Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Due Mari 4 stars

Vico Del Coro 18, 16039 Sestri Levante, Italy

#9 of 21 hotels in Sestri Levante

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 51

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast should stay open till 10h30 instead of 10h00

    Great location helpful staff. Bicycles available to cycle around was a great plus and lots of fun

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, very old, too old - needs a lot of refurbishment! A/C didn’t work, ventilator at ceiling was so noisy that we had to switch it off, street noise until 2 am, very loud seagull noise starting with first sunlight at4:30 am. Horrible matraces, tiny little bath room, shower cabin was a joke, overpainted mold in the bath room. No way we want to stay there again!

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the ground floor in a back corner of the hotel and our "view" from our balcony/patio was the hotel garage and driveway - you could smell the exhaust fumes and it was noisy. The tiny corner shower in the bathroom had a very flimsy bottom and would buckle when you stepped on it. Also, the ceiling fan in the room was out of order. It felt like they gave us the worst room in the whole place. Disappointing for such an expensive hotel!

    The hotel decor and grounds were absolutely lovely and elegant. The staff was courteous and helpful, and the complimentary breakfast buffet each morning offered numerous delicious choices! It is located just a stones throw from the beach with many great restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The American coffee could have been better.

    Great location on the Baia del Silenzio. The weather ensured a perfect weekend. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only drawback is a relatively meager breakfast.

    We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The location of this hotel is in a group of buildings near the beach Spiaggia di Portobello. Excellent staff (special thanks to the bartender Marco), cozy room, location - best for this place: as for walking around the city, so for beach holiday. There is an underground parking + at the hotel is a large swimming pool on the first floor. I think this is an excellent choice when visiting Sestri Levante

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small but usable the bathroom was ridiculous it had a bidet that was totally unusable as you could not even get you legs along side the toilet you had to sit almost sideways the shower water either to hot or to cold and the size was tiny ... so badly planned for a small space.

    Location, pool,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ceiling fan in our room was very noisy, so couldn't be used. Despite the fine breakfast, the reconstituted juice was a disappointment. The room cost more than we would normally pay, but it seemed to be the going rate for Sestri Levante. town centre. Sadly, we didn't have a chance during our short stay to use the pool or the restaurant.

    Great location in this beautiful town for getting everywhere we wanted to go on foot: both beaches, shops, restaurants, concert in the monastery, railway station. The hotel is stylish and comfortable, though some parts looked due for renovation. The staff were helpful and polite. The breakfast was a very nice varied buffet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool fowler service didn't equate to style of hotel, not enough towels and people scrambled for them and the guy doing the pool not the same calibro as the rest of the staff who are excellent

    Hotel public area and garden are beautiful with much charm and character , rooms are more spartan.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was in the last floor, the last room. It has been recently renovated and it was airy and the AC worked well. We even had a little balcony. But I suppose it is the last one to be reserved, as it was located at the top of stairs, after the last elevator stop. So, it was dusty. The room was great, amazing, but it needed to be dusted around the bed. Some areas of the hotel are dated, and need to be renovated.

    The best thing about this hotel is location. Between the two beaches, near bars, shopping, old town. Great location. The Wifi was much better this time.... Pool was great, but staff still allows people to reserve chairs while they are at the beach. Staff was great and friendly. They even called us to warn that the police was closing the town for a party and we need to arrive at the hotel before a certain time in order to park at the garage. Breakfast is good. But the waiters get lost at serving too much people at times

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very hard. The first room allocated was dark and overlooked the back of buildings and was unsightly. We asked to be moved and we're given a much brighter room.

    Very helpful staff Good breakfasts

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was terrible and need urgently updating if you are advertising it as having a gym. The machines haven't been updated since the 80's and they don't really work. The indoor pool looks green and smells really badly of chemicals. Overall we just felt underwhelmed. Very dated decor and old appliances that need modernising. Shower leaked and although it was clean to a standard it felt musty and dated. Even the staff uniforms were old fashioned. It was like stepping into the past but not in a vintage way ! Overpriced at £166 per night for what we got.

    The outdoor pool was nice and the breakfast was fantastic with lots of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower small.

    Great location, just 50 yards from the beach and easy walk to local restaurants and shops. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Comfortable bed. Loved all the terraces and pool area which were charming. The whole place had a relaxing and homely atmosphere. Perfect for what we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no outside parking. Secure underground parking is available at 17€ per day, access via a narrow lane.

    The swimming pool was a good size and free. The staff were friendly and gave good service. It is a traditional family run hotel that is very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff sort of treated us like we were idiot ruffians rather than guests paying in full. True, we don't speak Italian, and true, we'd never been there before... and I get the hostility ... but it made me feel slightly uncomfortable throughout our stay to be treated like low-class toddlers. Sorry that we aren't Italian, stuffy, and in our forties to midfifties? This was a purposeful splurge for us and it did not live up to the investment.

    Everything was good, but a bit shabby. We ended up staying here because there were no more rooms left at the Vis a Vis within our budget.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room had a sloping ceiling, and this made the room appear small, and made one side of the bed a little bit restricted.

    Breakfast very good. Staff very helpful. Our room had a balcony which was great for drying swimming gear overnight. The hotel has a side door - to allow easy access back to room if going for a dip in the sea. The Bay of Silence is located just a few meters of hotel, which is a great location for an early morning dip before breakfast. Hotel is very central, and although not next to train station, it is close to a pier which is used for ferry trips to Cinque Terra and Portabello

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bill ! I think it's pretty expensive but perhaps that's Italy. I stayed the week before in a 5* Hotel in Greece full board for half the price.

    The quirkyness, it's like staying in an Art Dealers home and the town of Sestri is a classy place.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were more focused on the regular visitors and larger parties Every morning we were made to wait - we always had to ask for service The decor is extremely cluttering in the lounge area is not appealing and does not give you a cosy comfortable feeling to want to relax there The stair carpet badly needs replacing and declutteted (of the many plastic plants) - the whole place needs to move with the times

    Relaxed atmosphere Fresh linen Excellent food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was a little pretentious and breakfast restaurant staff were not friendly at all. We were afraid to order coffee because we apparently weren't following some process that seemed to change each day depending on who you spoke with.

    Great location and fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing about this hotel we did not like.

    Location was great, staff were friendly, room was clean and bed comfortable, breakfast was good with wide range of food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a problem, but the owner of the hotel was very responsive and on top of things. He fixed the problem immediately.

    The salt water pool was great! Also breakfast was included and delicious. Great location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower ridiculously small and nowhere to put soap, shampoo etc! Housekeeping done in the morning but had no toilet paper when I got back at midnight! Waited ages to sort it! Fridge door handle break and took 2 days to get fixed! Extortionately expensive for a basic room! Wouldn't recommend it!

    The location only!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning centrally managed and not in function on a 30degres hot day. Depressing soft furnishings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for old fashioned small rooms. Noisy and air con not working.

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner not very effective. Otherwise we had a great stay.

    Loved the location and the staff were great, very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing loved it

    Fab breakfasts ,fantastic staff all departments really great, swimming pool was sea water amazing wonderful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness center needed equipment repair.

    Stayed in a suite fit for a king. Beautiful antique furnishings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position, staff ,food , facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tried the indoor pool on a rainy day. It was a bit too cold but still usable.

    Staff was always nice specially the gentleman taking care of the bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was the smallest ever seen, my only complaint. Otherwise perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really find it difficult to be negative!!

    In no way disappointed, made to feel so so welcome!! Will repeat visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Despite signs forbidding reserving sunbeds, it was a daily occurrence apparently condoned by the pool attendant.

    Comfortable room, decent pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Town centre location no views

    The laid'back atmosphere and hands on of the owner

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was tiny and old and leaked

    The location was the best thing about the hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location and a nice welcoming atmosphere. Nice garden and pool area. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only negative to say that our stay was too short

    very friedly staff, great location even in winter, free spa and heated pool, free wlan, free bathrobe for pool, 17 euro parking sounds expensive but is cheap compared to parking somewhere else, hotel inside very charming, breakfast is nice,

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was a lovely hotel, well positioned to a swimming beach and restaurants. There was also some very good walking tracks up into the hills. We really enjoyed Sestri Levante and would recommend Hotel Due Mari

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a superior room. It had outside space but as it was located on the path between the pool and the main building there was little privacy. Room décor was good but the antique furniture was far too big for the size of the room. The bathroom was small and the shower was a tight fit! Waiting staff were disorganised and often unhelpful.

    The hotel's location was very good. Reception staff were efficient and friendly. Lovely pool. Nice gardens. On-site massage. A good selection of breakfast items.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At our arrival, they proposed us a mansard room completely different from the pictures of our booking and never appeared in booking.com. Furthermore, Wi-Fi was not available in our room and air conditioned system was not very good. Finally, it seems an excellent 3 stars or a bad 4 stars.

    Location and staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed here for one week in July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very comfortable, the staff very helpful and friendly and the food very good. An ideal place to stay if you are travelling in this part of Italy.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed in Due Mari for 8 nights; a charming hotel. The personnel is great and you feel really welcome. We had a wonderful seaview from our room. The location of the hotel is perfect with a small beach nearby and several bigger beaches on walking distance. Great hotel breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was typically Italian, which isn't that great. The rooms are small, and the shower is for midgets. Never been into a smaller shower.

    The pool was great and the location is superb.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose this hotel because it said it has a gym. The equipment was poor and dated and the gym was only open limited hours with no flexibility from the hotel staff. The wifi constantly dropped out. We had a suite which was advertised as having a balcony but there was no balcony. There was only one small window so the room was very dark and depressing. Very Fawlty Towers and tired and dated. Stay somewhere else!

    The breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Something is terribly wrong with the breakfast logistics. It took us appr. 20 minutes to get our coffee and tea every morning, and same applied for getting the menu when eating at their restaurant.

    The location is fantastic!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    bad WiFi connection

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Every thing was great no faults staff was very helpful and the food was first classs

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air con could be better.

    Location, close to beach and bar's

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Traditional family run hotel with high standards.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Tacky decor, lack of A/C through the whole night.

    People/Staff were nice.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fresh fruit salad for breakfast would have been great

    Lovely pool

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    the bed was a little to hard.

    good room, great bathroom with spa. the pool area was fantastic, the gym was just what i needed.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was excellent. Swimming pool and sauna work till 8pm. Room is very comfortable and big. You can ask for bathrobes on reception.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 51

Browse Hotel Due Mari traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: