Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Des Etrangers 5 stars

Passeggio Adorno 10/12, Ortigia, 96100 Siracusa, Italy

#25 of 45 hotels in Siracusa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1028 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Classic style of Hotel, which is inkeeping, when you are immursed in the history of the surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, and we mean nothing, Siracusa is a must to any visit to Sicily.

    Grand Hotel Des Etrangers in Siracusa is actually on the island or Ortiga, accessed from Siracusa via a bridge. This is the oldest, and most beautiful part of Siracusa. All the famous monuments, including the main square, are just a few minutes walk. The Hotel's Deluxe rooms are front line to the sea, but were more expensive than our classic room type. The room & bathroom, was large, well presented and clean. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Our tour of Sicily has confirmed our suspicions ……...Sicily has the best pasta & pizzas! we went to Naples in May 2018, and the verdict is official the food across Sicily is really good, better than the mainland! so go Room & Breakfast......eat out the rest!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.2
    Overpriced for what it offers. Rates are based on location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms, amenities, facilities are outdated and really grim. The rooftop has an amazing view but no vibes to it...They really could turn it into the best SPOT in Ortigia in light of the hotel's location.

    The property is well located. Close to the Duomo and the piazza where tourists hang out in Ortigia. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful location & hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in a beautiful location, check in was professional, quick & it was organised for our hire car to be placed in a monitored garage. We were supplied with a map of the area and it was explained fully. The room was clean, well presented. The choice at breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    4.2
    Great area to spend a day or two. Good location spoilt by an over rated hotel with very poor facili.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very dated and in poor condition. The breakfast poor, and the carpet in the long route leading to the breakfast room dirty. Overall this hotel does not justify its rating and is far too expensive.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    Complete disappointment for a USD420 per night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room with a sea view but constant noise from outside. Shower with a plastic curtain and uncovered drain. No bath. Breakfast very basic, but you can pay extra for a boiled egg. Booking.com rates higher than government authorized rates.

    There was nothing to like about the property itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful outlook in a sea view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not everything was working in the spa which was disappointing.

    Beautiful outlook in a sea view room. Lovely big doors to outside. Great location to watch the world go by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    Under new decoration but still a nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole building is in redecoration situation. So we were situated in the old wing. The room and the rest of the functioning hotel are in an old type of decoration and style. But the view, the staff and the atmosphere is worth to stay there!

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Heavily overrated for a five-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a serious renovation and upgrade. The bathroom is not up to standards (see photos). The room heating did not help in getting to 20C (68F). Staffing (number of staff) for a five-star hotel was ludicrous (often times there was nobody at reception or lobby). Breakfast was adequate, what is not a lot to say in Sicily. Seriously, no wifi in the room in spite of the advertising (and the info in the booklet in the room)?

    Location and valet parking were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Affordable grandeur in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only available in the public areas not in room was a minor inconvenience.

    Excellent position. Very friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful roof garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The hotel is oldish and not well taken care of (we were told that is was about to be renovated though). 2. We asked for our breakfast to be delivered in our room. A man came in advance (we were still sleeping) and knocked hard on the door twice and seemed angry! He even kicked off one of my shoe and didn’t apologize! Strange behavior in that kind of hotel! 3. The price is very high considering that the hotel need renovation and that it was low season.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.1
    It’s a great hotel in a great location if you are not converned about services beyond the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t really cater for the winter and Christmas - it is geared to summer There are no comfortable places or a bar that is open for a relaxed drink and if you don’t want to be in the restaurant The lifts are really slow and it is a long walk from one side to the other Parking is expensive if done through the hotel compared to local real costs Breakfast is ok but service is not 5* and is variable and the croissant taste of plastic Limited TV if you don’t speak Italian ! WiFi very slow It’s a lovely hotel in many ways but the experience for guests in the winter and over Christmas could have been made more welcoming and more inclusive...

    Rooms were good once we had the ones we booked and well appointed Breakfast/dining room was a beautiful location and with a great view Location of hotel is excellent and highly recommended

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    nice central hotel in Ortigia/Siracusa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Retrieving your car from the valet can be slow and can't be done before 8am.

    We had a really relaxing stay in Siracusa at this hotel. The hotel has a free mini bar and the breakfast buffet was really good. View onto ocean was beautiful and the location is very close to the Duomo which is the prettiest square in the city. Valet parking was the same price as the city parking. Bring a swimsuit to try out their hotel pool and sauna for free.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed it very much - Great location in Siracusa - Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have preferred more comfortable and larger walk-in shower Only one elevator

    Beautiful location Nice breakfast on roof terrace - great view Valet Parking Renovated building with special character

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Valet parking very good (handed us a confirmation letter of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Valet parking very good (handed us a confirmation letter of the car's condition), good concierge service (asked for changing a room and the porter was very helpful)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    A proper old hotel with a sea-view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would recommend to put carpets in the hotel rooms.

    Great sea-view hotel, probably the best in the city. They have a great terrace for breakfasts, and a small, but very good SPA and swimming pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.0
    all except the room was good the city is beautiful and there are two visits
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As you enter the hotel feel the smell of damp as if you are in a basement reception area is small and there is no corner of the sitting room with a battered Tiled bathroom horrible shower when young and old if you raise your hand hit the metal rack, sink cracked a holder rusty painted himself but you see in the picture that can not capture the actual state of a balcony door cracked as the abandoned house together big deception Guest Book 5-star hotel complete with a 2 star room that deserves the images on the site are a scam

    hotel is in an excellent location, the staff is friendly Breakfast is good has a wide selection of sweet and salty foods, or at the level of 4-star hotels

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.0
    Fairly standard good quality hotel in an A grade location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fairly standard good quality hotel in an A grade location. What set it apart though was the staff must of figured out it was my birthday, from my passport and left a warmly received bottle of prosecco and handwritten card.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    The stay at the Des Etrangers was brilliant, the only fault...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay at the Des Etrangers was brilliant, the only fault was our late check out was confirmed by booking.com but not the hotel... Our suns wedding was there brilliant staff that night and reception ...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Ok place on the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has probably seen grander days and is showing its age somewhat. There are large empty spaces that give it a lonely rather than cozy atmosphere.

    The hotel is in a lovely location looking out to sea on Ortigia Island. I came by Motorbike and there was special parking outside under cctv.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.0
    Wonderful weather and lovely location made up for these shortcomings
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sole English speaking programme on television was CNN. No BBC World News which is standard in every hotel worldwide. Room had noise from various central hotel service plant such as main master air conditioner situated below window which were in constant operation. Minimal drawer space in room to store clothes. Ground floor bar never open. No close parking. Valet service at 10 euros per day takes car to park but need 40 mins to bring car back. Red orange juice at breakfast obviously from concentrate. This is of course the island that produces superb blood oranges, so why not the real thing ?

    Breakfast buffet very comprehensive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.6
    Not at all a 5* hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is by far not a 5* hotel. It's absolutely worn out, old, empty halls with ramdom furniture and not really clean. Tiny, dark rooms. Floor is not strait in the room. But mainly our stay was soiled by an unpleasant situation with my jewellery box, that was "lost" during the visit of a maid. Box was after assidentially "found", but we had to involve local police. Only one person in the hotel was trying to help us - manager Pier Paolo. Nevertheless I didn't receive any official feedback or excuse from them due to situation. For sure I will not stay there ever again.

    Breakfast was satisfying. Hotel is situated in the very centre of the old part of Ortigia.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Hi Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hi Booking.com.... the occasion was our sons wedding which was held in the town hall then the reception was at our hotel Des Etrangers hotel & Spa at the Roof Top restaurant. I am 100% sure the communications with the hotel through yourselves each time did indicate a late check out..which was highlighted in green on my booking confirmation on your website. This did not happen and it was the only thing that tarnished the whole experience from Booking.com point of view , other than that the hotel, staff, the help factor from the hotel staff was second to none especially after the meal wedding reception..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    4.2
    Not much, the staff were helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right where do I start, we stayed for two nights and had three rooms. The first had an awful view in to a back yard with bins and rubbish with men working. We asked to change to another room which had a good view but the hot water was the colour of urine and therefore the bath/shower were unusable. We were given a third room which again had a good view so we slept there. However at 7am workmen began dismantling scaffolding outside our room thus waking us up. By the time we were fully awake and could not lay in bed any longer the work stopped and the workmen went away. So they could have started an hour later showing consideration to guests but no. This hotel smacks of a place where a lot of work needs to be done and the current owners either dont have the money or dont want to do it and sell out to Asians who run it on a showstring and do none of the work. We've seen this the world over. Overall close it down and start again with proper investment or as I suspect run it into the ground and attract the lower end clientelle.

    Not much, the staff were helpful and polite. Bed linen clean. Breakfast good and excellent choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    6.3
    Not shore the place knows what he wants to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saying how nice some parts of the Hotel were restored other parts of the Hotel are run down and decorated without any taste and no belonging. The rooms are well renovated in art decor style but floors are full with paint stains. There is a huge very nice old style bathroom but water sprays from the shower all over the place.

    The Hotel has a great location.Next to the see,the Domo and to many restaurants but still very quiet. They are some beautiful restored places in the Hotel and also the rooms become some of the old time glance back.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival we were checked into a room on the 4th floor - maybe 407 not sure. This room was totally unacceptable for this hotel. You may argue I was having a great rate etc, do not accept this as I was paying E356. Went down to reception and stated unhappy with room. The reception staff were very helpful and found 301 for us. The room was nice and clean, however, on our second night the bar/restaurant in the courtyard had loud music and diners remained until 2.30am to 3am. At 7.30am the builders arrived and we heard loud shouting as they proceeded to start work!! Nice night - I was shattered. I made my complaint to reception on check out and given 20% discount on the room rate for the second night. Quite frankly I don't think I should have been charged - perhaps for breakfast only. You must be aware of the noise from the courtyard and I think you have to advise guests there may be a problem. You have nice staff working reception, why make their life miserable with the complaints?

    The breakfast was very good. Wonderful views overlooking the sea. Very helpful staff on reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    5.8
    Cold staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is cold, they have the professional smiles and tones, couldn't feel their passion or hospitality. Valet takes long. The maid just opened our door without knocking when we were still sleeping at 8:30. Toilet seat slipped. Definitely not a star hotel service level.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    A superb old Sicilian style hotel in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were lukewarm on second day.

    This was a very comfortable hotel in which to stay. It was a beautifully appointed grand old Sicilian style hotel. The decor was beautiful. Rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was excellent with its variety. Location was excellent. Staff were welcoming and helpful especially Olmo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.6
    A once grand hotel under poor management and reconstruction made our stay quite uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sewer gas smells in room, had to switch rooms, a/c not working or not on so it was hot, large tour groups, noisy late at night with dance and sports festivals just outside the hotel in square, water and flushing sounds through the walls and ceiling, dirty and moldy, shower flooded the bathroom, bar waiter took our order and never returned when there were only a few people being served.

    Good location for visiting Ortigia. Rooftop bar has beautiful view, good breakfast in a nice room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Amazing Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect up until my transfer from the hotel to the airport. I booked a 90 Euro transfer for 6 30pm on Wednesday to Comiso Airport, i twice tried to confirm this, the first time, face to face, the receptionist thought it was 6 30 am, so we corrected this, I called at 4 30pm on Wednesday afternoon to make sure everything was ok and was put on hold then cut off! When I got my transfer which I had booked for Comiso for 90 Euro, I ended up at Catania Airport. The driver was not at fault and was a huge help to get me to Comiso in time for my flight. We both called the hotel who said that I booked for Catania. I asked to talk to the manager numerous times and have not heard back, the fee for the taxi was 260 Euro, and because the driver was so understanding only charged me 130 Euros!!!! He's out of pocket and so am I!!!!!!!! I requested numerous times for the hotel manager to call me and have not heard anything as of yet! I'd like to make very clear that the driver was going to charge me off the meter to Catania, 125 Euro when I'd been quoted 90 Euro. He was an absolute pleasure to deal with and accommodated me by getting me to my flight! I've already made my feelings very clear about booking.com and I expect a resolution to this! Kind regards, Jamie Clarke

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Lovely old school hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    at breakfast they charged you extra for fried / boiled eggs

    the hotel is old school style which is lovely although it could do with a little love on modernising it. Our room had the most beautiful view and the location of this hotel is super, you really are staying in the best spot! Watching the sunset from the balcony was so beautiful, the room was huge. Free mini bar. We did not have a chance to use the spa but it looked good. I love this place and area, very relaxing, albeit a bit touristic.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Great view, great location with everything in walking distance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom perfectly clean but showing its teeth a little.

    Great position in Ortigia, the only place to be in Syracuse. On the sea front, lovely views. Staff helpful. Everything you want to see in short walking distance. The hotel itself is redolent of the way the better off used to travel, if perhaps a little dated. The cleanliness etc is very good. Parking by valet is very reasonable at 10 euros a day. Nice touches like a free mini bar. Breakfast good with extras available free on request such as espresso or cappuccino or fried eggs or different juices as well as a large array of the more usual things. Of course a selection of olives, cold meats, prosecco etc too. For a special meal out go to Regina Lucia on Piazza del Duomo - Magic!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    In the heart og Siracusa,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small rooms (but good) WC did not always fuction in the room and somtimes som bad smell because of this.

    In the heart og Siracusa, Breakfast was very good (one could tak Prosecco,,,) Topp floor bar with a great view was top1 Spa was little but very good service and good treatment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Lovely friendly hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noisy at night if you're room is at the front as it's a meeting place and the restaurants have music

    Lovely view of sea and harbour from the balcony, a great selection at the buffet breakfast catering for all tastes. Roof garden restaurant ideal for a quiet and relaxing drink with great views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Hands down, best hotel I've ever been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hands down, best hotel I've ever been to. This was my second time and I look forward to staying again sometime. Also, terrific full breakfast, included.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Second visit and no doubt there will be others, we loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was the second time we stayed here, it is an excellent hotel, very central and with an excellent breakfast. The reception staff were very friendly and Anna remembered us from our previous visit which was welcoming and gave us our previous room. Would recommend the hotel for comfort, style and value for money. Well done!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Staff was very polite and the view of the room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff was very polite and the view of the room was fantastic. It is very close to the nice restaurants, just 5 minutes walk and also quiet enough to have a rest. And the staff made very good recommendations for eat and beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean hotel in a wonderful ancient building on Ortigia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The mirror in the bathroom was mounted on the sole Windows, making its use quite unpracticle (far away from one's own face), especially for shaving. Need to change elevators (walking through the main entrance) to move from the rooms to the Breackfast room or the Spa. The parking was independent from the Hotel, long times were required to get the car and the parking was closing on 11 p.m. on holidays (even earlier in usual days). The parking was seemingly located far away and on a terrain. Every time the valet brought back the car it was substantially more dirty than before.

    Clean hotel in a wonderful ancient building on Ortigia. Very good positioned: the main attraction of Ortigia are at walking distance. Beautiful view from the roof terrace, where a restaurant and a bar are located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    3.8
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ugly, dull atmosphere as the window was super small and down to the floor. Air condition super noisy, old and not efficient Free Wifi super slow, to pay for a good wifi is not an option today. Noises from outside coming from the square with live concert and from the courtyard behind, super noisy till 2am every nights. Cleaning can be improved also

    Location is good Breakfast is good Free mini bar

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location and good facilities on the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We parked 15min walk away at the underground parking It's ok walk. Not really complaining

    Great location and good facilities on the island They have a valet parking but we couldn't use it for we need to take a early flight out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    July is noisy on the Isle of Ortigia and while it contributes a lively buzz when strolling around in the evenings, if you are staying above or alongside one of the impromptu venues it is very disruptive to sleep - over amplified with the sense of being in the midst of an audible competition. We had to change rooms with the hotel unable to inform whether further music would be played during the week. July is noisy we were told which some may like and others may blot their holiday. The Booking.com Genius status and 'offer' turnout to be a room that was less than ideal - furthest from reception and the amenities under the roof - with an air of neglect. If 'genius status' is to mean anything then it should mean better options. The valet parking worked efficiently but for two days a local strike was blamed for not retrieving the car in a timely manner - frustrating.

    The Spa and facilities, the rood top bar with wonderful views, the location with the small 'locals' beach just 5 minutes from the hotel - with towels provided by the hotel. The coolness of the hotel lobby when returning in the heat of the day - a sanctuary. The numerous places to eat and people watch. The locals bathing platform with steps into the Med. The 2.4m early morning walk around Ortigia and the blue skies and sunshine. The buses are fun to use on the bumpy cobbles but watch out for the less than frequent Green Route 3 bus. The fish market, the bistros and the service are all very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice location but not 5 star standard!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In general, tired decor and badly needs refurbishment. Very bothered with a hopeless aircon in our room (reported to reception twice but nothing done about it) Given a very small room without a decent view, rather old furnishings and the tiniest shower cubicle. Small indoor pool at the spa and once again, could do with better decor including decent lighting.

    Brilliant location, overlooking Fonte Aretusa and the Marina. Excellent breakfast with a wide selection. Personalised attention with a bottle of prosecco for our anniversary. And the ever helpful Olmo at reception!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    Luxury Hotel for a reasonable price in the heart of Ortigia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is quite complicated and expensive as it does not belong to the hotel, so you essentially need to give your car to a company working with the hotel.

    Everything, it was a fantastic stay in Ortigia, a luxury Hotel for a very reasonable price. Excellent value for money, the staff is super competent and nice. We enjoyed an excellent stay. Fantastic breakfast, wonderful room, great staff that has even arrange a shipment for us...and did I mention the fabulous location? We are still dreaming!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could here music from my he hotel room and the band was playing till after midnight 2 of the 3 nights we were staying.

    Good location and nice clean room. The breakfast was very good and I enjoyed the use of the spa and pool facilities during my stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful stay in Ortygia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Families with small children crying in the room all evening. This type of hotel is not suitable for families with small children.

    The room with a sea view was beautiful. The breakfast was very good with fresh and home made products. The organized beach close to the hotel named Zefiro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location in Ortigia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is a bit hard for me. The shower hose was is in the middle of the bathtub which was impractical when you shower. On our 3rd day, our door could not be opened with our key.

    Very big and nice room ( room 201). Had a balcony towards the courtyard in the back. Very good breakfast choice. Friendly staff. Fantastic bar in the 5th floor with the view to the sea. Very good location close to the Fontane Aretusa. Wifi is free but a bit slow. 15 euro taxi from Syracuse bus station to hotel. Location of the hotel is close to their lunggomare and so close to their beautiful Piazzia Duomo

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    5.0
    Horrible !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, every single part of it, was SOOOOO OLD. Like come on man renovation is key! I would not rate this hotel as 5 stars. The staff was horrible! The breakfast was horrible and dirty! The rooms where large but not eye friendly and the bathrooms where horrible! Simply horrible ! The only good thing is the location.

    I just liked the location and the fact it was right infront of the beach so if you book a sea-view room your mornings would be pleasant. And the rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    This Ortigia hotel is the place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Location great and hotel beautiful. There was a heat wave and our room with a view was hampered by our having to close the drapes as heat poured in. Loved the indoor spa pool. Beach areas not so good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Make your Ortigia stay that much more plesant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have stayed here many times and are always made very welcome and treated like family. Staff are helpful and friendly. Their suggestions about restaurants and so on are always good. The hotel's location is lovely and now that there is the little beach in front it's perfect. The bar and restaurant upstairs are excellent and the views from there sensational.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    First class hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our meal wasn't good in their restaurant.

    Valet parking was great. Fabulous location, opposite beach club. Had a large room with water views. Should have stayed longer. Roof top bar a must at sunset. Many good restaurants right outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in a really good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Check in was a little delayed beyond the advertised time. Staff were very apologetic and explained that there had been a maintenance issue in our room. We had to wait around 30 minutes. I guess these things happen from time to time. There was some music on the Sunday night from a bar somewhere in front of and below our room. Not particularly intrusive, but be aware that this could be an issue if you are sensitive. It was less noticeable on subsequent nights.

    This hotel is in a fabulous location on the island of Ortigia with fantastic views across the bay westwards towards the afternoon and setting sun. Below is a broad boardwalk-style waterfront where the coastguard station is situated and also some moorings for visiting yachts. The hotel is stylish in a traditional way. We were in the block which is north of the main entrance with a good third-floor room with view. Walking time to the Duomo is no more than five minutes. Breakfast is served in a first-floor room with great views at the front of the hotel. Breakfasts were very good and were a little more internationally-oriented than most other hotels we stayed in on Sicily, but without in any way losing the Sicilian character elements. We lingered longer over breakfasts here than in other hotels. The spa and pool has attracted some comment from other reviewers and we were really not sure what to expect. We didn't use the health spa treatments, but we visited the pool and used the sauna and steam room. The pool area is very dark, but there is enough light to read by. The pool is an interesting triangular shape, so although you won't like it if you just want to swim lengths, it is is fine for a dip and for cooling off. Also, there is a kind of shallow shelf area around the edges, so plenty of scope for weaker swimmers. It's worth a visit, anyway, and we used it two or three times during a four-day stay. We didn't use the rooftop restaurant, as we had a number of restaurants across the city that we wanted to try, but the menu and the views looked great. Great daily refuelling of the small free minibar in the room, unlike some places that give you an initial supply only.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Stay here if you go to Siracusa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! A beautiful old hotel that is well maintained, fabulous location and views. Staff were welcoming and looked after us well. We just loved it and wished we could stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Bathroom let it down but great in all other respects - loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom could do with an upgrade - bath seal loose so water went on the floor during shower, shower handset had a leak (fine spray going in 3 directions) and all porcelain units generally worn but perfectly functional

    The location was superb, bedroom overlooking the harbour and straight out of the hotel to numerous restaurants, gelaterias etc. No parking on-site and valet parking was 3k away but providing you gave 45 mins notice, car was brought to hotel promptly. Reception very helpful. Roof-top bar's Margaritas were excellent. Loads of choice at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Older hotel with charm of Sicily. Water quality did not look good but bottled water fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unusually hot; air condition worked with closed windows. Blocking beautiful sea view. Breakfast ok but better other places. Location perfect. Indoor pool at spa a treat.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Location. Style. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An out door swimming pool on the sundeck would be ideal.

    Location in old town over looking ocean . Old style elegance and glass. Fantastic breakfast. Brilliant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.4
    Not very friendly stuffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuffs were not helpful or welcoming. No assistance to handle baggages. The room was located in the different building and nobody helped us to get there. The room was nothing special. Our room should be rated 3 stars not 5 as I expected.

    View from the room. Near to the restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Beds comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds comfortable. Fantastic sea view. Best meal of the week when visited hotel restaurant on our last night. Drinks after on the rooftop terrace amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in gorgeous town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we found unacceptable.

    Wonderful old style hotel. Lovely staff and the location opposite the water in the old town was perfect. It is well appointed, but a little tired in places. Very good breakfast with a great range of delicious fruits.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.8
    if you expect 4-5 star service, look elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    check in was without hospitality from staff. line to check in. lack of porter service. unclear where to leave car for valet. check in staff did not communicate valet fees and recommended i check the terms and conditions on booking.com mattress was terrible. spa required check in and facilities need be updated. basic room was ok size with nice terrace/view. air conditioning was lacking. we stayed at 5 hotels in eastern/southern sicily during this trip. this was the most expensive and the least comfortable.

    location was very good for ortygia but driving to location which is in a highly pedestrian area was stressful. rooftop was lovely for an apperitif despite crowded/loud with other guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking is not great, Valet parking 10 euros per day, we had to wait over an hour to get our car back

    Great location Easy walk to Bars Shops Market

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    The view was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is about 3km away, and you have to remember that someone on staff will have to cover that distance (twice) before you get your car.........so plan ahead.

    Wonderful room location overlooking the Med. ! The wifi was free and worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    4.6
    Well this is a 5 star with three stars too much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms, service ( except for Mr Olmo) and decadence of both the Spa and the rooms. Totally unacceptable to provide tourists with rooms without windows!!! This should not exist in a self defined 5 star structure.

    Well this is a 5 star with three stars too much. Bathrooms are mouldy and not well maintained, mattresses are old, and everything has a decadent touch. We wanted to change room immediately even though we realised that we had been lucky to get a room with a view, as there were tourists who were given rooms without windows!!! In a 5 star hotel???? Are you kidding me?? Mr. Olmo at the reception changed our room on the second day and was the friendliest person of the rest of the personnel who reflects the attitude of the owner/management. A decadent superiority which uses tourists ingenuity to earn money. On a positive note breakfast buffet was ok, even tough not corresponding to 5 star standards, especially in the service. Another positive note is the location. A shame for such a beautiful location as Ortigia, as this sustains people false beliefs that in Sicily you cannot get better accommodation than this one. Being a Sicilian myself I can say that this is not true at all. In Sicily you can get much better accommodation than this hotel. Therefore...Not recommended at all!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    3.8
    Bad room smell impacted our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property looks like it has come straight out of the 1980s. Our room also had distinct mould smell which made us feel uncomfortable staying there. Our bath also blocked and we had to get someone to fix it - perhaps why the room smelt so off.

    The location of this property was great - in walking distance for everything within the Island of Ortiga.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice old palace hotel but some improvements in bathrooms would be desire .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I really did not like the bathroom. Perhaps it is a law in Sicily but they are all adapted for old and disable people what it is great but not really comfortable. The shower had a plastic curtain and the water was spread everywhere after a shower. The smell also was not very good inside. It looks really old. Not a good impression. I forgot to ask if all the rooms had the same kind of bathroom, ours was room 109 and 111.

    The location of this hotel is really good. You are really in the heart of "Ortigia- Syracuse". Just few minutes walking to the Duomo. You can walk everywhere and the sunset from the restaurant in the 5th flour is breathtaking . The building is an old palace, really beautiful. The sea view from the rooms were also amazing .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Very good location in middle of historic island Ortigia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bad internet WIFI-Internet-Connection almost everywhere in the hotel and no adapters available for foreign plugs.

    Very good location in middle of historic island Ortigia. Very good service and beautiful hotel building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice place, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Better lighting in the pool (which is rather small). Freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast is free, but the size of the glass is small. Bathroom smelled of mildew and bathtub needs to be replaced (but the rest of the bathroom was nice).

    Close to the main square. Friendly staff. Nice, large room with a nice view. Good breakfast choices.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.5
    Terrible experience with a crazy night Manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had one of my worst experience with one of staff. For a mistake on the booking request, this guy was literally provocating me to the fight. This guy if would've had right could be more polite, considering the 5 stars of the hotel I felt unsecure and under assault while I was coming back to my bedroom.

    The location and the view are amazing, it's a great spot Clean, bright and comfortable. Located in the city center of the town with an amazing sunset view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice break. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside though it was very clean needs and upkeep, especially the bathrooms.

    The hotel is very centrally located. Parking of the car and the use of the valet is very efficient. Finally the free minibar was also a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.6
    Not a good stay, ruined what should have been a special birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First room we were given was on the end of the hotel on lower floor with scaffold outside window and noisy bar under window. Awake till after 3am due to noise. We were given free mini bar in room with wine and prosecco which we had not drunk. Next morning we asked for a change of room because of noise. we were moved into another room, we had no free wine in room so we asked reception they told us we did not get that with the change of room. Punished for asking for a change of room. very dated hotel, not a 5 star, restaurant food was also poor quality

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    5.8
    Not 5 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Several things - I do not believe the property to be a 5 star accommodation (although it is priced as such) and I was not alone, several other guests we struck up a conversation with thought the same, the rooms although ok had signs of stains, the inner courtyard "view" was of a pile of rubble, the swimming pool is dark and prohibiting and when we went no one was in attendance, the somewhat aggressive manner of the reception staff when I asked for an iron and was told they could not provide one for security reasons but I could book a time in 30 minutes to iron my clothes in a small room on the opposite side of the hotel - five star luxury treatment ? I personally beg to differ.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.3
    Beautiful location in need of a customer service makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We expected so much more for a 4 star hotel. Some of the front desk staff did not seem to want to be there. A small example: when asked about local tours they could recommend, he did not have a recommendation but had 20-30 brochures behind the desk. When asked about restaurants for dinner, was told there were many on the island but no specific names. Did not even suggest their own restaurant. Valet parking, while available and reasonable at 10 euro/day took at least 30 min to retrieve the car even though we were told 2-3 minutes. Carpets and furnishings were worn and not representative of a 4 star hotel. With such a lovely setting, we were given rooms on the 4th floor. DO NOT accept these rooms. They face a small interior run down interior veranda with high walls and no view. The room itself was fine but the floor has staging rooms for hotel maid staff and as a result, is very noisy as they start their day. While a great setting, would not be my first choice to return.

    Location was amazing and with exceptional views. Within a 5 minute walk you are at the Duomo or the Castle Maniace. The hotel facilities are plentiful with a gym, spa, restaurant and roof top deck. The full breakfast with eggs, meats, cheeses and pastries was above average. The free mini bar with waters and juices was welcoming.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little tired.

    Beautiful view from bedroom and the terrace restaurant. Room spacious and comfortable, room upgrade given, which was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast tasty and plentiful.Great location with fantastic views. Valet parking for 10 euros a day, was good value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    6.3
    Convenient without any luxuries
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Dowdy hotel In dire need of a face lift Basic beds, furniture Our trip was business, would be very disappointed if I were on holiday

    The location of the hotel In Ortigia

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Good location but not 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would not rate this hotel as 5 star. The first room was stark, e.g. no pictures on the walls. We had to request a hairdryer that worked properly and we had plumbing problems. We were then moved to the main building and the room was so much nicer. The waiters at breakfast were so miserable and looked constantly annoyed that they had to replenish the buffet! We were there for a week and we were never once acknowledged, with a 'good morning' or a smile.

    Lovely roof terrace breakfast room with beautiful views over the bay. Very helpful staff on reception. Good location and the valet parking service is essential and cheaper than the car parks.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay to explore the town
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities and explanation of opening times and treatments was a little confusing for us. The pool was not open for the first two days of our stay which was the facility that had encouraged us to make the reservation in the first place and were not informed about until we arrived.

    Fantastic location with panoramic sea views in easy walking distance to bars and restaurants and places of interest.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location - car parking worked ok - valet parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bit tired - mould around bath. Plumbing etc very noisy.

    Great location - car parking worked ok - valet parking. Great staff. Excellent selection at breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: