Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Donatello 3 stars

Piazza Indipendenza 23, 50129 Florence, Italy

#315 of 392 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Happy Ninja Turtle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues.

    Signore Messina and his staff were very pleasant. Adriano guided us to a very good restaurant nearby Penta Bistrot Paolo also acted as our taxi driver ( for a fee) to get us up to Piazza Michelangelo

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    a real nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room smelled bad and dirty . i found many hairs on the bed . Toilet is old and yellow . No free Wifi! 21th century century! So small breakfast ( only 1 kind of cheese and ham - no tomato or olives so on ) a real nightmare, looks more like a hostel !!! Please check attached pictures ...

    really nothing !!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    So so and ok for one or two days. Reception staff very helpful 😁
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor. But for the price can't complain about.

    Just one day so was enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Clean hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk man was a little rude!

    Clean hotel in good location. Room was nice and updated. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable, good location and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too far from centre.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    A good 3 star hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy outside

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Great place nice and close to the sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic Italian accommodation

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    5.8
    the coffee at breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the room was extremely dark, as the window was facing a wall; - no free wifi, which was quite annoying; - the place is like a labyrinth - breakfast is mediocre: the bread was very hard to cut (and dry); the eggs were also overcooked and in general the options were limited (though in italy breakfasts are not great generally)

    the coffee at breakfast was great. the location was very good!

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    10
    The staff was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff was superb. Everything I wanted or needed they happily complied. When I overslept breakfast they served me in the lounge ( for free). The managers wife spent an hour explaining the sights I should see and the best way to view them. Also, the hotel was very clean and quiet. Most important is the location, it was a 10 minute walk to the Duomo.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    8.0
    Room was large and well appointed, and most staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning was turned off during the night when some guests requested it, but we were not informed until we enquired! As a result, our room was stuffy, as was the breakfast room! Security safe was an extra cost, as was wi-fi, which we paid 6 euro for one day, but only found out after purchasing and trying to connect, that it was for only one device! The woman I spoke to on reception at night was quite rude about it, which was disappointing as all other staff we had encountered had been very pleasant and helpful!

    Room was large and well appointed, and most staff were very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    9.6
    Adriano at the front desk is so fluent in so many languages...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Adriano at the front desk is so fluent in so many languages that he is able to solve any travel problem. Thank you Hotel Donatello for having someone like Adriano to help us.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    4.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TRoom not cleaned. Lack of staff in evening. One person at switchboard ran the hotel at night. If she left switchboard no one available for assistance.

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    5.4
    Only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed was hard, the bath room looks old. The lift is so small and only one that you have to wait quite long when many check outs all at once.

    Only the location

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.5
    I was happy with our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only problem we had was with the heat. When we arrived in the room it was very hot. We asked them to turn it down. Later we asked for them to turn it off during the night. I woke up in the middle of the night (4am) and the heater was on and on full blast. We couldnt figure out how to call the front desk so my bf had to dress and go down and ask again for it to be turned off.

    I was happy with our stay here. The facilities were nice and the bathroom was big and clean. The breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    7.1
    Decent cheap hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is no kettle in the room and the staff were rather unhelpful when we asked for some hot water. This is a moderate hotel, decent for what you pay for, it isn't super fancy.

    Decent cheap hotel. Breakfast is quite decent compared to other places in Italy which just give a croissant. Quiet at night, and able to walk to all the main attractions in Florence.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    6.7
    The location is just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The toilet was rather small and it had a very bad smell. The room was very small as well, we paid for a room for 4 people and they gave us a room for 3. We didn't have internet connection

    The location is just perfect

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    5.8
    personally good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    they charge you for everything (parking, Wiifi, leaving your suitcase at the conciergerie, etc..) Poor breakfast (not in quantity but in quality)

    personally good location view on the park of piazza indipendenza parking lot (they let you keep your car with a big time flexibility)

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    5.4
    Clean and in a good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was rude

    Clean and in a good position

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    2.5
    The whole experience is very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The whole experience is very bad.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.3
    Lovely old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Since I last stayed here, nine years ago, things have become a bit shabby and the rooms could use a little care.

    Lovely old building. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    Accessible on foot to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accessible on foot to city centre easy car parking

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too expensive, and you had to pay wifi

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful building, friendly staff, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful building, friendly staff, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower too small, walls dirty in the room, had to pay to use the safe ,

    Bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    8.8
    The location,the price, and staff were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That the walls are not even slightly sound proof

    The location,the price, and staff were amazing

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: