Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Empire Palace Hotel 4 stars

Via Aureliana 39, Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy

#434 of 967 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 260 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny. Met friends staying at this hotel and the room they were in at the same price paid by us was double the size. Complained to hotel and we did get an upgrade to a slightly bigger room. But again was not as big as theirs.

    Very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    The stuf was very kindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small

    The stuf was very kindly The room was clean The hotel is near main turist places . 15 minuts walk to corso street, 10 minuts to the main bus station and to the bus to airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Good station for rail travelers. Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything in downtown Rome is too small and crowded. This hotel is no exception. I felt like I had no room to move or rotate. The bed consumes the entire room. The shower is practically a coffin.

    The location near the main train station is a big plus. The staff were very helpful. Extra key cards were provided without problem. The hotel bar "Blue Bar" had very friendly staff and a good selection of beverages.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place in Rome
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really loved the stay at Empire Palace Hotel. The staff was very kind and helpful every time. The management was also kind. So, I really can recommend the place to stay few or more days. Breakfast was also good and even the coffee was great what they serve to the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.0
    Poor hotel, not the best service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were extremley unhappy, the rooms were very noisy at night time and bins being emptied at silly o'clock in the morning, breakfast was very hit and miss, having to wait for food to be available, staff to acknowladge you were there, if you are looking for a base and a base only without all the refinements, this hotel is ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    Not good for long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Italian staff on reception was not really friendly, they were not seen exactly on reception most of the time and they say hello or good bye or thank you rarely. The reception area has no place to put luggage during check in/out. The room was small. The closet has not enough space to place all belongings. Breakfast is ordinary. The staff on breakfast were not friendly. The whole hotel needs to be renovated.

    The cleaning was good. Clean and warm room. Slippers and bathrobe were handy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    Easy to access from the airport, but a bit futher away from transport/ city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattress (not good at all) We felt rushed to finish our breakfast as they started tidying up 2-3 minutes before the end of the breakfast time.

    Variety in breakfast - location - friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Great place for your Roman holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Great location, room was very comfortable, we were allowed to check in early which was lovely, breakfast tasty, building was very warm and cosy, staff were very nice and helpful, perfection! Very recommended!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely old hotel in ancient area - safe clean and well services by staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed and pillow were very hard but they gave me a feather pillow and after that I slept better

    good staff, lovely old hotel in old safe area and not too far from Piazza Barberini and hence Spanish Steps etc, excellent breakfast with excellent serving staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    Convenient and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No complaints.

    Excellent breakfast with broad menu included. Quiet and comfortable and within easy walking distance to several main attractions and to metro and hop-on-hop off bus stops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    Nothing special hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff average, missing courtesy and kindness. Do not communicate with guests. A small selection of food and very poor coffee.Juice heavily diluted with water.

    250m near the subway station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a little dated, was classed as a boutique 4 star hotel, to achieve this mark in my opinion it requires some modernisation.

    Good central location. Staff very informative.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Try it!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hard pillows for my liking

    A 4 Star hotel but with 5 Star service and excellence. Perfect for business groups and conferences as the Staff makes it streamlined, but it is also very suita le for couples...Try Osteria 44 on the other side of the street...one of the better restaurants!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.2
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. Only a 15 minute walk from pretty much everything you need to see. I'd say about 30 mins max to the colosseum but who goes to Italy and doesn't want to walk?

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.1
    IF YOU NEED A TAXI MAKE SURE IT IS A TAXI NOT A PRIVATE CAR
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    asked for our choices to go to the airport conceirge said taxi 45 amd private car 60 euros.said we ll take a taxi.nxt morning both after breakfest and morning stroll said we'd like thE TAXI to pick us up at 11.45.only at the airport we understood that the car was a private car,and had to pay 60 instead of 45

    great breakfast,usually cannot find so many choices in european hotel breakfasts,tasty decoration at lobby and recreation areas, BOL ÇEŞİTLİ kahvaltı,lobby ve ortak alanlarda ince zevkli dekorasyon,YERİ MERKEZİ SAYILIR

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.1
    Not bad, even if not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was much smaller than depicted (for 2 people, luggage had to stay out on the floor) No bathtub in the bathroom even if we asked for it Breakfast had little choice - after a few days it got boring

    Room was clean Staff was very helpful Breakfast was quite good Checkout time until 12:00

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    10
    Definitely recommended- couldn't be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Couldn't ask for more! The hotel is very charming- rooms are comfortable, clean and elegant- staff is friendly and helpful- location is great, we walked to all the major sites. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious! It was our second stay at this hotel and definitely not our last.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.5
    Internet pictures misguide
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4 star

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.1
    Pillowcases
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillowcases

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast can be better

    the receptionist was very kind and found for nus all what we ask the hotel is quiet and very cleen

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many mirrors No side plates at breakfast Luke warm coffee at breakfast Lift not too good

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    We had a fantastic stay, location was good, staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful, hotel was beautiful! Everything you would expect from an italian hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.7
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location further from centre than expected.

    Comfortable (if small) room. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    Good, friendly, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. No room between beds.

    Fantastic staff. Very clean. Quiet location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Grand very clean efficient staff if a little somber!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bar closed at midnight very unusual when residents are still there spending money!!!

    Breakfast good could have replenished more often.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    nice stay, quiet location near station, good breakfast and beautiful hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nice an quiet room, nearby station but in quiet street

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    Clean and staff were very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit hard and our room was so small that we dont have enough space for our luggages

    Clean and staff were very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel clean tidy and quiet - and staff friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stopped refilling breakfast at about 9 but open till 10

    Quiet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    3.8
    Yard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old equipments....damaged table - damaged bathrooms....carpet was dirty....the name is empire palace hotel....😞

    Yard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend couples and families visiting Rome to stay here. Definitely we will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfect location, breakfast, convenience

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Great place to sleep. Not sure of the restaurant in the hotel but breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Front desk receptionist looked dissatisfied

    Historic hotel but very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    variation of food at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    shower was leaking

    variation of food at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room didn't work staff couldn't fix it, not good when paying a high price

    Breakfast was nice Room spacious

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Certainly on the top of our list to revisit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was excellent!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    7.5
    Spacious room and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spacious room and bathroom

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    9.6
    Will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was great the only slight disadvantage was it was not so central.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    8.8
    A night in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough room to move around.

    Cleanliness.Comfortable bed and a large tv.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.1
    Overpriced, wouldn't stay there again if it wasn't my company's default hotel of choice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was charged minibar for some cheap snacks which weren't in the minibar.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    9.2
    Our beautiful large room with the TV in the mirror;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Listening to a staff member scold my wife for putting the wrong item in the toaster.

    Our beautiful large room with the TV in the mirror; never saw that before. Staff was generally professional, friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    This is an excellent hotel with very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is located some distance from the main sites and requires a lot of walking or taxis.

    This is an excellent hotel with very helpful staff. Quality of food and service is very good. Plenty of restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.0
    They gave us a room with AC that did not work !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They gave us a room with AC that did not work !in extremely hot and humid Rome weather . After complaining they changed our room to acceptable AC but without automatic setting , so we could not control the temperature .

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    6.7
    it was in nice neighborhood near to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we pay extra taxes. i never seen in any other hotel in europe. usaly they include in the total price. we arrived 16.00 in the afternoon and our room wasnt ready. we waiting 20 minutes

    it was in nice neighborhood near to all.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    9.5
    The location is very good for sightseeing and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Near the TV set there is only one socket which we had to use in turn for three devices: TV or minibar or stand lamp. There should be a T-socket.

    The location is very good for sightseeing and shopping. The personnel are extremely polte, helpful and freindly. The double deluxe room was very cosy and clean with a lot of everyday toiletries.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.5
    Everything was close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They did not have a parking lot.

    Everything was close by.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.5
    Change of linen daily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly bigger room. More variety for breakfast

    Change of linen daily.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    2.5
    Very unpolite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very unpolite staff Poor breakfast Very old Dirty

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    8.3
    Great location , great staff they helped us alot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location , great staff they helped us alot.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    Staff are perfect , helpfull , location quiet and great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is poor.

    Staff are perfect , helpfull , location quiet and great.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    Staff were great, helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were great, helpful and friendly. Great value for the price.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.2
    location, service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    poor wifi

    location, service

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast, helpful staff, decent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small rooms

    Breakfast, helpful staff, decent location

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    9.2
    Location,heat,bath,bed,breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room

    Location,heat,bath,bed,breakfast

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    great value for a true 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great value for a true 4 star

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Bed to hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed to hard

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    8.8
    The relaxed feeling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were great, friendly and helpful.

    The relaxed feeling

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    9.2
    Comfortable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    All good

    Comfortable and great location

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location! Walking distance from some of the sites. Pleasant staff and great breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.2
    Fairly spacious room and bathroom by European standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fairly spacious room and bathroom by European standards. A bottle of Prosecco and tray of fruit were waiting for us!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.3
    Rooms are very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are very small. Recommend upgrading to get more space.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    We have stayed here on a number of occasions and the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed here on a number of occasions and the hotel is always first class.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: