Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elephant 4 stars

Via Rio Bianco 4, 39042 Bressanone, Italy

#7 of 62 hotels in Bressanone

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 287 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    A perfect place to stay in an enchanting place,offering all one could ask for, to relax & feel good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool and separate gardens was a lovely place to leave the hotel without really leaving it. The bicycles on offer were in a good shape and they offered a nice opportunity to get around and explore. The Brixen pass is too a great asset that should be exploited. The staff in the hotel were very supportive of their guests and did in every case what they could to make their guest's stay that extra bit perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    the constant kindness of all people from reception to...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the constant kindness of all people from reception to restaurant , the charming atmosphere of this old looking place , you are in bella époque in a minute and there you stay for all day

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The location, staff, and food were all great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I should have reserved sooner, because I don't like to pay that much per night for a hotel room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving advice about places to visit and bus and train schedules. The food was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful restaurant and breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone was smoking a cigar during the meal on the terrace. Restaurant needs to Ban all smoking throughout. Smoke impedes the pleasure of the excellent meal.

    Wonderful restaurant and breakfast room. Elephant theme throughout done in a tasteful manner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    Exceptional service and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely kind, helpful and friendly. Bike rentals were provided free of charge. The hotel and room were beautiful. Definitely a great place to stay in South Tyrol!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous hotel, thoroughly enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous family run hotel, super clean, well organised and especially friendly staff. Located 2 minutes walk from the old city. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    The best stop in the Dolomites!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First class in every way!!

    Outstanding location to the downtown area, shops, meals, etc. great welcoming staff! Smiles! Great rustic and beautiful hotel with history! A must stop over!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Excellent traditional Tyrolean hotel, formerly frequented by Royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Historic hotel dating from C16th. Very civilised. Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable and relaxing. Very attractive building and surroundings. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.6
    The most romantic hotel in Bressanone
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quirky historical elements, the lushness of the design and the proximity to the old part of the city made our stay one of the nicest in Italy. Even with our 6 year old in tow this was such a romantic hotel, we felt like royalty.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Nice hotel but overpriced restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV in the room needed to be reset every day by the staff to access international channels and the Wi-Fi did not work in our room

    The dinner was not what you expect from a 4 star hotel and it was way overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    The service we received from the gentleman at the front desk...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service we received from the gentleman at the front desk and from the restaurant staff was superb. So friendly and helpful. We were very well looked after. We couldn't have asked any more of them.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Restful, wonderful, and can’t wait to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn’t stay longer.

    Super, best accommodations in Brixon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful treat
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful gem in Alto Adige. A super friendly staff I awounderful hotel. The god is great and the wine list is fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Great food and brilliant wine list.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great food and brilliant wine list.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location in Brixen!
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plug near my bed....

    An old and traditional hotel with great athmosphair und nice breakfast buffet. Of you look for something special, go there!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Comfortable and hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked its old fashioned civility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    La camera era in po'disadorna.
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La camera era in po'disadorna.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    History comes to live
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfull location,friendly staff, great food We will come back❤️

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.2
    wonderful hotel in very interesting little historical town; great stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unexpected €9 charge for parking; TV rather small

    full of character; beautiful and interesting interior; outstanding breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    10
    Excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent service. We were cold and the manager provided an extra heater in our room upon our arrival. Extremely pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Wi-fi connection doesn't work well inside the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi connection doesn't work well inside the room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent Choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    need to improve spa facilities

    historic hotel , central position , excellent cuisine , knowledgeable staff ,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    9.2
    Character hotel in the centre of Bressanone
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for parking

    Nice clean room,historic charm, good breakfast and lovely gardens.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    10
    Really comfortable bed, beautiful breakfast, the best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That I couldn't stay longer! Just love this hotel - unbelievably original, unique and romantic. My absolute favorite place to stay in Sud Tirol.

    Really comfortable bed, beautiful breakfast, the best location. The restaurant could not be better with its emphasis on local produce. The hotel is unique - just love the old silver teapots! Charming staff and love the vestiges of history everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    7.5
    Staying in one of the oldest hotels in the world is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food & beverages 1. The Gormet Restaurant totaly over rated. Ground Project top - preparation poor. Even a Classic Dessert "Strudel" was Fresh out the Deep Grenzer. Not 1 course we liked. 2 abf Far below Standard! 3 slices of old cheese, some ham - no fresh cut.

    Staying in one of the oldest hotels in the world is something very Special. Hospitality sind 500 years!!! Many royals and famious People where Staying here since Centuries. Great!!!!

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    9.6
    To all the staff and owner of Hotel Elephant,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    To all the staff and owner of Hotel Elephant, During a recent stay of two nights at The Hotel Elephant we were delighted by the friendliness of your front desk staff and your bellman. During our stay we not only were treated with great care but were also given some interesting history of the hotel and the Sud Tirol area, traditional customs and directions and help in getting to Brunico for the Christmas Market. Each day we learned something new about this great area of Italy and have become quite in love with the town of Bressanone and the surrounding area. The reason is the staff at Hotel Elephant for educating us about the hotels history and providing us with interesting information throughout our stay. This type of personal service and interest is very rare in our world today and we wish to thank everyone at the hotel for being so kind to us. The staff at Hotel Elephant could not have been more helpful. The front desk staff arranged for our bus tickets back to Munich and Pepe personally drove us to the bus station with all of our luggage the morning of our departure. What incredible customer service. We hope everyone at the Hotel Elephant has a very Merry Christmas and to each and every one of you Buon Natalie and Happy New Year! Best regards to all, Karen Knaub Susan Koller Pennsylvania, USA

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    We have stayed here several times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed here several times. We are always so impressed with the level of service provided. The staff is outstanding. The accommodations and the restaurant are top notch.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    Amazingly helpful and attentive staff, I cannot state that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazingly helpful and attentive staff, I cannot state that enough. I arrived late on Friday before an early Marathon on Saturday and they arranged late dinner for me in town and provided a early breakfast the next day. Fantastic interior. Grand views. Great location. Great breakfast. If I return to Brixen, this will be the first place I look up.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    9.6
    Hotel bulding is full of history both inside and outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was quite average for such a great hotel. Wifi quality was extremely poor - very slow with constant interruptions.

    Hotel bulding is full of history both inside and outside. All walls are covered by old painings, all interior makes you feel like guest of old grand hotel. Room was very spaious with sitting corner. Bathroom had a window facing fountain and large bathtube. Hotel also has nice private garden with swimming poola nd sun lounges. Perfect place for relaxing. Even though car parking was pricey, it was good to have a place to park the car.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    8.8
    Interesting antique decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant closed on a Monday night

    Interesting antique decor

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    10
    Hotel in city center with great history
    • Couple

    High prices in restaurant

    Hotel in city center with great history

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Delightful hotel with excellent staff always ready to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Delightful hotel with excellent staff always ready to help you

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    Everything!
    • Solo traveller

    Everything! Beautiful garden, great room, great breakfast, excellent restaurant for dinner. Fantastic staff. Well worth every penny.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    10
    Decor, attentiveness, location, value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor, attentiveness, location, value

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable and warm, fabulously storied, attentive staff,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    .

    Comfortable and warm, fabulously storied, attentive staff, great location.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    10
    The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, professional,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were extremely friendly, helpful, professional, and knowledgeable. Outstanding service. Could be rated as a five star hotel.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: