Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Duomo 3 stars

Vicolo Di Maurizio N 7, 05018 Orvieto, Italy

#8 of 34 hotels in Orvieto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 761 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    The size of the room for a small hotel in an old building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room for a small hotel in an old building was very good, as was the outstanding view of the Duomo from it. The couple running the hotel were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant location Small simple property .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location Small simple property . We stayed in the junior suite with a small balcony overlooking the Duomo. Perfectly adéquate for a two night stay in beautiful Orvieto. The couple who own it are helpful and friendly .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are a bit firm.

    This was our second stay at Hotel Duomo and again it was lovely. We stayed in the main building this time. These rooms are big and comfortable. The staff are very nice and they serve a simple but delicious breakfast buffet. There is a nice courtyard to sit in and have a drink served from their little bar. The hotel is very convenient to all the sights in Orvieto. We love Hotel Duomo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.8
    A friendly hotel in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated in an area where only residents cars are permitted. We needed guidance from the staff on what to do.

    The family run hotel is situated right in the centre of town. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    The stay were friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay were friendly and very helpful. Great suggestions and booking a dinner reservation. Fabulous location right in the centre close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Spacious, clean rooms with lovely artwork. Excellent, helpful staff. Private parking. Nice breakfast. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    A good choice for Orvieto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only problem with the hotel would be noise. It is very easy to hear what is going on in rooms around you.

    The Hotel Duomo is a family-run small hotel located right next to the Duomo itself. The facilities were good and we very much enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Quality hotel experience close to the best sights in Orvieto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Our room was large and comfortable. Our small balcony and windows had a side view of the Duomo. The staff made reservations for us at two very good restaurants. The location was perfect for visiting the sights in this delightful city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    The hotel is located near by Dumo and convenient walk around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    it difficult to find the way to hotel by car. Load is too narrow.

    The hotel is located near by Dumo and convenient walk around the twon. Breakfast is nice with excellent cutlery.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel Duomo is the perfect location for spending time in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel Duomo is the perfect location for spending time in Orvieto. It is just steps from the church, the shopping district and wonderful food, but it is quiet. We found this hotel to be a comfortable and friendly place to stay with a delightful breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Tucked off to the side of the Duomo on a quiet side street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing; it was perfect.

    Tucked off to the side of the Duomo on a quiet side street while just steps from the main square. Wonderful breakfast and dining room. Exceptional artwork in the lobby. Clean and comfortable bedroom with private balcony that included a nice partial view of the Duomo.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Orvieto hotel with modern amenities right next to the Duomo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nil

    The hotel was right next to the Duomo and very convenient to access. The room is very modern and the facilities were very up-to-date. Parking was a breeze from the door-steps of the hotel. Some reviews here show the correct route in - not the Google-map or GPS. Orvieto was not crowded despite being the weekend and there was a nice sense of calm and serenity. The hotel was in an excellent location for most restaurants and amenities. Breakfast was ample and pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location. Reasonably Priced. Super clean. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is ideal. Room was quiet, comfortable, attractive and reasonably priced. Staff gave great driving directions, and then parked/retrieved our car for us easily. Great choice for us!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Staff were friendly and helpful and the location couldn’t be better. Our room was spacious and contained interesting artwork,as did the lobby. It is within steps of the Duomo and near good restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Very comfortable slept like a log.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower stall was on the small side and required climbing up into the box.

    Clean and quiet location close to the Duomo. Staff helpful . Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    My only regret is that we did not book a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a late addition to our itinerary. We found nothing to dislike other than the fact that we only stayed one night near the end of our trip.

    Excellent location near the cathedral. Modern facilities in medieval building. The bathroom was far superior to the facilities at hotels we had in Florence, Vienna or Rome on this trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    The hotel, built in the 1930ies in a kind of art deco style,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No critical remarks.

    The hotel, built in the 1930ies in a kind of art deco style, is situated very close to the Duomo, a masterpiece of architecture and art. We could put our car in a private garage, included in the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Thoughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit challenging to understand the owners but that was due as much to our lack of Italian as to their lack of English. Need more accessible towel racks in bathroom.

    Excellent hotel literally down some steps from the Duomo. The double with twin beds was much larger than expected. Continental breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls very thin and could hear the guests next door. One night they had other guests in the room and were very loud. When I called down to reception, the gentleman came right up and asked them to go down in the lobby. Keep this in mind if you are wanting any kind of privacy.

    Very nice hotel right by the duomo. Friendly staff and comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    I would look elsewhere. The hotel is clean, but the staff is bitterly cold!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was so cold I felt like I could have gotten frost bite from their lack of friendliness. It doesn't take much to welcome someone who isn't from your country to feel as if you really appreciate their business. The breakfast was just ok. The older lady, I am assuming it is the owners wife, was always grumpy in the morning when she made your coffee. We felt as if we were inconveniencing them versus anything resembling hospitality.

    We liked the location and the cleanliness of the hotel. The Duomo is extremely close and so is the bus transfer from the lower level of Orvieto.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Hotel Duomo is a hidden gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying here was being a part of a family. Very helpful and caring and when they noticed one morning we had not been able to eat much breakfast due to an early trip into the countryside they only charged half the breakfast fee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location, close to bus that takes you down to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, close to bus that takes you down to the train. Right in the center adjacent to the Duomo. Very quiet even on the first floor rooms. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    I do love Orvieto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were very comfortable. The whole place was very modern and clean. Wifi good. Breakfast good, with normal Italian offerings. Location right opposite the Duomo, but out-of-sight down a half flight of steps - not for the handicapped. We got totally lost trying to find the place in our car. Just follow the signs to the Duomo, park and ask someone, or call the hotel. They will guide you. They park your car for parking fee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fine.

    The room was spacious, warm, very clean and comfortable, decorated in a tasteful, modern style. The location was exceptional, just a few steps away from the Duomo. I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    The perfect place to visit Orvieto. We will stay here again if back in this town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent!

    This hotel, right in the middle of Orvieto, is a gem. The room was large and had every comfort. Breakfast was wonderful. Wifi was good and the location of the hotel is perfect for touring this wonderful hilltown. The family owners are all extremely nice and helpful. Once you find your way there, which is a bit of a challenge in the old town, they will park your car for you - such a huge help and relief!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room was large and comfortable, great breakfast. Hotel owner takes care of parking which is great with the narrow streets! Excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Despite no smiles we thoroughly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A smile would go a long way from the family running the hotel. Sadly this was never forth coming.

    The ladies who made up our bedroom did an extremely good job.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    One night in Orvieto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking from the annex to the main building for breakfast is inconvenient during poor weather.

    The location was convenient to various sites and transportation. The breakfast buffet had many tasty options. Our room in the annex was clean, comfortable, and nicely appointed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location of hotel is great, right in the centre. This property is family run, they are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good. Stayed an extra day. Orvieto is a special place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Highly recommended family-run operation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do not trust your sat-nav (GPS), historic Orvieto is a complicated maze of sometimes extremely narrow lanes. Make sure to follow their own signs to "Hotel Duomo". Although they have a good parking lot and even took care of the car themselves (valet parking), it should have been mentioned at check-in , that the parking service was 10 € extra. It's worth it, though. Probably just a communication lapse...

    Very friendly, personal service. They corrected my booking error (wrong date) without big fuss, offered a good room in the main building even at a discount. Perfect location smack-dab in the middle of the old city. Very quiet during the night. Very informative hosts, good English spoken. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyed Orvieto, a magnificent cathedral and very welcoming people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be quite noisy in the room with window open, from passing vehicles and church clock bells ringing quarter-hourly through the night.

    Very helpful and pleasant staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    excellent location for seeing sights of this lovely hill town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room hot, opening window helped, but then got street noise

    clean and comfy, excellent location, friendly staff, nice breakfast, good cappuccinos, quiet

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Charming hotel with a very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Charming hotel with a very helpful staff. We were in the annex which was quiet. Valet parking at secure lot was appreciated. Outstanding location in city centre right beside the Duomo. Wonderful breakfast included. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    Cute town in wine country between Siena and Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had some difficulty finding hotel. Would have appreciated clarification on how to get to hotel from train station. For example: "Buy ticket to take funicular up to the mountaintop and catch the bus to Duomo."

    Hotel was located close to the center of town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. We stayed in the annex. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. Delicious breakfast in the main hotel a very short walk away. Very helpful, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was very erratic, often not available.

    Great location. Friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was limited to cold items but was reasonably good and the coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay in an amazing city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would stay there again if I could stay in the main building. Annex rooms were modern but away from the main building. Felt a bit isolated.

    The family run operation was very comfortable. The staff (family members) were very helpful at check in, for the breakfast, for suggesting things to see, do and restaurants to go to. They also parked our van on their lot nearby. We stayed in a room in the annex about 50 metres away which was OK. Rooms in the main building were more quaint and convenient. The location as wonderful right next to the main church and piazza.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Very private, restful place just off the main piazza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved everything about Hotel Duomo. We had requested a room with a balcony and they were able to provide us with that, overlooking their very nice patio. The bar fridge is nicely filled, and particularly like the small-sized bottles of white wine (Orvieto Classico?), which was perfect sitting out on the balcony. The breakfast buffet options were perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Lovely💕
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of a thing!

    Friendly staff! Sergio even parked our car for us and made sure we got out safely when we departed💕 Beautiful family and paid attention to detail. Highly recommend🇮🇹

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful location and staff made this an ideal stay in Orvieto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit too firm for us—but we would rather have it too firm than too soft.

    The location—very close to the magnificent Cathedral—was great. We were located in the annex, which was also close, and on a quieter street. We drove-using our GPS—to the closest street (1/2 block from hotel). Staff members handled our car from that point, which was a big relief to us. The rooms were bright, spacious & clean—really nice shower!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    We stayed in the annexe of the hotel which is a very short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the annexe of the hotel which is a very short walk from the main hotel. All areas were clean and bright and the location was excellent. The breakfast offered a large selection of gluten free products which will make me return

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.6
    Extremely friendly, efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely friendly, efficient. Family run. Good buffet breakfast. Very central to all sights/amenities. Difficult to locate even with satnav, but owner found us, brought us to hotel, parked car and returned it on departure

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    While I love the location, we were put off by the art.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to access; they should send detailed instructions. The art throughout was numerous, macabre, unsettling and not that good. Buffet breakfast items included stale rolls, green eggs.

    Location, location, location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    great location, valet parking at reasonable cost, difficult to find and not easy to drive to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    the controversial extra 20 euro charge.

    we were charged an extra 20 euro fee above what was advertised on booking.com web site. However, booking.com refunded the extra charge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Too short!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was frustrating to arrive and learn our reservation was at an Annex, two blocks away. For additional Euro we paid for the last available.room. Language difficulties also.

    Facilities. Location. Breakfast. Willingness to store luggage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    A lovely small hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have given a higher score but for the following - Even though we are used to driving in Italy reaching the hotel be car is tricky with the narrow lanes but we stopped right outside and he took our car to the parking. Bed was a bit hard. TV but no English news channel; breakfast was a typical Italian hotel breakfast with mainly sweet items but some nice cheese. Not much for my diabetic husband. Facilities are limited but no less than expected for a small but charming hotel - rarely do you find a kettle in Italian hotel rooms.

    Fab location so close to duomo, and the centre ofOrvieto, excellent bars, restaurants and shops; our room had a little balcony. Staff v helpful in parking the car and taking us to the parking in the morning - secure enclosed parking. Good local (not touristy) restaurant recommendations, we enjoyed dinner at Vinosus overlooking the duomo and just a few steps from the hotel. Saved ourselves for the fab ice cream next door! One of the best inItaly. In the morning I was directed down a back alley to abakery for the best Italian bread anywhere. Although close to the duomo we were not disturbed! We would definitely like to stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Must stay place in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed a very comfortable room with luxurious bed and adequate bathroom. The location of the hotel could not be better! Loved the cafes closeby and being so close to the incredibly beautiful Duomo.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Spectacular Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a. It of an issue and not the hotel's fault. They appear to have changed some Street directions close to the hotel so to get to the hotel you are forced to drive a very short distance the wrong way on a one way. Also super narrow streets, so. Ring your driving skills and nerves. The other issue is that there is the hotel and an annex building, where we were. It is about a 2 min walk from the main lobby over cobble streets. Thankfully it was not raining when we arrived and departed.

    This was a great location in a beautiful mountain-top town. You couldn't get much closer to the Duomo than this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Hotel Duomo, a great place to stay in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is right where you want to be, just around the corner from the Duomo. It is in a quiet neighborhood and easily accessible. The staff are friendly, helpful. The room was nicely appointed, big enough with an en suite bathroom. I loved the breakfast, everything was fresh and lovely. I would definitely suggest this hotel to anyone wanting a pleasant stay in Orvieto and will definitely be back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.6
    Love Orvieto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning was alittle weak but being Italy this is typical. Driving to the hotel was a challenge because of poor map directions. We were not provided any directions prior to the trip. The streets are narrow and difficult to navigate by car.

    The room was very comfortable for 4 people. The location of the hotel was central to the main attractions and easily walkable throughout the town. The staff was helpful and pleasant. The room was updated and clean. Having a location to park the car was a large plus. There was plenty of food provided for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    I wish it was my family
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location, room, cleanliness, breakfast - but above all - the staf . what a family . on check in we found out my bag is missing - with the passports , money etc. I left it some where on the way to Orvieto . It took Elisa, her father , husband and another guy only 20 minutes to locate the lost bag in a gas station 10 km away and bring it safe and untouched . They saved our vacation and they did it in a very humble calm and kind way . thank you ! And of course , the hotel and hospitality were superb !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location and friendly service in this charming hill town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A wonderful location, right across from the Duomo in the center of town. Delicious restautants and gelato right nearby. We all wish we'd planned to stay longer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    We loved Orvieto very much. One of our favourite Italian cities. Hotel Duomo was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When booking the reservation, I didn't realize we were away from the main hotel, just down the street. It threw me off initially but the room and accommodation were completely satisfactory.

    The room was very comfortable, it had everything we needed. Breakfast was excellent, appreciated the cappuccinos with breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Great stay in a small family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast could have had a few more selections.

    Great location to the main Duomo plaza, as well as restaurants. We had a large room, a jr. suite. An excellent choice for our week stay. It is a small family run hotel, great family. We would stay there again, and really can not say enough about how helpful Elisa was. Really went beyond the call of duty for us. Thank you again Elisa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent family run hotel, brilliant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault it really but of course it doesn't have the facilities of a 5* if that is what you are looking for

    Excellent small family run hotel. Older generation a little gruff but helpful and understood enough English to meet all needs. Younger generation charming and helpful. Located in a tiny street a few steps down from the wonderful cathedral plaza. They park the car for you in their locked compound just a minutes walk from the hotel. Everything in the hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms really nice, we had a junior suite with sitting area and small balcony to sit out on and there is a terrace for sitting out at the front of the hotel. Orvieto is very well worth a couple of days to look round and plenty in the surrounding countryside for a longer stay. Excellent value for money, I really recommend this hotel. It has no restaurant but there are 46 in the town, all within a short walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Great staff, Good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in the basement room of the annex and I thought my bed was damp. I eventually wrapped myself in the blanket provided in the wardrobe and that solved the problem.

    The friendliness of the staff who couldn't do enough to help my friend and I. When we were stranded at the railway station when the fenicular was closed and no taxi came to the taxi rank, they organized a taxi for us. There were many, many more helpful and friendly things the staff did for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned, professional hospitality at its best. Great room, nice view, comfortable bed, cordial and highly skilled staff, great sheets and towels, impeccable hygiene. Who could ask for more?

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Very convenient;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving by car was a bit of a challenge through the narrow streets; follow street signs to centre NOT satnav which cut off a corner....along a steep gravel track! Once there we got valet parking just around the corner with car ready to go in the morning.

    Very convenient; two minutes stroll to main square. Great atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    9.6
    Stay in the main hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were traveling with a group of 8 and needed 4 rooms. Two of the rooms were in the main hotel, and the other 2 rooms were in the annex . The annex rooms were nice-but smaller, those in the annex had to walk in the rain to get to breakfast, and had to walk home about 2 blocks at night after an evening in the wonderful hotel courtyard.

    The location was fabulous just to the left of the Duomo as you face the Duomo. We drove our van straight into town (slowly- because it is a pedestrian zone) and dropped off our luggage- and we LOVED that they valet parked our vehicle. Breakfast was great. The rooms in the main hotel were awesome, spacious and very clean. We loved the complimentary slippers. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Good, central accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little on the expensive side.

    The hotel is very well situated right in the heart of Orvieto. The staff are friendly and helpful and the room we had was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel, staff and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Thought my double room was going to have a partial view of the cathedral and have a balcony, unfortunately there is only one room that has both of those amenities and my Sister, who was traveling with us, received this room.

    Our double was a very large size, especially for Italy. The bathroom was also huge by Italian standards, immaculately clean and with modern needs met; it also had a bathroom window which helped to keep the bathroom vented when each of us were taking a shower. The shower itself had a little notch which allowed me to prop you leg up allowing me to shave my legs in the shower- not possible in all of the other Italian showers I have used. Nice little patio outside, but unfortunately we were only staying one night and did not have the time to make use of it. The morning breakfast bar was typical of an American "continental breakfast" having toast, Pastries, cheese and salami, cold cereal, yogurt and juices, but was presented beautifully and was fresh and tasty. The hotel does have a small elevator which was great for getting our us and our suitcases up to the second floor. Though not everyone at the front desk speaks English, an English speaking member of the family was always readily available. I would definitely recommend this hotel and wished we had allotted an additional second night for sightseeing Orvieto (and its' underground tunnels and corridors) and its "dead" sister city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Right next to the Duomo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frankly, the worst thing about the hotel was the art on the walls. It was really rather ugly. But that is a rather small complaint.

    We appreciated the extra pillows. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was quite nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    Orvieto, amazing landscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Bar Duomo--I would not go there to eat. My husband had hamburger and I had pizza for lunch. They were both awful. Coke was flat, hamburger meat tasted bad, had no lettuce nor tomato. My pizza was thick with little cheese on it and the sauce tasted like canned tomato paste. 2) Da Carlo--the atmosphere was very nice and the food was OK. My husband had a chicken dish and since I wasn't hungry I had small salad and soup and we shared Tiramisu. When I asked for bill, we didn't receive an itemized bill and was charged 50 euros. We pay for the atmosphere? I left no tip.

    The location of the hotel was good--in the center of the city near the Duomo. We stayed at the annex and it was very quiet. Parking in the town was difficult, so we parked our car near the train station and took a funicular up. We stayed two nights and we enjoyed walking around, taking photos. The weather was perfect. We also visited Civita del Bagnoregio (20 km from Orvieto). Due to Easter holiday, it was crowded but the view of the Civita was breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Hotel Duomo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. Great value.

    We stayed in the B&B portion - beautiful and quiet, steps from the Duomo. Driving up to the hotel was challenging with the small streets but hotel staff parked our car and retrieved it for us! Location was perfect. Room was very large, with large bathroom and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was great, meats, cheese, eggs, fruit, juices, rolls, etc.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    A comfortable and welcoming hotel with an authentic local flavour.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No issues

    I liked the overall standard of the hotel, the attention to detail and the simple but well kept furnishings. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel in the heart of Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue was the bathroom shower floor was quite slippery.

    I traveled with my mother and grandmother who were very impressed with the hotel and room. The staff was excellent and assisted with parking our car in a nearby lot. The room was plenty spacious for the three of us. And, the elevator was very useful and quick (though small). I highly recommend this hotel for a short stay in Orvieto.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable stay in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty cold (below 10 degrees) but the heater only worked between certain hours. For the price we are paying per night, would have expected that we have the flexibility to turn on the heater whenever we wanted.

    The location was good, near the duomo and most of the attractions. The bed was firm and they helped us with the parking which was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Location, Space and Quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to hand in my combined door and electricity key each time I went out was a pain, though I appreciated the hotel's need to do this.

    Great location, yet very quiet; about 80 metres from the Duomo. My room 214 had a view of the parapet of the Cathedral and full length window doors opening to a ledge (not a genuine balcony) looking over the hotel's front yard . Huge bed, bigger than a king and a spacious room with a larger-sized wardrobe. Quirky artwork throughout the premises which has been recently renovated. Obviously a family-run business and they cared well for their guests. Nothing over the top, just very well done. I would easily stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    The bed was really comfortable (firm).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi connection was not really good. The room wasn't really silent (just a few sounds from the street, but the (quite loud) heater/ventilation turning on at 8am woke me up.

    The bed was really comfortable (firm). The room was clean. big, and with a bathtub. the hotel is just a few meters away from the duomo, but the city is so small that you should not give any importance to that when picking up an hotel in Orvieto.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Great family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Available maps and tourist office directions show that the hotel is around the side of the Duomo, which is accurate, but requires navigating some relatively steep, slippery steps. Efforts should be made to advise that another street could be used which is just as close but would be much easier to use for anyone with difficulty using stairs. We arrived by train, funicular and bus so we have no comments regarding arrival by vehicle.

    This small, family run hotel was an excellent choice for a 2 night stay (or longer). The staff was friendly, helpful and made us feel most welcome. The cost was most reasonable. The breakfast had all the items needed for a good start of the day. Rooms and art work were modern and most provocative in choice. It felt as if the owners, who were always there, had gone out of their way to make our stay wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.5
    Decent hotel, excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls - can hear all neighbors talking, duomo bell rings every 15 minutes and no soundproofed windows. Make sure you have a sound blocking app if you want to sleep. Average breakfast.

    Location; good firm bed; good bathroom. Good espresso.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    8.3
    Very nice clean hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice clean hotel in a great location. Close to the Duomo, shops and restaurants. Orvieto is a great little quiet town which is a nice get away from the big cities.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    9.6
    Terrific staff, nice clean and comfortable room, great value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot say enough about the staff at the hotel. They were fabulous. I had to catch a super early train back to Rome, and the owner arranged a taxi for me for pickup at 515. He even got up and made me a coffee at that crazy hour. The room in the Annex was quite comfortable, very clean, great bathroom, and excellent value for the money. Breakfast was also excellent with a nice selection of breads, cheese, fruit, and cereals.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.2
    Staff took care of parking in the small lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff took care of parking in the small lot. This was a great help as it was very hard to get through the gate. Breakfast was good, location was great for visiting the cathedral. Really good restaurant across from the Domo! Hotel was not noisy at night even though it was in the center of a town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit modest, no vegetables, not a big variety, but coffee was fresh and good :)

    Very well located (just inside the old town). Family managed hotel, very friendly and willing to help. We were family of 5 in 2 rooms. Rooms were spacious and clean. Private parking near by is a big advantage (even with cost of 12 Euro / day), and the owner helped with driving our car in the narrow alleys.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Duomo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: