Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Faro Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Località Porto Conte, 07041 Porto Conte, Italy

#3 of 9 hotels in Porto Conte

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1627 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very conference orientated. Poor restaurant inside. V limited inside seating around bar area. Slow (very) bar service. €20 deposit in cash only for each pool towel with no possibility to pay by CC ... ridiculous when staying at hotel and in ‘plastic’ economy

    Location. Outlook. Outside areas

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Showercabinet tiny. Menue not very much to choose from. Hotel seems to be outdated. We were here 10 years ago and almost nothing had been updatet.

    Very good placed near the beach with free sunbeds. Very good and fast internet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe the breakfast could be improved. with such nice local products it's a pitty that the brakfast is limited to very basic things, for example, the fruit could be mostly natural fruit (instead of can fruit), more variety of (local) cheese and ham, and replace the nescafe machine by good Italian coffee machines....it would just add so much to the nice stay that we already had!

    The Hotel is fantastic, and very well located if you're looking to relax. The staff is very friendly and always has a smile on their face; you really feel welcome. Rooms are good and clean, the sea view is just stunning. Close by to sandy beaches and 15-20min to Alghero by car

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    End of may no cooling airco, just heating, even after complaints nothing done about it. (Also a horrible smell out of it) Onyl a bath at the room...showe cord was so short you couldnt hold it over your head...also no anti-slip mat so my preagnant wife almost fell in the bath tub. We reported it and were offered an upgrade (very reluctantly)...the "upgrade" was a smaller room 500m through 4 halls with a tiny balcony...we declined it. We didn't want an upgrade, just a shower and working AC. Lots of bugs flying so difficult sitting outside Breakfast was ot very good...lots of stuff not filled after 09:00 Lots of stuff had to be paid for at breakfast wich is normally included

    Room was big Balcony was spacious Nice views in the area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was extremely helpful at our arrival as we had encountered some problems on the trip and needed special assistance. She managed to do a roomchange for us, which we really appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much smoking on balconies and pool area-one pillow had what turned out to be according to front desk a large piece of plastic inside (how did the maid miss this?)

    the pool area is exceptional -great view from our room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shop or way to buy drinks apart from the bar, no snacks available to buy or anything else you may need. The biggest let down was there was no iron in the room or to rent use. You had to pay for an ironing service which was not cheap. No shop local either

    Views were amazing, very clean, staff helpful,breakfast good, room comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant wasn't as good as we hoped

    Nice pool, massage was fantastic, breakfast Buffet us Nice , views are splendid, terrace with the room... Fabulous stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was difficult to get down to the sea when one has mobility problems. Because of mobility problem, concern that parking area which was also available to the public could be difficult at certain times of the day.

    Very good balcony overlooking the bay. Lift to 3 levels but not to pool or waterside where steps had to be negotiated. Professional and attentive staff. Fresh fish available to choose from the trolley and cooked to order on a daily basis.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room and aisles can be better and richlyer decorated

    Amazing hotel on the rocky coast facing Porto Conte gulf. Located by an old lighthouse, it is perfect for a romantic escape. The sea is approachable descending along the reef from the private lovely platforms. Stunning view from the terrace, great breakfast and service. Very quiet place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast is prepared with machines and tastes horrible. They seem to be a little short on staff, at dinner I didn't feel like we were attended to as much as we would have expected.

    Perfect location, so pretty! the hotel and garden are very pretty and super clean. Maybe a little expensive for what it is.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is very fish oriented. Would have been nice to have chosen from other local dishes as well.

    Breakfast was lovely! Surroundings and view of the room was stunning. Great staff as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Use of a courtesy room to shower and change after a long walk after checking out, before going to airport. Lovely setting for the hotel and lots of areas to sit in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a group of friends, and one of us had a motorbike accident and went to a hospital. They didn't want to cancel his room even though booking.com agreed in those circumstances to cancel for free. Meanwhile, the hotel was half empty and by the way, the other hotel agreed, on free cancelation at the same day request. Room was stinky, it was a problem with the water evacuation in the shower and the restaurant is poor. Front desk not professional. No other activity around the hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast- I would appreciate a little bit higher quality of desserts as well as morning cofee. Otherwise, everything was very good, we are looking forward to coming there again. Samuel, Slovakia

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish breakfast had prosciutto crudo, mozzarella and prosecco!

    Staff went above and beyond, location on a point so you feel you have privacy, breakfast was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of portions at dinner were disappointing, particularly seafood content in seafood dishes

    Really good choice at breakfast Lovely setting overlooking the bay Everything spotlessly clean and in an excellent state of repair

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower is in a bath tub. There is no mounting for the showerhead, so you will have to hold it in one hand, while taking the shower. But the water is hot and has enough pressure to enjoy the shower anyways. At breakfast you can order espresso, latte macchiato and cappuchino. All other coffee like americano you get at self-service machines which produce nescafe instant coffee. Which is not good coffee.

    Fresh towels everyday. Floor in our room got cleaned on most days, too. Amazing views from the many terraces, the café and the restaurant where you can enjoy breakfast from the buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was little bit cold when we came in.

    My dream came true. I always wanted to stay at the lighthouse built on the cliff above the bay. What else do you want? Great breakfast, nice rooms and people, spa, view from the restaurant is of course included :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was impossible to get to without a car or taxi. Spa facities with high extra charge and always fully booked Lack of facilities inside and surrounding the hotel No activites or entertainment Really cold indoor pool Hotel is not for families and children

    Cleaning was great View from our room was beautiful Breakfast was delightful Staff at restaurant and bar were very nice. The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate dinner in the restaurant which was surprisingly a little disappointing: overly salty/overly rich

    The staff here were exceptionally helpful: went above and beyond with no fuss. The hotel is beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the admission price for the spa area

    + the location directly in the bay + swimming area + thousand cats outside next to the hotel (especially around the tower) + good big breakfast buffet + massage offers + friendly staff (most of them)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Garden Deluxe Double
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A small thing but they could vary the breakfast a bit more but its not a deal breaker. They should also warn guests about the jellyfish! I would recommend that rash vests/wetsuits are worn as they are prevalent even in the cooler months.

    We loved the location, staff, food & service and the room. We went late October and it was relatively quiet which is what we wanted. If you came here in the height of the season, i expect it would be the opposite! As an extended break for grown ups its the perfect place. There are facilities for children so these are accommodated well as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise carried from other rooms, not much furniture, no kettle or coffeemaker, canoe and bike hire available but quite expensive bars and restaurant both seemed expensive (but you're paying for the location I suppose.

    The location is superb with views over the Porto Conte bay towards Capo Caccia, spectacular sunsets and in the heart of the Regional Natural Park, wildlife on the doorstep. One night we disturbed eight wild boar just yards from the entrance and I could snorkel in crystal clear water straight off the sun terrace.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shame it was not an adult only place as uncontrollable kids yelling and not being controlled by their parents spoils everything. Not the hotels fault though I guess. The rooms in our end of the complex have little soundproofing so next doors holiday was yours! Suggestion - One simple problem could be solved by placing rubber pads on the dressing table chair feet, they scrape across the floor in all rooms and make a racket that echoes throughout all the rooms upstairs, downstairs everywhere.

    Unique location, super staff treatment all round, Breakfast especially good. We had the room view from heaven, direct over the sea just what we wanted. A wonderful place to dream in. Stunning hotel that should be adult/over 12 kids only!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For a hotel that is considered 4-5 stars there were three, extremely crucial matters that do not justify this grading. 1. Most important: this hotel advertises itself as non-smoking hotel and I was in touch with the staff numerous times because my wife has asthma and for medical reasons she requires non smoking environment. During our first night we smell some smoke and my wife didn't sleep the whole night, the same happened the second night and finally on the third day, in the morning, I saw smoke coming out from the porch next to ours. As I looked at the porch, an elderly woman was smoking. I asked her to stop at once and I approached the front desk. looking for the manager. She was not there and later that evening we were told that they cannot forbid smoking on the porch. This is totally unacceptable, it forced us to sleep most of the time with the AC on. I intend to write a very strong letter to the manager. 2. We had mosquitos every night and the spray that they provided was not helping much. They need to spray the whole area. 3. Even though we paid for a superior room, the shower was tiny and we could barely fit in. All together, a very disappointing experience.

    The location and the view from our room were great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning in the bath room was not good. There was a toothpaste from previous guest near the sink. The bed for the third person was not ready when we arrived and after our request came to the room the maid to prepare it. It was fast. The mosquito net was not in good condition.

    The view was wonderful and that’s why we choose this hotel in Alghero. The breakfast was ok but need more. But this is 🇮🇹. The room was ok for a junior suite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pools are not heated (at least when we visited in October).

    Location of the hotel is really good when you have a car. It is close to many nice beaches (we went to different one every day) and to Alghero, a nice town on the coast. The rooms are spacious and made up daily. Staff was attentive and very helpful. Special thanks for a free upgrade!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was not ‘value for money’. The really nice restaurants were a few miles away in Alghero.

    The easy going, view on the sea, special spaces to relax at the seaside

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Something hotel has no control of- some jellyfish

    Fabulous head of dining staff. Very welcoming and great service. Wonderful views of Capo Caccia and sheltered from wind. Chrystal clear water, loungers on rocks by sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room (248) was just above reception but a vast distance to room due to poor location of lift & stairs. A maze of corridors. No lift below restaurant level so another long treck down endless steps to bar, pool & sea. Bedroom problems include narrow uncomfortable hard beds (probably the worst I have known), very small bathroom, poor balcony furniture (metal chairs & no cushions). Dining room problems include insufficient indoor seating when weather poor, raw bacon and poor bread (consequently never tried dinner). Hotel check in not before 4pm so no beach towels or drinks/lunch possible until then. Will not return.

    Clean quiet room. Stunning views. Helpful reception and pleasant efficient room cleaning staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unfriendly and unnice - at the reception we could not book spa treatment nor get a pool tower !; wifi connection was really bad; isolation of the room as well - noisy neighbors did not allow us to profit the balcony as much as we wanted to

    View, room decoration

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside was the food. The evening meals weren't that great, the quality is very average. If you improved the food quality the whole experience is exceptional. We still had a fabulous time there and would return.

    the location, the facilities, the staff were all fabulous. Our room was amazing and they upgraded us which was even better!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We did not receive the room/s that we contracted and paid for. When advised the staff not interested even dismissive. Bar drinks were often short measured. Bathroom in the bedroom had a water leak on the floor for the total three days. Cleaning staff very good and polite. The other staff should follow.

    The location was very good. Breakfast was good Facilities good apart from a room problem

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to change room twice because we were expecting a premier luxury double with terrace as booked with booking.com but were not given that room type. The fault, however, was not with the hotel but with booking.com itself using incorrect marketing.

    The views were great. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The food was very good although the menu choices were not always perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant service very poor, the queue for coffee at breakfast unbelievable, the food at dinner low level

    The view from my large terrace was wonderul

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't really have any issues at all with the hotel. The only thing to bear in mind is if you are planning on eating out there is only 1 restaurant in walking distance (15mins) along the main road to the hotel, so car hire is pretty much essential. There are 2 beach restaurants about a 5 min drive from the hotel, after this you would need to drive further. If you're after a relaxing a break without noise and clutter then I would highly recommend.

    We really enjoyed our stay at the El Faro. If you're looking for something in a quiet area then its ideal. There are several ladders to the sea avoiding walking on the rocks so you can enter / exit the sea at ease. Plenty of choice for breakfast (continental - serrano, croisants, cereal etc) and the room was excellent. My partner was stung by a jellyfish in the sea and so went to see the lifeguards at the hotel, 3 of which attended to treat the sting immediately!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very unfriendly staff at check-in. They tried to change my reservation from sea-view into garden-view room (since I made reservations through booking.com this was the first time that happened). Fortunately, I have printed my reservation. We stayed 6 nights and after three I found cockroaches in my bathroom. Next morning I went with the photo to ask for changing the room. The receptionist got angry. They did not change my room! I booked a room with 23 m, but the room was very little, 14 m, with no place to put the luggage. Very disappointing hotel!

    The location is very nice and the hotel is beautiful. If you like the beach with rocks it is a good location, but you have to get up at 7 o'clock to get a sunbed on the beach at shadow. Not enough beds on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival we were given a small single and a small double bedroom.... having booked a junior suite this is really NOT OK! Receptioninstaff is not friendly. Room is not clean. Dust on lamp bathroom, toothpaste marks on mirror and soapdispenser. Furniture is really outdated and dirty The pool is too small but clean(salt water). Don't bother going to the childrens pool though.

    breakfast, staff at bars (in and outside), the view, the setting of the sunchairs on the rocks. these good things kind of make it worthwhile going here....rest is horrible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Staff - THE STAFF NEEDS TRAINING IN ALL FIELDS, FROM RECEPTION TO STAFF ON THE BEACH AND STAFF IN THE RESTAURANT.....ALL VERY DOUR......

    Great Location...Great Location.....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    If anything, the hotel could benefit from a couple of tennis courts but that did not detract from our stay at all. The food in the bar was not good - very stodgy pizzas and sandwiches, no light dishes such as fresh salad. We went out for lunch!

    El Faro is a beautiful hotel in the most stunning natural setting with charming staff who are both friendly and professional. Our room was kept immaculately clean with lots of fluffy white towels and delicious-smelling soap and other toiletries that were actually good at their jobs (eg moisturising skin, conditioning hair etc)! My husband and I stayed with our 12-yr old son so the room was big enough but larger families might need more space. The view was absolutely 'out of this world' - so beautiful and we could only see one other building in the whole bay - apart from light houses and the odd old watch tower, which were attractive in themselves. Not forgetting the famously gorgeous, clear sea of course! For stays of longer than a few days I would say a hire car is pretty important. Alghero is very close and an interesting and pleasant town with great shopping, bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tired hotel, fairly maintained. Poor quality breakfast, average customer services, Plastic cups onto the rooms instead glass or ceramic (4* hotel!!!). Strong cleaner solution smell everywere (hiding other smells?) Really bad ratio price / quality.

    Nice location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard sea view room have partially sea view, you end up looking in your neighbors terrace.

    Good hotel for italian standards, friendly staff, great views from the terraces, the hotel is situated on the cliffs. The room and the bathroom are well decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No entertainment at night. Cold boiled eggs at breakfast though you could have hot omelette, also could be more selection for breakfast.

    Loved the location and the view from the room. The snokerlling was excellent loved the board to swim out to. We eat once in the hotel service and food was very good. We walked about 10 mins down the road to a restaurant this was very good for lunch or dinner. Room was very nice. Staff were very polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you have locomotion restrictions it would be difficult to reach the beach front.

    The scenary is what makes this hotel. It´s located a bit far from the city but that's a good thing if you want to enjoy the sea and nature.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are not negative points really, just area that could be improved. The speed and coverage of the WIFI is a bit lacking sometimes, The lack of system to manage orders sometimes creates a bit of confusion among the staff and lags the service, still with a view\location like this who cares waiting a bit? Overall the prices of the in-house restaurant were quite higher than what i was expecting.

    Housekeepers were amazing, the room was maintained spotless. Booked a room with a view was not disappointed it is breathtaking! Travelling alone with the aim of total relaxation i found myself really satisfied, despite the hotel was at full capacity the property is big and this allows to maintain your privacy. Staff is very friendly, knowledgeable of the local area and ready to respond to your requests. The in-house restaurant menu has a sizable plate choice, but if you really want to have indelible memories you need to ask what is the special of the day. If your goal is to relax you need to make sure to try the Spa services, especially the massages and the pool with Dead Sea salts, despite being a bit small it is a very interesting experience. With my despise of sandy beaches, having a rocky seaside, this was the perfect choice. The memory of diving in the Sardinian sea will stay with me, they will help get through the winter. If i will have the occasion i definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filleted sea bass was left with large number of bones in., would have preferred to do it myself. Having to ask for certain tea bags each morning. Queue for tea coffee machine. Needed a car so your not trapped to eating in restaurant

    Bedroom was excellent with terrace and spotless. Toiletries replaced if we left used one floor. Towels lovely. Beach towels supplied, don't forget to hand them back for your ticket. Beach not sandy but rockey. Lunch area superb, well attended by staff and food excellent. Restaurant needs attention as older waiter loud and didn't seem to do much. Manager took orders for restaurant takes an age. We waited over an Hour to place or order. And drinks half an hour. Breakfast average. Large waiter took orders for some people but not others for coffee etc. Buffet service. Tea coffee machines not always working so large queue.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While there is a fair sized pool the sea is strictly for strong swimmers. As it's a rocky location there are lots of steps. The restaurant could be better lit, much too bright for a relaxing evening meal.

    Stunning setting looking across a bay to the cliffs of Neptune's Grotto. I Comfortable room with excellent facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests occupy the sun beds with towels from the early morning, even if they do not actually use them. This looks tolerated by the hotel management. Breakfast is not up to the level for this kind of hotel.

    Rooms facing the sea, with nice view. Quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Given the amenities of the hotel a little more attention could be given to the room facilities. Mattress not very good. In the bathroom the shower was falling down all the time. It wouldn't require much to improve these aspects.

    The hotel is at a beautiful location on the rocks of a beautiful bay. Facilities are very spacious with beautiful views all over. Staff of the hotel is very friendly. Excellent breakfast with lots of fresh fruit, home made cakes etc. Good lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly small and no room for a table and chair on our balcony. Breakfast was ok but not worth paying for in the overall price of the room. There was a fair amount of choice but this didn't change, so got boring. Some of the fruit was from a tin which was disappointing. We requested to hire the rubber boat one afternoon but were told it was booked up. We then noticed it hadn't been used all afternoon. If this had been cancelled it would have been appreciated if we had been offered to use it rather than just having it sit there. Most of the staff were fantastic although during the day it seemed there wasn't enough staff working and some of the bars for drinks, were not staffed. For the price, it would be nice if they employed one person to take drinks orders from the lounges. We got the room at a hugely discounted rate, it was only just worth it in our opinion. Some of the outside space near the pool looks shabby and not as luxurious as it should be, breakfast could be so much better and drinks service would be a lovely touch.

    Location is fabulous and the sea is beautiful to swim in. Great sunbeds and much needed shade from the canopy's. Great facilities to hire out at reasonable prices, scuba equipment,sup boards, kayak. Room was comfortable with nice bed and lovely view of the sea. Air con and shower great. Most of the staff were excellent and very friendly. We did find that when asked they were helpful with information but not forthcoming initially.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a little on the firm side.

    Very pleasant hotel on secluded bay on West Coast of Sardinia within 20 mins from Aleghero. Very relaxed environment, beautiful views, nice bar and good restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellent, you could choose to swim in the pool or take a dip in the sea. We took advantage of their spa which has a Dead Sea salt bath and also Turkish bath and sauna, very relaxing. A car is a must but, neptunes cave is a short drive and so is the town of Alghero. Lots of awesome beaches around the north west of the island also.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get into Alghero coats €30 each way in a taxi.

    The location is beautiful with fabulous views of the sea. The breakfast buffet has a good selection with the room overlooking the sea with floor to ceiling windows. The rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. The evening menu has a nice selection of food and wine. The area is quiet and secluded.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I did not like

    I enjoyed it realny bery much. Extremely helpful staff. My big thanks!!!! Beautiful location. I really recommend this hotel for its hospitality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was the same all week. It was wide sortiment but i would try more type of cheese for example.

    Good location, not far from the airport. Absolutely quiet place, paradise for relaxing. Extremely good coffees! Nice staff, clean room and restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking place could be better

    It's perfect to relax and enjoy the sun in Sardegna. Please be aware that you might have to save a spot as there are not enough chairs near the sea. You need a car if you want to visit Alghero, for example. Parking can be tricky and you might not be able to find a parking place. Breakfast was good, friendly staff, the see view from our room was extraordinary and impressive. We had lovely dinners as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist. We arrive at noon. No one at the reception. There was a queue. After we waited. We were told to come back later as it was check out first! No one helped us with our luggage

    The private beach!!!! The view The breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly at reception, didn't see any hotel manager at any stage. Very steep cliff side garden, not suitable for kids or anyone with even slight problems walking. Car park area quite dirty/ litter around it.

    Swimming in clear water. Quite nice private seating areas to sit all along the cliff side garden. Beautiful view from the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was very good for Italian standard, but I would have loved to have a little less pastries and more healthy alternatives.

    The location is just fantastic if you want a quiet and relaxing stay - so beautiful surroundings next to the sea and a natioal park. There was always sun beds available and towels to lend. We were here in May so the value for money was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast tends to be mass processing and definitely not nice coffee

    Nice View and clean, friendly and helpfull personal. Great bathing opportunities at the sea (no beach, but nice pathways and stairs...)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very keen to stick to 'rules' of hotel, we weren't allowed a glass for our room, we weren't allowed to get a drink from the bar before 1pm, not allowed card payments, etc. These small things added up to a less than relaxing experience. The food at the restaurant is also not good, this hotel really is just a base for you to explore Alghero, especially for a younger couple.

    The location, although out of the way, was very beautiful and secluded. The sun loungers were dotted around the cliffs, which was nice and private. The rooms were also extremely clean and well presented.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really loved this place, fabulous location, friendly helpful staff, gave us the rest we needed. Book a facial with Julieta, SO good....We'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside layout of hotel is a challenge because of the many steps to reach the pools and spa -- but worth it once you are there.

    This is a beautiful property on a point overlooking Sardinian gulf waters; many rooms have views and balconies. We rented a boat and toured around the gulf's majestic cliffs. - highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some issues with the regulation of the air conditioning in our room. It did not get solved the first time we called maintenance, but it did the second time. Also the drinks fridge had to be replaced. Minor issues were also that the drain in the shower was slow. And the cistern kept running unless you manipulated the push unit in a certain way.

    The staff were extremely nice, especially the housekeeper. The location was spectacular and the facilities were above average.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only disappointment was braskfast, which was tasted quite processed however not a deal breaker for us.

    The views from the hotel were stunning. Worth paying extra for a room with a sea view. All staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Looking to return later this year.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy: we were able to hear all movements in the hallway. Room size a bit small; not the best pillows.

    The view over the sea is amazing! Having breakfast every morning with this view was nice! Breakfast was good too. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Good size bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    food of snack bar, drinks tasted funny sometimes, accessibility for people with disability, breakfast buffet average with bad coffee and sugary oj, canned fruits mostly. terrible wifi in the room! unstable!

    location, view, access to sea/beach, early check in and free room upgrade, staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room was beautiful. It was facing the Sea. The staff was very polite and accommodating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only thing I would warn guests about is do not leaving the screen door open because there are mosquitoes that get trapped in your room and bite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mosquitos attacking us. Food was very expensive for the amount the give, excursions are pricey so make sure you are prepared. Make sure you get a taxi while you're away.

    The staff were very friendly, the hotel was so peaceful and relaxing perfect balcony view. Breakfast was amazing, great selection of food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite isolated away from everything. While this was nice, it was difficult to travel around unless you have a car or take the bus. Walking isn't really an option.

    The breakfast that was included with the room price was excellent. With a wide variety of food. The service was outstanding. The views from all around the hotel where breathtaking. The hotel and rooms where very very clean. The hotel Spa had a hot bath that replicates the conditions of the Dead Sea... You can literally float in this bath without moving. It is fantastic! Overall my stay at this hotel was brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The showers in the large bathrooms are perhaps a little small but this minor. Otherwise no complaints !

    We booked overall 5 nights in the El Faro Hotel by prolonging our original booking as we loved the place ! The location is unbeatable with fabulous views of the bay and Capo Caccia. Very quiet! We stayed in superior double rooms and Junior suites with full sea view. It is a must in this location ! Both pools (sweet and salt water) again with great views, were fully operational in April,, the sweet water pool was heated. There are many sunbeds comfortably all across the area down to the sea. The rooms are elegant and spacious. The separate mosquito net system at the balcony doors without blocking views is great. The bars and terraces are nicely located and the hotel has an own beach access (not sandy) and 2 piers for swimming. Boat and activity rentals are available. The staff is enormously friendly and helpful. Massimo, the chief of service of the restaurant, is a great and hugely motivated host and will remember your preferences. The menu in the restaurant allows for various starters, entrees and secondi piatti. A highlight is the fresh fish of the day. The breakfast offers a great variety and is highly recommended. Lunch is also prepared and served on a terrace close to the pool. Relaxed athmosphere, good clientele. WE WILL COME BACK !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel, amazing location with a great view! The staff was helpful and polite. Great breakfast. Despite some bad reviews about the hotel restaurant we ate there one night and we have a very nice dinner, better then the places we ate in Alghero. The hotel is situated at about 15 km from Alghero airport and Alghero town, so we rented a VW Polo for about 20e/day. Caution, you can't make it ok without a car!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All is fine, nothing to complain.

    Reception, Service andSstaff is excellent, always very friendly and helpful, the location is beautiful situated, hotel rooms are nice and clean, the pool and the direct access to the sea is excellent and an outstanding view from the rooms on the sea and coast line - wow! A place to relax and enjoy life - one of my best stays I had in my vacation history. We will come back for sure.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Receptionists are very kind, friendly and smiley. They will recommend you very nice places to see, to eat, etc. based on you own preferences - not just a standard program. I would like to highlight the support of Nadezda, who gave us outstanding support in our (sometimes unusual) requests. Cleaning personal is very thoughtful and patient.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse El Faro Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: