Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Donatello 3 stars

Via Di Porta Maggiore, 83, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#669 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 168 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't working even though it was very hot, the breakfast was poor. We got 2 twin beds even though we asked for one double bed and the staff said there was nothing to do about it. Only when the manager arrived at the day after he made sure it will be fixed.

    The location is fine, the hotel was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was my first time in Italy ( not only in Rome ) when I didn't manage to get a good coffee at breakfast. But I have to mention that soluble coffee is not what I call a coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, in the morning was poor, but tasty.

    Very good locatin, close to the metro station Manzoni, close to bus station. The room was clean, and they clean it every morning, the stuff was very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come into Termini and want to take a cab to the hotel it should not cost more than 10euro! Be careful! Take a legitimate taxi...

    We were a little hesitant when we booked this hotel due to the location near the train, however, it turned out to be great. Close to metro, within a 10 minute walk,which is a must for seeing Rome, Tram and bus literally outside the door. Hotel was European boutique...room and bathroom were comfortable and clean and we had a cute balcony with a bistro table. Breakfast was a nice continental...loved the rolls! Several restaurants around the corner. Staff were more then accommodating were eager to please. For the price, this is a nice little hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Friendly, helpful staff

    The Donatello has a great breakfast and very friendly, efficient staff. They recommend Tiempo Minerva. We ate there 3 times and always had a great experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was good and the linens, too. The sound was minimal. Had trouble making the TV work, but did fine without it. The location was within about two long blocks from the Manzone Metro which was good. There were mini marts and enough restaurants in the are to meet our needs, too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Slow wifi, breakfast ending too early at 9:30, 4% per person per day city tax (an extra to be paid in cash)

    Friendly staff, location fairly close to metro and main rail station, balcony

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the bar to have been opened for a late drink

    Very helpful at reception. Directions, calling and arranging taxi. Near the Metro, 10 minutes walk to it and get anywhere you want and then easy to get back there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't fault this hotel at all. The road outside can be a little loud some nights but even this wasn't too much of a problem.

    Room was a great size with roomy bathroom, very clean. Staff were excellent, so helpful and friendly. Breakfast is simple but more than enough as there is so much great Italian food to eat in Rome. Breakfast can be eaten in a lovely little courtyard and the coffee is excellent. Air con keeps the room cool at night and the balcony with our room was a great extra. 10 mins walk from the metro to the city centre, 3 mins from the supermarket and lots of restaurants just minutes away so very handy. I have never been so satisfied with a hotel and at such a great price, I would definitely recommend staying at hotel Donatello. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not ready at check-in time and they changed us to a room with single beds (we had booked a room with double bed). The breakfast is not good.

    The room was really quiet and clean. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast wasn't that great. A croissant, roll, fruit juice and hot drink could be improved.

    The service of staff was excellent. They were more than happy to help plan my sightseeing days and made relevant recommendations for restaurants, etc.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airco turned on and off every now and then which made us wake up during the night. The breakfast was simple and not very tasty. We could hear the toilet of the neighbour's room flushing loudly during the night. We paid for WiFi but there was basically no signal in our room. Hotel located close to the central station. A lot of shady strangers walking around there. We had trouble finding decent restaurants in range of the hotel, which makes the Location not that good in our view.

    The hotel's inside looked good, staff was friendly and helpful. Shower was comfortable. Everything was in range with what we wanted to visit. Close to metro station which made us visit Rome very easily.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is comfortable enough, despite they could improve the pillows. However, we got a room on the new building and is obvious that some construction is still going on. We were woken up at seven by the vibration and laud noises of construction on the upper floor. Is not nice to wake up with a headache. The staff could also be trained better.

    The hotel is very well located in a perfect zone between the most touristic attractions and termini.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The TV channels are all italian (mostly are sales channels). The hotel should provide international cable or something similar. It`ll improve the confort level of the hotel.

    The hotel is located perfectly for those who are planning to use the subway/train/metro. Its located close to 3 stations that allow you to access the Vaticane, Piazza di Spania, Fontana di Trevi, in minutes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could use an egg and stronger coffee, but it's pretty consistent with the Italian notion of breakfast (with great rolls). The location near the old city walls and St John Lateran cathedral is offbeat and interesting but requires a slight commute to the main Rome sites.

    Super clean and quiet, splendid balcony, helpful staff. Pleasant outdoor breakfast area. Good value no doubt affected by offbeat location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if we didn't have to pay 5 euro for the wifi.

    Walking distance to the city center and many main attractions. We were quite happy with the room. We went out in the mornings and went back in the evenings to rest. The airconditioner worked well, and the staff cleaned the room everyday.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they put us in a back room like a closet and when we requested to change our room they said it was impossible now .in 3 days they finally changed our room after many questions about when will we change our room .the staff and owners were very unhappy about changing our room not to mention that the new room that they put us in directly above they were doing renovations

    the cleaning staff was very nice and thoughtful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free wifi. How is that possible!? Some of staff are not motivated and not friendly at all.

    The hotel is clean, the bed was comfy. It is nice classic hotel even above my expectations.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    BOOKING ERROR: at first they tried to give us a far queen room that was a corner room, but we complained it smelled like plumbing and humidity, the carpet smelled and looked very old (make sure you ask for the room you chose only when making your reservation, we were then upgraded) STAFF: perhaps it was a culture clash or difference of attitude, but the staff has an indifference in helping its clients, at times Rude. AIR CONDITIONING: We stayed the first week of July and it was over 33 degree heat and the air conditioning only works from 1pm-9am. CLEANLINESS: although our beds were made every day and our trash was taken out, the floor was dirty full of dust and the tables were not cleaned and bathroom was not fully cleaned.

    LOCATION: excellent ! 10 minute walk to Manzoni metro terminal, 10 min taxt drive to Termini station (taxi to airport and metro), there is a super market close also. SECURITY: there is 24 hour security at the front desk and you must ring a doorbell to enter the hotel MAPS available for touring downtown rome and useful metro information

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room with a balcony was on the MINUS FIRST floor. It did not mater to us. There are many upstairs balconies as well :-) Breakfast very basic - just pastry, butter, jams & marmalade, honey, coffee, tea & orange juice. Those longing for eggs & bacon, be warned :-) Paid wi-fi.

    Location perfect for all train & tramspotters :-) Easy to get anywhere. Piazza di Porta Maggiore is 50 meters from the hotel and there are about 6 tram lines + some bus lines under the ancient city walls. Nearest metro stops are 5 minutes by tram, Termini train station 10 minutes by tram. For all this, the hotel IS quiet. A supermarket nearby. A beautiful breakfast terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds needed updating. Also would have liked a double bed, could only get twin singles.

    The building had quality inclusions. Marble, timber etc

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise of toilet extraction could be improved, too noisy.

    Great balcony and feeling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The historical aspects were amazing.

    Overall food disappointing. We were very sad to see all the graffiti and everywhere was quite dirty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very poor breakfast

    Very clean, nice rooms, good staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast is ok but not much to choose from and the same every day.

    Clean hotel, nice room, pleasant staff, close to public transport facilities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comfortable bar area

    Very nice room nice setting with a smallish balcony overlooking courtyard

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi could be free

    Nice rooms in Italian style, friendly personal and good situation near Roma's city center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet was not free. It is unacceptable in this age! Breakfast was so limited, coffee and bread.

    Balcony!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small

    The owner was very helpful and kind

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is not that close to The City Center, but The area is ok.

    Very nice staff and good accomodation services. Clean and chic rooms. The breakfast is very simple, croissant and bread an butter and gem and coffe and tea.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location was not in a great area. Marble floors are nice but made the amplified sound so could hear everything in the next room.

    Nice staff and classic looking old hotel. The breakfast room is really cool looking and they serve you tea or coffee and an assortment of bread.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was poor. The room was really tiny with very cold floor. And they give you only one disposable shampoo per night like no one needs to have a shower more than once a day. And the location is not so good as it seems at first.

    Friendly stuff.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kettle supplied but no cups, tea etc. in our room. Only one chair in the room but 2 of us sharing. No view and boring breakfast.

    The ease of getting taxis.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    I was sad the jets didn't work in the spa tub, and the shower has an awkward half wall so I kind of got water everywhere....

    The room was lovely, very clean, comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing........whrn on the balcony there was some traffic noise but ee were staying in a city known for manic driving. Quiet with windows shut.

    Loved the balcony on our room,breakfast was fine and rooms were lovely. Only 10/15mins walk from colosseum and 5mins from underground. Taxis available if needed from hotel at a reasonable cost if needed.Would go back to Donatello and will recommend it to friends.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location was ideal and very close to many public transportation options. The rooms were beautifully decorated, quiet, and comfortable. My room had a beautiful view and patio.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast wasn't good.

    Check in was really nice, receptionist was extremely helpful. Room was nice and clean. Bed was comfy. There was also nice small balcony in our room. Tram stop was very close to the hotel. Train station is about 15mins walking.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had little to choose for for breakfast and it was the same every day. They didn't provide basic information about the transportation in the city.

    The rooms were clean. The room was comfortable. The location was in a peaceful neighborhood.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not square ; wifi is not free;

    We like the location most. Hotel was clean enough.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything! Staff were very welcoming, friendly & helpful. Room was very comfortable & spotless & balcony overlooked the courtyard.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Missing sockets next to bed, but to sum all I like the stay in this Hotel :))

    Very good hotel. Perfect Balcony!

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    bad breakfast and to much noise outside

    clean and nice staff

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would have preferred to have the option to get a richer breakfast

    Staff was nice, room was clean, 20 min walk from the Colosseum

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower a bit small

    The complimentary tucket to the island Murano

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: