Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino 4 stars

Via Appia Nuova 160, 00047 Marino, Italy

#14 of 18 hotels in Marino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1714 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Always pleased with our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We use the hotel often - staff are always great and room and breakfast good. Good area for exploring. Shuttle excellent and also good local buses to Rome.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    Nice hotel, terrible staff!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon arrival (after an 8.5hour journey due to train delays), we hadn’t had anything to drink for hours - it was 3am, we checked in and there were no items in the fridge in our room, we went downstairs and asked the man on reception if we could please get a couple of bottles of water (This was the man we encountered when checking it - he didn’t tell us when breakfast was, he didn’t tell us where our room was - simply put our card on the counter and walked back to his computer with 0 information provided) He said we would have to buy them from the vending machine. Fine, we went to do so and the machine was cash only - we had 40 cents only - I asked the man at reception could we possibly pay him €5 on card and he give us some cash. He said no this wasn’t possible. I asked if we could have it added to the room fee - no this wasn’t possible. I then asked if he could get us something from the bar (assuming you can pay on card) he stated no the bar is shut - as if he couldn’t walk behind it and grab a water out of the fridge!!! I then said well could we have our fridge in the room filled and we’ll pay on the room now or at the end - whatever they wished. He said no. Very odd because you except there to be water in the fridge at a hotel anyway. I spoke very politely to this man trying to get a solution and the whole time he shook his head and simply said ‘No’. He had no interest in helping us and I think this is poor service especially at 3am after the journey we had - we weren’t asking for a 3 course meal - we simply wanted a bottle of water!! We also didn’t see a single member of staff the next morning at breakfast or around the hotel - my partner went to check out and he got to the desk and waited a minute or so for the woman to acknowledge his presence. When she did she looked up and raised her eyebrows (he assumed that meant ‘what can I help you with?) so he said hi id like to check out (with a big smile). She put her hand out for the key, took it and said ok, bye.

    The hotel was clean, cheap, good breakfast - overall nice stay with the exception of the staff which ruined it for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and a good 4* experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gardens surrounding were beautiful, however in August mosquito's were attracted. The hotel carried out a mosquito repellent spraying throughout. Italy in general has a good supply of mosquito's so prepare yourself, if they like you.

    Breakfast had a good variety. Great secluded swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.8
    The rooms, the towels and everything is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would've been perfect if you didn't have to pay extra fees for the use of the fridge. There was some kind of door on the outside that was making noise when opens and closes which we started hearing around 6am. the matrimonial bed was just 2 single beds tucked together.

    The rooms, the towels and everything is clean. The position is very good. (near to Ciampino). And the service is perfect, the rooms and cleaned right away and everybody is nice and helpful. The buffet in breakfast was good too. The price is so good .. The hotel deserves more money for that staying.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Great value for money. Very pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much to say. We paid roughly 40 euros for the night and it was great value for money.

    4 minutes from the airport. The perfect pit stop after a long trip before you fly. Check in was easy and fast, the hotel and the room were both clean and cozy. Lots of parking space although was quite full when we arrived.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Good for RyanAir's airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our flight was late and we couldn't get our hire car. The taxi situation at the airport was chaotic. I rang the hotel for advice as it was 12.30am about taxis but got no advice as to how i could get one for my family - there were 5 of us. I had hoped they would say - we can fix one up or try such and such a number

    Reasonably close to the airport. Good for Ryan Air travellers!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.9
    bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small room for 3 persons, Air condition didn't work correctly and was noisy, the refrigerator was off (No Power On), the breakfast was terrible. the bed was uncomfortable.

    The position was good because it was close to Airport

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    this is 2 stars not 4 !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    - very small room -very poor breakfast !! juice dispenser from powders with a horrible taste! everything was served in PLASTIC PACKAGING as the worst motel. I do not understand how it has 4 stars when it's not worth 2! -am vrut sa gasesc un cutit pt unt , nu era . i-am spus persoanei care se ocupa de mic dejun nu prea a fost incantata de ce am cerut.... I wanted to find a knif for the butter , it was not. I told the person in charge of the breakfast ; was not really excited about what I asked for.

    -ok for the money...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.8
    Personnel was useful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It does not look like a 4 star hotel to me. At all. Additionally, there are large cell phone antennas on the roof of the building

    Personnel was useful Room and bed were clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the property was perfect for our needs

    Friendly staff, large, clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfast buffet with a wide selection of options. Value for money +++

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is not good enough. I travel a lot and it is 3rd worst on my list.

    Clean hotel. Pretty good gym. Helpful personel. Ive stayed very short: arrival 23:45 departure at 10:00.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.6
    Bring your own food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They overcharged us for the room. There was no menu at the restaurant. We had to wait one hour to be seated then it took 45 minutes to get any food, really basic and my pasta was undercooked (crunchy) and taste less. I had to leave it. They still charged us full price for giving us whatever they decided themselves we were going to eat. We complained but they didn’t seem to be bothered. The rooms were very tired looking with worn bed covers, full of holes. We will not be returning

    They had a basic fitness room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.8
    Not very pleasant, but tolerable if you need a place to crash near Ciampino Airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi didn't work, nor did the computer in the lobby, so a staff member had to take me down to a vacant meeting room that was piled with chairs. Overall, not very accommodating.

    The location is certainly not conducive to exploring Rome, but it was convenient to my daughter's campus and we were only there to sleep one night before leaving for the weekend in Sorrento.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    5.4
    An experience we won’t reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have paper thin walls. Could hear everything from other rooms, corridors. Carpet in room was stained. Shuttle to train station was good but then no way to get back other than pay for a taxi or stand waiting for a bus. Some staff helpful, others were rude and unhelpful. Hotel is miles from anywhere so if you don’t like walking don’t bother.

    Room size was good. Shuttle to train station and airport was useful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    No internet connection and the breakfast are so poor, stuffs...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free and good internet, egg in the breakfast and different kinds of cheese

    No internet connection and the breakfast are so poor, stuffs are helpfull but less of them speak ınglish

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.7
    Was clean, spot in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We request a double bed and we received a double bed which was made it by 2 single bed mattress, this results very uncomfortable sleep because I wake up in the middle of the night between that 2 mattress.

    Was clean, spot in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.4
    - Good location - near the airport, big rooms, really good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    - I had strong feelings I was living in doghouse during my stay in Excel. Some of our neighbors had dogs and these dogs were barking all the night. It was first time I had situation like that. I have asked staff for helping few times but without any success. They said they can't find owners of these dogs. - Despite their promise - they do not have internet in the rooms.

    - Good location - near the airport, big rooms, really good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.6
    A hotel a home away from home.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is available but a bit tight.

    The services were beyond my expectations in comparison to the fee paid. The hotel is located within a stone throw distance from the airport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Good for one night
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room was cold.The room was a falling apart in places - broken floor, the edging around the door and the shower in the bathroom. The wifi was not existence in the room

    The staff are lovely and very helpful, the breakfast had a good selection and the aperitivo was a nice touch.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is clean and tidy and,because of the professionalism of Luigi we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine and fully acceptable: the range and price of food available for dinner was very poor,and availability was extremely limited.It was disappointing that the hotel did not offer a suitable and comfortable restaurant for evening meals.

    The service offered by Luigi was outstanding,he is a very competent and professional member of staff.Other staff members were very pleasant .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    For us it's home from home! We're always pleased to arrive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing isn't great but you can always bring earplugs.

    We use the hotel often and are always made welcome. The staff are great. The complementary aperitif is a nice touch - also the shuttle. Even without the shuttle there is a regular bus service along the main road outside the hotel (every 15 mins or so) to and from the airport (passes the airport entrance) and Anagnina metro. No need to waste money on taxis.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.8
    Gross accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy. The shower stall was full of lime scale and mould. The walls of the room were filthy. Carpet was stained and the duvet and blankets were not clean. The « upgrade » to an apartment included two chair cots instead of beds. The beds were unbelievably uncomfortable and the pillows were hard as rocks. Without question this was the worst stay booked through this ap and one of the worst hotel experiences I have had, particularly when measured against the cost.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money just few mins away from the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are a bit small and the doulbe bed has two separated matresses which isn'comfortable at all.

    Good location close to the airport. There is a supermarket just 3min ride from the hotel. The gym is good and also dinner at the hotel was very tasty. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Reasonably priced so OK for a stopover but not much to do or see nearby unless you have a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was very slow, hotel provides an airport shuttle (max 8 people @€3pp) but you have to walk out to gates of airport (not ideal with kids or elderly). We had to wait an hour from time I called reception until shuttle arrived, I'd have happily paid the extra in a taxi if they had been honest with how long it would take. Some staff were not helpful e.g. restaurant was not open on the evening we arrived and initially they wouldn't help to get food ordered in but eventually they allowed us to order pizzas for delivery. Location is not great but would be fine if you had a car.

    Clean, nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming, home from home for us. We use the hotel several times a year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Good room and breakfast. Shuttle to airport at 8 and 10 very useful. Evening complimentary aperitif very pleasant and a nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Very good value for money, staff not exactly hospitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electricity access in the room was interrupted upon removing the access key thus my phone didn't charge overnight. I had a plane to catch in the morning

    Cheap

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Close to the airport.
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to get to the hotel from the main streets. Scorpion in the bathroom, however, a new room without a scorpion has been offered to us.

    Close to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    Got what I paid for
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Group stayed check in was extremely difficult, lack of English speaking staff and staff who were not interested and were attending to Italian speaking people while dealing with our queries . Bar facilities very poor and food at a minimum . You are not allowed to literally talk in the bar area Nothing to do in the area , dangerous side walks . No cash facilities to pay at bar . Some rooms extremely poor while others I seen were lovely the aprlartment type rooms

    Some of the reception staff helpful printing boarding passes Value - cheap accomaditon Near ciampino airport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    overnight accommodation at Ciampino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    plenty of room and comfortable. staff friendly and accommodating. food available anytime.shuttle service to the airport.ICannot understand why it got such a low rating..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't count to see a real 4*, it's old and simple, but rather suitable if you travel by car and need overnight near to the airport

    Friendly staff, good value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    6.7
    Clean,comfortable but far from the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location,the hotel is far from the center and by bus it would take more than an hour to get there. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the nearest train station in the morning. On your way back you have to pay for a taxi 25€ . Also the hotel claims to offer a free shuttle to the airport but fails to say that it's just for 8&10am with limited places (8 seats only). Forget about dinning at the hotel to expensive for microwaved meals.

    Bed was comfortable and room clean. Staff were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.4
    Good hotel for this price ,but I expect littlebit better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Boring breakfast,haven't got teapot in my room. :( fridge doesn't work in room ,when the weather was on about 38 degree every day.

    Good hotel for this price ,but I expect littlebit better breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    8.8
    price was veryGood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from Rome which didn't help when we planned our holiday in Rome. what made it worse was there was some work happening on the underground and had replacement bus service which took everyday a good 4 hours of the day on travelling to Rome. I believe without any disruption we can manage to get to Rome city in one hour or a little more. strongly suggest to get knowledge around travel card process. no coffee or tea available in the room instead they had a vending machine in the reception which was written in Italy which was not very helpful.

    price was veryGood helpful staffs cleanliness spacious cold breakfast (continental)was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.6
    A bad maintained hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a 10 min taxi drive to Ciampino airport. That's easy and the reason we stayed here for a night... But beware, this is not a 4 star hotel. Its old, next to a busy high way so nothing is nearby. The rooms are not clean and the "restaurant" is really bad. We orderd chicken and a pasta but did not eat it because it tasted old. After telling he said the xhef prepared it in the morning and he (the waiter) only heat it up! Crazy.. the hole hotel complex gives you the feeling the hotel is out of money and not maintained. It was too bad to finish a lovely citytrip this way..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.7
    Too small for Brits. (2 thin slices of turkey, 3 tiny potatoes for dinner, tiny tea cups and plates for breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower rooms are just too small, we couldn't bend to wash feet or stretch arms to wash back, squashed space. Actually got a few bruises🤕🤧

    Building is new and upto today's standard in terms of quality and fire safety requirements.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Very welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, good rooms, good breakfast. Very convenient for us as we rely on public transport - a regular bus service outside to the airport or to Anagnina metro station, although a free shuttle is also available to airport or Ciampino rail station. We use the hotel very often.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Was excellant for this price, wifi was down, not working at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was excellant for this price, wifi was down, not working at all. Reception could take passports and we could pick them up later not to wait 20 minutes to report info needed for 8 guests. But at all i recommend place!!! Come again for sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    5.8
    Bad connection with the airport / bad Wi-Fi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi terrible / Connection with airport does not exist , only taxi 20€ in the afternoon and 25€ in the morning. So the total cost is around 45€ more comparing to other hotels around who have mini bus connection with the airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    3.3
    very poor in all aspects
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the location wasnt great, it wasnt clean, our shower had no hot water and the drainage was blocked! we had to switch rooms to get away from the smell! we ordered room service which took 1.5hrs as well! generally very poor!

    almost nothing!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.7
    Not For City-goers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The only problem we had was the location.. the local transport is not great and pretty inconvenient. We did go for a city holiday so it was difficult to get in and out of Rome as transport is irregular. We booked 6 nights but only stayed for 4 as the location was too far out and booked the next 2 nights in a hotel in the city. Definitely do not recommend if you're planning a city break in Rome. Would recommend for a quiet country break though.

    Hotel is really nice! Staff are all very accommodating! Rooms are clean and spacious! Would be a great location for a relaxing getaway

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.7
    The rooms were large and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no day room service. So if you are hungry when you arrive there is nothing to eat at the hotel and nothing within walking distance. There are no English channels on TV.

    The rooms were large and clean. Modern.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    3.3
    never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not sleep for 2 nights how loud it was. Room doors are made from the paper. I felt like Im on central station! Prostitutes, drunk people, loud, slamming doors etc. Never again!

    Even breakfast wasn't good. old bred, etc...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are very friendly. We use the hotel quite often and are made to feel very welcome. Rooms are generally of a good size and clean. We rely on public transport and the hotel is on a major bus route from Anagnina metro station which also passes the airport so very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.4
    Seems the facilities are being renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite promises WiFi doesn't work in rooms. The Internet in lobby is very slow. False promises to fix this each day but did not work for all three days that we were there

    Seems the facilities are being renovated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    6.3
    Don't gi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food terrible. Had dinner in lobby. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone. One staff member on duty. No English. Couldn't even get a beer or wine for about 15 min. Service so bad and food so bad too.

    Rooms clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    9.6
    Amazing value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem we encountered was finding the hotel on foot as there were no signs for it.

    The room was fantastic as we had an apartment with balcony. Very spacious. Very quiet. Staff were very pleasant. The restaurant food was exquisite.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    9.2
    Great for overnight stay for flights at Ciampino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not working. They said there was a problem and would be back in the morning. A week later I wanted to book another visit but Internet was still not working? ?? SURELY they can fix Internet quickly? ??

    We had a huge bedroom and lovely bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.5
    reasonably pleasant..COLD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    NO hot drinks to rooms [ no kettle etc ], better bar menu as restaurant closed, better bar drinks selection, no English channels on tv. Heating not brilliant.

    Near airport, good staff, nice free courtesy drink and peanuts, clean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    8.8
    Enjoyable for a quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cleaning staff is pretty noisy in the morning The room bar was replaced by a vending machine located downstairs, where i could hardly find anything to buy since is not refilled every day apparently

    The location is excellent, very close to the airport and to a bus station to Rome The room was cleaned every day The staff was very nice Wonderful view The heat was okay Quiet and enjoyable during the night

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    5.0
    Off the beaten track and poor entrance to the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxis to and from nearby restaurants were extremely expensive as you have to pay for a return journey. Lighting outside the entrance to the hotel is poor, and the ramp is situated to the side and not easily visible. Our taxi from Ciampino dropped directly in front of the building and, being a lady of a certain age, I struggled to pull my suitcase up the steps, which caused me to trip and fall. I bumped my forehead rather badly, resulting in two black eyes for the entirety of my Christmas holidays. I suggest the hotel improve the lighting and install a ramp where it can be more easily seen.

    The staff overall were helpful, especially when I needed an ice-pack and antiseptic, but the driver of the shuttle bus was late when we were waiting to leave for the airport, which caused us unnecessary stress.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    4.2
    No good service connection to Ciampino Airport.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is good for quality and staff but is not good for the most important scope for which I choose it: the connection with the Ciampino Airport. You must take a taxi and you must pay 25 - 30 € for each transfert.

    Good for quality and staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.1
    The complimentary fitness center was nice!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 24 hour food service and no restaurants neatby. It cost $30 for cab from airport 2 kilometers away. Taxi is an overcharge and the hotel should provide pickup service every couple of hours or for minimal charge.

    The complimentary fitness center was nice! Staff was very informative, friendly and accommodating!! Hotel provided a free shuttle to the airport and train station in the morning which was fantastic!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Big and comfy room, very helpful staff and a big breakfast. All for a very good value for money
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    the internet was not available in the room

    Everything. The location, close to Ciampino airport, the nice and polite staff and the big and confortable room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    4.6
    Ghosts picking up the phones!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a good location but the shuttle bus that is supposed to take you to the airport is only working a few hours,so if you have an early flight you should consider additional 20€ approximately for a cub, also there is a wake up call service that never happens, so better bring your alarm clock with you because of this we lost the flight,and after all of this the hotel claimed that the wake up call was made and also we answered!so we concluded that probably the rooms are occupied by ghosts because the call was never made!and if you argue with the hotel then is you word against their. Also the bed is one of the most uncomfortable that I have ever experienced.

    The only thing good is the location that it is close to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    3.8
    Bad experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The taxi price between Ciampino airport and the hotel is 25€ for a 5km tryp. The room was to small compared with the ones shown in the photos. There were some micro bugs coming out from the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.1
    Dinner and bar service could be so much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food for dinner was poor, frozen vegetables were overcooked. First gin and tonic was not good, second one was better with tonic with fizz. Had to ask for slice of lemon. Staff training required. Did not know we had to pay for shuttle from airport to the hotel.

    Room was comfortable. Appreciated the free shuffle in the morning. Quiet Good, well organised breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    8.3
    Convenient for Ciampino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wi fi signal to the room is not strong enough and the internet can only be consistently accessed from the reception area.

    We use this hotel because it is convenient for Ciampino airport. It is clean and comfortable and has the shuttle bus to take us in the morning. I would suggest it is functional. It is also good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    No wifi in the rooms!
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the rooms!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Handy for the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower had a leak, but still worked

    Good for the airport, excellent value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Good but too much flights noise
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    He airport was very near and you can listen every flights during the night

    Very clean and room very large

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    The staff are very nice.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfort of the bed is not good. Very loud people and very smoky. Not a good night sleep at all.

    The staff are very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    Extra bed not comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra bed not comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad located Very uneasy tranport, taxis very expensive Only one menu for breakfasts

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Very cozy, clean, confortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Localization

    Very cozy, clean, confortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Very good but WiFi needs improving
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi in the rooms is non existent. In the reception area is better.

    Everything as expected that’s why I keep coming to this hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.1
    Michael fro. Ireland
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no dilikes..

    Quietness and close to Airport, Courtesy bus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay! Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff were excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Just perfect....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, everything was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    It was clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is experience to get to it from the Ciampino Airport at night

    It was clean and tidy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.5
    I like it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head was broken and the bed was too small.

    The front desk promptness.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really like that I was leaving very early and they provide the breakfast box to take away.... staff was amazing , perfect communication

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    All about it!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All about it!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect overnight stay to catch a morning flight from Ciampino
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing comes to mind.

    The staff and location to airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel good value for money however not many things to eat around the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice good secretion of pastry especially there sugary donuts very nice

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Excel Hotel Roma Ciampino traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: