Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Duodo Palace 4 stars

Calle Minelli San Marco 1887/1888, San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy

#76 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 996 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is pricy compared to similar hotels outside of Venice, but this is to be expected due to location and being in Venice. Breakfast was a limited in comparison to most other hotels i have stayed in, and the breakfast room felt crampt.

    Room was nice, large and with a decent bathroom. It was kept clean and serviced well. Breakfast is optional and there are a number of lovely cafes where you can get alternatives. The location and setting are amazing. Very easy to get anywhere in Central Venice. Restaurants and facilities nearby are great too, provided you know what to avoid.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few of the small details are poorly done. For example the bathroom had holes in tiles. The closets had black modern screws showing on white cabinets. Not very luxury nor expected in a Michelin Four-Star hotel.

    Especially enjoyed the atmosphere. It felt like we were in the fifteenth century except for the wonderful air conditioning in the room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning - so it was way too hot.

    The location was great, less than 10 mins to water bus in the center but just off the street so it was quiet too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked a double bed room and we got 2 single beds next to eachother. We have asked many times for a double bed but no solution. We had to spend uncomfortable 2 nights.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that disappointed me was no tea making facilities in the room, however my daughter was quite happy to go down each morning and bring up a tray of coffee and tea. But I think tea making facilities would be very good.

    Room was good, excellent size, décor good very traditional Venetian. All the staff were very helpful Beds comfy very quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Canal View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in the room would have been excellent for a early morning coffee or tea.

    Room was an excellent size, bed was very comfy. The staff were very helpful. Bathroom was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    3 nights like in shrine: poor lightning in the room, dark decoration of the room, cool whatever the conditioner showed. There was no curtain in the shower, plenty of water coming on the floor (should I clean their floor each time after shower!? Or do not use shower?), all towels were wet due to this. Breakfast - it's unbelievable in 4 star hotel, the first time of my traveling experience, just poorer than continental breakfast. And all of this for 171 EUR/night??? I believe, I'll stop traveling there.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly was not bothered by a thing. Great Hotel!

    I loved the space we had! It was by one of the bigger rooms I have reserved in Europe. We had a King size bed and were greeted with a complimentary bottle of Champagne and basket of fresh fruits. The location was fantastic. The staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Roof Top View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast includes many things supposedly, but they will not bring you anything that it is supposedly included unless you specifically ask for it... So you end up ordering extras that should have come for free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't have kettle for tea/coffee in room. Have to purchase tea from kitchen downstairs.

    Older classic property but well-maintained and updated (Keep in mind, Venice is an old city). Clean comfortable. Staff was helpful and friendly. Located between Rialto and San Marco which is convenient. Close to Fenice theater. Property is at end of street. It has a canal entrance if needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a little too much furniture in the room. A table and chair too much. The weather was very cold in Venice and so it was lovely to come back to a warm room but couldn't control it ourselves, it was controlled from reception and we never quite got the level right.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room and bathroom were lovely. Fluffy robes and slippers were a nice little extra.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small and reaching there is a daunting task as there are no cars only water taxis, but they are expensive. So this was really difficult to reach there.

    The hotel room was super awesome. The room ambience was very nice. The staff was helpful and friendly. Room service was good and kitchen staff was really helpful. As fas as room was concerned, it was Ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average, ok but you feel it should be a bit better given the grandeur of the hotel.

    Decor is really grand with fabric wall paper in our room matching curtailns, furniture and bedding and big chandeliers in the halls. We paid extra for a balcony canal view (best room in the hotel) well worth it. The staff are very helpful and we were sent a bottle of fizz in an ice bucket on the house on our first night! Lovely location just 7 minutes walk from Rialto Bridge and 5 mins from Piazza San Marco.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The canal on which the hotel is located is very narrow so having a canal view doesn’t mean very much other than peering down with your head out of the window to get a glimpse of the water. The reception staff were not attentive or pleasant. They seemed to avoid eye contact and never made any effort to be friendly. The breakfast staf spoke limited Italian and limited English. Each day we were asked our room number when taking breakfast at least 3-4 times. At 10.20 one morning my husband ordered scrambled eggs and at 10.30 the waiter returned to say that the kitchen closed at 10.30.

    Lovely rooms in a quiet central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was rock solid and pillows were so so hard. No tea and coffee making facilities is a joke at this price. Heating was rubbish

    Bathroom was lovely. Love having a robe and slippers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hydromassage in my bathroom didn't work, the bathroom's socket didn't work. The room was big but the pictures were much better than the actual room. Plus, I asked for a room with a view (I booked the room 4 months before my journey) and they gave me a room with a wall view. I can't believe that all rooms with a view were already booked.

    The bed was incredibly comfotable and very big. I really liked the location of the hotel, very close to Piazza San Marco. The staff were okay, I can't say they were extra kind but they weren't rude.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is excellent, THE best hotel we have stayed at, nothing was too much trouble from start to finish, the collection from the airport to the whole stay was brilliant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was standard, but really not worth €10/person. The shower was awkward, but the furnishings were nice, as was the bathroom.

    Very nicely decorated in the era of which the palace existed long ago. It’s in a very good location near many sights, but secluded enough to be quiet. The staff were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no coffee making facilities and the room was far too warm at times, but easily sorted by opening a window though.

    The room was full of character and well decorated. The location is close to St. Marks square (easy to walk to), plenty of restaurants and cafes are nearby. The hotel is full of Venetian character. It is tucked down a side street and so also has a quiet location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Well located hotel with friendly staff. Hotel is spotlessly clean and bedroom is very nice. Breakfast is very good value with good choice. Water taxi from airport drops you at the canal entrance to the hotel where the concierge will assist with retrieving the luggage from the boat. A perfect way to arrive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is little bit small (because the bathroom is so spacious), not really soundproof, I asked for electric kettle (they gave me right away) but it was still dirty so I need to wash it many times before using it.

    Center location, beautiful room, comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, big bathtub, excellent staff service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hit with a tax on top of booking amount when you pay at the hotel when you leave.

    Lovely Room and Bar Staff very nice. Just remember they hit you with tax payable in addition to your payment for the hotel when you pay for the booking at the hotel when you leave. Apart from that very nice stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't dislike anything as such but . . Breakfast room was quite compact - lots of hushed conversations!! Shower control and taps bit awkward in middle of bath.

    Booked through both hotel and Booking.com but nevertheless staff were able to keep us in the same (upgraded) room. Location was perfect. Staff pleasant, especially night porter who was very helpful and informative (re: history of hotel and area)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower leaked over bathroom. TV remote did not work plus TV channels poor. No tea coffee facilities. Expensive (but worth it)

    Would have given 10 out of 10 apart from a few maintenance problems - see below

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic old Venice building, great location, staff was wonderfully helpful. Breakfast was delightful and very complete - pastries, meat, cheese, yogurt, eggs, beverages. Could walk to everything. Would stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very out dated, and had a horrible mold odor to it. I had to sleep with the bathroom door closed it was that bad. The staff at check in where great, but after that, not so much.

    The hotel is very secluded, which is wonderful and hidden in a gem of a neighborhood with plenty of quant shopping and dining options. The staff was friendly and courteous, and the rooms nice and good sized.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were initially booked into was terrible and really was not the standard expected for the price. It was musty and simply stank. We requested a move and after spending the first night in that room we were given a different room. It took way too much arguing to be moved and a number of the staff were unpleasant. (Note that if we hadn’t be relocated we would have sought different accommodation).

    The hotel is well located in easy walking distance to some great restaurants and shopping and not that far from ferries which we used widely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Venice is a most touristic place I ever been too, so don't expect to see the friendliest staff anywhere. Breakfast wasn't very impressive

    Location was good, walking distance to all the main attractions in Venice, The room was nice having all the facilities needed Size of the room bigger than other hotels

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer was awful. Euro outlets in room did not accept Euro plugs except one in the entrance hall. Made it hard to charge phones.

    Good breakfast, good location, good staff, good room. Very happy. Would book again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been better, as it wasn't ideal having to do things yourself

    Very nice traditional hotel with great character, highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift!!!! A four star hotel need to have a working lift!

    Located close to the center of San Marco it is easy to walk and explore the Island and if one get to tired to carry on one can get a Gondola to drop one at the boat entrance to the Hotel....this came in handy! The room were lovely, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little difficult to find. Signage in the plaza should be larger. Maps should be larger print for sight seeing seniors. Hire a porter for thirty euros to take two big bags to hotel from the pier. A long walk up and down 100 stairs and 25-30 min walk from the San Marco,pier. Bring a flashlight for dark streets in the evening.

    Breakfast was lovelyfor 10 euros each.The coffee was wonderful and hot.Cooked fresh eggs were piping hot. The pub was a great place to meet new friends. What a lovely quiet spot for sleeping yet close to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was much smaller than expected, no shelves for clothes and we had to step over our suitcase to get around the room

    Central location. The breakfast was great value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator was not functioning while it was an important reason for us choosing this hotel. The bathtub did not have anti-skidding bottom making the shower somehow risky. Finally, the staff for breakfast was not friendly becoming aggressive when we elected not to use the table they wanted us to use.

    The location was excellent as it was easy to reach all that we wanted to visit/ The room was wonderful in size and furniture.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find any negative.... We were cheap and took the Alilaguna and walked back streets to hotel- first time in Venice caught us a bit off guard - standing water on many streets! Advice? Spend the little bit extra for private water taxi- we did when we left for the train... HIGHLY recommend!

    I travel 30+ days a year for work, another 20+ for vacations and personal travel - this hotel is in the Top 1% of all hotels I have ever stayed in. The decor and amenities are top notch. I plan to find one of those pillows and purchase for my home. Location was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    difficult to find the first time (possibly because its venice and there are no cars but it is in the center of sam marco).

    The hotel was spacious and clean and also very quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small which wasn't an issue but the bathroom had been built into the room so there was a different ceiling height which spoilt the shape of the room.

    Great location and rooms decorated in traditional Venetian style.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wished there was an expresso/coffee machine as well as some tea bags. It would have also been nice to have a full length mirror. Lastly the pillows were not that comfortable.

    I loved the size and decor of the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could offer a little bit more, than it would be perfect.

    The hotel was very nice and the stuff was more than friendly. Everything worked perfect. We did appreciate fruit and wine in our room, very attentif.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It exceeded expectations.

    Everything - location, staff, breakfast, cleanliness .... there was even a mural on our bedroom ceiling! Romantic and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area was small, food selection was less compared to similarly priced properties stayed in during the same trip in other main cities.

    Well appointed rooms, good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room was just around the corner from the lift and next to the cleaners store room which meant it was a little noisy in the morning but not too much.

    Staff were very friendly and always very helpful Breakfast was a little expensive at 10 euros per person per day but probably would've been cheaper to book the room with breakfast. It probably costs more than that to get a decent breakfast outside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect.

    Duodo Palace has been in Michelen Guide every year since 2007. It's one of the most charming and elegant hotels I've ever stayed at. The desk persons were also concierge. I had made an error on a concert reservation, booked a night after our stay in Venice, but they fixed it with a quick call. The hotel offered a free tour to a glass factory on the island of Murano. Signoretti has been in operation since 1346!!! We were taken there (and back to Venice) on a water taxi, which is a lovely way to get around.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is a bit tricky to find so make sure you have a map, its down a passage way if you are on foot, if you go by taxi you can get dropped off right outside the hotel reception as they have an entrance from the canal.

    Hotel location is excellent, 10 minutes from St Marks and about 15 minutes from Rialto. Hotel is authentic, clean and well run, breakfast is basic but reasonable cost. Excellent restaurants nearby, try Rafael restaurant which is the only place we found that has tables right by the canal (see photo, this view was from my table at dinner) so you can eat lunch or dinner and have gondoliers floating by, little expensive but the experience is well worth it! For good food at reasonable prices try Rosa Rossa.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ended up with an attic room good views of the sky unless I stood on a chair and no lift to the attic area. That said it suited me but others might see it as problem. Location was lovely quiet.

    It was friendly and the afternoon tea went above and beyond with warm cakes. It's a quirky place a bit regal and typical of Venice. I really liked it and the rooms were particularly large.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Make sure you research directions on how to find the hotel before you travel. Although part of the hotels charm is the fact it is tucked away out of sight and sound of the hustle & bustle of Venice, the signs are small and easily missed. Could have done with a welcome booklet in the room explaining a few things such as price of mini-bar.

    Beautiful hotel, tucked away down the back streets of Venice, perfectly situated, 5 minutes walk from San Marco square & Ponte Di Rialto. The hotel was immaculate, very clean and comfortable, the rooms were beautifully renovated with original murals on the ceiling of the room. The staff were friendly and happy to help with any questions we had, including recommendations of restaurants and tips on Gondola trips and directions. Overall, a fantastic stay. I would highly recommend this hotel for a 1 or 2 night stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Roof Top View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillow on the extra bed is low and uncomfy. The safe doesnt work. There was a small cockroach in the room. Given the price paid, i would expected a 4 stars hotel service but i think the cleaniness needs to be improved for it to be a 4 stars hotel. Despite these minor things, Its generally a nice hotel.

    The breakfast is nice and reasonably priced. It serves from 7 to 10:30 so i can get up either early or late. The staff is helpful. Bathroom is clean except the bath/shower space is a bit limited. The location is very convenient. Everything is stocked up and I didn't have to ask for anything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of an iron, could only pay for an ironing service, none supplied free of charge

    Amazing location, great little hotel work pleasant stay and great features in the rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are arriving by the boat and not a private taxi the hotel is quite a walk only if you have a lot of luggage. I would recommend arriving via San Marco as opposed to rialto as there is likely just one bridge to lug your bags over. No full shower.

    Highly recommended. Great location. Beautiful large room with a balcony overlooking one of the many canals. High ceilings. Quiet. good wifi, clean beds, friendly staff. nice vintage lobby with a water taxi stop. Short walk to San Marco or Rialto or many of the quiet back alleys of Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice to stay here, the staff very helpful, the hotel a little bit hardly to find, but the hotel has a very nice river view, and very beautiful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Roof Top View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find at first - a good map is an absolute must before going!

    Location was great! Breakfast was very good with lots of variety, catering more to foreigners. Staff friendly and helpful. Very clean, spacious room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Roof Top View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced due to the demand in Venice at this time of year and taking advantage of its location which is good for the hotel but expensive for customers.

    Location good. Very helpful staff. Room comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower room was easily flooded and the air-con could not be turned off inside the room (only by contacting reception to turn off or on)

    Comfortable bed with very decorative rooms. Romantic hotel on the water in an excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ok. Facilities not meeting expectation. No water boiler, need to go to reception to get toothbrush, no room service. Not value for money. Very average hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff is not friendly...at all! They answer and act with minimal effort. The breakfast is very poor, you have to boil your own eggs for example in a machine that makes them pop so you have no luck if you like boiled eggs. Also the whole selection of food for breakfast is very weak.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, just a 5 min walk to St. Mark's Square and the rooms are nicely designed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath had shower attachment, but no shower curtain or attachment for shower head - hence no way to take a shower!

    Excellent location. Property has character and charm. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closes at 11 which seemed a bit early considering how late everyone eats. The only return transfer option offered was €140 which considering to just get a water taxi is €110 was a bit steep. (We took the water bus for €30) upon check out it seemed the gentleman on reception was less than impressed I wanted to pay the city tax in cash (I'd pre paid the room already) and made a big deal of telling his col-worker I wasn't using visa so could he open the till. €9.... I waited for my €1 change just to show I understood!

    This hotel was in an amazing location, close to st marks and the main boat bus to the airport. The theatre in the closest square provided some great attractions. Check in was quick and easy and our room was available early which was great. Mini bar was not over the top pricing. You can walk everywhere from here and within a couple of minutes be drinking coffee in a quiet square. Rooms amazing clean and the high ceilings add a bit of charm. Lovely soft bath robes in the room too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Google maps directions takes you to the front door which you cannot get it. It was a little hard to find but once you did it was fine.

    It was perfect Italy feel/decor. The staff was great. Breakfast was ok. Rooms are big, bathrooms were great. Lots of restaurants and shopping around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price was a bit expensive.

    Hotel is well located to Piazza S. Marco and La Finece Opera as well as other sites. Good restaurants close by. Enjoyed the breakfast . Staff at breakfast and desk were always helpful and pleasant. Hotel, while close to tourist sites, was at a very quiet location. Room and bath were fresh and clean. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea or coffee in rooms.

    Loved Duodo Palace! Character, charm and perfectly located in Venice. Walk to everything. Very obliging staff to assist in every question. Loved being woken by the gondoliers collecting the rubbish singing opera... unforgettable experience..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air didn't work, keep turning itself off and room was very dark. Hotel was a distance from station not knowing how to get there, be careful of water taxi they charge you a fortune. Would be good when booking that your given advice on ferry and map to get to hotel.

    Friendly welcome drink Room comfortable Clean and spacious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No porter service proper to the hotel that could help the clients with their luggages at least from the main stations like San Marco piazza

    The suite was adorably nice. High ceiling red furnitures. View on the little canal

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parte del personal era poco servicial o poco entrenado. Uno de ellos, despectivo incluso. Me dieron in mapa con letra chica e incompleto/ Some staff was untrained and other even despective. They gave a map of the city hard to read and incomplete.

    Era limpio / Clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We would have liked glasses made from glass in the room rather than flimsy plastic throw away ones, but that is a minor detail. The transfer from the airport to the hotel is incredibly expensive but at least an easy way of getting there. I would not have given much for our chances of finding it on our own!

    The hotel is situated just round the corner from the Opera House, and on a small back canal, so is very quiet. We had to ask for the air conditioning to be turned off as it was very noisy. However, the windows opened and it was a very quiet location so that was fine. The breakfast was fine for me, but it was only continental, with no hot food except for eggs to boil yourself. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was fine.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hairdryer was rather feeble and it would have been nice to have had tea/ coffee making facilities but these are preferences which would not stop us booking again

    Great location, quiet but well positioned for all the main sights. Spacious, spotless and comfortable bedroom plus well stocked bathroom. Room overlooked the canal so we could watch the Gondoliers float by. Staff very helpful and we enjoyed the complimentary drink at the bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was clear that the room I stayed in was made into an "extra" room from cutting the room below it in half. My room was on the second floor, but in order to get there, you had to take the elevator to the second floor and then climb another set of stairs to get up to my door, so it was actually between the second and third floors. Once inside, the ceiling was so low, I was unable to stretch above my head unless I was sitting down. I am 5'10" tall and the ceiling measured about 6'4". While showering, I actually could not stand in the tub because the tub is raised several inches, and if I stood, I would have hit my head on the ceiling, which made for a very awkward shower. The room was lovely, and if I was a few inches shorter, it would have been great. I'm glad my husband was not with me, otherwise he wouldn't have been able to stand in the room.

    The location close to San Marco was perfect. It was a maze to get to the hotel from the train station, because the entrance is tucked behind other buildings, but there are signs to guide you once you get close. The room was clean with great amenities. It was also much quieter than I expected. The staff was very polite and helpful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we had some smelly drains in our room. Not sure if this is just a feature of Venice or not?!

    Great breakfast, clean room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't fall for the "room assigned on check in" spiel. They claim you can get from standard and up but I doubt the standard is the room in the basement we got assigned. It felt like we were underground. The bathroom didn't have a shower! Only a tub with no shower head holder. It's never even happened to me before.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A fabulous location in a quiet close in the heart of Venice. The staff were very happy and always available, a wonderful breakfast with a lovely selection, even prosecco! I will definitely return, best hotel I've stayed in Venic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairdryer in the room! Not very powerful :-(

    Great position, great staff. Breakfast was lovely. Elegant hotel and the suite rooms were very comfortable with a view over the rooftops and looking down on the canal! A perfect break. Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge staff was very helpfull and good. We book a standart room but they upgrade it to junior suite.The room was big with real high ceiling and it was near the canal so we can hear music from gondollas. Breakfast was satisfying. The hotel locations is very good, it is in the center you can walk every where.So we can recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You cannot adjust the temperature or ON/OFF function of the air conditioning system yourself. You have to call the reception for any changes to it. It is open 24/7, but it would still have been nice to be able to change it yourself. Slightly noise from the other rooms. During the night I could hear my neighbor snore.

    Great great breakfast!! Soft boiled, fresh eggs, pancakes, rye bread, baguette grain, flatbread, yogurts, cornflakes, gluten free cereal, prosecco, jams, cream cheese, etc..... Just loved it! Best breakfast I have had in a hotel for a long time. GREAT location!! Right in the center and by the main bridge to access other parts of Venice. Best staff - so friendly and helpful with everything.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable room. Small, but for one traveller with little luggage this was no big deal...and the bed was huge! I very much enjoyed having a hot bubble bath. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tub in the bathroom was supposed to be a sauna tub but the jets weren't working. The hotel has a tiny bar and no restaurant for dinner or lunch. You can order some snacks (frozen pizzas or toasts) and eat in the "dining room" but it's not a full restaurant service.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room extremely quiet and dark at night! Friendly service, clean room and bathroom. Breakfast was quite good although the variety was small compared to other hotels. There was cheese, ham, coffee and juice, eggs (only hard boil or soft boiled that you had to make yourself, other kinds were at an extra charge), cake, little croissants (3 sorts) and breads, cereal and small pancakes. More than enough though. Good location to San Marco square and the grand canal, a good 30 min walk from/to train station (if you don't get lost) and with a lot of going up and down bridges (not practical with a rolling suitcase).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast could be richer, no hot water in the sink, you cannot change the temperature in the room by yourself

    Location is great, 3 minutes to San Marco and Vaporetto, excellent friendly and professional stuff, very nice quiet room

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Duodo Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: