, so don't limit yourself to hotel breakfasts. Hotel had good wifi & elevator worked. Helpful and accommodating receptionists.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is quite old fashioned, we stayed there for a night. It is hard to communicate in english with the staff and they don't have an understanding of what a blanket is (ex: a sheet and the blanket inside). It is to pricy for the services. Very small tv set, very old furniture (not in the good sense).

    The view from the top floor is ok as it is italy IF you don't get one of the rooms with a top window. Location is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strongly suggest the hotel to upgrade the cleanliness, facilities and lighting. Step into the room, you feel like step into the 90's, and it seems that the hotel didn't execute any decoration work since then. Also, the room is super small, but as with the location.

    The location is perfect, walking distance to most of the sight seeing spot and local life. The staff is so welcome and helpful, always responds immediately with very good attitude. To those who drive their own cars, you can park at a clean, convenient, underground parking lot 3-min walking from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No milk for tea or coffee. Nowhere to put soap in shower.

    . Staff very pleasant. Appreciated the help by the room maid on morning of Tuesday 2 October, who carried our suitcases downstairs as the lift was very busy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a double room especially to avoid cramped spaces. Until this hotel I never heard that there are double rooms for 2 people and a different double room for single person, considerably smaller. Of course, if I would have known that, I would have mentioned 2 people in the reservation instead of just one. I was given a room on the 4th floor, next to the stairs and elevator. It was a continuously disturbing noise coming through the walls, the kind of noise made by a generator ore a large engine. It was like sitting next to the engine room. Didn`t have any chance in changing the room (that was when I discovered at the reception that, apparently, there is a different kind double room for single people and another one for couples). Couldn`t sleep almost all night because of that noise. If that noise was coming from the elevator (as the receptionist assumed) I dread to imagine the noise on the 5th floor, where the elevator engine was.

    Located on one of the main streets, easy access to the old city center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well located and easy access for local sights. Lovely comfy beds in a spotlessly clean room. Really good selection for breakfast. Kind and helpful staff. Calm atmostphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist didn't know the booking.com procedure.She told me that the booking.com is just for reservation and she can't withdraw the money from my card which I used to do my reservation in the first place.So at the end, I had to pay with cash :) This was the first time something like that has happened to me. And also really bad wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room small and are noise as they face the road. The toilet is unbelievable small. Also my pillow had some strange smell: I am not sure was clean

    just the position

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, really needs a renovation. Damp and rust around. The bathroom was tiny and our air conditioning didn't work even after we reported to staff. Not enough towels/pillows.

    Great location between the train station and central Bologna.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow sheet was dirty, there was no proper bathroom door and the bed was sliding apart from each other at night since there was 2 matresse got together to be a 2 persons bed, breakfast was poor.

    Good location to central station&center

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are very small. There is no place to walk when you put your luggage. Air condition is very noisy you have to close to rest. Bathroom was not clean there are hairs of previous guest. Breakfast is very poor.

    Location of hotel is very good. Just 10 minutes by walking from train station and only 5 minutes by walking to Piazza Maggiore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If the window was opened, there was lots of noise in the room (main street). In addition, the air conditioner made lots of noise. We couldnt sleep well.

    location was great. near tot the central station and on the main street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast a little limited - some platters left empty for a while before being refilled. Decor a little dated but quite acceptable.

    Lady on reception was very friendly, helpful and happy to engage in conversation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room-old looking, rather depressing and dark, not a look for the amount of money paid, the room could do with some fresh paint on the walls, less depressing curtains and pictures and a new hairdryer. It was lacking freshness and style. For such an amazing location the room was quite disappointing.

    Excellent location! Very good breakfast and helpful staff!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The airconditioning didn't work properly for up to 2 nights. But the staff did what they could.

    The location was amazing, everything was nearby and walkable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old. I was placed with the child (4 years) on the 5th floor. The next morning the elevator broke. I had to go downstairs with my kid and luggage. No one offered to help us. The room has a kettle, but it is broken. From the conditioner will pour water on the cabinet. I do not recommend this hotel

    Very good location of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped room, no window, only a sky light and no air circulation except for the air conditioner. The buffet dining room was sketchy. It felt like I was sitting in a hallway. You had to take plates and cutlery from two or three other tables, to make a place setting - staff were slow to clean up and bring fresh fable settings. You weren't sure whether the cutlery was clean or had been used. Buffet food was spartan - mostly bread and jam.

    It was close to the train station and to the heart of downtown.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning did not work properly, could have better shower lotion and shampoo instead of just soap

    Polite personell, speaking English, close to interesting places - down town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC was running but needs to be changed for better.

    Staff was great and very friendly. Room was big enough, bathroom was really clean. Its not really modernised but cozy and has a very decent TV.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was of a small and very dirty courtyard. The bed wasn't very comfortable and the shutter to block out the early morning sun wouldn't go down all the way.

    Room was clean and it was in a great location to walk around Bologna.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no problems.

    Location, safely and helpfulness of staff are significant in valuing this property. We depended heavily on the front desk people and they were unfailingly perfect. They checked bus routes, summoned taxis (with exact time of arrival and number on taxi, which seems standard in Italy), recommended restaurants and museums. The rooms are comfortable but not fancy. The breakfast is completely adequate but not elaborate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air condition noisy, I had to switch it off before going to sleep. Breakfast very good according to Italian standard, poor if compared to international one.

    The room was small, but everything needed was there. Good location, 5 minutes walking from train station and from the innermost city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not 3* hotel but more like a 1*. The single room was too small, the breakfast not adequate, no proper wifi, and definitely not a eur130 per night 3* hotel. The pictures in booking.com do not resemble reality

    Only thing good about this hotel was the location. Nothing else. This is not 3* hotel but more like a 1*

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 'key drop off system' is antiquated and made me feel like I was in the 80s. Each time you leave the hotel you must drop off your key at reception, and when you return, you must state the room number and they give you the key. Obviously, to purchase the technology for swipe cards costs some money for the hotel, but I think this would make the guest experience better.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Great location, clean and comfortable room for a good price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner didn't really work that well and was quiet noisy. Expected a double bed but got a room with 2 sjngle beds joined together.

    Excelent location, good breakfast. Little to no outside noise in the rooms. In general a good no thrils hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very basic and kind of old fashion style... feels like it's not been renovated since the 80's. Has a bit of a smell to it, and basic cold breakfast. We offer the same prices in Venice in the best location and newly renovated. so yes. It's Overpriced!

    Good location and friendly staff! Last minute discounts made it bearable ;) Check in 24h

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very tiny room. no room in elevator for our pram.

    location was great, fairly quiet room when windows closed - the aircon was effective- was very cool in our room!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room size A bit far from the main square and attractions Very outdated Very basic breakfast

    Friendly staff Easy to find on the Main Street

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small and dark room.no internet in the room.very old furnitures.the money we had paid was too much for this hotel.never again!

    Location was great.This was the only good part of our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was robbed in the nearby street and the hotel people were very unresponsive. When I eventually worked out how to call my bank in Australia, they efficiently produced a bill for €46 for a fairly brief call, but had no suggestions about contacting police or obtaining a report for insurance claims. The lift was tiny but I am not.

    Great location, comfortable room, businesslike staff. Old fashioned formality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi signal should be improved, i had difficulties in maintaining a healthy signal reception.

    The location of the hotel is wonderful, its on the junction of via dei mille and via independenzia. There is an open car park 100mt away from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I could not find any faults

    I found this an excellent hotel. Location was 5 mins from station, 5 mins from centre of Bologna. Staff were always friendly and helpful, i had a single room that was large and although the en suite was a bit small there was a fold away bidet under the sink. Some of the double rooms I saw were a really good size. Breakfast was contintal but a good selection of bread, cakes, croisants, cereals, fruit and local meats (do try them, all are delicious). PC in reception for use. Pretty decent soundproofing but you do overlook a road junction. A street market round corner over weekend if u need the odd bit of cheap clothing ! A good value for money hotel. Clean and tidy

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small rooms, old hotel with very few facilities (no in-room internet, no bar, no lounge). Price very expensive on the night of my stay, too expensive for the class of the hotel.

    Very good position in the center of Bologna, comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was a kettle provided in the bedroom but the adaptor didn't work. After 2 days they gave me another adaptor which nearly caused a fire in the bedroom!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevator is very small, it can cause some anxiety if you don't like small and tight spaces.

    The hotel is at a perfect location for Bologna. It is very close to main attractions, Piazza Maggiore and the train station. I was there for the book fair which is a period where all the hotels try to get the maximum amount per night regardless of their conditions, but Hotel Donatello had a reasonable price at this fair period of the year. The room is not very big but the features are satisfactory. The bathroom is new and very efficient. Housekeeping is perfect, the reception staff is very helpful and kind. I stayed at the 5th floor. Will stay again next year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    walls very thin, could hear other guests very easily. Was woken several times. Wifi signal poor and intermittent. Breakfast room had plastic chairs, like those used in gardens. Breakfast very basic

    Very good location. Room small, despite being a double with single occupancy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had was previously a smoking room, it was ok with the window open. Using the shower brought the smell out even more though.

    Close to both the train station and the city centre, about a 10 minute walk to each. Comfy bed, friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi didn't work unless you were in the lobby. Heat was turned up too high and we had issues with adjusting it.

    Excellent location. Close to shopping, sight seeing attractions, and restaurants. I was traveling with a pet and they were very accommodating. Room was good size and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Putrid smell in the room, like somebody was smoking there for years. Paint cracks and some mould stains on walls in the room and also in the bathroom. Couldn't get Wi-Fi working in the room.

    The staff was nice, the breakfast was good although limited. The location is very good, close to the train station as well as walking distance to the old town. The facilities were clean. The price was very reasonable considering the location.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too soft mattress. Sometimes noise was arriving from the stairs.

    Located in the city center, very easy to reach. Not-so large room, but everything was there.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The mattress was not super comfortable. I was glad I booked without breakfast included, as what I saw didn't seem worth 8€/day.

    The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. The location is very convenient, 10 minutes walking from the historical city center, and 5 minutes from the train and bus stations. The hotel is immaculate clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cracked wash hand basin. A/C not working and couldn't sleep with window open due to traffic. Memory foam mattress not ideal in hotels - seems to have memorised someone else's shape!

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old hotel, needs a urgent renovation! Overpriced during the trading show 300€ per day, they gave me a room on the top floor with no window :( only the next day they change room for another after my complain. the breakfast is very poor for the average.

    Location, staff helpful (is the least they can do)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The installation work of the bath is not of first class with sealing plastic stripe being a little bit loose. The shower head in the other ensuite is not in very good condition.

    Our room comes with 2 ensuites with one of them fitted with massage bath. Both have toilet and bidet. The room has a tea kettle, mini bar and safe.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like!

    Excellent location - 5 minutes from the railway station and ten minutes from Piazza Maggiore in one direction, MAMbo in another. Excellent, friendly and helpful staff. Ideal place to stay at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single bed was very small and I'm not large! Old stained carpet looked dirty even if it wasn't. Slight smell from drain in shower-room basin because the water wasn't draining away properly. Toilet cistern not closing off properly so would refill every two minutes - noisy in the night!

    Location was perfect, near train station and centre. Staff made things easy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast a bit mean. Not much choice and had to ask for cups of tea or coffee. Couldn't help yourself like most hotels. Breakfasts are usually a bit sparse in Italian hotels but this was supposed to be a 3 star hotel?

    Nice bathroom and pillows very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty coffee mug, spiders in the room, tiny bathroom, bath towels with hair on them.

    The staff at the reception, although not particularly friendly, were helpful and spoke an impressive number of langages.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Donatello traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: