Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel 4 stars

Via Garibaldi 27, Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy

#67 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1325 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    Lovely common areas and great location with great roof top views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst understanding it is an older and special building with older furniture, it was disappointing to have a small and 3/4 drop wardrobe, no bath and nothing that could be used as a desk. While there was a wonderful view you had to stand on a step to see it. I would not have minded if I hadn't paid as much as I had for a superior room.

    Courtyard where you could take breakfast and the breakfast itself, the roof terrace and its view. The large and extremely comfortable bed. A large room. Many very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.7
    Will not return and do not recommend it for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is clearly set up for corporate events and visitors. Staff were not friendly towards kids. Room was available after the 3 pm check in, rooms were not cleaned until after 3 pm

    Garden was very pretty

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    3.3
    Wouldn’t recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two rooms nearby each other. Staff were not helpful when we reported that outside rain was somehow leading to a sewage smell in the room and hallways. Terrible smell and no help. They denied any smell and sprayed air freshener and that was it. Requested a cab to the airport, waited over 30 minutes and had to harass them to call twice to check on the status of the cab and then they finally changed the cab order for another cab. Location is not great either. No irons allowed in the room (ironing service available for a charge), and the only mirror in the room was in the bathroom which made sharing a room with others and getting ready a challenge. Other guests and I joked about this since there was a full length mirror in the elevator but not in the rooms.

    Lovely outdoor breakfast area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.0
    Beautiful building, lovely staff, but a few things could be tweaked to improve facilities & service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On booking form we were told there would be tea and coffee making facilities.....there weren't. There was a magnificent spread for breakfast, but it was let down by constantly running out of cups/glasses/plates/bowls/spoons/ and consistently empty hot water, coffee and milk jugs, which was usually a 10 minute wait to refill. Very difficult to work out how the shower worked, no instructions at all, same for the safe....we gave up. Some bathroom fixtures required repair, towel hook and loo roll holder. Very cheap, nasty loo roll,mother type you'd expect to find in public looks in a car park! We stayed for 7 nights and bathroom toiletries were never replenished.

    Helpful and cheerful. Smart appearance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel with old world charm. Very atmospheric for stay in Rome. Beautiful outdoor eating area, rooftop viewing. Stayed in standard queen room. Comfortable with good bed and bathroom. I like that they have a smartphone with internet and free phone to use during the stay. Breakfast was good. The setting is what sets this hotel apart.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.6
    Appalling and uncaring customer service - would prefer to rate lower
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have never left a bad review for a place before. Shortly after leaving for the airport to return home after my trip, I realised I had left a precious birthday gift from my sister, who had just moved overseas, in my room. The gift was a small, light, non-fragile bowl (enamelled steel), weighing no more than 100 grams. It had immense sentimental value. I immediately called the hotel and asked if it could be mailed to me, explaining the sentimental value and that I did not need it urgently. They told me they could arrange to have it sent to me through a particular service. I was quoted 74 euros (over AUD120) to have this service performed. The hotel refused to put it in the mail for me despite my explaining my situation. Eventually, I was forced to arrange my own service to collect the bowl. The hotel, after much back and forth, agreed to put the bowl in a box for me so a courier (at half the cost) could collect it for mailing, as this was a condition the courier had. Instead, when I received it, it was in an unsealed thin paper envelope and had the enamel chipped off. This was a distressing and ridiculous interaction. It put a horrible flavour on the end of my trip. I would have been better off to return to the hotel from the airport by taxi, both ways. This is not the place to experience anything unexpected in your trip, and they will not go out of their way in the slightest to assist.

    This hotel was perfectly functional, and I liked it until I needed something unexpected but important. Check-in was easy and friendly, and the room was clean, comfortable, and relatively attractive (if still very chain-hotel-like, small and without personality for the cost).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Great find for a short stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room only had a small window very high up near the ceiling, so it felt a little like being in the basement.

    Lovely old converted building with lots of charm, but also well-renovated with modern comforts and style. Great location too near sites and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful property, converted from a monastery, still have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bartender refused to help open a wine bottle for us, said it would cost us money...was willing to do it after much convincing. Not a big deal, but it hasn’t happened to us s in hotels of this quality before, felt rather not welcomed.

    Beautiful property, converted from a monastery, still have many paintings and sculptures from before. Our room is large and had good natural lighting, very comfortable bed. Very friendly staff from breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower wouldn’t stay a constant temperature. The elevator shaft was right next to our room (801) and you could hear it every time it moved.

    It’s a 2 minute walk to the Trastevere area. Where you can find lots and lots of great restaurants serving traditional roman dishes! The hotel was really clean and looked after. The room was great and the bed was humongous! Great garden area to have breakfast and relax in the evening! Free parking for motorcycles was great too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced disappointment with some dreadful rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First 2 rooms we were given were awful - dark and depressing cell-like rooms, each had one small window with frosted glass above head height. Had to pay extra 360 euros to upgrade for 3 nights. My mother’s room was much nicer; mine wasn’t much brighter or nicer but at least had a window I could see through, always a bonus. Drinks overpriced - 10 euros for a fruit juice. Location OK but felt out of things. Staff - some OK, some unfriendly. Cost more than we expected. Would not return or recommend.

    Lovely garden, breakfast OK Delightful small chapel within the building - presumably where people pray for a new room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Great Location - policies and customer service need to be reviewed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff members were somewhat rude. My contract with Bookings.com included a kettle and tea and coffee facilities. The hotel did not honour this and asked for 6 euros a night for rental. Also when we asked for ice in our room which was free the first night, we were told subsequent nights would costs 10 euro per night. We have travelled extensively over Europe for many many years and never been asked to pay for ice. Unbelievable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Fabulous and highly recommended. Great price for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have been great to have a pool... It was very hot when we were there

    Donna Camilla Savelli was fabulous. Beautiful chateau style building, beautiful rooms, delicate and intricate design - it was like stepping back in time. The views from the terrace are sensational and the staff are brilliant. The best thing however is the neighborhood... Trastevere is my favorite place in Rome! Nightlife, cobblestone streets, happy people... it's poetry

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.9
    It's a different experience if you're looking for one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the distances from main attractions because they mention it's walkable but its at least 45 mins from Vatican and Colessium. The room was tiny. There is no free coffee or tea in rooms.

    The staff were super nice, they got us an upgrade for our honeymoon and gifted us free Fresco bottle. Its very clean but consider it is a very different experience because it's a rennovated old building but a museum at the same time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    It was charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the furnishings were very old in the bedroom.

    It was charming. It had a beautiful garden where you could eat meals. The staff, particularly Simona, were friendly & warm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea coffee facilities in room. Take away breakfast was appalling.

    Location, majority of staff, decor, food, free prosecco and outdoor seating was divine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    its located in central area of Rome and close to all bars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food options and room services wasn't great at all. waiting time is long. no water boiler in the room, cant even have hot water or hot tea.

    its located in central area of Rome and close to all bars and restaurant. nice garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay in this little gem located in the busy nightlife of Trastevere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is a bit disappointing and not in line with what can be expected from this kind of establishment. That said I was told that breakfasts are generally not that great in Roman hotels.

    The garden is a quiet oasis and the roof top offer an amazing view over the city, perfect for relaxing. Because this is all made of stone it always feels cool and we much welcome this break from the heat of the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    Remarkable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just magnificent it an old monestary and it has a beautiful church right at the entrance...the building itself and the beautiful garden takes u back in time and filld ur heart with warmth and peace...the sorrounding area is perfect...u can find beautiful restaurants just couple of blocks away...and if u wana make use of ur legs and go for a good long walk u can get to the spanish steps from there too where u could also indulge ur eyes and soul with beautiful scenes along the way! This is my second time i stay there and definitely not the last!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    Loved everything and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small but absolutely fine

    Location (Trastevere) is amazing, with some of the best food in the city. The Breakfast at the hotel was delicious! The building itself has incredible atmosphere

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is built within an old monastery - beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing of consequence... hotel doesn't allow any beverages from the outside - one of my pet peeves, I think it's somewhat intrusive.

    The hotel is built within an old monastery - beautiful interiors, nice outdoor breakfast lounge (watch out for the pidgeons), friendly and efficient staff, spectacular location in Trastevere, overall great value!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    5.8
    The location is excellent and in general the hotel is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    However the value for money is very low. The room we got was extremely disappointing with a view to the garage and we needed to change it to a better room which was not so better. the bath was not clean and not properly maintained as expected. Overall a disappointment.

    The location is excellent and in general the hotel is nice Breakfast is very nice especially if you sit in the garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    SUPERB
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one thing I didn't like.....eggs for breakfast...those are not eggs but powder....tasteless .Please change this and start to serve real eggs

    Location is fantastic, since it is in the heart of Trastevere but still quiet enough to be able to sleep well. What I liked the most is the fact that you feel like you are in the 18th century and the whole scenery is giving you feeling of some past times. Garden is superb and breakfast served among the tress and flowers is really unique.One evening we enjoyed live music in garden....like you are on the movie set. We had room in the new part of hotel and bed was extra comfortable, aircon perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderfully peaceful and elegant. A pleasure to have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower recess was a little inadequate as the floor flooded regularly.

    Beautiful old building that has been graciously restored. Lovely garden to have a pre-dinner drink and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small dark room with a window to backyard with shaded glass. Bathroom maintenance horrible, water not flowing down from sink and bathtub. And this was sold as a Superior Room ! We checked out after the first night, nobody asked us why, we were charged the second night. Breakfast offer is poor, the only positive thing is the nice garden setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and very comfortable. Certainly use the hotel for our next time trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pigeons in the courtyard were very naughty. Other than that nothing to complain about.

    Wonderful courtyard to sit and have a quiet drink after the manic streets of Rome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Another fabulous stay at this hotel with all expectations met
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The room was beautiful, had a very comfortable bed and air conditioning that worked well. All the staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. One of many highlights is breakfast in the courtyard - great variety of food, excellent coffee and relaxing, shaded surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Peaceful, comfortable, charming.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to go home.

    The setting, views, decor, garden areas, and ambience were all fabulous. I loved it. Can't wait to stay again. I have already recommended it to several people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no close public transportation The air condition didn’t work properly luckily the nights weren’t to hot

    Great location. Walking distance from most of Rome center attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms too small, shower "hostel style" and too small for > 250 €/night hotel.

    Rooms too small, not even space for having a proper shower. The place and location is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    Charming hotel property and great neighborhood, but small rooms and aloof staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was charming, but the rooms are very small. We booked an executive room which was very tiny. The neighborhood was great and within walking distance to a lot of great food spots. The staff were cold and although the booking.com website stated there was onsite parking--in actuality there is no guaranteed parking. After a very long flight we were very disappointed that we were told "parking was first come-first served." It all worked out, as we managed to squeeze our rental car into the last space in the hotel lot. The other sore point for us was that we ordered cappuccino and a soda via room-service which was priced at over 20EURO. Really? 20EURO for a coffee and a soda? Overall, the hotel is charming and the rooms are adequate and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Loved Rome, loved Trastevere and loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing. Maybe for some, an atmospheric, on-site restaurant may have been welcome but the choice in Trastevere made this unnecessary for us and buffet style breakfasts, in the beautiful courtyard, were very enjoyable.

    The building itself is fabulous and the roof top terrace provides spectacular views. The location is excellent being an easy walk to the many and varied restaurants in lovely Trastevere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    The old world charm, location and attentive staff made for a perfect visit to Rome.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did get free room upgrade but a bigger room would have been better. Air conditioning could have been better. Fortunately, it was cool outside.

    Everyone on staff was delightful, courteous, efficient and accommodating. They made me feel very much at home during my entire stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved my stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The location in Trastevere is good, if you like walking. But there is almost no public transportation anywhere nearby.

    Big room. Rooftop terrace. Good breakfast. Great courtyard. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.1
    The hotel and its garden were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was at times rather slow and inattentive. Ordering a cappuccino in the mornings for breakfast took time. It would be great if this was asked when asking for a room number.

    The hotel and its garden were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    4.2
    beautiful facilty but could use some customer service training
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not rude but not welcoming. I had a problem and they did accomodate me but I had to insist on getting the issue corrected. In the end it worked out but I walked away feeling unwelcome.

    Facility was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful four days in Rome. We happened to have great weather, sunny in the 70's. We walke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Loved the peace and serenity of the garden. Staff was wonderful. Our room seemed to be serviced after every time we went out. Great breakfast, something for everyone even a gluten free section. Free phone was very useful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    I like the place as such: the historical building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you don't want to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel , it will be a bit complicated to find the right way to go there by bus metro or train and you'll have to walk a lot . However we did it from Ciampino and succeeded.... lasted around one hour and an half

    I like the place as such: the historical building beautifully preserved and well situated in a convenient area. You can find several good places to eat-out or simply have drink a few steps away from the hotel. The room was really comfortable and clean, the breakfast great and the staff was always ready to help you. You can reach the historical centre easily on foot whereas you'd better take a taxi if you need to arrive early for visiting the Vatican ( we paid around 13 euros)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Perfect - just what we wanted. A unique, intimate hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was excellent.

    The whole experience of the hotel which originally was a very old convent and has been carefully and respectfully restored. Staff were extremely warm and helpful. Excellent room, very clean and food quality excellent. Located in a wonderful area on the doorstep of the vibrant and charmful Trastevere district.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful accommodation, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning- really bad

    The air conditioning in our room was non existent on the first night so they changed our room for the second night. Unfortunately it still wasn’t the best so I would hate to stay here in summer! This is the only negative comment I have, the place itself is stunning, location is excellent, staff very friendly and the breakfast was great. We would stay here again but just make sure that we had decent air conditioning 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    This Hotel is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel is fantastic. Stuff is very attentive and helpful. Location is perfect: quite and nice place near beautiful botanical garden. This Hotel is better than most 5-star hotels. I've recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Very romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great. Limited options and the hot food was cold. The room service was limited both in time and menu. I called 10 mins before closing time but was told the kitchen was closed.

    Very romantic. Lovely historic building with a nice terrace and great roof top with a menu. Staff were friendly. Nicely suited in travestere. Slightly longer walk into centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival, we weren't informed that the restaurant was closed, and only found out by chance, so had to find an alternative outwith the hotel for evening dinner. Unfortunately also had to change rooms at 10pm as the toilet flush in our room wasn't working. Staff were helpful however and apologetic.

    Upgraded to a suite upon arrival. Very Friendly Staff. Location of good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay! Great service. Would have preferred a room not near the backstreet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit stuffy so we occasionally opened the windows at night. Also, the street right below our room was quite noisy on Friday and Saturday night, so we woke up a few times with loud noises and people talking.

    Lovely staff, excellent service. Breakfast was great, and an especially delicious cappuccino.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All. The sttaf, and Maria espcial, was so helpfull. rich and Good breakfast. Buitifull room and loby. All the sapces in the hotel were Very clean. good location. To sum: One of the best hotel in rome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Nice atmosphere of ancient monastery, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was almost twice smaller than described (around 10 sq m instead of 18 sq m). Note on the wall stated that it was an unique "cello" room. But I would prefer boring but normal sized room (which I paid for) rather than unique and very small cell. That was very disappointing.

    Nice atmosphere of ancient monastery, good breakfast, convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Unique, tranquil and with a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cobbles on the walk down to the centre of Trastevere.

    That it was individual with nothing of the chain hotel about it. You could imagine living in a convent with nuns still evident and I liked the lovely little chapel. Very different but very lovely and relaxing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    Overpriced motel experience with deceiving information on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pictures of the room(classic double room) on booking.com all look very nice. However they're very deceiving. After checking in, the staff took us outside of the main building and we had to actually walk outside to a completely new building which looked like a recently remodeled motel at best. The font door of this building is right on the street with cars parked right in the front. We were also told to return the only key to the front desk every time we leave the room with quite a walk. The room was very small with a decent sized bathroom although the water temperature was not consistent through a quick shower. The windows were also very small with metal bars on the outside. On top of that, the whole space smelled like the paint was put on yesterday. For almost $200 a night I would expect more. Maybe you'll get a better experience when you book their more expensive rooms. I wouldn't know because I won't book it again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel and garden with professional straff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard rooms wirhout Windows to look out from, you will Get the feeling that you are in the basement/ celler. Book superior or suite. No restaurant but plenty to choose from in the neighbourhood No fitness room Breakfast was a average, the bread was not fresh enough. The scrambled eggs not made only of eggs and milk, did not taste like eggs.

    Beautiful building and garden. Terrace with great view. Friendly, profesjonal straff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    an historic and excellent venue - the rooftop terrace is amazing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing - it was great

    the main building is beautiful and it is worth the extra few dollars to stay there. The newer section is still excellent - but not as historic and breathtaking as the main section.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    two single beds joined as double made sleeping problematic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a double room anticipating double bed. Unfortunately the room had two single beds put one next to another (trying to address the gap between the beds with a sheet) which obviously is very problematic in regards to normal sleeping for a couple. I asked management to give us a room with a double bed but they declined saying the majority of their rooms are with two single beds joined together.

    Location was great as well as staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    A treat for y partner and friendly service from all the staff especially Patricia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nil

    The location in Trastevere was very good to walk to the main tourist sites (20-25 mins) or get a 8 min taxi. (around 11-12 euros) We were upgraded to the level above standard so plenty of room and lovely bathroom. Only critique is that the area for breakfast was narrow in a small corridor lane although the options for breakfast were many and tasty. I would have liked a facility where you could order your choice of egg to be picky. Overall, a comfortable, clean and will come back here again hotel to visit Roma. They offer an ironing and cleaning service so ybring your iron if you wish to do it more economical.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    We would certainly use this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were first class, they recognised you and thus presented you with the key as soon as you returned to the hotel. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    A lovely hotel in a great location with an amazing breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows were hard and very uncomfortable

    The coffee freshly made at breakfast was great. The hotel was lovely, very quirky inside. Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The closets/wardrobes are too small. The space for the restaurant is insufficient, lack of meeting space

    The character of building, having daily Mass at the chapel, the location near different points of interest,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful building, comfortable rooms and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Beautiful building, super friendly staff and very comfortable rooms with extra-large beds. Rooms were a good size and very clean. Breakfast was included in the per night price and was lovely. Couldn’t fault the accommodation or staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Bottom line I would recommend and stay here again, in a room on the courtyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a 3 person room today accommodate our daughter studying nearby. Room was smaller than expected with no view. Didn’t complain though because beds were very comfortable. Very noisy at night from people going to and from the bars. Staff was professional and pleasant, but not too helpful with local recomendations for restaurants/sites.

    Hotel has a lot of character being a former monastery/convent. Very comfy beds and good shower. Very pleasant staff. Loved the Tresevere area of Rome with tons of great restaurant choices a short walk away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Felt like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall experience was just amazing. The menu had vegan options and the breakfast buffet was fab. Hotel staff were super friendly and helpful. And you get a phone in hotel room of unlimited data that you can use during your stay, so it's really handy because you'll never get lost while exploring Rome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Experience the beauty of ancient Rome with all the amenities and delicious foods of today
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    They use a specially designed pillow but I found it a bit too firm.

    Being in an ancient city, as Rome is, it was a treat to live within the old walls. The breakfast had multiple preparations of eggs, various meats and cheeses, salads, yogurt with bowls of fruits and nuts for topping, many breads and croissants and even gluten free choices.The interior gardens with citrus trees were beautiful and we especially liked the views from the rooftop siting area. The rooms were simple but tastefully created and the bathrooms had working towel racks and great showers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    The hotel is lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was upset that booking.com defaults to 2 people and I was charged for an extra person as I am traveling alone so I paid an extra 30 euros a night

    This Hotel is a wonderful place to stay the staff was wonderful to me and very helpful. When I come back to rome I will call this place home. It’s also in one of the best neighborhoods in rome. I felt like a local. And the room and the hotel Itself are beautiful just stunning

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel in a fantastic location, very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking the hotel I was hoping to have an evening meal in the cellar room shown in the hotel photos, but this is only for hire & private group bookings & not in everyday use. The seating for the restaurant is based in the corridor, rather than a designated room.

    A beautiful hotel in a fantastic location, very close to restaurants & bars for our evening meals & all major attractions are walkable from this point. The staff are helpful & friendly & the breakfast was very nice with an excellent choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    An hotel were you can stay as at your own home. Relax and business meet together
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi connection could be improve.

    At the Hotel Donna Camilla Savelli everything is as you can image before your stay. Staff, location quality of breakfast, atmosphere very welcoming. Often they success in surprising you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place for your Roma weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are noise sensitiv the doors to the rooms is not very sound proof.

    Beautiful place! Nice location, walking distance to everything but still in a quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The problem is that the rooms are very small, like the convent cells. This is in a sense understandable, but I expected some more effort done to create a hotel space in the old building. There is literally no lobby, no public comfortable sitting room, only the garden which cannot be used in January. This leaves you eating in the corridor and sitting ( if you really have to) also on some coaches along the corridor. Total disappointment. I think too much space was turned into rooms.

    It is located in an old convent designed by Borromini which has some charm and historic value. But it would be more appropriate for a visit rather than a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Stunning Building, great staff and the view from the roof...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately we found the room temperature and hallways very hot and did disturb sleep

    Stunning Building, great staff and the view from the roof terrace was fantastic. Breakfast great choice. Highly reccomend and would stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    Despite minor flaws, this hotel is a cut above many others in Rome and I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service in general was a bit slow. The door to the garden in our room was broken and never fixed during our stay, despite reporting it twice. The safe in our room broke. At night we heard music from the garden even late (around midnight). The breakfast was a bit disappointing. We had to go to a bar to enjoy a good Italian coffee.

    The garden surrounding the Donna Camilla is an oasis of calm and beauty and the 17C building designed by Borromini exudes harmony. The ample lobby hallway facing the garden is a lovely place to relax after a day walking through Rome and the view from the terrace is magnificent. Our executive room was comfortable, but not as large as I expected. A walk in the nearby botanical garden is delightful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Simple elegance and luxury with a most accommodating staff keeps us coming back.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The setting is magical. Gracious, elegant, charming, rooms with all the amenities. Delicious breakfast. Great lounge area along a gorgeous corridor in the evening. Lovely courtyard in warmer weather for breakfast and drinks. Trendy location near delicious restaurants and night spots. Convenient to the main attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay in a quite and cool location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent hotel, in a cool and authentic location. Great breakfast, staff is very friendly. We reserved 2 rooms, arrived as early as 10:15 AM, and they let us have one room so we can freshen up from the flight, leave our stuff and start a touring day. The look and feel of the place are very unique.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic few days in this great city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was hard to connect too but I guess this is due to the fact the building has original stone walls from the 17th century.

    The location is perfect for visiting all main sites and has numerous bars and restaurants close by. It has the most comfortable beds, well needed after exploring the city. Staff in the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is exceptionally beautiful and clean, I would highly recommend!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    All just fine. Very quiet and pleasant place. Close to everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was surprised by the level of cleanliness in the dining room, when a table was cleaned after diners finished their meal, in a very non sterile and non clean manner. In addition, we could not operate an air conditioner, since it is not in individual control of the room, but rather a central air conditioner of the hotel, which they turn off when they think winter.

    a very nice 135/5000 Quiet and cozy place in the Trastevere district. Close to good restaurants, to all the interesting sites. Definitely a recommended place. Staff very courteous and very pleasant. Breakfast is adequate.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    Amazing building, unfriendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning turned off, staff refused to turn it on. Noisy outside the window due to drunk local youths. Breakfast options not as good as could be. Staff in general not very helpful.

    Stunning building, great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful venue, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dreadful room service - initially refused to serve us despite us calling 10 mins before closing time. The pizza was barely cooked, and both pizza and pasta were cold. A blemish on the overall experience.

    Gorgeous surroundings, beautiful views form the roof terrace. Breakfast was superb, especially the pastries

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    we will be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the hour to check in is too late...we arrived around 13h and had to wait till 15 h to be checked into the room although the hotel was not full at all. That is a pitty especially when you have to leave very early the next moring to catch your flight...

    I loved the setting, the breakfast and the neighbourhood... the whole package.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, great staff - heartily recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately the wifi was not good - and this is now an essential part of modern travelling. It was very slow for the first two days but then stopped altogether. Fortunately, the "Handy' came into its own (see 'good' points, below). We did have to remind the front desk about having the bathroom floor cleaned and the towels changed - but that's hardly a big issue. Be aware that not all the staff, especially the bar team, speak english, so brush up on a few essential Italian phrases and you'll be better served.

    The hotel, a former monastery, is a superb building. A modern extension has recently been added or converted and the rooms are 'good' to 'Very good'. We had no real view from the room, other than of the inner courtyard, [but friends did have a wonderful view over Rome]. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly - and a pleasure to deal with. The lady who 'looked after us' at breakfast was equally very friendly and professional - for example, we asked for 'proper' Italian coffee, rather than from the large commercial urn on the buffet. And for all succeeding mornings we had 'proper' coffee. The hotel does have a superb 'Handy' mobile smart phone, which allows free calls to most countries. A brilliant and most welcome device.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful, atmospheric hotel with great service in a perfect location.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really loved this hotel - we used to walk past regularly when we lived nearby. It was a lovely to stay at as I always imagined and will now be our go to hotel in Rome. Beautiful, quiet historic hotel in a building designed by Borromini. The service was outstanding and friendly. The room beautiful. Breakfast delicious. And the view from the rooftop breathtaking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    The building and the atmorsphere is epic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Try to get a room facing the courtyard - the streets can get a bit noisy in the morning.

    The building and the atmorsphere is epic. A hotel where stone and wood is stone and wood and not plastic. Historical building and perfectly located. Trastevere is what it is but walk up from here and you will have the most fantastic view over Rome.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: