Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Duca Del Mare 3 stars

Piazza Dante Alighieri, 58024 Massa Marittima, Italy

#1 of 7 hotels in Massa Marittima

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 444 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, clean, good value hotel, well located with pool and easy parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no real faults, but to be picky the breakfast could be better, but it's adequate.

    well located, quiet, clean, good value for money, with pool, balcony, easy parking, walking distance to beautiful Massa Marittima

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Definitely a room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was so small it was difficult for both of us to be moving at the same time. We were rather surprised by this, and also found that there wasn't really appropriate room for us to put all of our "stuff."

    We had a lovely balcony, and our view was incredible! Everything was clean and worked well. Easy to get to downtown Massa, which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Everything was wonderful, and we were very comfortable staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Armando worked especially hard to help us enjoy our stay in Massa Maritima. We wanted to go to a bicycle shop several miles away, and when a taxi was unavailable Armando drove us there and back in his own car! His recommendations for restaurants were excellent. We highly recommend the Duca dei Mare hotel when staying in Massa Maritima!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    2.9
    Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WI-FI in the room, they give us bed too small ,for 2 adults and 4 year old kid just double bed,it wasn't comfortable at all. Breakfast was very poor at 9:30 am no cheese and ham left ,nobody add some more. Blankets was old.

    Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Couldn't be better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly staff in a lovely comfortable hotel. Great access to Massa Marittima and its lovely hostelries, and only really half an hour from the beaches at Follonica.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Amazing getaway for my husband and I. I really little gem for when you need some adult time away fam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely location, super friendly staff We asked for him and tonic and they took it to the pool for us and to our room. Breakfast at the pool Terrence was the icing on the cake Already planning to go back again next year

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent option for a short visit in Massima Maritima.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Check-in/out went very smoothly. The pool in the property has a good size (even though I only used it during the morning/noon when nobody was there) with shade available. The bar prices seemed reasonable and below average. From the property windows you can observe the glorious Tuscany landscapes, a plus! Overall the hotel is well priced and has good rooms. The breakfast was also very good and it had a nice variety of savoury options, which in Italy (Italians love a sweet based breakfast) is very hard to find (according to my experience). I would definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    Confortabile family room with view over the countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Confortabile family room with view over the countryside. Small but pleasant swimming pool for refreshing in summer days.Excellent breakfast. Good solution for visiting Massa Marittima.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    We would go again but miss breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. The coffee is awful. It's Italy ffs!!

    The view from the front rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Suited our purpose for a short stop on our journey,Massa Marittima was a nice old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift

    Well positioned for a short stay before catching the ferry to Elba from Pombino about 45 minutes away

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    No worked Wi-Fi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No worked Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic location for a wonderful country
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel staff are friendly, welcoming and happy to provide information about where to go & what to see.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Very good stay with beautiful scenery but must have hire car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was green and breakfast was minimal.

    The staff were brilliant and location was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Host
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Host

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Easy access and signage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy access and signage. Great service. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay with excellent staff! Yes you marcel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in room

    The beds were comfy. Enjoyed a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Bike friendly and convenient with easy parking..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very Convenient for the town, easy parking, bike friendly..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    "Great place in Cortona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic views. Great location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    7.5
    I enjoyed my overnight stay, I would recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I enjoyed my overnight stay, I would recommend the hotel. The village is quaint and well worth a visit; there is also a rather nice pizzeria called the ostriches (I think) ... A lovely experience.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.5
    Single rooms DONT have balcony as stated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single rooms DONT have balcony as stated. Staff eventually upgraded for no cost after long discussion

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    8.3
    -free parking on site
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -free parking on site -good breakfast -location

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    Nice Room, nice balcony with perfect view, everything clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing, hope to come again in near future

    Nice Room, nice balcony with perfect view, everything clean!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Browse Duca Del Mare traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: