Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Donatello 3 stars

Via P. Giardini 402, 41100 Modena, Italy

#22 of 28 hotels in Modena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 984 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The clearness was not very good. The room was small. Internet connection sooo bad, and stuff was not good help. We forgot something from our car on parking lot. When we got to an other city we called hotel reception and ask them to help us. Frist, he spoke only Italian, even he know we dont know Italian, and most of all he didn't whant to go outside to check parking lot. We had to go 180 km back to Modena to check by ourself, and got that thing back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture and decoration is odd, the hotel is a bit far from the town centre and a bit pricey with all of these together.

    Comfortable bed, high variety of breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Most of the time I had to deal with a very grumpy and indifferent receptionist, which is not reassuring when travelling alone. The rooms are somewhat old and can become stuffy, and whilst the beds are clean, they are rather stiff. Wi-fi was non-existent during my entire 3-night stay, and on the night I wished to dine in the hotel's restaurant - advertised throughout the hotel's lifts and brochures - I was told rather bluntly that it was closed. No reason was given, and I wound up patronising the friendly takeaway pizza joint over the road instead.

    The location is reasonable if you fancy seeing Modena on foot, with a variety of buses to destinations across the city no more than 5 minutes away at most. Some of the staff are friendly and helpful, and there was a reaonable selection of breakfast foods available - at least, around the time that room opens, at 7am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could of had more choices as well as the staff being a little more on hand when needed. Did not feel welcome at the hotel. Location is not good. Rooms are not sound proof as could hear all traffic and also people slamming doors when coming back to the rooms. The receptionist tried to charge us for the rooms again even though we paid in full before arriving. Took a while for them to finally agree that we had paid (showed booking.com confirmation). My room was of poor quality. only 1 working plug for me to charge phone. had to move the big dressing table to get to it. shower was not good. No bathroom light. did not see the point in complaining as the staff did not seem helpful. Would not recommend this hotel

    Nothing stood out for me to say I liked

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it's out of the city center but is a bus station near the accommodation, so in 10 minutes you are in the center

    a good value for the money and a helpfull staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's located above something like a strip club, and the structure is not the best if you don't like noise: we could hear people walking and chatting in the floor corridor during the entire night. The loo didn't have any windows or any alternative solution... the smells were everywhere in the room.

    We stayed only one night, we chose it as it was the less expensive choice for our last-second-planned trip. We found it clean, very near to the city centre and fairly comfortable. The check-in was flexible and the staff welcoming. We didn't test the breakfast as we preferred to do it in one of the city's beautiful cafes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff kept turning of the air conditioning. We had to ask twice for it to be turned on. Very expensive rates. A smile from the staff would have been nice. The room safe couldn't be opened so we couldn't use it.

    It was in a location close to public transport, so it was easy to get to the locations we needed to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location and hotel outside photo are a bit misleading. On approach the neighborhood has a slightly sketchy feel with barred up store fronts, weeds and graffiti. The property looks tired and not well maintained from the outside. It made the onsite parking behind the hotel seem a bit insecure. The entrance and lobby again seem a bit tired. On the other hand, the room made up for it seeming to be where they focused their attention. We were just passing through on the way to Rome so all in all, it was a reasonable place to stay. Bonus points for the free onsite parking.

    Location was walking distance to old town central. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed for the average traveler, with a nice bathroom (one of the only places I found on my Italian vacation with a full size tub). There was free private parking on the property. Breakfast was a slightly above average spread with a nice bright dining room. A 1k walk to the famous restaurant Osteria Francescana.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is poor quality and the room is not comfort and poor facilities inside with not reasonable price and we dont get the mineral water inside room

    Breakfast its excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smile more?

    Lots of parking space, quiet room, big breakfast, lots of ATMs and pizzerias in the area, very close to the highway. Staff is professional, pragmatic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi in room was bad, often disconnected.

    Good location, 15 min walking distance to the historical center, free private parking. Room and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfortable. Good and varied breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was very hard, and the pillows harder not a very comfortable sleep, and sleep is what you need when you are travelling and then having to drive when returning home. the bar was not open for service.

    The breakfast was good and friendly reception staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, are hard as a rock, it felt as if you were sleeping on a board. Comforter on the bed was dirty, and the blanket I pulled out of the closet to use instead had a bunch of different colored hair tangled in it. The breakfast provided was low quality food. The building is funky and out dated, but wasn't a bid deal. It sits on the corner of a busy intersection, also not a big deal, they have adequate windows to block out the noise. Also, we put the do not disturb sign out and they came into our room anyway.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was way too hard, I had to put 2 blankets on the bed doubled over and it was still like sleeping on concrete. 25 minutes walk from the centre.

    Quiet room and relatively spacious, staff ok, brekky quite good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the rooms need updating , some have been done and are really nice the others are stuck in the 70's. The restaurant that was attached to the hotel was closed down when we arrived , think this information should be known to people who are expecting it to be there but there was a lovely restaurant just across the road 2 min walk .

    I like the breakfast , it is very nice and lots to choose from . You can leave knowing you have a full stomach. It has all the amenities needed, shops, places to eat, bars etc. Also the staff were very understanding the first night as we were late arriving and they waited for us arriving even though it was an hour after check in.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor Reception greeting (couldn't find our reservation) and grumpy. Breakfast insufficient and not fresh. Some guests had nothing to choose from. It was ok but not stay there again. Do not recommend.

    Nothing much... it was a stopover that we were happy to leave and move on.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kids loved the buffet breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovate place ASAP

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not working properly and lack of English speaking staff

    Breakfast was a decent spread. It was away from the centre and tourist crowds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old. Not worth the money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My kettle won’t work n they didn’t bother to come n check or change for me

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lot of streetnoise, very marginal hotel, we didn't recognise anything from the other reviews, beds were just nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean rooms, good staff, all was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was great and the bathroom was very big. Everything was TOP. Special was the big breakfast buffet! We felt very well there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a double bed, I was given two di gli beds out together.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another hotel that advertisers a restaurant that is not open

    Staff very helpful and English speaking exceptional breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worn-out furniture and the distance from the centro storico

    Plenty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was very hard. Hotel needs renovation asap

    Parking

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, much more than we have expected!S

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV set is too small.

    Big room. Clean bathroom. Big beds. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - My room was bit old like jumped out from the 80's

    - Fair enough close to the city center - Car park

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    non heating, there was COLD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi.

    Cleanliness, quiet, location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything (room, bathroom, brakfast) was goog!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only in lobby, ultra small tv, noise...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the center

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    convenience of city and HWY, helpful at reception. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi intermittent. bed very hard. noisy

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was awful, no communication between staff.

    It was clean and near to motorway. Good for one night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was supposed to be up to 10 o'clock, but almost nothing was left at 9:30. That was very unnecessary. The wifi was terrible which bummed us out.

    Kind personnel who were happy to give us a new room when it turned out that our room had two separate beds. Free private parking.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice quiet location but walking distance to the city center. Perfect hotel restaurant. Helpful stuff. With public transport reachable the whole city with suburbs easily. Lovely breakfast. We stayed 3 nights. Perfectly working WIFI.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My flight was delayed and I didn't arrive until 1:30 am - (I rang ahead to warn of this situation) This wasn't a problem and I was able to check in easily. The hotel has an underground carpark which was great as limited on street parking in area.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Striptease bar right beside the hotel. And the hotel is not 700 metres from the city center, it's more like 2 kilometres. The hotel is also worth 1,5 stars, not 3.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was hard as a rock and pillow felt like a bag of cement. Tiny TV Wifi only worked on one device. A/c didn't work on what turned out to be a very hot and damp night. Internal soundproofing was terrible. I could hear everything from the room above...late talking, walking up and down the room, tv, etc

    Good size bathroom Free parking Decent breakfast External soundproofing

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Third bed not very confortable.

    Nice place open 24/24 reception

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Centrally located just 20min walk from historical centre of Modena. Very clean and good breakfast. Staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor location

    Modern room

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress was way to hard

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very poor breakfast; at 9:30 there was not even bread.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Air condition did not work at all during two nights even if we complained on several occations!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Group

    No WIFI in the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Good location close to centre

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No one on reception speaks English fuently. There was a dead air on a fours, no working air system.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Every room is smoking room and they try to sell it as non smoking...

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Hotel Donatello traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: