Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Don Chisciotte

Via Pesciatina 1711/I, 55100 Lucca, Italy

#71 of 137 B&Bs and Inns in Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 242 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and AC are not included in room price

    Debora explained all we needed about Lucca - sightseeings, restaurants and parking areas. Clean and cute room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a nice location with a very cute room. The hosts were very friendly and gave us a lot of infos for interesting spots in the city and nice restaurants. TOP!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A long way from the City walls of Lucca. A 3 to 4 klm walk and public transport scarce.

    Very comfortable accomodation. Everthing in good working order. Great personal attention from staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice B&B with a very nice and friendly owner. We had room no.1 and it was beautifully decorated and spacious with a big, confortable bed.The only slight minus it's that the house is right on the main road but the windows are very good and you don't hear the noise. you have free parking quite close to the house and internet was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late check in time (between 4 and 6 p.m) Сramped room. Thin walls. To be honest, they didn't bother me sleeping, but I've heard almost every word inside the rooms staying in the hallway. Talks, laugh and even sighs. The shower curtain was broken and didn't close properly. Too far from city centre and, besides that, too noisy road nearby. No pedestrian zones, no ability to go on foot at all.

    Very friendly staff The reasonable price Free parking

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bus drops you off right in front of the BnB, but I wish the bus ran more often. However it is easy to ride a bike into town.

    I had a wonderful stay at Don Chiscotti! What a beautiful place in a lovely country setting oputside of Lucca. Deborah was a perfect helpful host and helped me figure out my travel plans and even took me to rent a bike when I mentioned I wanted to cycle around the area. I hope to return asap because the area and my stay was just so perfect!! Thank you Deborah!!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a bit old and tired. The soundproofing was bad (at room 4). We could hear the TV and the snoring from the nearby rooms.

    We had visited this b&b in the past and we stayed at the Superior Double Room. Our experience was superb back then. This time we got the Classic Double Room but it was not the same. It was good value for money, but the room looked a bit old an tired, especially the bathroom. Nonetheless, the hostess is very polite and helpful as usual.

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a clean and very cosy room. We liked it as soon as we got in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice host, comfortable room and bed, clean bathroom. Everything was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a busy road

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Warm welcome, great hospitality, very good tipps. Perfect English. Breakfast was small but with a lot of passion.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely rooms and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not in walking distance to the center of Lucca.

    Very nice owner. Lovely decorated B & B. Clean and cosy rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbors

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent. Debora the proprietor was extremely helpful and friendly. Lots of information and help which made our two night stay very enjoyable. Room was to an excellent standard and very comfortable. Bus service into Lucca was very good, reliable and low cost. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were greeted on arrival by Debora orientated to Lucca with advice of what to see etc. had bus tickets available at the B&B. She had up graded our room. The room was perfect the service was plus plus. Nothing to much.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This B&B was beautiful, clean, nicely decorated and very well organized. Just a few minutes away from the center of Luca and just 30' away from Pisa. (Ps. you should definitely visit the historical center of Luca) The bed was comfortable and the room was clean and very elegantly decorated. There was nothing bad! We always value a good breakfast and this one was quite high for our standards. There was a variety of pastry, cheese, ham, bread, fruits, cereal, and two kinds of juices. Additionally, we could also ask for an original Italian coffee to accompany the rest... quite complete! Ms. Debora, the owner of the B&B, was very detailed with her instructions, even before we arrive. We checked-in late, so she explained where to park, where to get the key and how to get to the room. The area was a bit tricky, so her instructions were really helpful. We would definitely go again!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location better if you have a car, we didn't so had to get the bus into Lucca every day, which was easy and cheap but the last bus home was at 20.05 which wasn't ideal.

    Staff very helpful, lovely rooms and nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Deborah was very kind and helpful. Cleaning of the room every day, perfect! We got a free room/upgrade because we stayed for 7 nights. The room was good, beds perfect, furnished very cozy. A/C, wifi, great shower... everything :) Thanks for our pleasant stay!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room slightly small.

    Clean and tidy; short drive from city centre; friendly staff; good system for check-in outside normal hours; quite good buffet for breakfast; good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Couple

    Nothing, we had a great stay!

    Really cosy and clean rooms. Good Wifi and hot showers. Great breakfast and the host is really nice, was helpfull and speaks perfect english!

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The proprietor Deborah was very kind, warm and helpful. The place was immaculately clean. The restaurant in front of this B&B that serves excellent Piadini and Burgers, including really tasty Kebab.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Deborah the host is lovely, will give you information and history of Lucca. Comfortable room and there is a parking location for free. The walk into Lucca city is 30 minutes. Lucca city is great and you must eat lots of Gelato!

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit too far from town, if you are looking to stay in/very close to the historic center. Also would not recommend to business travelers - all beds in the B&B are double.

    We were a group of eight friends on a trip around Tuscany. We were greeted by the hostess (and I believe owner, too) – a very friendly Italian lady who spoke excellent English. The spacious, well-appointed room turned out to be a wonderful surprise. There was a four-poster bed, a desk, and an elegant sofa. The furniture was new and in excellent condition. The hostess printed us a map and gave us directions to town, which was very kind and helpful. She also suggested a few restaurants to us and we had dinner at one of them - it was an excellent recommendation. We were scheduled to leave the next day after breakfast, which was included in the room rate. We enjoyed a good selection of pastries, cheese, and cereals. The host made us the most astounding hot chocolate with the thickest cream I've ever seen. The breakfast was delicious. We got a flat tire while backing out of the parking place. The hostess was very helpful - she called Total Assistance for us and spoke to them on our behalf, which saved us a LOT of hassle. Being stuck in a foreign country with no car is a tough call - I can't commend the owner enough for her timely help.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!!!

    Everything was as described in Booking.com and previous travel experiences. The room, the breakfast, the staff, the details about parking spaces, even the small tips given to us.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much. Though there is a small thing. On Booking.com she promises a discount for dining at affiliated restaurants, but it is something a former owner seemed to have arranged. This is no longer valid. But there is something else and much more serious to consider. There is no fire exit on the top floor. As the Italian law does not demand a fire escape for certain small old buildings, as this is. So we could have been roasted or smoked when the odds were against us. There are only two windows, a steep wall and perhaps 6 or 7 metres to the pavement and the barking dog of the neighbours. I would strongly recommend an emergency rope or rope ladder!

    Airco on the room, very tasteful interior, short distance to Lucca. Very kind and enthusiastic hostess who explains immediately all things of interest at arrival.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was the best breakfast we had in Italy and the hostess was really nice and could speak English very well. The rooms and the B&B are really sweet and have sweet decoration everywhere. It's also near the city centre of Lucca and easy to get to the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Coud not be cleaner. Owners Deborah and Andrea were incredibly helpful and kind. You could not ask for a better stay. No complaints. It is not in the center of Lucca, as they have clearly stated. Easy to reach by bike or short bus ride. The price more than made up for it. In an authentic (non Touristic) neighborhood. Don't hesitate to try!

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all!

    Fantastic and cozy little place. Very nicely decorated. With a young and proactive owner! Very beautifully decorated rooms. Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is fine if you have car, but if not, it is a bit far.

    The host is extremely pleasant. She helped us with everything we needed, and suggested about the best of Lucca. The room was really nice and clean. A lot of little details on it. Bathroom was out of the room but it was only for us, and it was so clean. Towels and shower gel included. Breakfast was incredible! A lot of things to choose and everything so tasty! Thanks a million!

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine, but I'd share some hints: the road is very fast so it's better park / get off aside (especially at night); there is a steep stairway that might be not for all; not sure about parking as I parked in front of the building and that was OK.

    Location on the road; close to Lucca; warm, clean and cosy rooms (provence-Barbie styled and named by girls' names - we stayed in Mary's! =)); nice people and service (checked-in after formal hours); 2 fast food places 5m away (acros the road) - kebab and pizzeria napolitana open 16-30 to 22-30. Anytime onу can take a glass, a plate, etc. or some snack from the groundfloor kitchen / shared minibar which is convenient if you travel / lunch at a late time.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Maintenance of bathroom could be better.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stairs a bit tough for an lod guy with heavy case. Location too far out of lucca for our needs

    Very helpful owner and a lovely fully functional room

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to mention here

    The attitude, the personal touch that can be seen in every detail, the breakfast... Really everything!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    when you carry a heavy lugagge theres no elevator in the hotel.

    Nice staff and nice room

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great service, room and breakfast. Worth every penny.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was great.

    Personal was very nice, breakfast amazing. I strongly recommend this B&B.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast, and hostess very helpful with all requests.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - the warm welcome of the hostess Deborah - beautiful room - breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not quite as congested as other big cities - great places to eat in the "old town".

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking was 100m away next to the church. Couldn't connect to the Wifi

    The breakfast was really quite good

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Deborah is fantastic!!! She is very nice and the hostel is incredible. We were like home and everythings are very nice.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Don Chisciotte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: