Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Duca D'Aosta 2 stars

Via Fiume 17, 50123 Florence, Italy

#95 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Besides the good location, the staff was really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Besides the good location, the staff was really nice and flexible. We had to leave early in the morning before the breakfast start at 8.00. So, she packed a huge set of breakfast for us.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Brilliant Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge or safe in the room. The lift was very old and a bit scary.

    I liked the fact that it is just around the corner from the Roma Termini train station. The breakfast was simple but nice. Lovely Tomatoes every morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.8
    Older hotel with small rooms, but friendly staff, great location, and a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel looks and feels a little old, and the room (for four of us) was smaller than we hoped. It might have been the time we were there (it was a weekend in summer, there was a major concert and also fashion week), but the price seemed too high for what we got - it was the most expensive place we stayed over a week and a half in Venice, Rome, and other places in Italy, and it was certainly not the nicest. Still, having done comparisons to other places we could have stayed, we left mostly happy.

    Location was wonderful, basically a block from the train station and easily walking distance to all the sights in the center of Florence. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfy and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    - Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - It can be noisy. You can hear everything that's going on outside in the hall. - They close the reception quite early. They said around 6-6:30, but when I was checking out, reception was closing at 3. Not very convenient especially if there are emergencies e.g. the main door to get inside was difficult to open. At around 3am, there was someone buzzing non-stop trying to get in. It must have woken everyone up. The reception of their partner hotel across the street is supposedly open 24hrs and we can go there anytime, but that's also an inconvenience.

    - Great location. Close to SMN station and main sites in Florence. - Room was clean, decent and had an AC. - Breakfast was also good. Had a lot of options, especially for a small hotel. - They let me leave my suitcase after I checked out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    good location, it was close to conference venue.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no refrigerator, no room phone, mosquito in the night please dont't expect modern hotel style, there were several hotels in one building. staff will go home before evening. breakfast starts at 8 a.m.

    good location, it was close to conference venue. the hotel staff was kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Cause of the other hotel reservation failed, I booked this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cause of the other hotel reservation failed, I booked this hotel right away. The host is really really nice and offers delicious breakfast. The most important thing is location of hotel, it only take less than 5 minutes to SMN station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is located very conveniently right in front of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows are not sound-proof and it can get a bit noisy in the street. Plan on packing ear-plugs.

    The hotel is located very conveniently right in front of the congress center and at the heart of Florence. The room was very spacious and staff super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    2.5
    Very bad expericence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So unclean with hair all over the place, flush had lroblems i said this to the receptionist and she said this is not a big problem and this is what you paid for. Unfriendly rude staff. Very old rooms, they gave me another room than the one on booking.com, Dust everywhere. Receiption closes at 2 pm if you need anything after you are totally at your own.

    Frankly this was the worst hotel i ever stayed in by all means

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an room facing the street and it was very loud. The windows offer no noise protection so the busses felt like driving through the room.

    Friendly staff. Good breakfast and in walking distance to the city center.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    5.8
    Friendly staff, large bed and room, but old building, hot, and noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building very old, and hotel is on 3rd floor (“2nd” floor in Europe, as the ground floor is “0”). They have an elevator, but again, the building and elevator are quite old. In a very busy, metropolitan part of the city; very noisy at all times of the day and night. Although advertised as “air conditioned”, they don’t turn it on until May 15th, so it was extremely warm in both our room and the hotel in general. Just stepping out the front door into the stairway was about a 15° difference. You could possibly open a window in your room, but you’re right on a busy, very noisy street. TV was slightly larger than a laptop screen.

    Large rooms for Europe, receptionist was very friendly and they provided us with a map of the city upon checking in. Extremely close to train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In bathroom tap and showеr was slack and and stream was thin. We stay 4 nights and second night there are no wi fi.

    Location. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast. Fridge in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely basis room , the one working plug socket in the room came away from the wall when you unplugged anything. The shower was a mere trickle , bed very hard , had to check in at hotel across the road to get into our hotel ?? No drink facilities except for machine in corridor , breakfast basic to say the least . TV remote didn’t work , one of bed side lamps didn’t work - very dissatisfied.

    Staff lovely on the rare occasions they were in the hotel .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak water pressure shower and limited hot water. Also a little noisy through the evening as close to station.

    Convenient location, friendly staff. Decent priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    quite good :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast can be better :) Wider selection would be great.

    Location of the hotel is perfect, it is only 2 mnts walking to station and price level is so good . Highly recommend this place. Rooms are not too big but walls are very high so you feel like staying in a big space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.3
    Great for long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was fairly average but completely fine for a long weekend. Shower was weak but warm enough so again fine for a few days.

    Room was really warm when visited in January and there is a lot of blankets to top up if needed. Rooms are large.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    A most beautiful hotel, friendly staff, would definitely come here again!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At times people outside in the courtyard were yelling and making lots of noise, not just at “party time” of New Years Eve but on the other nights too. I know that probably can’t be helped though as the hotel has no control over that.

    VERY friendly and helpful staff, and I LOVED the room with the high ceilings and the little balcony. Would definitely come here again, alone or as a couple. Location was great too, not entirely central but about a 15 walk from Duomo, all very close. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Good place to stay. Not excellent and not worth the money. It should cost at least 20% less
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed: In a double room a double bed is necessary. Not 2 single beds attached. The noise: new years eve was terrible. There was a loud party downstairs till late during the night. The position in the city: is a nice building but just behind the station. Is not a wonderful spot. The value for money is not that good

    Good breakfast. Kind and helpful people. The building

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Everything was just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to dislike. PERFECT.

    Everything was just perfect. Starting from the location near to SMN station and Florence center, almost all visiting places are withing 20 minute by walk, the staff were excellent, the facilities provided were excellent , the comfort level of room was excellent , the breakfast all were excellent. There is nothing to complaint.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    Great location. Clean facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast can have more varieties such as cold cuts and may be some fruits. Currently too many baked products. The following may not be the fault of the property. People upstairs drag the furniture around all night caused disruptive sleep. Our room faces the street so some noice is audible from our room. Not often but some. If you are a light sleeper, ask for an inside room.

    Location is very close to train station. Easy to find. Front desk ladies are always cheerful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.6
    Awesome location with a large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was down the whole time.

    It was right across the street from the train station and easy to get to. Plus, its in the heart of Florence so getting around is pretty easy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Would definitely stay again without any hesitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Loved everything about this place. Cleanliness,facilities, location, comfort and definitely the staff. So attentive and helpful. The breakfast was wonderful also. Lots to eat. Warm eggs, a variety of pastries... Hope to stay again soon. Thank you!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    The location near Santa Maria Novella Train Station, can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location near Santa Maria Novella Train Station, can walk to leather shopping street and the Cathedral of Santa Maria, nice staffs, clean room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Good value but can be noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too close to the train station & came with it NOISE! Traffic & people on the street.

    Very close to the SMN train station. One street over. Real easy to find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was in need of a better base.

    The staff were very hospitable, always ready to help out with tours etc. the linen always fresh and changed daily. Breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    Would not stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is however, considerable noise from the street at this location and given that all rooms are on one floor the impact is unavoidable. In addition to that I had no hot water in the morning. I let the shower run for a long time, and played with all if the settings, Unfortunately I had to take a cold shower prior to 15 hours of travel.

    Check in great. The staff were informative and friendly, and were of great assistance getting me a cab to the airport very early in the morning,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Pleasable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soap dish in shower area. Balcony could not be accessed. Price for hotel is too high. Same breakfast every day. Had to Collect keys from other hotel reception is for limited hours

    Location near to train station. Alina the receptionist who did everything by herself and very accommodating

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice place and nice people
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is unstable and the speed is a little low. By arrival, we spent a few time figuring out how to enter the iron door(by pressing the ring button outside the building!!!). It will be much helpful by putting some highlighting instructions outside the door.

    As mentioned by others, the hotel is very close to SMN station, no more than 50m. The staffs are very nice and helpful. The breakfast is classic Italian food including bread, milk, tea, cheese, fruit jams, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Location great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was all the mosquitoes i had no idea. not really hotels fault but heads up would have been good i could have brought bug spray straight away. i killed about 10 first night and heard them all night, first thing in morning i got spray but damage to my body was done.

    Location great. Breakfast great. Room clean and tidy. some english speaking channels on tv was nice after so long travelling to zone out for bit watching reruns. Staff nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location, poor breakfast ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No cup in the room, even plastic. No fridge. There is no possibility of making coffee or warming up the water outside the breakfast hours. Breakfast very modest. No parking. Upon arrival, around 23 pm I was sent to the city car park about 10-15 minutes away. No reply to emails sent before arrival. Lack of any information that the surrounding streets are under renovation and that there may be a problem reaching the destination View from the windows almost none. When I arrived, my room "smelled" like old fat oil fries. Old, classic socket did not fit my laptop plugs.

    Very nice and helpful service. Very close to the city center and to almost all attractions. If your favorite breakfast is cornflakes with milk or a roll with jam or cake then I recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Ivan is the greatest host alive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ivan honestly was the best host we had on our three week journey around Italy. He is the kindest man alive and beyond helpful. The fact that we were literally a 2 minute walk from the train station was amazing and we could walk to any major must see in Florence from the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel staff are super kind.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They do not provide any cup in the room. The light in the room is also dim. The breakfast is limited in its variety.

    The hotel staff are super kind. They helped me a lot about my luggage, direction for sightseeings and meals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little chilly at night. There were no tea making facilities.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location for exploring the main sights.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay. The owner is the best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    IVAN CAGLIA the owner is really really nice and kind person. good take care of us and good information. really impressed. so close to the train and subway station good location !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Hotel in a good location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was slightly older than in the pictures.

    The hotel was located in a very convenient location, less than 10 mins walk from the train station and can easily walk to the attractions in Florence. Staff was especially friendly and helpful, giving us good food recommendations. Breakfast was also pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    Best staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge and no electric kettle in the room.

    Staffs at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Especially, Ivan, who were super-friendly and he recommended restaurants nearby and they were fantastic! Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice staying in Florence
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very friendly staff, warm welcome, make you feel very safe in a crazy touristic city as Florence. A Hotel very well located very close to the train station and to the city center. Grazie!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Great service. Good location. Reasonable room rate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness could be better but its not bad bad. The location is a little tricky at night as it was quite dark. I always do a little detour and reach the corner closer to the hotel. I did not feel safe having to walk from the beginning of the lane toward the building which is at another end

    Ivan the host of the house was very hospitable and the location is very close to the train

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Convenient and Comfortable stay in Firenze
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location is very close to the SMN train station and local buses are just around the corner. Most tourist attraction are within 15 minutes walking distance. Ivan and his brother were excellent hosts and ensured we had a comfortable stay. The room was spacious and even had a balcony.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is super close to the S.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, our room is face to the road and it's very noisy in the midnight.

    The hotel is super close to the S.M. Novella train station and the staffs there all are very gentlemen. The room was ready a little bit late ( I think we arrived too early) but the host provided us coffees and give us discount.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.8
    Really cozy hotel and nice service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The windows in my room can not really be opened, so the air quality is not good in my room. Perhaps it's just so close to main station, that's why it is not so quiet in the night.

    Location is great, really near the main station, just 5 min on foot. Ivan is really nice, patient man, he booked museum tickets for me and told me so many useful informations.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel in the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location: Very close to the smn train station (5 to 8 mins max) Building : Located on the 2nd floor of the building, the building has many other hotels Lift: A very old looking lift is on the building but does the job Room : Located on 2nd Floor , Spacious , high ceiling, ventilated and good heating, Decor and looks as seen in the photos of the website. A bit old looking though , potential to become a boutique hotel if the decor is changed We had a balcony to the room Bed : Spacious (Would love some additional pillows) bathroom : spacious and clean Cleanliness : Clean and neat Wifi : Super fast Facilities : TV, Wifi, A/C , Toiletries(coffee/tea maker would have been nice) Check in / Check out : Easy Staff : Very friendly and welcoming Breakfast - Lovely option , croissants, cake, coffee , fruit juices, yoghurt Over all -Nice hotel, good location in Florence(near to all attractions and nice restaurants)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.2
    Friendliest staff ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed had two single mattresses on it and they kept sliding apart. I would recommend to sew mattresses together.

    Breakfast was of very good quality. Nice meat/cheese/bread/yogurts. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Made us feel at home. We will totally be back to stay at this place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.8
    Very helpful and supporting staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is typical for Italy, no hot meals and every day is the same food. But this was not a surprise ;)

    Very helpful and supporting staff. In my opinion the best hotel staff I have seen so far. The guys at reception always wanted to help us and their recommendations were great. We ask for restaurant to eat they recommended the best Italian trattoria I have ever been. When we wanted to have a trip across Tuscany, they show us where to rent a car and what we should visit. And the trip was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Good stay - Owner & brother were really friendly...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Breakfast needs addition of items for improvement. - The wooden floor needs replacement as many marks were present on our room while in other rooms the floor was much better. - Reception closes at 8pm while the owner is available on phone.

    - The owner & his brother were the most helpful and cordial people. - Location was very good (Right next to train station) - Room was spacious - Didn't charge the cancellation charges as one night before coming I had changed my booking as cheaper rooms were available.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    Everything was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We liked everything about the hotel. Which was 2 minutes from the train station and perfect location for anything and everything. We never needed any transport. The most important places to see were only walking distance. Florence city was generally safe, there were lots of polices and soldiers around all the time and they were so helpful and very friendly. When we first arrived our hotel Ivan welcomed us and straight away explained where to go where to eat where to shop etc.in details. He also provided us 2 extra sockets for our chargers and a hairdryer. We really liked the hotels hospitality which was the most important thing and we felt like we were home with happy, friendly,helpfull staff.Breakfast, cleanliness were good for 2 star hotel too.room was warm.there also was a lift which was kind of antique&nostalgic but was doing the job and working properly. Ivan also printed out trains timetable. We didn't need to pay until we leave as Ivan said "there's always time to pay" so guest's comfort is more important than the money for them. If I go to Florence again I definitely will stay here and I'll recommend this hotel to everyone as most of the time you don't get this kind of hospitality,service and friendliness even at 5 star hotels.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    10
    very recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The boss Ivan is very very nice and gentle and helpful. The hotel is clean because of the daily changed towers and so on. And the location is absolutely great!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location next to the train station and in a walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Strange smell in the room on a day of arrival.

    Amazing location next to the train station and in a walking proximity to everything. Very welcoming and helpful manager gave some nice tips for my stay in the city - how to get around the city, where to eat etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.5
    Warm and Welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think this is nearly everywhere we stay in Italy, even the more expensive hotels, BUT WHAT IS WITH THE TWO BEDS JOINED TOGETHER? We requested a double bed and every time, there is a massive crack in the middle of the bed (because it's two single beds joined together) and the mattress slide apart and all over the place! I can't roll over and hug my partner without creating a big crack between the damn bed! And a fitted sheet would probably solve this, especially if the hotel owners didn't want to lash out on a double bed. Do they even have double beds in Italy? Because I haven't slept on a bed that hasn't got a bloody crack down the middle! #rantover. But everything else was lovely and I really do recommend staying here. It's also on the second floor and the only sign in a small gold sign on the building. Make sure you google the location before going. We had no problems but maybe others will?

    The staff were lovely and made our stay enjoyable! I can't get over how nice they all were and the man at the front desk gave us a few tips on Rome (as that's where we were heading next) and warned us of extra expenses we may encounter. 10/10 for the staff. Breakfast was nice, the rooms were okay and the loacation was excellent probably the best so far. It's a couple hundred meters from the main train station which is BRILLIANT. And it's literally a hop, skip and a jump from the hub of old town Florence. We walked everywhere, didn't have to use public transport...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Must stay-Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing is wrong with the property.

    The best place we stayed in our entire trip. Location: opposite to novella train station. Bus stop just outside the hotel. Superstore and some good places to eat present around. Can't have a better location than this. All spots can be done walking from the hotel. Only Michelangelo hill is a bit far but bus no 12,13 will take u there which are available just outside hotel. Excellent breakfast. The host was super friendly,kind,helpful and very welcoming. We surely are staying here again the next time we come to Florence.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    9.2
    Overall, I was very satisfied. Price, service all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a slight sour smell in the bathroom. I received two cleaning services. The first was satisfactory, but the second was very unsatisfactory. The cleaner did not remove any garbage from the room, did not empty the toilet bins, and did not give me a new toilet paper. The cleaning staff cleaned the bed and gave only a new towel. The cleaning staff did not give shampoo, soap, hair cap, or body wash.

    The hotel was located 5 minutes walk from the main station of Florence. I got used to it, so I walked less than five minutes. The station and distance are closer than I thought. When I first entered the hotel I was embarrassed to see the elevator. It was an elevator that seemed to be over 100 years old. It was an elevator that people had to close their doors themselves. There were two hotels on the second floor, one of which was Hotel Duca D'Aosta. It seemed that the man section was operating hourly. One is a little shy and blunt. The rest of you are totally kind. He always greeted you when you left the hotel. I stayed 3 nights and 4 days. I went without expectation because the price of the hotel was cheap. It was not worse than I thought. There was no slippers in the hotel. I think TV is about 17 inches. The TV is small. Many people wrote that they do not have a fridge and hairdryer in the latter days. But it is not true. There was a hair dryer next to the TV. There was a paper with the router name and the password. Open the drawer under the TV and open it again. That's the refrigerator door. I was surprised that I did not feel like a refrigerator at all. The bathroom smelled a bit sour. There was an old shower booth. Soap, shampoo, hair cap and body washes were provided. The first cleaning service was nice as it was all new. But the second reclining service was very disappointing. I just cleaned my bed, and I just got a new towel. The garbage in the room was not cleaned, and the bathroom was not cleaned at all. For example, the cleaner did not empty the trash. And they did not offer soap, shampoo, hair caps, body wash. The hotel does not provide a fountain cup and slippers. When I stayed at the hotel, it was my birthday, and I had free champagne service. It impressed me. At the last calculation, I was impressed because I did not receive the city tax. The internet is very fast. I watched Korean dramas in real time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    7.5
    A value for money stay near the train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building itself is a little bit too old. And the flooring need to be refurbish.

    Superb recommendation and assistance by the staff. The location is so near to the train station so its perfect.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Happy stay / good value / Beautiful Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location, around 4 minutes from the train station. Easy access to all attractions. Hotel is small, but cosy with a very nice and helpfull staff. Special thanks to Ivan, such a great and polite person with excellent english. He told me what to visit and how to get there, got some hints as well, which I found very useful. Really recommend that place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great owner, told us about all worth seeing tourists spots and where the cheapest car parking is. The room was clean and the breakfast was tasty. The bulding has an old elevator which was cool as the whole building itself. Plus the location is really good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Friendly Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I should have booked a room with a double bed. I don't fit well in a twin bed because I toss around a lot!

    Ivan, the manager & owner, was amazing. His English is superb and he bent over backwards to assist me, always greeting me with a smile & buon giorno. Location near the train station is great & room was quiet, which is saying something for busy Florence. Price was a bargain too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Central, small and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some road noise at night.

    This hotel could certainly be classed as a small and friendly hotel. As I arrived I was slightly worried at the courtyard entrance downstairs which looked a little neglected. However my fears were unfounded. The hotel on the second floor was well kept and clean. the main asset though is the friendly and helpful staff who were able to help plan my stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Perfect location, comfortable bedroom and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are very enjoyable when we are staying here. Their Staff are very helful and friendly. There is no problem for late check in. It is prefect location which is near by Firenze.SM.Novella within 5min walking distance. High recommend to whom are want to staying florence.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic value for money! Loved our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I had to be picky, the pillows were a little on the soft side and the breakfast only included cold foods (ie. pastries, cereal and meat).

    The location of this hotel was fantastic! It was extremely close to Firenze SMN train station. Ivan was super helpful and made us feel extremely welcome. His recommendations for things to see, places to visit and restaurants to eat at were all great too!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent small hotel convenient for station and sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall I think this hotel was value for money but perhaps the breakfast could be an area for improvement.

    The staff especially Ivan, were very friendly and helpful. Good location for the station and sight seeing. The hotel has classic elegance especially the lift - quirky but lovely. Excellent value for Florence.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    9.6
    Great stay in Florence
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The sound insulation of our room was quite bad, and we woke up several times at night because of the noise from the street. So if you have such problems, do ask for a room that is not facing the street.

    -friendly and helpful staff; - very clean room; - great location. The "hotel" is at the second floor of a historic building, and we felt like we traveled back in time. It is close to the main railway station. All the city attractions are within walking distance, so we did not even need to use a car or public transportation. Plenty of good restaurants and bars are available nearby; - the facilities are basic, but we did not need more, as we spent the whole day exploring the city; - the breakfast was ok, but could be improved a little bit, perhaps by adding a few home made items; - very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    9.2
    Location is very close to the train station, 5mins walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is very close to the train station, 5mins walking distance. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The room I stayed in was spacious and clean. and bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.5
    Great Hotel and Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It not have a refrigerator which I needed for medication.

    The staff was very upon my arrival by explaining how to get to various sites and most importantly was the direction to a market. The hotel was convenient to meeting points for tours and to the train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    9.2
    The guy responsable of the hotel is extremely nice, he's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy responsable of the hotel is extremely nice, he's exceptional and sweet. He was there for us to give us guidance regarding the needed regions to visit in Tuscany

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    9.2
    A nice staff, a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room doesn't have safe and mimi bar.

    First of all a very close spot to train station. You can go there with a short walk. It also is close the historical centre of Firenze. Ivan is the most thoughtful and helpful staff I have ever met. He really tries to help you have a comfortable time there. He is also very kind. The breakfast was good. The room was the biggest room in our Italy trip. It was a comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    6.7
    Poor Air Conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was squeaky, air conditioner was very week, room was hot. When you know you have someone checking in, you should have the air conditioning running before they get there, especially when it was such a hot week

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel with great service for a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The AC unit was a bit weak and placed too high, but otherwise it worked fine and we weren't sweltering.

    Location is really close to the city center and train station; the breakfast buffet had a big range; rooms and towels were always kept clean; staff is extremely friendly and helpful; rooms are fairly spacious as well. Overall a very pleasant stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.8
    fantastic location, very friendly staff, awesome breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was bit tight for 3 bed! The staircase is right infront of the lift doors and hence one have to be very cautious while getting out of the lift from floors above ground level otherwise there is danger of falling! engineering flaw which can only be managed by being aware of it!

    fantastic location, very friendly staff, awesome breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    Convenient to the bus/train station; great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were treated as guests should be treated. The owners are hands-on, and really like serving their guests. The desk guys went way beyond, helping me return the rental car early. (Hertz was:press 2 for English, then it was all Italian).

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    10
    Absolutely good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolutely suitable for affordable accommodation in Florence. Ivan on reception offered many suggestions - like walking around the corner to the big supermarket to buy lunch (a cheaper option than a restaurant) .We enjoyed the free breakfast - also perfectly adequate.Large room and good bed for a quiet nights sleep. We were able to get off the train , walk around the corner and we were there. The vintage caged lift from the ground floor was novel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    It was a comfortable room with a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been better

    I felt as if I lived in a proper Italian flat

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The hotel is close to the station and Burger King.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to the station and Burger King. Very friendly service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Staff was very good and friendly.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very good and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, good breakfast, friendly staff, clean facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was really friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.9
    All good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old lift

    Good location near American embassy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Very kind hospitality and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very kind hospitality and location. I will make the same choice in my next travel to Florence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful and nice personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and nice personnel. Typical italian city hotel. If we visit Firenze again, we will stay at the same hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Duca D'Aosta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: