Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Europa Splendid 3 stars

Freiheitsstr. 178, 39012 Merano, Italy

#39 of 62 hotels in Merano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 731 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful Art Deco hotel, located in the heart of the city. Easy walk to most sights, as well as the train station. Public transportation is near and very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, we would happily stay there again

    Location is excellent - while not immediately on the riverfront, the hotel is a very short walk away and offers better value for money. The staff gave us a warm welcome when we arrived and were very helpful throughout our stay. The standard of the accommodation is good and we made good use of the area in front on the hotel for our morning coffee before setting off to explore the town of Merano. Good secure parking - approx. 100m from the hotel and you could load and unload the car at the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a trifle stuffy

    Very friendly staff and an excellent welcome to a well presented character building. They let me have free use of a garage for my motorbike, which was greatly appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little small

    They are very close to Terme Merano, and I enjoyed buying the tickets with discout without having to wait in line, and also the bag they give you for 5 euros with towels and such was really useful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thoroughly enjoyed the spirit of this hotel. From the moment of our arrival after a full-day drive the staff was hospitable, jovial, and helpful in every way. And, the location is ideal -- right in the heart of the city. Delightful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No on-site parking but hotel gives discount rate for nearby secure parking, and parking pass given for short-stay outside hotel to allow easy unloading of luggage.

    Everything! Lovely hotel in a good location, close to the main shopping areas. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service for the breakfast by young female staff to be improved. Rooms need some renovation: for exemple, the shutters did not close .

    Continental breakfast for us. Good. Dinner was perfect : food and service. We loved the athmosphere of the hôtel

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing negative to say.

    Within walking distance from the station with very helpful and efficient staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. Made to order eggs, omelet. Excellent location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very central

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.

    Location downtown, pleasant interface with hotel and sidewalk cafe. Relaxed culture with elegance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ?

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and courteous staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking included, had to park outside in the street

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Garage was not available at the hotel.

    Position, cleanliness, good breakfast and kindness

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping are entering the room even if 'do not disturb' sign is hanging on the door.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Outstanding breakfast. Helpful staff. I will stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast is really good and the staff is very nice and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    thei give us a non requested upgrade and a delicious happy new year gift

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet.

    Location. Camere. Staff. Colazione

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff. Great facilities . Great location. All good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the beds were a little hard

    great breakfast, great location, wonderful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Centrally located in a beutiful city. Locked privat parking for bikes.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was VERY noisy... Be sure to ask for a quiet room on the back side of the hotel...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, this place was perfect.

    Staff was very helpful with tourism. They called the places we wanted to visit to see how busy they were. They also provided us with the requirements for the thermal baths at a discount. Great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The reception was utterly helpful and organized. The building was a beautiful historic building and we had the mountain view from our room. The room was clean and comfortable. The city is a natural paradise and this beautiful hotel is in the heart of the city. I absolutely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was nothing to "write home" about

    The staff was friendly and went out of there way to ensure we had an enjoyable experience while in Merano.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location! And a very good breakfast. We used to stay in 2 different rooms with the same price but one was really excellent but the other was quite poor

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is perfect to visit Meran and the Wine Festival. Thermal bath is basically across the river and street..very close. Hotel super clean and excellent taste. Candles were on in the reception area and again at breakfast making for a very warm welcome. Reception competent and friendly. Overall...wonderful stay and highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No parking at the property, other parkings available. given the hotel is already a bit worn out it should be cheaper

    Located in town centre, pretty comfortable, good and quality choice for breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Beautiful old building in the centre of Merano. Due to a breakdown on the motorway we arrived very late at the hotel (ca. 23.15 at night) and as all other rooms were full (in spite of my advance booking) we were given the penthouse suite on the top floor for the duration of our stay (2 nights) at the same cost as my original booking. This was excellent customer service and throughout our stay all staff were highly professional and friendly. Needless to say the penthouse suite was very nice indeed and my partner invited family to have lunch with us on the terrace with lovely views across the town and mountains in the distance. Breakfast is served in the beautiful restaurant with Art Deco style windows. The buffet is plentiful, also including local specialities with waiting staff smartly dressed and very helpful. Stylishly presented with tablecloths on all tables. This is our second visit to the Europa Splendid and we will certainly come again when visiting family who live in Merano :-)

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only worked in some (not ours) of the rooms. Some rooms (not all) must have room key in wall to keep air conditioning running. The room next to us was much cooler as it was able to run air conditioning without key. With summer temperature in the high 90's, it would have been nicer to have room cool off quicker in the afternoon/evening by having air circulate a bit during the day!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Minor annoyance was street noise if window open. Room needs a little updating. Only one English speaking to channel

    Location, cleanliness and very friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent central location and very helpful staff. Very close to the Merano Spa

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower quite small

    centrally located, nice staff, charming hotel great breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a great hotel with wonderful staff. A place that makes people happy .

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was comfortable and clean. The staff were very helpful. The was a good breakfast. It is close to the thermal baths.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Very central position in a lovely place. Staff friendly and helpful and service in the restaurant was excellent

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Parking is 5 minutes walking

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, location is amazing

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice location, very friendly and very helpfull staff. Beautiful atmosphere in the Hotel

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was impeccably clean, the staff very, very helpful. The city is also amazingly clean and a lovely place to walk around.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All good

    Great hospitality Helpful considerate staff Long suffering cheerful bar staff

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: