Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Excel Roma Montemario 4 stars

Via Degli Scolopi 31, Trionfale, 00136 Rome, Italy

#657 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1688 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel advertises itself as one with a pool, however, the pool and gym are run by a concession and, even as a hotel guest, you have to pay to use both facilities. The staff were unhappy and unpleasant. Although the grounds are beautiful, you can't even sit in them unless you pay for it. We were chased out of the garden on our last evening there by an extremely rude gym employee. The hotel staff are dismissive and un-attentive. The breakfast room caters for mass feeding, but we noticed that the hotel does get a lot of big tour groups. This hotel should not be rated as a 4-star facility and was thoroughly disappointing. It left our trip to Rome with a bad taste in our mouths.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    The place is very nice for those who want to spend the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool, gym and tennis court are not included in the price of the hotel and it is very unfortunate because it is one complex! Breakfast was not the richest.

    The place is very nice for those who want to spend the weekend in a hotel with a pool (at an additional cost), in a quiet rural area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.3
    Okish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The whole bathroom was under water after showering.. 2. Breakfast was okish 3. Room was a little ugly.. 4. We booked this hotel because the price was good, it had good reviews and because of the Swimming pool...however there is a 15€ fee per person to use it!!! We wouldn’t book this Hotel if we knew that before... 5. Far away from the city center!

    1. Shower was amazing.. 2. Breakfast included.. 3. Beautiful hotel.. 4. Swimming pool nice..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    This was a wondeful 1st time vacation to Rome & I will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Tech reception wasn't the best but ok TV reception was ok

    staff was excellent, property was clean & modern, very clean , Breakfast was wonderful & filling

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    3.8
    Wouldn't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool each day was 15 euros which was a rip off. Even to just sit on the sunbeds in the sun would cost 15 euros. We ordered room service and when we thought it was on the way 45 minutes later someone rang back to clarify our order then another phone call 5 minutes later to say we would have to go down to the restaurant because they couldn't deliver...we were not impressed. When checking out they tried charging for a bottle of wine that we did not drink. The location was very poor having to get a bus for 20 stops and then a metro or 2 to get anywhere central. Overall a poor hotel with very rude staff that were unhelpful in everyway possible. I wouldn't stay here ever again nor suggest it to anyone.

    Breakfast included which was alright

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    great place, bad location, good price just if you are going to rest in the bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    far away from center. need to pay too much in order to go to the pool or any stuff like gym. the service is not more than nice.

    amazing breakfast. great garden and vibe. good for relaxing actually at NOWHERE in Rome. great bathroom and lighting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.6
    Rude staff, good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The greeting we got at reception when we arrived was nothing short of rude. We had been travelling around Italy all day so decided to get room service as we were so tired. We ordered the food just before 10pm and it arrived after midnight. We rang twice to see where it was and were grunted at saying it was on the way. When it did arrive, we asked about why it was so late and we were just told they were busy and paid the full amount. This hotel has so much potential but guests have to be treated well in order for them to keep coming back.

    The room was pretty nice, we were on the second floor. The restaurant was also very nice as we ate there the second night. It was pricy but it's ok to pay a bit extra when they put effort into the food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    2.9
    The staff were very rude and not helpful, unless you were...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very rude and not helpful, unless you were Italian, then they were more than happy to accommodate you. The room was not cleaned, dirty stained towels, room was musty and old smelling. The ac in both rooms I paid for did nothing but blow lukewarm ac. Service came up three times and said there was nothing wrong with it. The rooms are “economy” therefor you have to leave your keycard in room in slot in order for lights and ac to work. When requested another key I was charged 5 euro. Upon checkout after I was brushed aside three times and the staff woman loudly sighed in my face several times, never returned my 5 euro. My other room was not charged the 5 euro fee when they requested another key in order to keep room cool while we were at pool. Very rude and impersonal staff. I checked out a day early and asked for a refund due to the ac, was told no that I could write a formal complaint but that was all. Was not given all information prior to checkin for room information concerning extra charges. This place is ridiculous and should be shut down. Americans do not stay here. I am appalled by their lack of customer service and not refunding at least one day from my stay. Would never recommend them to anyone and will be calling the company to write a formal complaint against the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.8
    Unpleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is ready made, no Italian coffee, the swimming pool pictures are deceiving and there is a fee of 15euros per person for using it. In general poorly maintained outdoors, poorly trained staff, not good value.

    Nice building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    2.5
    They have a bed in my room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi network doesn't work are rooms. Any english or other language broadcast on the TV. Receptionist doesn't helpful they never eyes contact costumers

    They have a bed in my room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    We have arrived earlier than the expected check in but they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room Service is not available during the day and the restaurant closes up at some certain times. Since Hotel is not in the city centre this service should be available 24/7

    We have arrived earlier than the expected check in but they made sure we checked into out room before 14:00. Room was quite clean and it was really clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a little bit far out however easy local transport links to city centre

    Lovely views very helpful staff lovely food & made to feel very welcome

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room cost a lot more than expected, it was advertised on booking for a very reasonable price. When we checked out it was double what we were expecting, because of city tax etc. the price didn't include use of the gym, it would of been 10 euros per person extra, and it didn't say that online. My advice would be pre pay on booking. Also, the toilet didn't flush in our room.

    The staff were very friendly and extremely approachable and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.1
    Staff were really friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Funny smell from bathroom. Also other guest were noisy constantly through the night so little sleep

    Staff were really friendly and helpful. The location was great room was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    ideal location for the stadio olympico the reason for our trip, swing low
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel attracts a 6 euro per person per night tax, 2 cups in a triple room, cups to small

    room was comfortable and clean, breakfast was an okay continental affair

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    beatifull postion, quiet and panoramic with clean air, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the drain in the sink, bidet and bath

    beatifull postion, quiet and panoramic with clean air, the design of the interior is very good, helpfull staff,would recommend this hotel as a place to stay while in Rome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    I am satisfied with the stay overall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from window was not so good. there are proper sign boards (with the hotel name) to indicate the property

    room was clean and tidy, it had nice gym, all basic facilities were available and it was worth the money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the city. I won’t be staying again. Public transport too far. Not worth booking unless you are going for a romantic weekend

    It was value for money. Had a restaurant, tennis courts, gym etc. Facilities were great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    Our stay was pretty ok. The access to public transport is very good. Breakfast very poor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested for an iron to straighten up our clothes but there was none! No iron is allowed in the entire hotel and they don't have any possibility of ironing anything. They take the clothes outside to a private laundry facility far from the property. The cost for that is very high so it’s better you wear your clothes as is. You pay for the cleaning and the transportation cost to take the laundry and it takes few days! Poor ! Internet is ok but not too fast.

    1.Parking space for the rental car . 2. The location and 3. The access to public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    recommended - nice, spacious place, quiet, nice garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friday night party till dawn under the window with live music, not so nice staff in the restaurant by breakfast, only white bread at breakfast

    Nice view, beautiful hotel building, nice garden, big places, quiet neighbourhood, spacious room, big bathroom (in superior)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.5
    I booked it to use the pool and I was told I would have to pay 30 euros for 2. Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for the swimming pool which was outrageous, not quoted on booking.com. I reported this and the customer service department was useless. Waste of money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.6
    Breakfast, hotel building (except the rooms) and personnels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air contioning was faulty and it had loudly voice at the same time not cooling. We couldn't sleep because of its voice. When we closed it, we couldn't sleep again because of hot weather. Furnitures were very old, the bath was terrible. We choosed it for swimming pool and parking, but swimming pool was awful and not free.

    Breakfast, hotel building (except the rooms) and personnels were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.8
    Overall a nice place but next time I come to Rome I'd definitely stay in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was awful. The food in general wasn't great. The location is really far from the town center so we spent a fortune on cabs and time getting the train every day. The leisure center costs an extra €15 if you want to use it, surely this should be free for paying guests?

    The hotel itself was really nice and it was clean. The room was good and had a safety deposit box. It was comfortable, clean and safe - generally a nice place to stay but so far away from the town center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.8
    Hot and Sticky, room not oasis of coolness to retreat to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location - too far out. Shower over bath - access difficult. Horrible smell from toilet which was reported but kept coming back. Air conditioning inefficient, outside temp 36 plus! Charge of 15 euros to use small swimming pool and date of closure supplied on booking was inaccurate.

    First impressions - very grand. Receptionist gave good local knowledge and list of transport options which were useful and mostly accurate. Fair selection of breakfast items which were replenished frequently (even 10 minutes before end of serving).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.1
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived they offer us very small room for two people and they did not have proper first aide kits box! Because I cut my finger when I did go to reception and they didn't have enough plaster and also if you can ask them organised and some for next time l, they can have a few first aide kits in the hotel and by laws should have it !

    The place and viewing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    Great place but a little to far from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My AC in my room did not work , I asked for someone to come check which they did but still didn't work so I just stopped asking cause I figured it was jus the room , and also my tv didn't work but it had something to do with how you used the remote . But over all a good stay

    Alessandra the front desk lady was absolutely amazing, she greeted us very warmly and allowed us to check into our room after a long early flight . All the staff personnel i encountered with was pleasant but she actually greeted you genuinely. And made sure any issues I had she addressed. Because of her I would return .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    Deceived but you can get to vatican by bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in the room, had to change room because of bad smell coming from ?? They charge 15 EUR per hour! (per person) to use the pool and it closes early (6pm or so).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    2.9
    Unclean. Uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a blood stain on the bedding. They changed the quilt immediately, but I didn't trust the cleanliness of the room anymore. When we requested a change, they said they have only one other room available which is worse than this one. So we stayed put. Furthermore, the shower was broken and had no pressure because all the water leaked out from the pipe. Lastly, the a/c was very loud and did not cool well. I booked this room at a last minute low cost luxury deal, but even with that, you expect basic comfort and cleanliness. I really don't know how they maintain their 4-star status.

    The building outside structure is old and historical.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.9
    Even there is a facilities but u will have to pay for each...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even there is a facilities but u will have to pay for each one separate. So u pay alot of money for only a bed. And thats too much for a bed. And also very bad internet connection. Too far from any place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was good, with a good selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The pool was not part of the booking cost. The web site said it was extra but this was a significant extra. Per person & per day, for a family of 5 it added 1/3 to the cost of the hotel. And then the other facilities that were in the photos were on top of that, such as tennis and gym. The air conditioning was really poor, which seems to be the way in Italy.

    Breakfast was good, with a good selection. And part of the booking cost was a bonus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable for the price. Just better than the eco chains like Etap, Ibis, ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very basic. The wifi network was the weakest I have ever seen.

    The price is very fair specially that we traveled on the high season. The rooms were clean and rather large though very basic. The hotel area and garden is nice looking but you need to pay for using the pool (which is reasonable considering the price).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.0
    Good for business, not for a relaxing stay near Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive fee for swimming pool (15 euro per day per guest) Almost no choice for breakfast Far from city center Bad connection to the wifi during the day

    The hotel looked fancy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    4.6
    - Hotel has a big potential - monumental building with big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For 4* hotel was everything quite disappointing - Very poor breakfast (e.g. no vegetable, horrible bruschetta with no tomatoes, missing cups for tea, no bread - just horrible buns and toasts and many more) - Lazy and unskilful staff (they wanted to price us for swimming pool we didn't use, staff didn't clean breakfast tables, didn't prepare tables for breakfast, confused, didn't speak English (not everyone, started cleaning rooms around half past 8 - noise of hoover from corridor) - You have to pay 15€ for swimming pool per day and 10€ for gym (which is not even written on booking here) - we have found the prize overpriced for 4* hotel - Hotel is worthy of 3* hotel maximum and everything is overpriced - I wouldn't recommended at all

    - Hotel has a big potential - monumental building with big garden, interior is just amazing - unfortunately this potential is not fulfilled. - Had nice meal in the restaurant in the evening

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    Very beautiful surroundings and pool, breakfast is sumptuous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 a/c in room is old and does not function properly in fact room temp was over 27 celsius 2 bed linen was kind of dirty and they really need to change their pillows

    Very beautiful surroundings and pool, breakfast is sumptuous and room furniture quite modern

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    3.3
    Not Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was extra charges for everything including Swimming, Fitness Centre and Tennis. Room aircon was not that great. Shower was tiny. Rooms were very small. Not many options on breakfast.

    Not much - there seemed to be extra charges for everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There would be more places outside, where you could just hanging around. The music at the breakfast was horrible. Maybe the swimming pool could be little bit cheaper for the hotel guests. The sofa bed is not so good for sleeping.

    Tha house was big enough and the nature was nice. Very clean and peaceful place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    4.2
    Not a 4 star hotel to me.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low diversity of food at breakfast,crapy coffee (odd for Italy), for all other services you have to pay (pool,fitness,ironing service - btw, not allowed to iron in the room), far from rome termini - I employed 2 h with public transport.

    Nice furniture

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.3
    Mediocre at best
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is small, barely any space to move around. Walls are very thin you can hear everything in the room next door. Breakfast is quite poor now in choice and taste , doesn't give quite an Italian feeling. AC in the room is not so good. No mini fridge in the room. You have to pay extra for any simple extra service, even for borrowing an iron. I wouldn't stay here again but was meeting a group that was staying in this particular hotel.

    Building looks nice , quite clean, gym and pool are very good facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    3.8
    Cheap hotel, but even cheaper comfort. NO WORKING AIRCONDITIONING DUE TO HOTEL POLICy
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To readers: this is a fair and honest judgement of the hotel. And not to meant vindictive. As you can read for my other reviews, if something is good or just ok, the reviews I write I try to share my honest opinion. But this hotel is cheap and though the cheap price, you should get offered more then this very very poor hotel. We booked this hotel with younger kids, due to wish of a pool in our hotel in Rome. Furthermore we appreciate airconditioning as one very important thing in hot cities like these. Arriving in the hotel was fine. Personell staff was friendly. The hotel is very simple and litle bit outdated. But we agreed with that because also the price is not too much. Though the rooms did not meet the standard rooms you can expect with this price. They are old and very very simple. Cleaning could be better and was just on the edge and fair enough. But don't expect what the pictures of the hotel or booking websites show you. The pictures are not representing the real feeling that is showed on that. For us we stayed 5 days and we noticed airconditioing was NOT working. Not because of damage or breakage, but DUE TO POLICY OF THE HOTEL MANAGER. Airconditioning is shut off during day till 5pm in the afternoon. But the airconditioning is of such poor quality and outdated that it does not cool your room before getting a sleep at 10 pm. We complained at the reception and asked the facility manager to talk to us to set up an agreement for activating the airco during daytimes or refund or whatever. As stated in the booking websites and the hotel it says it is airconditioned. THIS HOTEL IS NOT AIRCONDITIONED. Unfortunately the manager did not even take a polite moment to meet us at all. We asked the kind receptionist more than once. The hotel manager did not want to offer anything for compensation and did not want to talk to his or her hotel guests. Services of this hotel are very poor and do not even meet the standards of properness.

    Nothing in particular.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    2.9
    Hotel web page booking is a rip off.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking rooms via the hotel home page is a rip off. Nothing can be changed (like number of rooms). The only option is to cancel everything and then you lose the Euro 39 booking free. IF you contact the hotel for help they will tell you to use the web site. USE booking.com or better, choose a customer friendly hotel. (I used both booking options for different members of our party). No interest at all by hotel management to compensate for mistakes.

    Tennis Courts - but they do not let you book in advance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.7
    No iron available
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron available in a 4 star hotel.When asked why they said because it's dangerous. I was shocked about that. Even 2 star hotels have iron and iron table in each room. Was very inconvenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.1
    Friendly hotel to stay in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cold floor in the bathroom as well as in the room, breakfast below expectation for our group.

    Very big room with large bathroom, a lot of space, parking easy to access.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Sanity.. in the chaos of Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little small but then we only booked the standard. Noise of other people staying not the hotels fault just ignorant people talking loud and banging doors .bus trip in to centre is an adventure to start. easy to do but becomes tedious after 4 days we found

    The staff were really friendly & helpful.hotel was very clean restraunt did good food and was reasonably priced compared to other places we tried in Rome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money and safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small shower, could use more cleanliness in the room.

    Excellent breakfast brunch, lot variety to choose from and staff was friendly. Reception desk very helpful. We would come back again. City bus close by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    Excel Roma Montemario...an Excellent yet Affordable Hotel located amidst Nature's Scenario
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excel Roma Montemario gives you the comfort of a luxury hotel with generous provision of amenities necessary in your room and its location makes you more relaxed with a vibrancy of green natures. The staff, especially the reception ladies were so warmth and hospitable, giving you positive vibes with a smile upon opening its welcoming door from the garden. I appreciated the way Samira handled my Eurail delivery, she did it with care and grace. And on top of that, the price is really affordable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.8
    Could be better with more attentive staff and some luggage help!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps at the entrance and inconvenient parking lot.

    Family room size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff presente alla reception
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff presente alla reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.5
    Breakfast
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small, not enough space, we can use only one side of the bed, the other side is on the wall!

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    4.2
    Bad smell comes out of drain in shower and smells up room AC didn’t work
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AIr condition didn’t work well . and bad smell comes out of drain in shower. WiFi was horrible

    Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Excellent and comfortable. This was the second time we stayed here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was excellent.

    Friendly, helpful staff, from Reception to the Waitresses. The Hotel was clean and well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Good place
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing. The hotels problems made it very difficult for me to have a good holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, noise levels, room size, air conditioning, local transport, the bar.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed Rome. Hotel is 19 stops to city centre on the bus or €15 taxi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room were small

    The restaurant was pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities good but a bit isolated

    Facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.1
    The facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t a great choice

    The facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.2
    Rugby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in getting to the Olympic Stadium

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Style
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet unstable

    Style

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, uncomfortable bed, poor breakfast

    Staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    This is a beautifully designed Hotel with really lovely staff.The rooms are clean and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Menu a bit bland and same everyday

    Location and setting peaceful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.9
    Noisy
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise... walls are very thin and noise coming from corridor the whole night. Got 2 hours sleep in total

    Convenient location to Gemelli hospital

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    It was quite and lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i didn't like

    The location and the restaurant was perfect

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.3
    Everything was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should specify online that their gym and pool facilities are extra cost (pool €25 per day and gym €10)

    Everything was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Efficiente ospitale nella location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Efficiente ospitale nella location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.5
    The price was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air condition was very weak The shower was absolutely uncomfortable and very small with insects

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    The building is well decorated
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and gym come with a extra charge per day.

    The building is well decorated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast is very good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    It is hard to work when the WIFI is poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is hard to work when the WIFI is poor. Not recommended for business trip

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Not too shabby :)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Improve on the breakfast selection. Too much bread serving with no other choice at all.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Great place, great staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no cable TV in my room, all channels were in Italian.

    The hosts were quite pleasant. The hotel itself has a warm, homely feel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    5.4
    So so!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So much noise coming into the room from corridors. No fruits and vegetables and no bread variety for breakfast.

    Nice garden and pool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    8.8
    Everything was fine.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    6.3
    Ok, but would not return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff not very service orientated, average breakfast and tables left messy.

    Room was nice and quiet. Beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get to the center

    Nice rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    6.7
    parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff colazioni

    parking late check-in

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.6
    Great solution for business travelers
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great for business travelers. Location a bit out of the way but easy to reach with free parking. All comforts available.

    Stayed in September 2016

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Excel Roma Montemario traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: