Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Residence Villa San Giovanni 3 stars

Località San Giovanni, 57037 Portoferraio, Italy

#22 of 57 hotels in Portoferraio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 328 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are informed the rule when we arrive that one had to pay extra 50 Euro if the kitchen trash is not cleaned. The hotel should show the rule on Booking.com. When we arrive, the door to the kitchen was locked, we have to ask for the lady at counter to open for us. Besides, the kitchen is not well equipped, no kettle can be found. If you book a studio, the room isn't cleaned everyday, and you can't get new towels. The hotel should also offer this information on the website. The lady at the counter was far from friendly, it felt we bothered her a lot when asking questions.

    Location is great for driving, and the hotel has free parking space, and there is a small ssupermarket nearby. The room is clean and large.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi worked on occasion, they were doing construction/renovations which I was unaware of prior to the arrival so it was loud. Didn't have the playground set up yet. We were there in the off season so we didn't get to use the pool but it looked like it was nice.

    Good price ample parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location just off a busy road. Not ideal without a car to get to supermarket/restaurants etc as road is unlit and without pavement. Have stayed before and felt that, although room was spotlessly clean, standards elsewhere had fallen a bit e.g the showers beside the pool had a lot of human hair gathered in the drains, and the water in the goldfish pool was very dirty looking - it had previously been very clean. However, overall, it was an enjoyable stay.

    Great outdoor swimming pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bookings.com had the distance as 1.3km from Portoferrio but it was 3.5km as we were walking this was a huge problem. We would never have chosen to walk if we had known it was so far and had NO FOOTPATHS highly dangerous. Hotel should give accurate distances, have courtesy pick up bus or ACCURATE public transport information or a taxi and approx price organised.

    The Italian staff in the restaurant were absolutely excellent warm & welcoming The accommodation was also excellent and the dinner at night great value... had very good wine for sale to go with the dinner also. On one of the nights there was music and dancing which was great fun... like the Irish they enjoys party!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Apartments on the ground flour, which have terraces overlooking the parking, don't have enough sun, so it's a little harder to dry laundry

    Good position if you have a car, lots of parking space, very spacious apartments with good equipped kitchen, good wi-fi, kind staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was 1 receptionist who was very miserable, quite aloof and very unapproachable. One evening - not late we asked for 2 drinks and her persona was as if it was a bother to get then to us. However if you were eating at the hotel in the evening her attitude was very different and she would help you. The water in the bathroom was not very hot frequently. The receptionists could have advised you of the facilities around the hotel and in Portoferraio.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unaware of spa services located across the street; booking had advertised the spa as a bonus of the hotels location which it was, however we had to investigate the services independently. Booking should change this inference of connection between the two services.

    Excellent pool, large room, good breakfast and option if dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting is poor with low wattage light bulbs throughout. It was difficult to read in such light. The kitchenette had little equipment. We really only used the fridge as there wasn't much else we could prepare.

    Location with a car is easy on the outskirts of Portoferraio. It was reasonably priced, fairly basic, air conditioned accommodation for a family touring holiday. We were not there to sun bathe or swim so cannot comment on the outdoor facilities. The lady at the front desk and the room staff we saw the next day were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quite ordinary; not real fruits, but canned ones. Coffee from an automatic machine; in Italy, it needs to be from a real machine!!

    The room was really clean! A balcony looking over the pool, perfect for apperitivo! Large pool with many chairs!! Parking was included and easily accessible.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -The pool was not cleaned well (but the rooms were clean) -Hairdryer and air conditioning did not work -There was a snake in the yard

    -staff -Hotel was quiet -Normal breakfast -Large -sized pool

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    ADMINISTRATION: the director was very impolite and somehow aggressive, while one administrator often showed impatience to us from 11 pm to 8 am there is no standing reception service, only a cellphone number you can call. as far as security is concerned, this is very problematic because the doors of the hotels are open and anybody can enter from the back entrance. we were so scare about this that we closed the balcony at night so no one could enter from outside. it was however difficult for me because of claustrophobia, so I had to switch on the air conditioning in order to breath well. small apartment: - it wasn't absolutely the one showed by booking.com. it didn't have a separated kitchen, which was actually put inside a piece of furniture. - wi-fi did not work in the room but only in the common spaces. sea: nice beaches are far away, more than 5 Km by car. bathroom: very small, they provided only two rolls of toilet paper for a week ( for the other ones we had to periodically and embarrassingly ask the cleaners. kitchen: inside a piece of furniture; we had to take on expenses for trash bags, sponges, washing-up liquid, tablecloth and napkins privacy: we were lucky enough to have one of the very few balconies covered by a small bush. most of the balconies look onto the swimming pool or an internal parking lot (sic!) or corridors, so you actually may end up having no privacy at all when you want to relax outside. we were very disappointed from the first day but the administration refused to refund us

    Wonderful swimming pool; excellent air conditioning in the small apartment nice balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi worked only occasionally, but this seems to be standard in hotels in Italy.

    Good 25 m pool, works also for swimming. Location is excellent if you have a car. Big thanks to very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have wi fi in our room. AC didn't work well.

    Location is good, near Portoferraio, close to the road to Capoliveri . Lots of greenery in this area. Nice temperature during the nights. Staff is OK. Pool big and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were low signals of WLAN in my room 😏

    The entire hotel is beautiful. Everything was seems to be really cool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could be better

    They have their own red wine which was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disability room

    Pool and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    the swimming pool and the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Interior design and the beautiful flowers

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was difficult to reach without a car and also a nuisance

    Nice pool and large room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WI-FI signal was very weak in my room. Therefore many times I was disconnected from the network.

    They have a nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Advertise better! Also, the bus stop is really weird. You just step off on a busy road.

    It was such a beautiful hotel. Very nice people.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    More fruits and vegetables for breakfast.. And you have to ask for quiet room, very high trafic on the road near hotel..

    Great pool, great loacation, great stuff..

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the pool was excellent for swimming even the shallow end being shoulder depth . bus stop right outside and buses best option for visiting all the island as traffic was constant

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    poor internet

    fabulous rooms

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a noisy room

    Friendly helpful staff, great pool

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Some fruits and vegetables for breakfast...

    Great value for the money! :)

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No restaurant other than 'pizza night', only one restaurant within walking distance.

    Helpful staff, nice, comfortable, clean room.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    AC difficult to set...minor issue.

    Staff, breakfast and location all fantastic...thanks! Would return in a heartbeat!!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need the car to get to the beaches

    Everything was perfect !

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: