Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Doria Amalfi 3 stars

Via Giovanni D'amalfi,70, 84011 Amalfi, Italy

#25 of 28 hotels in Amalfi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 215 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Perfect spot from Amalfi town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Doria was a perfect spot for the town of Amalfi. It is up the cliffs from the busy town so is very quiet at night. The shuttle service to and from town was excellent and Ciro the owner was amazing, offering anything we needed. Breakfast was divine. Is definitely a 10.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    The hotel bus shuttle to and from Amalfi was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room has a restricted view.

    The hotel bus shuttle to and from Amalfi was excellent. As well, having parking included was great as parking is hard to come by, almost impossible.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful view of the sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not located in the town of Amalfi, so you have to rely on the hotel’s shuttle bus or the local bus to get into town. If you time things well, it is not a problem. Also keep it mind that it is best to spend the day in places like Positano or Sorrento and then return to Amalfi for dinner due to limited transportation options after 6. Taxis are very expensive so don’t rely on them.

    We absolutely loved our private balcony with a gorgeous view of the sea. The hotel manager recommended a fabulous restaurant called Lo Smeraldino for our last dinner. The food was wonderful (get the lobster pasta!) and the view of the port was stunning. Very romantic spot! The staff at the hotel were all great - very helpful and courteous. The free parking is an excellent benefit as well!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Very nice hotel , very clean , very good team , have shatel to center , very good room with amazing view .the breakfast was magnifucent .the receptionist was very kind .stay in doriya hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Like home! Just Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel goes the extra mile. The hotel is clean, the views are amazing , the staff is extremely helpful and cordial. If your traveling with kids you will love the breakfast. Room was spacious and service to the town was seamless. Value for your Euros can’t be beat!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    ok to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the view was not great from the room

    its an older place it was clean and staff was ok. they had a restaurant what they called to get us picked up and back to the hotel....the hotel it self has only breakfast and no close waling distance anything. the view was awesome we did forget out apple airpods in the safe and we can not get a hold of anybody at the hotel so sad !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Good accommodation , breakfast & shuttle service but a little far from central Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photo on Booking is misleading. I should have used a Google !aps when booking but photo indicates location as central Amalfi when it is 6 kilometres from Amalfi.

    Good breakfast; very good shuttle service; clean room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Very nice employees giving very good service! Free shuttle to Amalfi was higly valued! Great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very nice employees giving very good service! Great view over the sea from the balcony. Free shuttle to Amalfi was higly valued - parking the car is difficult in this area, and buses do not always go when you expect them to..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Gorgeous views, hotel is about 10 mins from Amalfi town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is only OK, could be greatly improved without much effort.

    Gorgeous views, hotel is about 10 mins from Amalfi town, quite isolated, no where to buy food and drink nearby. Shuttle bus takes you to town but doesn’t run between 10am and 4pm, local bus stops at the door. Staff are very helpful in working out the bus routes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    We had a pleasant stay and were not expecting a 5 Star hotel. It served our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No tea or coffee facility in the room. Fluctuating pressure in the shower hot water supply. Lights in the mirror above the hand basin were not working. The wall between our room (No 7) and room No 8 ! was/is very thin.

    The friendliness of the staff and their willingness to help. We had Room No 7 and a wonderful roof terrace that was special only to the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Great room, amazing view, and yummy breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We pay a little bit extra for the room with balcony and it is truly worth it. The view is amazing and I suggest to everyone that is staying here to pay that little bit extra for the view. The breakfast is fantastico!!! It is a little out of the main town but they provide shuttle bus service for guests to the town and back to the hotel with multiple timing throughout the whole day!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable, ni
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A couple more shuttles in evening would save a lot of waiting around in Amalfi, a restaurant / bar on site would of been great. Replacing the shower (cramped, shower head loose and points at wall) would go a long way to making the room feel more far more modern and spacious.

    Breakfast was good but a little repetitive (and sweet!), some hot food options would of been nice. Staff were friendly and helpful, shuttle service was reliable. View of coast was amazing no complaints there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    This is a good alternative to the hotels in town which are free more expensive and busier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is out of town and there are no restaurants, etc. nearby. So it was necessary to plan our days according to their shuttle schedule, but everything worked out fine.

    We had a very nice room with a balcony and great views. The staff was great especially at the desk. They offer a free shuttle to town. Their breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean and a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent! Great selection and coffee. The free shuttle into Amalfi is very convenient - check the timetable as it stops at 10am. The bus is cheap and stops right outside. We had a lovely view and great balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    3.3
    Unfortunately I would not return to this hotel.. impossible to sleep because of traffic and hotel no
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of noise and very uncomfortable beds. It's too dangerous to walk in the area and nothing of interest in the vicinity of the hotel

    Good free shuttle service to the town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    The staff was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was awesome. Great with suggestions about where to go, to eat, and information about the area. They made sure we were well taken care of. The shuttle to and from town was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    Great spot to enjoy the region with views to match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing we can think of...

    The Staff were outstanding from the time we were met by Renato (even at a rather late hour) till the time we left. They made sure our stay comfortable and thoroughly enjoyable. The shuttle to Amalfi is a bonus if you do not want to drive. Would happily return to stay when we next visit the area. The Terrace area is perfect for a relaxed evening watching the sun set.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel a few minutes out of Amalfi, with great views, a nice breakfast & free shuttle to Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They told me when to catch the bus, from the bus stop outside, but not that I could not buy a ticket on the bus, which was awkward until a little old woman passenger on the bus let me buy one from her.

    Breakfast was solid, without being amazing. The waiter is really nice and cheerful. Room was good, but no view. The rooftop terrace had an amazing view for the best sunsets. The shuttle ran into Amalfi often enough, so I could connect with my ferries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the room was unbearable, from the road, from the lobby, from the nearby rooms. It felt like the walls were made of paper ... The bed was slanted and uncomfortable.

    The service was very courteous and the view in the hotel is breathtaking. The shuttle to the city center is very convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel with great staff and all you need in Amalfi!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were fantastic and free shuttle service to and from Amalfi was great. Parking private abs close by as promised which is free also. We were celebrating our engagement and we're given Champagne on arrival which was lovely! We booked a no view room but got a great sea view. Comfy bed and great breakfast! 10/10!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    Good price to quality hotel, but for attentive early birds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Awful beds, transfer schedule was incovinient for us (me and my wife like to sleep, and last transfer to amalfi at the morning at 10am). Public busses from Agerola goes not very regulary too, so you need to be very accurate and plan your schedule in advance. Also, cup of tea in the eveninig costs 2 euro, and staff didn't tell us it until we came to pay the bill for the room. It was unpleasant surprise.

    Nice view, nice breakfast, transfer from hotel to amalfi and back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Very helpful receptionists
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful receptionists All staff were helpful and Friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.8
    Staff at breakfast was not friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at breakfast was not friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Breakfast and shuttle service and kind clerks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was very low

    Breakfast and shuttle service and kind clerks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money for Amalfi, friendly staff, wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money for Amalfi, friendly staff, wonderful view from the terrace, convenient free shuttle to the center and back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Terrace with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrace with a great view. Staff excellent!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely clean rooms with a great view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean rooms with a great view. The staff were brilliant and very helpful, and great recommendation for lunch at la cacara

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    It was an enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I still have not gotten the deposit back they took from my card a few weeks in advance .

    It was an enjoyable stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    7.9
    Ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ocean view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.0
    The shuttle bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit out dated.

    The shuttle bus. Free upgrade to a balcony suite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.0
    Little view of Amalfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the downtown. Very simple . Very expensive .

    Transfer for the city . Parking

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Nice view, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location with free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very nice and helpful. Balcony view are so romantic. Shuttle bus to Amalfi is so convenient to explore the whole region

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was very delicious
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor wifi connection , poor data connection

    Breakfast was very delicious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.4
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Shuttle service to town, pick up for local restaurants, bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle service to town, pick up for local restaurants, bus service directly outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Exelent peaple
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Alesandro,Eva and Simona thank you for perfect time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and staff rooms are very clean!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.5
    Great view over the Med
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good shuttle service from hotel to town. Friendly owner and staff. Great views

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sigh view of the terrace is beautiful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small shower, but clean and functional.

    Wonderful place to stay. Complementary shuttle service to Amalfi each morning and evening. Cheerful, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    3.3
    I can give lots of reasons to not stay there here are some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can give lots of reasons to not stay there here are some of them: 1) The hotel is far from center ~1h walking and 30 Euros by taxi. They have transfers, but we just found out on the third day because nobody told us about the transfer and they stop leaving the hotel at 10:15 2) The breakfast is simply the worst I've ever had, no eggs, no natural juice, 2 types of fruit and they charge 10 euros per person per day. we just took the breakfast there because we through it was included, but i wasn't 3) Terrible shower, very small 4) In the booking they say free parking, yes they are right, but your car will stay parked on the street, if you haven't been to Amalfi you have no idea how narrow the streets are and there is a high change that your car will be scratched

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    The view from our room was unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we were there the road to the hotel was interrupted and the public transport did not available. We arrived in Amalfi around 12.00 a.m. so we have to wait until 4.00 p.m.(shuttle) or we have to catch the bus to Agerola and get off at the cross to Pogerola and they come and pick up us from cross to Pogerola. It was a little bit uncomfortable. They should to think about one more shuttle between 10.30 am 4.00 pm. until the road to the hotel is interrupted and public transport doesn't work. Breakfast was a little bit poor.

    The view from our room was unique. We booked room whit terrace and sea view. They clean the room every day. They provide shuttle every hour, but from 10,30 a.m. until 4.00 p.m. the shuttle is closed.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    10
    The ubication was great, the staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The ubication was great, the staff very helpful. Nice & clean rooms with a beautiful sea view. Free parking & a free shuttle that takes you to the city of Amalfi and back to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    6.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was quite comfortable for two people but didn't have enough natural light. There was only one window and the view was on the back of the hotel. If you want to stay there I would suggest to book a room with sea view. Breakfast not so much choice.

    Friendly staff. Location is okay they provide shuttle service to the Amalfi's center every hours.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.2
    The staff were friendly and very helpful, arranging any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was a little further out of the town that we'd anticipated, but the hotel ran an excellent shuttle service. A pool would have been nice, but we knew there wasn't one when we booked

    The staff were friendly and very helpful, arranging any bookings for restaurants, boat trips etc. The hotel itself was fairly small and quiet and a little distance from Amalfi town, however the hotel ran an excellent shuttle service

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.3
    Our booking had not been transferred to the Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Busy road - noisy traffic during the day. At night no issue though. People talking at the Reception can be heard in the room.

    Our booking had not been transferred to the Hotel. However, Eva managed to find a solution within no time and finally we had the room that we had booked. The shuttle service is excellent and compensates the distance from the hotel to Amalfi. Friendly staff. Nice spacy room with terrace and sea view is worth the extra.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    Eva is super helpful person and she truly took care of us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eva is super helpful person and she truly took care of us during our stay and all her recommendations for amalfi were superb!!! Will surely be staying at Doria at our next visit to Italy!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    7.1
    Pleasant and helpful staff, clean rooms, good breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Slightly off the beaten track - quite a distance from Amalfi - mandatory drive or hotel shuttle (is free) to get to beach front..

    Pleasant and helpful staff, clean rooms, good breakfast choices..

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    10
    They offered free shuttle rides to the beach and back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They offered free shuttle rides to the beach and back whenever we wanted. we were offered beer and snacks upon our arrival. The view is great, very clean place, friendly staff and very important - free parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, in particular Renata who opened breakfast up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice if there was a pool but we booked it knowing there wasn't one but think the hotel could benefit from having one. Due to the nature of the roads there was a lot of beeping of horns from traffic but this is not related to the hotel and is all over Amalfi.

    Friendly staff, in particular Renata who opened breakfast up early for us when we had an early start to go on an excursion. Reception staff helped make travel arrangements for us and was no trouble to them. Great and regular shuttle service to and from the town and the drivers were very friendly. Also great view of the sea from our room which was enjoyable from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    Helpful, friendly staff made our stay most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    being out of the township made it a little difficult The shuttle countered this on most occasions

    Helpful, friendly staff made our stay most enjoyable Nothing was too much trouble Chiro, Renato, Sandro & Eva were lovely

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness and decor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were extremely impressed with the cleanliness and decor of the room, the view of the Amalfi coast from our balcony, the friendly and kind staff, and the exceptional shuttle service provided by the hotel. We have been throughout Europe for two months (10 countries) and this is my favorite place!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff stupendo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff stupendo

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.6
    Eva the Manager was amazing, she spoke very good English,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Eva the Manager was amazing, she spoke very good English, and did very thing she could to make our stay wonderful

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    7.1
    Hotel offers free shuttle service to Amalfi, but this is for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel offers free shuttle service to Amalfi, but this is for need. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    8.3
    Eva was very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Eva was very nice

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    excellent position, friendly and helpful staff, very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the road to the hotel is narrow and not suited to inexperienced drivers

    excellent position, friendly and helpful staff, very good breakfast

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: