Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Europa 3 stars

Via Antonio Sogliuzzo 25, Ischia Porto, 80077 Ischia, Italy

#85 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We didn't realize the hotel was on such a busy road and were slightly concerned with the colour of the thermal pool even thought they changed the water daily, it was brown

    The staff were very sweet and helpful and the location in the town was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor pool looked a bit muddy.

    -The staffs are really helpful and friendly! They helped us to call the taxi and thus made our trip go smoothly! -The breakfast was so good! The croissant was amazing! -Nice view to the castle and sea. -The location is good (close to the castle).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs renovation, room and the bathroom were "old school" fashion. The shower could be more clean... What was strange for me - towels, they were like sheets, very thin. We stayed for a few nights, so i missed glasses and the fridge in the room...

    The breakfast was just perfect considering the Italian style :) The croissant was awesome! The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is overrated, it doesn't meet a 3 stars rating standards. Everything is too old (furniture, bathroom, windows, ceiling fans, decor...). It's definitely in need of a renovation. The comfort is average.

    Very welcomin, friendly and helpful staff. Good location, 5 minutes walk from Ischia Ponte, less than 5 minutes walk from the beach. Pleasant thermal pool filled with hot water. Homemade cakes for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in the heatwave and the air conditioner unit was not sufficiently up to dealing with it. The decor is simple and may not be enough for some.

    The staff and service in this hotel was excellant. They were focussed on helping the guests with any requests.This is a small hotel per se but we loved it. We will return again . The staff team were lovely down to the young man who gave us coffee as we left early

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff brilliant willing to give information on places to visit with discount vouchers, rooms very clean and food very Italian home cooking having an Italian aunt we knew the score

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little basic - no safe, no a/c (ok now, but could be a problem at height of summer), tiny ancient TV.

    Wonderful staff (all family members), very welcoming, couldn't do enough for you. Nice location. Breakfast good by Italian standards.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility is very old. Not so clean. Not aware that no AC in the room. It's very hot. No toiletries except soap. Towels are hard. More like a dish towel. It's too far from the port. Pool tiles need to be scrubbed/cleaned.

    Breakfast is good. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wiFi in rooms but that was ok for only 1 night.. shower alcove needs update & curtsin replaced. Overall tho good value for money.

    Very helpful staff. breakfast good. comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    some member of staff kept tv on when it was clear nobody wanted it or was watching it

    location was superb for castle which is no 1 attraction on island

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer

    I stayed in hotel Europa 11 years ago in loved the friendly atmosphere which the family create they can not do enough for you, and I wasn't disappointed on my 2nd visit .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the pool was a little weird very brown water- they say because of iron but it is not pretty to look at.

    thestaff is like family- they are so nice i love them! their meals were great and served like professionals. this is a very special place not fancy but well done, bravo1

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    weak wifi signal in the room

    I have only great things to say about my experiences with Hotel Europa!!! The staff is so helpful and kind and put so much effort to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. My room (no 6) was very big. It had two parts, one included the bed and the other had a desk and a sofa. It also had a big closet. The bathroom was really clean. The hotel has thermal swimming pool and the water is changed on a daily basis. The location was perfect for me, as I was attending an event taking place in Castle Aragonese, so it took me less than 10 minutes to get there. It takes around 20-25 minute walk to get to Ischia Porto. Ask Antonio for a boat trip around the island, it is such a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    very slow and unstable wifi shampoo was given only 3 times during my 6-night staying

    Very friendly personal Excellent location: not far from Ischia Porto, near Aragonese castle, and you can find and look at old narrow streets and domestic southern italian life easily

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WIfi was so slow.

    Everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    swimming pool with the thermal water

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Big nice terrace. Good location and not noisy place. Good dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect... staff were so friendly and helpful It was a beautiful hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very frandly staf, good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean room. Access to roof terrace. Thermal pool was great. Good location. Generous hosts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all good! Everything ...from the room till the breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A cosy, family owned hotel with the nicest staff you can find!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very friendly end helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nada

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room has an obstructive view of the castle...:(

    location, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was good and staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast

    The natural spring spa pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated.

    Excellent staff and service and spoke English. A big plus on Ischia.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast without fruits

    The staff of the hotel is great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First of all, the location is quite superb for Ischia. Great part of the island - good links to the rest of the island; good local restaurants and an easy walk into Ischia port which has good shops etc. The hotel isn't flash, but perfectly clean and comfortable. We didn't have an evening meal as there wasn't a menu to suit vegetarians, but this didn't matter as there are half a dozen good restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Breakfast was fine. Great coffee, by the way. But the best bit about this hotel is that the staff are great. I would give this place 12/10 for value for money and 15/10 for the staff! The father and two sons who front the hotel are kind, courteous and speak excellent English. Nothing is too much trouble, and you feel valued as a guest. If you like football, by the way, mention Napoli. They are keen fans, and love to talk about the EPL. One of the nicest places we've ever stayed in terms of the staff. Nice view of the castle from the room. There is a thermal pool which we dipped into. Yes it is brown and meant to be, and is changed every day. Ischia and thermal spas go together, apparently.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The furniture inside room, are a bit rusty and old. The breakfast was a bit dull and mundane. The cleanness of bed sheets and pillow cases was not daily even though they were not clean.

    The location is fine. It's close to amenities and markets. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not really a complaint, but no elevator and my husband has a bad knee. We realize that it is an older establishment so he just walked slowly up and down the stairs.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. They spoke english, which helped me a lot (my husband speaks Italian). We enjoyed our stay and would return again. Front desk and waiters were friendly and always helpful. Our room was kept very clean. Good location, located between Ischia Porto and a very short walk to Ischia Ponte and the beach

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to complain about.

    The hotel is located close to the harbour of Ischia and you can easily reach it by buses (10 minutes). There is also a very nice street that leads to the castle and it is worth having a walk there in the evenings. The service and attitude of the staff is amazing (Antonio and Pascuale will really make sure you have enough food to eat:)). Rooms are very clean and food in the restaurant both for breakfast and dinner is delicious. I would definitely come back to this hotel again:)

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was poor and also places were reserved for certain customers, not clear why some people had to eat in the back room no matter if the front room was empty! Poor wifi in room but it is a vacation spot!

    Location not so far from center. Big space room. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wish the front desk/owners had been a bit more knowledgeable re: transportation and things to do.

    Nice small hotel in an ideal location near the castle, with its own mineral pool and great buffet breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is excellent, well worth the taxi from porto. Its quiet and close to the ponto and castle areas. The coffees for breakfast were the best we had in Italy!

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have liked some fruit for breakfast.

    The friendly helpful staff and the breakfasts plus good value.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all

    Very good location, nice stuff, good price >> absolutely recommended!!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Queen size bed were two separate beds- not comfortable

    Very nice and helpful reception, flexible for leaving hours

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of air conditioning, especially in July.

    Balcony, location near castle and beaches

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ambiente familiare e personale cortese e attento. Piacevole la possibilità di utilizzare la piscina termale dell hotel.

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The location - the comfort and convenience of the room.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Europa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: