Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Donna Laura Palace 4 stars

Lungotevere Delle Armi 21, Vatican City - Prati, 00195 Rome, Italy

#215 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1370 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Close to the best part of Rome, a good hotel for a short holiday or a business trip.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Although I appreciated the presence of an area with sauna and pool, I can't consider it as a plus of the structure because of the general absence of care regarding it. The water of the jacuzzi was clearly dirty. One day (Saturday) I asked for them if it was possible to clean the water, but they answered I should have waited for Monday for the technician to come.

    - Very good breakfast, regarding both food and staff. - Good position, just a short walk from Metro A. - A supermarket and several shops in the nearby. - Near some of the main attractions of Rome, so no need of renting a car or get a taxi. - I appreciated the presence of a gym, not really common in the hotels of Rome. - The staff was really good in dealing with some problems arisen with a part of its personnel. I was given a free breakfast for "repairing" an uncomfortable situation that was created.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    The price is very good for Rome, good location, a bit far...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is very good for Rome, good location, a bit far from center, but you can always get a taxi. Nice eveninig drin on the roof terrace. The single room is like double with Queen size bed. Good breakfast paid apart.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean, comfortable, elevators only allowed two people at a...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilets didn’t flush properly, location is nowhere near anything interesting.

    Clean, comfortable, elevators only allowed two people at a time. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing. Make sure you get what you booked and paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not get the balcony room we requested and were relocated to a room with a small double bed as the hotel was full. After complaining we were relocated after 24 hours to a lovely balcony room. No apology or compensation was offered. No complimentary arrival refreshment offered. As we were tired on our 1st night we opted for the buffet dinner in the hotel - this was a truly very bad experience and not to be recommended. It was not helped by a dog running around the restaurant and food areas. Breakfast is bland - the focus is on sweet cakes with minimal fresh fruit. Oh - and another dog!

    Location is fairly central for access to sites. Bed is comfortable and shower powerful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Great Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are under staffed. They need to hire more people. Their staff is very stretched. At least an extra guy at the reception as they are over working them out. its at least 15 minutes walking away from downtown

    Hotel is cozy. Rooms were nice and clean. Breakfast was generous and had a good variety. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Quite a cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed an iron as my clothes were wrinkled after being in the suitcase for a while and the front desk worker said they didn’t have an iron in the hotel and couldn’t help me with that))) I was shocked as it is a 4 star hotel and you can’t get your clothes ironed there((((

    Good value for the money paid. Nice location: not in a crowded tourist area, a grocery store nearby. Clean rooms. Nice balconies with a table and chairs where you can have a glass of wine))) there is a possibility to leave your luggage after you check out and that is what we did as our flight was late in the evening

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice little hotel at a nice beighborhood within walking distance to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath tub was leaking with water all over the floor after shower.

    The staff was so nice to let us checked in at 9.30am which was great to have a shower and rest after a long flight. Location wise was also convenient for a slow 20+ minutes walk to city center or the stadio Olimpico. The hotel is located at a nice and quiet neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.5
    Good location, not far away from Vatican, Piazza del Poppolo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located on the embankment with quite heavy traffic. Windows sound insulation is quite poor, noise from the road is significant. Also, floors in the number are made of wooden laminate and the hotel doesn't provide slippers, so please ensure you have your own once you decide to book it.

    Good location, not far away from Vatican, Piazza del Poppolo and the subway (walking distance - 10-15 min). Good breakfast for the price of 7 Eur per person. Reasonable offer for the money spent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    They rent-out for VERY noisy, kids birthday parties, the...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They rent-out for VERY noisy, kids birthday parties, the ground floor where the breakfast is served and where the Spa is located, there’s a walled garden there that amplifies all the noise towards all the front rooms. Hence making impossible to sleep or taking a nap during the events that they go for hours and hours super loud

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice and cozy hotel with the classical interior in Italian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice and cozy hotel with the classical interior in Italian style! Very attentive service at the Front desk. Great location when visiting the Vatican and you can also get to the center of the city on feet within 30 min. Enjoy Rome!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    4.6
    not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was noisy and old. not very clean. I asked for a room placed in the upper floors when I booked the room and they gave me a first floor room saying that the hotel was fully booked. My colleagues booked later than me and they had a third floor room.

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value for money hotel if you book in advance and the right time of the year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast coffee was awful. Instead of an instant coffee they can - for no additional costs - offer brewed coffee instead . The hotel is not located in the centre - you need to walk at least 20 minutes to the closest main attractions (Vatican, Spanish stairs) and about 10 minutes to the next Metro station.

    Staff did everything to support our stay and make us feel comfortable. All our requests were answered and executed promptly. We had a wonderful time in this hotel and would not hesitate to book it again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Lovely stay in Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived here at 1am after our flight and experienced a warm welcome. Hotel is located in a quieter location just 5 min walk from metro and a nice walk to other sights. Staff were welcoming and friendly. The room was classically decorated, spacious, warm and comfortable with a small balcony that would be lovely in summer. The bathroom had a lovely bath too. The shower was powerful! Breakfast was good with an ample selection. Would stay again without hesitation!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel with perfect location, 25 min walking distance...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were very small and bed was not comfortable. Cleaning should be better. It was ok in the bathroom but room itself was very dusty bcs they do bed everyday and no vacuum cleaning we believe. The floor - not clean enough and dust -under the bed and on the furniture.

    Nice hotel with perfect location, 25 min walking distance from Vatican, close to the main famous places in Rome. Excellent breakfast but the hotel definately needs to upgrade breakfast hall, not enough space for the guests and some of them had to wait to get place. personal was very friendly and helpfull. Possibility for airport transfer for extra cost. Nice small balcony facing the river. Room was ok nicely designed. Mini bar and buffet for dinner at the restaurant. Toiletries and good equiped bathroom. Sleepers. Safe box.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff were friendly, good location for stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit smaller than we imagined but adequate. No tea making facilities in our room but you did get a fridge. All in all ok but more 3 * in my opinion.

    Staff were friendly, good location for stadium. Generally ok. Beds were really comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall was great value, will use again and recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the road throughout the night made it difficult to sleep - so avoid rooms at that end. Without this problem overall score would have been 9.2

    Staff were great, helpful and always smiling. Location great, only 10 minutes from Piazza Di Popollo and 24 minutes walk from Stadio Olimpico.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Good looking and very clean location, very good breakfast; strange staff slip, though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One thing which really let us down at the end: when checking out, we forgot 2 items in the fridge. A few hours later, when coming back for the bags (which were nicely kept in the hotel's closet), we asked about the forgotten items - the answer we got was: no, the chamber maid didn't find anything in the fridge! Big, negative surprise.

    Rooms were nice, very clean, good looking; (and the rest of the location the same) Bathrooms (including toiletries) were well above average Breakfast choice in pastry / cake was amazing. The rest of the breakfast offer was good, nice variety. Staff in the restaurant was very professional during breakfasts. Hotel called a cab for us when asked, they allowed us in the room before check in time - since they had the room free - they provided boiling water we needed for some medication -> all kind things to do for guests. The hotel has [only one room] and a terrace on the 5th floor - with great views!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellent quality in a palatial setting next to the river and short distance from Vatican.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could use more pillows.

    I travelled off season, but I found the value exceptional for the quality you get (I've stayed in quite a few hotels in London). Like many hotels in Rome it's pretty baroque, but still manages to stay within bounds of good taste. It's a beautiful palace building and rooms have very cute balconies with wrought iron tables and chairs. Good water pressure, plenty of towels. WiFi was fast and reliable. Will totally stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    4.6
    Not as good as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was ok, the bathroom is too small, and there were lots of noise from the street/cars and also the toilet(which was broken the last night and the water kept running and making noise, we did not sleep so good) A bit far from the subway like 10 mins walk. I would like to say it is an old 4 stars hotel.

    The lady from the bar was nice. The rest are also good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money, very clean, room was ready on arrival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly noisy quite early in the morning

    Great value for money, very clean, room was ready on arrival 4 hours early, friendly staff and great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    I suggest this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -

    Friendly and helpful staff Clean rooms Excellent breakfast The location is good if you like to walk We stayed there one week and everything was good. Thanks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    5.8
    The staff are really friendly and they are quite ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the location was not that great and the furniture was too old

    The staff are really friendly and they are quite friendly to babies , they have baby chair and baby cot etc

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.4
    it is not close to vatikan
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check out time 10am it is not posible even you have to close the door when you enter if you dint close they will ask you no cup for coffee and water this is not 4 star and booking.com how you give 8.5

    check out time 10am it is not close to Vatican metro is not close

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful, brilliant, marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t great, not very fresh and you had to pay extra for fresh juice

    Location was excellent, right in the middle of the Vatican and the historic area

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Donna Laura Palace is a classy and delightful spot from which to enjoy beautiful Rome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fresh fruit would have been appreciated. Wish the bar would open before 7 p.m.

    The breakfast offered a varied and delicious selection and the baked items were especially fresh and tasty. Rudy, the desk attendant went out of his way to assist us with printing our boarding passes. The hotel's decor is lovely and it is spacious. We appreciated its convenient location in a very lovely neighborhood and the most excellent restaurant one block down!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Great value for citybreak
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could be changed. 10 min walk to the metro line.

    Really cozy, modern and refreshed with balcony. Located closely to a bus station and 10 min walk to metro. Carrefour express just 2 min walk. Breakfast very good and the bathroom was having a bathtube. Reception staff really great( we spoke few words in my language). Overall highly recommend this place!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Fair service for the pro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, not very efficient noise cancelling. Breakfast choice could be improved (same few selection was provided every morning).

    Location was good, neighborhood excellent. Clean, cozy hotel. Extra sheets were provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Big room, good wifi, clean everywhere.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can be better.

    Big room, good wifi, clean everywhere. A very good napoletan restaurant in the nearby. Regarding the location, the hotel is exactly in the middle of the distance between Piazza Popolo and Stadio Olimpico, both being within decent walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    36 Minutes from Stadio Olimpico, 24 from the Vatican Museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A prolonged (over one hour) power cut on Thursday evening, which meant we had to wait in the lounge until the problem had been resolved. As we had been up at 5am in order to do the early morning tour of the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel, by 8pm we were pretty tired and just wanted to have a lie down.

    I found the hotel a walkable (for me) distance from the Stadio Olimpico. We were also able to walk to the Vatican Museums from there. Otherwise, the no.19 tram was only 200m away and although this doesn't go to Termini Stazione, you can change onto another tram and be there after a further two stops. It also connects with a number of Metro stops. I was surprised at how good the breakfast was, bearing in mind that Italians don't really do cooked breakfasts.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    It was lovely and we were enjoyed our time there! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My roommates thought the sheets were a little starchy. The main problem we had was when we showered, there would be a lot of water on the floor even though the glass thing was shut. It kind of seemed like it was coming out of the bottom? We weren’t sure. It really wasn’t a problem though.

    The beds were really nice and I loved the room and the balcony. The water pressure for the shower was AMAZING. I very much appreciated that breakfast was included and it was really good! The staff were super nice and printed our boarding passes for us which was incredibly helpful!! :) and the WiFi was good which was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    The bar didn't serve drinks for hotel guests on Friday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar didn't serve drinks for hotel guests on Friday night because they had a private dinner party or something like that. That was disappointing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Could be much better if staff was more organized and proactive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service can be improved. We asked for something simple and it wasnt fulfilled until we left. They would forget about it where we have reminded them twice. Eventually we just wouldnt care anymore. Also, something went missing from my room. Asked for it, said they would ask the cleaning staff and they had not, until we asked again. They never found the item. Breakfast was going short early and staff was not proactive on this to provide for more on time.

    Really liked the decoration and patio.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is situated in a green area, easy access to the...
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have better equipped GYM.. Animation activities - at least piano playing in the hall in the evening .. :-)

    The hotel is situated in a green area, easy access to the city center.. Sightseeing places are within 15 min walking.. Room has all necessary equipment.. Light, clean, quite spacious. Great breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    It's a nice hotel in good location but the good was a let down. I would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had dinner in restaurant 1st night, food was poor and over priced, starter and main course €65 for 2 people. I did mention it and staff were very apologetic but for a 4 star hotel the food just wasn't right and we eat in the city for rest of trip which was good value for money and far better

    Lovely property in good location 10 minute walk to piazza popolo and lapanto metro station, it's 20 to 25 minute walk to Vatican. Staff at hotel were lovely and room was nice, the city centre isn't that big so it's handy to get around. They also sell tickets for attractions which was very handy as the ques for tickets can be massive at Vatican and collos

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    5.4
    Hotel was comfy but staff and facilities very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very grumpy

    Mentioned parking and no parking. TV not working in hotel for 2 days and did not mention this to us. Staff not very friendly. Went to get drink in bar during day and bar closed. Went to roof top terrace for coffee and not allowed until afternoon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Great, authentic wonderful interior, very spacious, clean, well maintained, I'll come again for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant on the roof top, that belongs to the hotel has nice comfortable dining area, but menu is very poor and prices are very high in compare with the nearest excellentell restaurant from neighbourhood "Rosso Pomodoro"

    Hotel interior is really amazing in authentic classical style, with lots of interesting decorative details inside with great Italian taste. Beside very nice interior, most of rooms have cute little balcony facing nice front-yard, rooms are very spacious and again very nicely decorated, everything is new, very clean and well maintained. every single day we had cleaning lady and towel replacement. I can say I enjoyed every little detail in terms of visual impression and comfort. Just 5 min walk from hotel there is a great restaurant with Italian cuisine "Rosso Pomodoro" Be careful when you are hungry, lots of restaurants in Rome are not open from 3,4-7pm!!! Cappuccino in hotel is nice and breakfast is very tasty and rich.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Clean rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bars closed in the day so difficult to get a drink as restaurants around the hotel all closed until evening as well Not many facilities if you want to stay in the hotel

    Clean rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    Room was clean and liked the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male receptionist was not friendly. Also asked for a second drink one evening and never received it. There was an outside group having a celebration and they took presidence over paying guests. Beds too hard.

    Room was clean and liked the balcony

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.8
    The staffs were different all the time and they did not have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs were different all the time and they did not have any coordination between them. Hence there were some miscommunication. They were suppose to help us book a venice trip which they didnt. They also do not accept cards for payment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    In general, we were very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pillows could have been a little softer.

    I would give this property an A. The property was very clean with a very warm atmosphere. Staff was very friendly except for the older evening front desk attendant. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had the street wiev therefore it was noisy but to be honest I'm very sensytive to any sound.

    The location is very good. The room was nice with enough space for three people. The beds were confortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Good beds, tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not like the car traffic in rome... It is really awful.. But you cant blame the hotel for that...

    Good beds, tidy... Nice room, they changed my towels... But I did not want to change them... when you stay in a room for a coupel of days it is not necessary to change every day... I dont do that at home... It is more environmentally friendly to let them be there... If you want to change towels put them on the floor, otherwise they are not changed... The hotell is a little bit away from the center of rome... Not very much but a little bit..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    5.0
    Some concerns
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely residential location however far from city central snd sites. Reception and bar staff unfriendly. Concerns about cleanliness. Some insects Management provided alternative room.

    Lovely residential location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel charges full price for breakfast if the child is 5 years - sounded unfair. Metro station is 10 minutes walk from the hotel. There is a tram and bus stop near by which provides some connectivity - but limited.

    Friendly staff. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.5
    Hotel it's in nice and quiet location considering the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the hotel it's not so nice, except the American breakfast which is acceptable. But 3 min walk of the hotel it's a nice restaurant call Rosso Pomodoro with a bit more tasty food.

    Hotel it's in nice and quiet location considering the busy and noisy town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.5
    quiet and pleasant hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we had a small room and hardly had place to turn around , very poor choice of meals in restaurant

    Room was very clean . It was quiet . croissants were great :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.4
    Start room AC or reduce hot water temperature ASAP
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hot water temperature was too high for this time. so pipes within the building made the walls and room so unbearably hot. even opening the window was not enough. AC was not working hence opening the window would case all car and terrible bike sounds in your room. my wife couldn't sleep at night due to car noise. so here was is the bottom line, reduce the hot water temperature to one third and its still more than enough, then even you don't start AC's until mid july it would be bearable. Unfortunately, our sleeping experience was so bad, my wife and I were even thinking of leaving to another hotel with AC. overall location wise is alright.

    Area, was somehow good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Rugby stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrived at this hotel in your car there is no were to park .only in the streets around the hotel.

    Booked this hotel for being close to the rugby, as it is only a half hour walk from the hotel along the river.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything especially the niceness of the staff. The location is close to the train station, shops and the Vatican. Close to tourist sights.The food was also very good, way better than anything you get in the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    7.9
    One step and it could be great stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No water, no teapot, no cafe pot in the room! and no toothpaste even... Even a 3 stars hotel all over the world provides water and tea pot in the room, so with a 4 stars hotel without these...it is a bit sad. Plus you have to pay for the water from the GF's restaurant ...

    Location, Surrounding, Scale, Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    Donna Laura Palace nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    even though location is excellent its on a very busy street and quiet noisy. the dinner was ok nothing to write home about but was tasty little over priced but most places in Rome are. I don't speck any Italian so for me with the tv in the bed room would of been nice to have a choice if I wanted to change language or have subtitles while watching a programme at night time to wind down. I understand about paying a tourist tax €6 a day is a bit much as I travel to Germany a lot as my partner is German and staying in hotels in Germany for 5 days will only cost €6 where I paid €18 for 3 nights.

    the location to the Vatican was excellent, its about 20 minute walk from this hotel and its central to the metro lines. staff where really nice and spoke really excellent English and responding to email before I arrived and organised a pick up from the airport for me was so nice to do and have a bottle of prosecco set up for me in the room as an extra gift for my partner was really nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    The staff was just excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was just excellent. I book room for my parents and they were really amazed by the staff,very friendly and helpfull.The room was really good size,clean and comfortable. Will definitly recomend this hotel and will come back there. Thank you

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    8.3
    Good position, but very bad restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant was so poor, they didn't have any MENU, and the barman told us by memory the menu! just 3 types of food available there: fish of the day, a plate like for breakfast (with ham and salami) and pasta only with cheese and tomatoes... Unbelievable for how the hotel is rated :(

    Good position of the hotel, next to the main visiting places in Rome. And also good breakfast., although lack of variety...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    9.2
    A quite place near the center with big rooms, good staff and fare price. i will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I asked for a room with a river view, all I saw was trees blocking the river. the walls are not thick enough not to hear other people sneezing on the neighbouring room. TV stations are poor

    I liked the location , a quite place and near the train station which is 3 stations away from the center (15 minutes with train every 3 minutes) The breakfast was good as well the staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    The most amazing hotel 2nd year in a row
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    OMG it was so amazing. Thanks for adding the bikes. I took them out all 3 days. I had a blast. This is my 2nd year staying. Will be staying again next year.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    8.8
    Lovely stay and excellent value, not the most central location but still convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the last day we found ants in our room (they had even climbed into our suitcase) and when I told the guy at checkout about it he didn't seem to believe me and didn't offer any sympathy or apology. Only unpleasant experience of our stay. In terms of location, around 10 minutes from the metro station - bummer when you come back late at night.

    Breakfast was great and at a reasonable price, big and pleasant room with bathtub. Staff were very nice and helpful with recommendations. Close to Villa Borghese and Piazza del Popolo. Great value for money!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    Recommended hotel for a city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing to complain

    Perfect location - 5 minute walk to Metro station or 20 minutes walk to Centro Storico or Vatican; breakfast selection reasonable and good looking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, own balcony, very friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the restaurant too much as it was quite expensive and only very few choices. However, the wine was nice and the staff wonderful! The pasta was very nice but the portion quite small.

    Excellent location, own balcony, very friendly staff! Supermarket close-by and fridge in room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The personnel was rather rude. We were not allowed in the garage, we had to find a public parking space even though the hotel advertises parking. The concierge was certainly indifferent, nobody even offered to help when we were checking in or checking out. I suppose the hotel management should give it a serious thought to making the cheap last minute offer on booking.com a permanent thing as it corresponds to the low level of service they provide.

    The hotel looks good from the outside and that is the only pleasant thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    A good hotel for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mattresses were a little harder than we were used to and noise leakage between walls /rooms not good. It only happened on the first night with a loud television in the adjoining room. Not an issue nights 2 and 3 so I assumed noisy/deaf family had gone.

    Staff exceptional. Helpful and friendly. This location was perfect for our family. We would stay again. Roof Terrace was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.1
    staff very friendly & helpful, room very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    no English programs on the TV besides CNN, BBC news. local restaurants did not open at night until 19:30.

    staff very friendly & helpful, room very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    A very nice journey in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I loved the colors in my room (including furniture), efficient air-conditioner, big tv, and not least the yard & the trees & the kindness off the staff. Nice location & nice people.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    In general the hotel is very good, I`d stay there again if I back to Florence one day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The AC was very weak. My days in Florence were very hot, the AC capacity was not enough for the room. We had to request a fan to have some comfort temperature to sleep.

    Location is very good. Very near to the train station, near to the main places to visit in Florence.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    10
    Authentic Roman experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved it! Beautiful location, beautiful balcony, beautiful room and facilities. We even had a lovely breakfast in the morning. It felt like an authentic Roman experience and was a quick cab away from Vatican City. Amazing price for incredible experience! Best hotel I've ever stayed in- so so nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    5.4
    Balcony was a nice touch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tiny, no irons available (only grossly overpriced laundry service). No bellhop available to help with out bags, food was atrocious (first time I didn't finish a dish in Italy). Hard pillows, and a tiny bed. Was a 15 minute walk to the train station, not exactly the greatest location. Overall a very disappointing hotel. Look elsewhere.

    Balcony was a nice touch.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Water rotto e Aqua freddanla mattina
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water rotto e Aqua freddanla mattina

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    The room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative

    The room was lovely. The location of the hotel was perfect. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    I loved the room, staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the room, staff was very friendly. Breakfast was very good and close to Piazza del Popolo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Nice place. Not in the city center but it has convenient transport to both Rome and Vatican City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    overall, its very good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing is there is no water kettle in the room. No tea bags or coffee when we need it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice varied breakfasts and really friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice varied breakfasts and really friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.5
    The food served as a buffet was not that good and there are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food served as a buffet was not that good and there are few local restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Good location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and hot part of breakfast could have been hotter.

    Good location; good variety for breakfast. Room and hotel decor was lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast! And friendly staff!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Donna Laura Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: