Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Du Lac 3 stars

Repubblica 58, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy

#19 of 21 hotels in Gardone Riviera

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 460 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right in the lake with a restaurant on the walk along lakefront. Not luxurious but nice comfortable room with view and excellent value. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities in the bathroom are all a little squashed in, i.e.; not much room to step out of the shower as the toilet is right next to it! It could also do with hooks on the bathroom door so that you can hang your towel on it. The lady on duty at breakfast could have done with being a little friendlier and cheerful, it doesn't cost to smile!

    The location and the view from our room was lovely. It was good to have discount vouchers for the hotel restaurant. The reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thanks to all people working in Hotel Du Lac. Everyone were so nice. Hotel is just by the phenomenal Lago di Garda. Rooms are not really large, but enough spacious for their purpose, and really clean. We loved breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing that I can think of.

    Generally friendly and efficient. Excellent meals and a 20% discount made them even tastier. Don't miss Lake trips and the cable car up Mount ........ .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was quite a distance away, not secure and a real pain when we left as it was raining. I wouldn't say it was convenient at all.

    Position was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too small TV and limited number of the parking places. We wanted to park close to the hotel and we had to pay 10 EUR extra fee.

    The hotel is in a very good location on the bank of the lake. The view are perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking of car is problematic. Traffic attendants paid by the city council are very strict and tedious, and car parks are not for free.

    Location is great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains. No privacy. Very small rooms. Pets left in the rooms

    The staff were very nice and the restaurant food was lovely. However the rooms were terrible. We had a corner room but we couldn't open the curtains as the only blind could only be described as a huge piece of blackout plastic. When we open this people from adjoining properties could see directly into our room, including the bathroom which didn't even have grained glass. Although the room was clean it was extremely small. Also even though we love dogs I didn't appreciate that the people next door went out and left their dog in the room which whined and cried all morning

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lake view from bedroom window and balcony was beautiful. Lake Garda Ferry jetty on doorstep. Great location for Gardone Music Festival. We watched Elbow. Fantastic!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was 30+ degrees the week I arrived but the hotel's a/c didn't go on until 14th (one day earlier than the stated 15th June) which meant that the first night it was far too hot to sleep. I was woken every night around 1.30-2am, due to noise, possibly from night-staff. The area itself is very very quiet at night so I was puzzled by this. I hang wet towels up in the bathroom for them to dry. Each day they were neatly folded up again - it looks nice (and initially I thought they'd been changed) but means they are damp/wet the next time you want to use them. A safe would be a great addition to the room.

    The bed was super comfy. The room's are spacious with a place to store your suitcase/s. My room overlooked the square, to the side of the hotel, but still had a tiny bit of the lake visible. The room had a good amount of hangers, black-out curtains and an opening window. There were power sockets next to the mirror (yeehar!)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many Germans bringing about a non-Italian atmosphere. Breakfast hall so silent feels like at funeral. My room faced the backside, though the street that ran below was not unpleasant.

    A moderate place to stay in the very central part of Gardone, right on the lakeside. Breakfast good. Spacious bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms old fashioned, too small and uncomfortable. The air con didn't work. Not much food out out for breakfast. We had a 20% voucher for food in the hotel but the staff didn't accept it. Counts wait to leave!

    We' were discounted for the extra night we booked but did not use

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    once you enter the hotel you'll notice that the staff at the reciption were extra friendly and tried to make you comfortable. The rooms were comfy, the aircondition is not working and when I asked about it they informed me that they start switching it on from June, but anyway I didn't need it as the weather was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location next to ferry terminal. Beautiful views from balcony across the lake. Breakfast and evening meals were good. Hotel a little tired. If arriving by car you can park outside Grand Hotel to unload luggage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was a serious disappointment. We should have been allowed to eat outside. No fresh fruit. No cooked option not even boiled eggs. No marmalade which given the very high % of british people was very disappointing. The croissants were good but the rolls were dry and flaky.

    The front desk staff were extremely helpful. We liked the free parking for the time we were there, but it would be useful to know in advance that one has to drop ones luggage in the Grand Hotel forecourt.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is terrible in the rooms. Stable only in the main area. All beds are twin beds. If you ask for a queen, you will get two twin beds pushed together. Somewhat rundown; not well maintained. Breakfast isn't great - cold items - pastries, meats, cheeses. Bathroom is very small compared to what you'd get in North America.

    About what you'd expect for inexpensive hotel (if you didn't pay extra for balcony). Right on the water & in downtown area. Room is small but clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel in need of renovation. Eg, very old lift, room decor needs updating, room needs flat screen TV, ensuite needs modern touches. More and better selection at breakfast.

    Excellent location by the lake. Friendly staff. Free wifi.Reasonable value for money.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms/bathrooms could be cleaner. Some beds not in a good condition. Restaurant staff not very friendly/pleasant/helpful.

    Definitely location - wonderful! Lobby of the hotel, restaurant design. Wonderful view of the lake.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are basic but reasonable at the price you pay

    Amazing location with wonderful views. Used this hotel the night before my wedding and was superb

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated but clean, comfortable and functional.

    Excellent location, and good restaurant with 20% discount to hotel guests. Lake view rooms are fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain at all

    Very pleasant location and the dinner and lunch was outstanding..even if u stay in the near by hotels u shld never miss having a dinner or lunch at du lac..wonderful food and staff..very warm people..

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to lake ferry

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast mediocre, expected better choice and service. Parking was hard to find.

    Lovely location, great food at restaurant, lovely view and balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A double bed would have been nice

    Great location beside the lake.Lovely walks quiet at night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe they could think about some renovations in the future.

    Position and panorama are amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggled with finding parking

    Good view, simple but efficient

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Small (shower) bathroom and dacor slightly tired.

    Fabulous lake-side location, with front balconies.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only wished buses ran later to the resort as had to get a taxi

    Value for money, basic room and breakfast was more than adequate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would book again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system.

    Location,friendly staff, food quality and price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty cold in the room, the blanket was poor

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic. Ready sliced cheese and cold meats. Machine for coffee.

    Location and terrace balcony

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No garage, no parking place in front or near the hotel

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool Terrible breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking on site, is a 5 minute walk... But that is the same for every hotel on the lake.

    Beautiful lake view room, good breakfasts.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was tiny. Really tiny.

    The view from the balcony out over the lake. The food is superb.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WOULD LIKE KETTLE IN ROOM TO MAKE HOT DRINKS

    YOU GOT WHAT IT ADVERTIZES,CLEAN ROOMS, STAFF EXCELLENT, VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got fine for parking car while offloading bags!

    Lovely location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast - had better at less expensive hotels.

    Staff were very helpful, especially at Reception. Staying at the hotel gives 20% discount of food eaten at Resturant. Ask for a Gada Discount booklet and card. Location excellent- almost adjacent to ferry stop.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi ,no airport shuttle despite it being advertised on Booking.com?.and when I contacted B.C I was told I could get a taxi??? Beds uncomfortable and hotel is tired , mould on shower

    Location

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having arrived early, were told to wait (as indicated at reservation) until 13:00 for our room to be available, but at 13:30 it turned out it was still not ready. We could take another room, smaller, but still with a lake view, which we did (and in the end we paid a lower price), but it was less comfortable (tiny shower, and mush smaller balcony). The staff was helpful (we needed their intervention to switch off the noisy air-conditioning at night) but often hard to contact as they were busy at the restaurant.

    Nice view of the lake from the room balcony, especially early in the morning when the bustle at the lake shore has died down.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi is very bad. Only, early Sunday morning when the lobby is empty for people, it is possible to connect and use it. At the room, I was thrown off because of slow connection. It's a typical southern European attitude, that it is an available service, they like to advertise, but 'it's not supposed to actually function' This hotel should not be allowed to be certified by wifi!

    Nice staff and food

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of pool as temperatures soared to 34F. Music at local bars quite loud at night.

    Wonderful views from veranda in room. Excellent location by ferry port. Helpful staff. Good continental breakfast selection. Discount of 20% in hotel restaurant and pizzeria.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing much to complain about, but the wifi was bad. Showed a connection, but didn't work.

    The staff was so nice, showed us where to park for free, where to go sightseeing and so on. And of course, gave us discount vouchers to lunch/dinner both days and for the boat. Good food at the hotel restaurant, and the location couldn't be better!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything.. staff were extremely lovely and food was beautiful.. we got discounts on the resteraunt and the ferry which was brilliant absolutely beautiful hotel and location loved every minute and stayed 2 weeks

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom was dated and uninspired. For the money, it should and could have been bright and inviting, it was drap and colourless. The barely visible-from-the-bed TV, high up on the wall was broken; although the volume worked. I killed four mosquito's with the first 30 minutes. I feared there were more. The bathroom was clean and a nice size. I appreciate a bidet. Sadly the air condition unit perched on the wall sounded like a helicopter landing. The breakfast was dreary and unimaginative. I asked to sit outside with the lakeside view I thought I had paid for the privilege to enjoy but was shuffled off to a darkened room to the side of the building with view hidden by nets. No imagination or consideration of the guest experience is considered. People were cheerful enough but I suspect collectively stunned into semi-silence by the pallid atmosphere. The breakfast was cheap and unacceptable. It has parking which we appreciated. The village is lovely as is the surrounding countryside. We loved our stay in the town but left Hotel Du Lac at a trot.

    Fantastic location with lovely views, that sadly I couldn't enjoy through the heavy nets strung up to hide the uninspiring breakfast area. I enjoyed the quiet too.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Softer pillows would be great but not a major problem - a matter of choice.

    The hotel has a great location, friendly helpful staff and is good value for money. The restaurant is fine and visitors have a number of other eating establishments to choose from within close walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms very basic, could do with tea/coffee/ facilities. Breakfast was very limited.

    The location was perfect !

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would love some fresh fruit in the morning.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV was very old and small

    Location was excellent and bar was cheap for the area

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location. Best to get a room with a balcony

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location & View of lake, Great

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from the seaside balcony was incredible and the breakfast was much better than you would expect in Italy

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The air con was not that great but the weather was very hot so that didn't help matters.

    Central location Excellent view of lake from balcony.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking and the wifi is very week in room and the air conditioner is not that cool

    The location was okay but no parking

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    parking problem, air condition

    location, view on the lake

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small bathroom

    Beautiful lake-view

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor choice of foods.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Excellent location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast was awfull each morning and decor dated and worn

    Situation is perfect and very clean

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: