Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Elvezia 2 stars

Via Monte Grappa 15, 28831 Baveno, Italy

#9 of 15 hotels in Baveno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet can be slow in the room, but good in the public areas.

    Small family run hotel with character close to bus stop, restaurants and harbour. Fantastic views from our airy top floor room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi could've been faster but I managed to do the things I had to, so no problem

    The staff was really helpful and nice. We had a small issue with the windows of our balcony and the staff came right away and fixed it. Very very nice and friendly people

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unkind welcoming by the owner in the morning during breakfast with threat to add additional charge due to late check-in (we had 2h delay of our plane to Milano) – finally the charge which is not mentioned anywhere on booking.com was not added to our bill. Small parking with full of cars each day however staff does its best to re-park cars (you need to leave the car keys if your car block other cars). There is option to park car (white lines) just along the lake. Vary small bathrooms with transparent doors and minor flaws in the rooms.

    We stayed there for 5 days in August – 3 double rooms. We requested rooms on higher floor and we got them – thank you. The hotel has excellent location in the middle beautiful lakeside town – Baveno close to the the beach, ferry port and restaurants and bars. Each day we had good breakfast with salty and sweet products with very nice service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Attitude of the front desk lady! Limited parking possibility (6 spots for 15 rooms). We arrived at the hotel in the evening of the 8th of July 2017 and found no parking spot available. The lady at the front desk advised us to leave the car in one of the public parkings nearby, which we did. The closest 2 parkings were full, so we had to leave the car in the parking by the train station, up the hill. From there we came walking with all of our luggage. At the hotel I told the front desk lady that one of the reasons we chose this hotel was because of what was written on bookig.com: "Free private parking is possible on site (reservation is not needed)." She said that this was not what was written on the website, so I asked her to open her internet browser and check it out. When she saw that I was right, instead of making an apology, she said that "on site" does not necessarily mean "at the property", but can be anywhere in central Baveno, including where we left our car. I told her politely that this cannot be true, since the parking place where we left our car, at the station, is not private, as it clearly said on the website, but public. Again, instead of backing off, she got angry and she told me plain and simple that I was wrong, and since I found a parking spot in Baveno, what was writen on the website was true (?!). I am very sorry, but this is not the way to talk to your guests, especially when they are right! She also said that a parking spot will be available on site the next morning (Sunday), which was again not true (a car left but another one came). So what happened after this? Here's what changed on booking.com. If you check about parking on this property, there's a slightly modified message. "Free private parking is possible on site (reservation is not needed) became "Free! Free private parking is available at a location nearby (reservation is not possible)".

    Very good location in Baveno, close to the lake. Good breakfast. Clean hotel and rooms. Spacious room. Friendly staff (with one exception).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not a criticism but people who have mobility problems should note there is no lift. I enjoyed my stay at the hotel very much so I didn't want to make any negative comments. However, there was one thing which concerned me but I only found out at the end of my stay so I didn't mention it to the staff. I accidently went to the wrong room one day and was able to open the door with the key to my room.

    Great location in the centre of Baveno, within a few minutes walk of the lake shore (where the boats leave to the islands and other towns), the railway station, restaurants, ATMs, a small supermarket and the tourist office. The rooms are simply furnished and there is no air conditioning (a large fan is provided, though) so it's probably not for people seeking luxury. However, for those looking for budget-friendly, no-frills accommodation, this is a good option. The breakfast included rolls, croissants, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a variety of cakes as well as coffee/tea and fruit juice. The staff were friendly and helpful - at one point I had a problem with the light in my room and they fixed it quickly. The wi-fi was very good. Some reviewers mentioned noise from passing trains but I didn't find that particularly noticeable, especially with the windows closed. (I wouldn't leave the windows open at night because the mosquitoes around Lake Maggiore deliver quite a bite!)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower stand was broken, had to hold it for a proper stream and direction. No place to put anything in the shower itself. Not enough shampoo and soap. Water didn't come down in it, all floted during the shower. Had to climb 2 floors by foot with a baby. No AC, rooms are hot during the summer.

    Location. Parking. B#sic + breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom is only separated from the room with a sliding door.

    The hotel is just few steps from the lake, and the center, and the surrounding is very beautiful. Staff is very kind and polite, speaks good English. Rooms are simple but clean and we had a small balcony as well. Breakfast is fresh and good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really a very very very small bathroom. The temperature in the room, fortunately, there was a fan. You could hear the sound of passing trains. On booking.com, the hotel was recommended as a special offer, and would normally cost a lot more. (Now € 122, - instead of € 160, - for 2 nights) However, this was misleading information because our room cost € 60, - per night. (This was mentioned on the inside of the room)

    Friendly owners and staff. Good beds. The location relative to Lago Maggiore and other places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathrooms, some noise from nearby train line.

    Great location, clean, well-run hotel by friendly young couple who gave great advice on what to do and where to go in the local area. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location was very good, both in terms of closeness to railway station and the waterfront with its eating places and ferry points. The hotel was clean and extremely comfortable, providing really good value for money. It was also right next to the museum and beautiful church and environs. The staff were friendly and helpful, we would like to return!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ! It was a fair price / quality rapport.

    We stayed there only for a night, and that was after a very busy day with the Boromeo Island tours, a day full of images and colors ! So , we've much appreciated the position , very close to the vaporetto and the train station too ! It was early in the morning when we arrived from Arona, so we just left our luggage and returned at night to sleep. But we've noticed that the room was nice and clean, with balcony , the shower had hot water, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast good. They have a nice garden with flowers and palm trees, and in the morning, the nice girl at the reception has given us the blue cap of my husband (that I think he lost it ) !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very cold room at night. Close to the railway. Every night we felt each passing train as it literally shakes the building like a small earthquake. Poor wifi.

    Close to the lake. Spacious room. Parking on site. Breakfast was ok for a two star hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our neighbors were a bit noisy but not an issue for us.

    Great location, central in Baveno. Good restaurants close by. Friendly owners that spoke good English. Comfortable room - very large with good lake view! Parking space, clean and bright rooms. Absolutely excellent value for money. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    כריות קשות אין מזגן אבל בתקופה שנסענו בספטמבר לא צריך וזה לא היה חסר לנו אבל אם צריך אז יש מאוורר בחדר the pillows were hard no aircondition but in september there is no need for one and you can use the fan in the room

    מלון בייתי ומקסים במיקום מעולה ושקט בדיוק כמה צעדים מהאגם ומכנסייה יפייפיה! המלון נמצא במרכז העיירה ליד מלא מסעדות ובתי קפה וגם במרחק של כ 50 מטר הליכה מתחנת הרכבת. ישנה חניה פרטית בטוחה והמקום של המלון מושלם בשביל טיול באזור אגם מאג'ורה. החדר הוא בסיסי ולדעתי יש בו כל מה שצריך. בנוסף והכי חשוב, הזוג המקסים שמנהל את המקום קלאודיה ואלסאנדרו נותנים קבלת פנים מחממת את הלב, הם דוברי אנגלית ומתוקים ונותנים שירות נפלא ואישי. יש במלון מסעדה שאלסנדרו מנהל ובנוסף קיבלנו מקלאודיה בערב הראשון בקבוק שמפניה לכבוד היום נישואין. בנוסף החדר שקיבלנו היה מרווח וגדול יותר מאשר בתמונות עם חדר רחצה גדול ואמבטיה. this hotel is very homey and charming in a perfect location just a few steps from the center of the town and beautiful church! the hotel is right next to the lake and under it there are alot of cafes and restaurants and its 50 meter walk to the train station. there is a private parking that is safe and the location of the hotel is perfect for travelling around lago maggiore. most importantly, the charming and sweet couple that runs this hotel , Claudia and Allesandro are amazingly sweet and made us feel very welcome and like we are home, they speak english and they give a personal and great service. there is a restaurant in the hotel run by Allesandro and also we recieved a free bottle of champagne for our anniversary from Claudia on our first night The room was bigger from the photos i saw on the site and we had a large bathroom with a tub

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to busy railway line so window needs to be closed at night.

    Great family run hotel close to Lago Maggiore in a convienient location. Evening meal available and a generous breakfast. Onsite parking is a bonus. Close to railway station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, super friendly and helpful. Great location just a stones throw from the ferry to the islands. Very homey and relaxed. Terrific price. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was a little small and because we were at the back of the hotel we had noise from passing trains but that didn't bother us!

    Alessandro and Claudia were so helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. A family run hotel with excellent service, a really good breakfast and we had two delicious meals in their restaurant. Room very comfortable with a small balcony to sit out on. Ideally located in central Baveno and close to the ferries, a small supermarket, buses, restaurants and the railway station. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no air conditional in our room, but it wasn't too hot with all the windows open.

    Nice location. One or two minute walk to the lake. There's a small cathedral right next to the hotel so we could hear the bell from our room, which I enjoyed. Breakfast was fair. Staff friendly. The room was actually better than its photo on booking.com. Lovely. Wi-fi was great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view on the pictures are now obscured by a building that is still in progress of being built and noisy. The breakfast was appaling. Staff not helpful or friendly. It was dirty and we did not feel confident eating there. Would not recommened this place. We booked three nights and left after the first night. We got no refund and had to pay again for somewhere else. We recommened you look around as there are plenty of lovely places near by for the same money. The bath mat was filthy underneath and there was dirt and dust on the radiators and the wallpaper was coming of. There is definatly no views of the mountains . All the rooms face the building that has now been built. The children's play area is on a car park not like the picture shows.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are too simple. There is no aircondisioning . The train goes very neer the hotel and makes a lot of noise even at noght. The breakfast is lame. no vegetables. everything from the store. no eggs. And not nearly enough for everybody.

    The couple who run the hotel are very nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints all was excellent.

    Great location close to transport and the lake. The hotel is small and management very personable. The staff were very lovely,helpful and informative. We loved staying at the Elvezia Hotel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the train was very loud. Mattress was too soft. Bathroom too small.

    The walking distance to the lake and lots of restaurants is great. The room is comfortably big and has a nice balcony, sadly away from the lake, so not much of a view.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nice hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location and very friendly and helpful owners!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the lake, nice ambient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean, pleasant, bright, spacious room and bathroom; some windows had a view of the lake beyond. Staff attentive and pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soundproofing could be better

    Great value for money, optimal location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bad could be better but it's ok for 2stars hotel.

    Great location, very friendly stuff. Fresh breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All keys may be similar. You could open the door of another room with your key. I went twice by error in the anohter room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is close to the train station, and you can hear the trains go by loudly.

    Friendly staff, good location, modest but good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was lumpy. I was pretty cold. The coffee was the worst I have ever had in Italy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not include healthy choices and was more sweet oriented (no vegtables, no eggs,

    Excellent location Good room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surpraised there was no TV in room

    Staff very pleasant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An excellent value for money option! This family run hotel treats their guests more than better! They are helpful, kind,...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really wonderful young couple run the hotel-- it is a great value for the money. The rooms are basic but very clean and the breakfast is better than hotels that are twice as expensive. It's location is a short walk from the ferries. And parking is free.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The days were cold and the heating system did not work (May). The maintenance on some of the items in the room gave a very poor appearence such as the shower curtain that was falling appart. The hotel policy is not to change the towels after the 3rd day (which we were fine with), unfortunately when they clean the room they fold the used and wet towels causing bad smell and them not being dried out for next day.

    The personal was nice, friendly and very helpful!

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The car park is a bit small (could be an issue if you come with a bigger car)

    Location, very nice and helpful staff. Perfect for stays at Lago Maggiore.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect for short stays in Baveno. Nice and competent staff. Central location. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very kind and competent staff. Clean and spacious room. Great location to visit the Lago Maggiore

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you are tall like me... using the toilet will be hard

    Extreme friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly staff. Excellent value for money. Good central location near to historic church and waterfront.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Little space in bathroom. Very limited food selection at the breakfast.

    Great location. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Cheap prices.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nowhere to make tea/coffee - proved costly over the week.

    Location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no TV in the room

    Location was perfect

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The buffet breakfat was great.The staff were friendly and very helpful

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: