Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Europa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Viale Olimpia, 2, 42100 Reggio Emilia, Italy

#9 of 21 hotels in Reggio Emilia

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1082 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    8.8
    It was a good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I've asked for late check out (only 2 hours more) to avoid long stay at the airport, but unfortunately I've been asked for extra charges which made me a bit upset.

    Good location nearby the train station. Good staff. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and restaurant!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After room cleaning there is a pungent aroma. Regardless of what the aroma is, pungent is not good. Suggest to exam the procedure and find the root cause Very cool room. So second blanket before summer is necessary. The shower is not so convenient.

    For catching the bus and trains, the location is very good. Also walking distance to downtown. Great restaurant in the hotel. The modenalina pizza or so called is a must try. Well prepared breakfast and small but useful fitness room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    10
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room service, 24/7, bigger fitness room and a pool would be nice but these are minor details if I have to say that I didn't like something.

    Hotel Europa was perfect for me! The hotel is spotless. I was in town for a study group at Loris M. center and it was a convenient location for the city center, the train station, and the Loris M. center. Housekeeping was great! The reception was also helpful and friendly. The breakfast was by far the best I have had in Italy. Everything was fresh and lots of healthy choices. The pizza in the restaurant was amazing. Downside, one can only get room service for dinner but that is not a deal breaker for this hotel. I would definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    5.4
    hot stuffy no air con or tv
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    my television stopped working so a n old man was sent to repair it. he tried to readjust the settings but it still didn't work. he just raised his arms in a gesture of confusion and shuffled off. I saw the concierge again only to be told that if the 'technician couldn't fix it then I would have to go without. also there was no airconditioning as the local municipalities had not approved a licence for the air con to be turned on. it was approved on my last day after sleeping in a stuffy room for 6 nights.

    staff were pleasant and called taxis for me. the rooms were cleaned every day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    A very good base to explore the lovely city of Reggio Nell Emilia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel was a few minutes walk from the top of the main shopping street which was very pleasant with plenty of bars and eateries along the way and about a 20 minute safe walk into the main square and sights. Parking was on site either in the grounds or underground garage. Clean and everything you would need for one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    7.9
    Good stay, nothing special... price was okay for the season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No chairs on the balcony. Multiple rooms connected via balcony without separation, which is a little bit odd...

    Gym is okay, don't expect anything fancy. Room is spacious. About 5-10 minutes to town centre depending on walking speed. Breakfast was surprisingly good, huge buffet. No seperate shower, just a bathtub.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    7.1
    Our room is a room for disable and very small.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our bed. Our room

    Our room is a room for disable and very small. our bed is small for 2. Uoon checking out i informed the receptionist about it and they promise to give me an executive room nxt time that I will be there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    7.1
    The breakfast choices were excellent!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The showerhead in the bathroom... a decent shower is needed. Having to take a shower in that condition ruins a stay.

    The breakfast choices were excellent!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2018

    7.1
    Convenient for the station and for a few days for business, good WiFi and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed and pillows were so hard and uncomfortable, that I found it difficult to sleep. This will suit those who like a firm mattress!

    The free WiFi was appreciated and the breakfast was very good. Staff were generally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Europa.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nothing. It was everything perfect!

    I enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Europa. The place is just amazing, clean and comfortable. The position is ideal, just 450 m from the train station and easy to reach by feet. I recommend the Hotel Europa for your stay in Reggio Emilia. Enjoy!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff, location easy to get to the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy, especially rooms close to the elevator, you always hear “dingding, ding”. Also when neighbour rooms open the door next to you. A/C available but somehow does not really work with the temperature, wanted to 23 instead of 22 degrees.

    Friendly staff, location easy to get to the city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    3.3
    Not a good experience 👎🏽
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My experience in the hotel was bad.

    I did not enjoy my stay,the breakfast is bad the staff too was rude,this will be my first and last time I will stay in this Hotel😡

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is within walking distance of a few restaurants...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the air conditioning is not effective and the rooms become very hot during the night, even in mid-September.

    The hotel is within walking distance of a few restaurants and an excellent gelateria. It is a nice hotel to stay at if you have a car and plan to drive around the Reggio Emilia area. It was a good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    5.8
    Big bathroom, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasn't comfortable exploring the neighbourhood. Staff were polite but not frindly.

    Big bathroom, clean room. Air conditioned.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is clean and well designed.
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The hotel is clean and well designed. If I visit reggio again, I will stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.2
    Very central
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Non air con

    Very central

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    9.2
    To top it al. The hotel is nice
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Double room is not that big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pizza's were awesome

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    6.7
    Nice place, if you get a good price on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was clean, but not as much as I expected from a 4 star hotel.

    Good location. Nice to have free parking garage. Good breakfast. Staff was also nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel near the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small bar, staff somewhat inattentive.

    Nice place, just in the outskirts of the city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2017

    6.3
    Room smells like it wasn’t be opened for decades.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room smells like it wasn’t be opened for decades.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    10
    very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    by far the best breakfast in the last ten years

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    8.8
    Very good Staff team.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very good Staff team. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    10
    We'll come back when in Reggio Emilia next spring
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly, location and breakfast, the capuccino is fantastic.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    8.8
    value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    value for money hotel. good location (close to train station)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2017

    10
    Very clean and good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and good location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant modern hotel with good restaurant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Nice hotel, in a location a bit out of the center. Good restaurant. Helpful staff. Easy parking Wifi OK

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    9.2
    Handy for train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Handy for train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    9.6
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice hotel very clean beds are very confortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2017

    7.9
    Good solid budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Showers were hand held.

    Lots of choices for breakfast. Rooms were clean. Parking was straightforward. 10 min walk into the centre of town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    7.5
    Good location travelling through Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location travelling through Italy Within walking distance of the town centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    7.5
    staff courtesy
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor furniture

    staff courtesy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel great for use of town, 10 minute walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the bed was a little spongy for my liking.

    The parking was excellent and the staff were very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2017

    9.6
    Good place for a quick stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    7.5
    fairly close to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was O'K, but nothing special. Coffee not the best. Other then that everything was good.

    fairly close to the airport

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    9.2
    Downtown location with parking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Central location in downtown, free parking, two restaurants in the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2016

    10
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was satisfactory.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2016

    10
    Best hotel in city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Best hotel in city. Best pizza in hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2016

    9.2
    Bit noisy at night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bit noisy at night. The noise of other guests woke me up several times.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2016

    10
    i can stay more days for the next time. its worthy and also the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to say about this.

    yes , breakfast very good and the bed is comfortable. rooms are clean , modern, and welcomes you.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2016

    10
    Scrambled eggs and secure parking
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Scrambled eggs and secure parking

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2016

    7.9
    Recommendable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have preferred to be in centre of town. No drawers in bedside tables or in wardrobe.

    Very helpful staff. Room so clean.Close to station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2016

    7.1
    Ampio garage.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Zona rumorosa

    Ampio garage.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Reggio!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn't full English but was just ok!

    Great location! Very clean hotel, really enjoyed staying there! And will stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    6.7
    Free parking in the garage, comfortable bed, nice breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was a bit smelly (as if it hadn't been freshened up), old carpet on the floor, some stains in the bathroom floor, the shower box was broken and there was only one towel. Considering that the hotel was half empty, they could have given us a better room.

    Free parking in the garage, comfortable bed, nice breakfast, friendly staff, good location just walking distance from the city centre.

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    7.5
    Breakfast was correct by Italian standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location is very convenient to visit the town on foot but it is at a major crossing with traffic noise despite double glased windows

    Breakfast was correct by Italian standards I would have liked more frech products, more fresh fruit, etc

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2016

    6.3
    The breakfast was excellent.
    • Couple

    At breakfast unless you are aware of the fact you have to ask for an espresso you will go without...the machine is hidden out the back and the staff seem reluctant to ask you. The wifi is worse than dialup, in a town where there is fibre it was shameful, in the end I just gave up. We were without a shower during the day for about two hours and when it finally came on it was muddy for another hour before it was clear first time this happened without any notification, and I had an appointment so could not shower, second time they at least gave me notice the water would be out for approx one hour, I find this unacceptable in a hotel of this rating! The staff on the front desk were the most unpleasant anti social people I have encountered in hospitality this was over a 4 day period one chap seemed so engrossed in the computer he would not even acknowledge people standing in front of him, obviously these people are chosen for there anti social behaviour...I would not employ such people for front of house.

    The breakfast was excellent. good variety of food.

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2015

    9.2
    Great position for train station and centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    opposite a small football stadium so could be noisy if a match was on.Ask for bedroom at the back of hotel

    Great position for train station and centre of town.Secure parking, very clean ,modern hotel.

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2015

    8.8
    The hotel was well-located (close to the railway station)...
    • Couple

    The air conditioning unit was quite noisy and powerful for a small room (although essential in the heat). The mini fridge in room didn't work so well, although staff kindly let us use their fridge in the bar on the ground floor. A kettle and cups in the room would have made it even better

    The hotel was well-located (close to the railway station) and perfect for the places we wanted to visit. It was also a fairly short walk into the town centre. All hotel staff members were friendly, helpful and courteous, going out of their way to help us with queries and requests.The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2015

    7.5
    The WIFI was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing bad. Just a suggestion. A kettle with tea packets could help.

    The WIFI was very good. the hotel was neat and the staff were very efficient. Very good proximity to the station.

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2016

    7.1
    Free parking.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room.

    Free parking.

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2016

    7.5
    The staffs and the cleaness of the hotel
    • Group

    They forgot to collect my breakfast request

    The staffs and the cleaness of the hotel

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2016

    8.3
    Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi

    Comfort

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    8.3
    Staff non all'altezza in sala breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff non all'altezza in sala breakfast.

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    9.2
    WiFi was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi was poor

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2015

    5.8
    Location, garage, nice nearby restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stains are on walls, carpet, and bed covers. Water leaks from shower cabin. Strange smell.

    Location, garage, nice nearby restaurant. Lovely town.

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2015

    10
    Hotel staff was great, clean and breakfast was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotel staff was great, clean and breakfast was perfect!

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2015

    6.7
    The Hotel is close to the city and raailwaystation.
    • Solo traveler

    The light in the bathromm and the shower was broken.

    The Hotel is close to the city and raailwaystation.

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    6.7
    Breakfast, with a big choice of foods including fresh fruit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed.

    Breakfast, with a big choice of foods including fresh fruit.

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Browse Hotel Europa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: