Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eurostars Hotel Excelsior 4 stars

Via Partenope 48, Lungomare Caracciolo, 80121 Naples, Italy

#20 of 161 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2437 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location and very nice hotel to spend one night before...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast buffet could be improved in my opinion, everything else was great.

    Great location and very nice hotel to spend one night before going to Capri on holidays! The staff was very nice, our room was comfy and stylish, nothing to fault. The rooftop for the breakfast was really enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a romantic weekend in Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this place is splendid, the stuff, breakfast, bed, view spreading from the window. Definitely one of best affordable hotels in Naples.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Really happy with this choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, the air condition in my room while working perfectly, was so noisy, that I was forced to switch it off for sleeping, and to wake up in midnight due to stuffiness trying to switch it on, or to open the window (better, but also very noisy at early morning).

    This hotel is a truly successful trial to combine the famous luxury of old Excelsior and our modern world. Rooms are large, very clean and furnished as it is expected from Excelsior. If you choose a sea view room, you get in addition an amazing open view unto Sorrento and Capri. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. Breakfast is perfect and accompanied by fantastic view of the sea, castle and Vesuvius at background. The location is very convenient also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Great start to the Amalficoast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful oldfashioned hotel with a grand atmosphere. Nice location by the sea and a great, generous breakfast buffé at a fantastic roofterrace overlooking the sea, Capri, Vesuvio and the coast. A great start of- and ending for- a journey to the Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    View from the room was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff, especially at breakfast, so slow and no greeting Breakfast seems good, but everything was quite empty when we got there, and no one seems care, dishes were dirty too. We were siting with our food at table, there were plates and cups from precious guest for quite long time

    View from the room was amazing Also breakfast at top floor was quite nice Bed was so comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Special mention to Fabrizio who is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special mention to Fabrizio who is excellent. And Gennaro too. We absolutely loved the design and traditional rooms. Please do not ever renovate! The aesthetic character of the hotel is exquisite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Large rooms and bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large rooms and bathrooms. Connecting rooms available for families. Lovely rooftop and terrace for breakfast. Great location, on the waterfront in a pedestrian friendly area of Naples. Quiet but also close to restaurants and attractions. Short walk to nearby park and gardens. Great for families with children.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Deluxe room was huge and had balcony with excellent view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deluxe room was huge and had balcony with excellent view of bay and Mt. Vesuvius. Room had couch, comfy chair and large tv. Staff was helpful and courteous and breakfast was excellent. Only disappointment was parking was rather expensive at $25 euros a night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    'Excelsior' is certainly one of the best hotels in Naples - it is the historical and a little nostalgic hotel with a one of the most beautiful view to Vesuvio, excellent breakfast and very friendly staff. Also the location in front of the bay is of my preference.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Location , bed comfort ,beautiful view , clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have been staying in this hotel few times , this time left disappointed :( Room price outrages crazy did not met ours and hotels standards ....service in the restaurant very poor, waited for morning coffee long time( had to remind staff few times) , table not ready and no one cared about it ( so I did it my self) ( breakfast time) , was very disappointed with laundry service - had important event to attend on that day , so we called reception 8am for an iron and ironing board ( sadly don’t have such a service ) only ironing service in the laundry room ...ok ! We agreed to send few shirts there , in 10 min reception rings ( laundry service opens at 9 am ) we agreed to wait ,prepared everything laundry has been taken away , in next 10 min reception called us again :))) iron broke down :))))) not funny but we had to lough.In the end we had to buy an iron from local shop ;) 🤭

    Location , bed comfort ,beautiful view , clean room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Classic grand hotel by the Naples boardwalk
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old fashioned wifi login procedure. To use the gym you need a contract, and children under 16 years isn't allowed in the gym.

    Large room (32 m2) with a nice balcony, but unfortunately just with a sea glimpse. The rooftop restaurant was wonderful; we've been there many times before, but this time there was a complete menu (even though it was summer) with excellent food. There was also great improvement what regards the staff in the whole hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Great setting along the Bay of Naples about 15 min walk from airport bus stop and ferry terminal (high speed). 110 yr old dignified building in great condition. Lucky with balcony and sea view. Walk to busy noisy city centre only 15-20 min and yet one felt secluded.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    The best location to walk and look the sea, volcano and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best location to walk and look the sea, volcano and capri. Many restaurants to eat near of hotel. Large and confortable rooms. Beautifull building. Kind service. Breakfast is not included and it cost €27 each one. Too much if one street away you can get orange juice, coffee and nutella crepes for two, in a quite coffee at €24. May be the view from the terrace of hotel is part of the breakfast price. However a great and very elegant hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Stylish hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soft bed gave me backache Small sun deck- pictures misleading Self service tea making at breakfast. This should be served at table; Guests do not which to be carrying boiling water across the dining room No milk in room for making drinks Not possible to check in when we arrived early- Had to dump suitcases and walk round town in the clothes in which we had travelled. It would have been nice if we had been given the opportunity to shower and change Serving staff in bar and restaurant were a little curt, however that could be said of most people we met in Naples

    We were upgraded to a beautiful suite which was elegantly decorated Large bathroom Plenty of wardrobe space Roof top dining room and bar with magnificent views Helpful male staff on reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Naples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast might be improved a little bit. All the rest was simply perfect. The room service was a bit slow, but the quality of the food served made us forget about it

    Everything. The location is amazing, right in front of the sea and of "Castel dell'Ovo". The hotel is wonderful, the room very spacious and the staff polite and available to welcome any of your requests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    4.2
    Location and view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Large Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a con! They don’t have a properly working Air conditioning in the Suite and it looks as it is not a fault but a chronic situation.

    Location and view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were actually really pleased with everything during our stay. If there would be anything, I do love a good breakfast included but for this they charge 25€ per person if I'm not mistaken. Otherwise, just good!

    We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel, even if we only had time to spend one night. It's well located, clean, stylish and the staff are very friendly and professional. We'd happily come back and recommend this hotel to any other guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel old and needs lobby updating but acceptable. Location, views and large room size make up for any downside.

    Good location on the seaside. Great Sea views Good and clean size rooms Good lunch on the 7th floor terrace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    True that we got very very good rate, so we had an exceptional and outstanding stay, but it was too cold in the room (air conditioning) and not clear how to reduce it. Breakfast and garage not included, but not clearly communicated at the moment of check in and check out, especially payment methods. Super location.

    Location, structure, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, outstanding view from the balcony and from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is well-worned, very old, the furniture in lobby and on the floors is covered with dust, walls are a bit battered

    Location, outstanding view from the balcony and from the rooftop on the Vesuvio and the sea, the room is big and comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    stunning view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have been here 3 times now. The perfect place to explore Naples and/or go from here further south. The view is stunning and breathtaking! The rooms and beds are very comfortable and some have amazing views too. Breakfast is good and staff is very friendly. I would not want to stay anywhere else when in Naples.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    enjoyable and very convenient. I would return during my next trip for certain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the lady that seems to be in charge of the of the front staff was very rude whilst the staff themselves were lovely

    the hotel was beautiful and the location fantastic. The history of the hotel was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room, beautiful hotel, beautiful view. We would come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner that is served in the restaurant is pricey. However, we really enjoyed the dessert - definitely 5 * standard. There was no wine bottle opener available in the room and when we called room service no one answered. We then had to call reception, where the receptionist called room service to bring the bottle opener up to our room. Slight inconvenience.

    The bathroom was lovely. Beautifully decorated with his and her sinks. The room temperature was cool and could become even cooler if you closed the blinds from the windows. The electrical switches were helpful for turning lights on and off from the bed. Eventhough we visited Naples at the beginning of August, the roof terrace was quiet and undisturbed with shower facilities to cool off. Perfect for sunbathing. The view was spectacular from the breakfast terrace. The GM personally greeted us and thanked us for staying which was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    The restaurant was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled really bad and although we were told somebody would be along to check and possibly move us, no one came. When we asked again we were told it was because no other rooms were available.

    The restaurant was great. Good food and excellent service. The waiter was really attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.5
    Excelsior Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being separated from our suit cases for nearly 10 mins, would have preferred they came to the rooms with us. Smoking in the restaurant which made my son feel ill. Person that took payment for our dinner did not seem very friendly although his staff were fine. When you pay a lot of money for a hotel you would expect everyone to make your stay feel welcome so all the customers leave with a positive experience. We decided to go out for breakfast in the morning to a local cafe and what a difference that was as much more friendly and welcoming.

    Fantastic view from our hotel room. Reception staff were helpful although not all greet you with a smile and seemed a bit sombre - not good for the front face of the hotel. Would only use hotel again just for the view which was breathtaking taking in the bay of Naples and Mount Vesuvius...awesome!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Enjoyed every moment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to have stayed longer, but had already pre-booked another hotel near Sorrento.

    Everything! The hotel very kindly upgraded us to a suite, so we felt truly privileged & lacked for nothing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice view nice room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is far from Metro station and bus stop. Thus it is difficult for us to walk there.

    Nice view from our room, the bar & restaurant at 7th floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Magnificent hotel in a great location with lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it was perfect!

    Hotel was outstanding, very beautiful and Italian in a great location. We stayed on 20/07/2018. The hotel was spotless and the bed was so comfortable. We had a suite overlooking the bay of Naples and Mt Visuvius. The staff were so friendly and welcoming especially the two ladies we met at reception who welcomed us and organised our room. Having traveled around the Amalfi Coast and Sorrento, this hotel was the highlight of our stay. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Great comfortable beds and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the hotel staff never informed me until after we had been attacked in the old town that we shouldn’t wear our watches, very disturbing.

    Great comfortable beds and great views

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was good for resturants but you need to go right not left when leaving the hotel,

    Very good hotel, was upgraded to a suite for the night which was very good as it was our last night in Italy,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Staying at this hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying at this hotel was great. It's a place were you can relive the old style grandeur and and beauty. The personnel, manager Gianni Ricci and his team, are all very friendly and professional and take very good care of you. A place to enjoy some peaceful moments in a busy, vibrant city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    The sea view was stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Drainage in the bathroom wasn't great; stairwell and some of the communal areas felt a bit run down. Nonetheless, it was a great stay and I would go back.

    The sea view was stunning!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Great for sightseeing & good rooftop bar at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A better solarium on the roof with umbrellas & bar service.

    Great position. No good place to relax during the day unless you have a balcony. Couple of sunbeds on roof but no shade & no bar service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff are horrendous!!! After trying to book in at 12 with the older receptionist ( our train arrived early ) we were told to come back at 2pm for checkin. We arrived back to the hotel after lunch at approx 1.45pm. I asked the younger female receptionist if it would be possible to get the key for the room, she told me two minutes and we were getting a free upgrade, ( we were already paying for one of the deluxe rooms with seaview ) so we went and sat down and waited patiently.... and waited.......and waited After watching numerous guests arrive, check in and get their rooms, I went and asked again if the room was ready, I was then told by the younger female receptionist, 2 minutes madam, I promise!! So we waited, that receptionist went walking past us, ignored us, disappeared, came back with handbag and again, walked past, ignoring us and went home!!! During this time numerous guests checked in whilst we waited patiently in the lobby - in front of reception where the staff could see us waiting. My husband and I were exhausted and needed to get to our room as we both were suffering with food poisoning. My husband knowing how sick I was approached the reception area at 3.15pm expressing firmly his frustration at us waiting 1 and a half hours whilst others all coming in after us were all taken before us. The younger male receptionist was being helpful enough doing the best he could to sort us out, but then the older female receptionist who has a terrible attitude had to try putting in her penny's worth telling my husband she had been working from 7am!!! Big deal!!! That's her job!! We understand that they were having problems with upgrading the KeyCode system, but it didn't excuse the fact that they still managed to treat us as unimportant guests whilst they checked in everybody else that came hours after us! She actually was so rude as to say to my husband "do what you want" in other words go elsewhere!!!

    Locatiom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.2
    APPALLING RECEPTION STAFF!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff are horrendous!!! After trying to book in at 12 with the older receptionist ( our train arrived early ) we were told to come back at 2pm for checkin. We arrived back to the hotel after lunch at approx 1.45pm. I asked the younger female receptionist if it would be possible to get the key for the room, she told me two minutes and we were getting a free upgrade, ( we were already paying for one of the deluxe rooms with seaview ) so we went and sat down and waited patiently.... and waited.......and waited After watching numerous guests arrive, check in and get their rooms, I went and asked again if the room was ready, I was then told by the younger female receptionist, 2 minutes madam, I promise!! So we waited, that receptionist went walking past us, ignored us, disappeared, came back with handbag and again, walked past, ignoring us and went home!!! During this time numerous guests checked in whilst we waited patiently in the lobby - in front of reception where the staff could see us waiting. My husband and I were exhausted and needed to get to our room as we both were suffering with food poisoning. My husband knowing how sick I was approached the reception area at 3.15pm expressing firmly his frustration at us waiting 1 and a half hours whilst others all coming in after us were all taken before us. The younger male receptionist was being helpful enough doing the best he could to sort us out, but then the older female receptionist who has a terrible attitude had to try putting in her penny's worth telling my husband she had been working from 7am!!! Big deal!!! That's her job!! We understand that they were having problems with upgrading the KeyCode system, but it didn't excuse the fact that they still managed to treat us as unimportant guests whilst they checked in everybody else that came hours after us! She actually was so rude as to say to my husband with venom "do what you want" in other words go elsewhere!!!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    The location is very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dirty and dated. Bad, old mattress. I had Back pain for few days after sleeping in that bed. Staff was ok but not great.

    The location is very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    i will come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a wonderful place excellent breakfast fantastic view from the roof garden, a typical italian de luxe hotel with the fashion of the old style but upgraded to modern amenities be there u wont regret it at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    A memorable night in a luxurious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only negative is that we didn't have more time to enjoy all that this hotel had to offer.

    We were allocated a Junior Suite, with sea view which was simply beautiful! Sadly, we didn't have time to stay for breakfast but if the catering is as good as all other aspects of the hotel, it will be fabulous!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Bathroom was insane , fantastic and having a balcony wow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was insane , fantastic and having a balcony wow!! Comfy bed and pillows . Dont like Naples as a city , but if you need to stay there , well the Bay is the best place to stay and the Excelsior is THE best location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    The sea views are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit grumpy. Food only alright but the view compensates! The place needs a bit of a polish but all of Naples feels like that.

    The sea views are amazing. Our room was enormous and the bed was v comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Room was very good large and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very good large and spacious Bed and pillows where really comfortable Bath room was large Great view over the sea Location was good for us as only staying the night But quite a walk from the centre

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, nice rooms and terrace. The high price is for the location, which is fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive even for simple things...orange juice was 7€ on the terrace. We somehow booked without breakfast included, and it was 28€ per person, and just ok (although it is on the 7th floor terrace with a great view). The top floor terrace on the 8th floor was closed while we were there, which was disappointing.

    Great location with all the amenities one could want. The room was large and lovely. We were on the first floor with a window overlooking the castle. Beautiful terrace on the 7th floor with panoramic views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    We really liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not good, the service at the breakfast was really slow. Also the staff does not speak English very well so it was hard to communicate.

    We really liked the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    I had a relaxing and welcoming stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t very good value for money, but the you don’t have to eat there as there are many good places a short walk away.

    The location is perfect, with many restaurants and the old town a short walk away. The map they give you is a perfect guide for sights to see. The staff are friendly and helpful , and the rooftop bar and restaurant has a fantastic sea view, with Vesuvius in the background. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Comfortable, beautiful, amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complimentary water bottles. Not even a single one .

    Location, friendly staff, huge beautiful rooms , shopping area nearby , best seafood joint nearby. Good eating joints, best place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and view.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great location and view over harbor. Personal at the reception is VERY professional and helpful. I would especially spot Mr. Luigi - who was absolutely perfect with his duties. Restaurant on the roof is also something special and could not be missed. My room was very comfortable and furniture supported overal style of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    5.0
    Adequate but I wouldn't rush back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car parking you have to use a private garage which hotel arranges at 25 Euros a day. No swimming pool which is hard in the heat. Staff are ok but not warm or welcoming. Terrace at breakfast was dirty and not cleaned properly after guests left. I saw a waitress cover a stained table cloth with jam pots. Service could be better especially for 400 euros a night.

    View from the terrace is what you book this hotel for. Food at dinner was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice facility located on the lungomare directly across from...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice facility located on the lungomare directly across from Castel dl Ovo. Nice views of Vesuvius from my room with balcony. Nice rooftop restaurants with sensational views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely staff. Very friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. Best location in Naples as it’s on the coast so you can really enjoy views across to Vesuvius! Would stay again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    An overall a convenient place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard and bed sheets and pillow case not as soft

    Roof top Garden and the view was excellent. The location was perfect in a nice area. It was easy to walk and enjoy the scenery. The lobby is beautiful. My room had a little balcony with Jasmine on the walls

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    I was a little bit disappointed of Napoli. It was very dirty. May be this is the charm of Napoli
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had not the sea view. The a.c didn't work although the reception told us that they will take care and that they will control it from there. Only when i insist to have the possibility to control it by myself they fixed it

    The room was big and beautiful.The staff welcomed us with excellent cookies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel with an old world mystique. Great location. Beds not so comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had twin beds that were not comfortable.

    Beautiful hotel with an old world mystique. Great location near the water and great restaurants, shopping, banks and more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    We really enjoyed our stay and loved the old world feel and facilities. This wouldn't be a good pla
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Usual problems that you get with an old hotel. Water temperature is erratic, some light bulbs don't work. Business centre computers and printers don't work.

    Fantastic old style furniture and classic 70's feel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    We chose to have a deluxe room with magnificent sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was disappointing for dinner for us because the range of the menu had little to satisfy conservative tastes and when plates did arrive they were rather smaller than, and not as hot as we would have liked.

    We chose to have a deluxe room with magnificent sea views. The area is outside the main part of Naples at Lungomare, which has many smart hotels on what is a pedestrianised sea-front. It is 15 minutes walk from the ferry ports at Molo Beverello. The breakfast buffet was very good indeed but the dinner menu was disappointing for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    A hotel and location that puts a smile on your face...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom was out dated, all the lights turn on you enter the room for the first time and you have to go around turning them off, limited English speaking TV, fitness was small and lacked equipment

    Location, old world charm, staff were helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    2.9
    - They didn’t have an iron, even when I asked at the front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - They didn’t have an iron, even when I asked at the front desk. I was rudely told that they “just don’t have it, sorry!” - The front desk person held us up taking his sweet time when we were trying to check out to catch a flight. At 6AM. -The previous day, my wife was leaving to get coffee in the morning and they rudely held her up at the front desk - literally started yelling - assuming she was trying to check out without paying! That is just infuriating. - the bed was rock hard and the pillow was small and pretty much deflated. Basically the sleep was terrible. - the shower flooded the whole bathroom in about 5 mins. In summary, this is a ONE star hotel not a 4 star hotel. If you’re a moderate traveler and do not like to be treated poorly in principle, save yourself a lot of time and do not stay here. You’re bound to have a few unpleasant moments, especially with the rude person at the front desk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Been staying in this hotel number of times each year for the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing that can be improved is the internet that is slow

    Been staying in this hotel number of times each year for the past 3 decades. Feels a little bit like home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    I'll be back in Napoli and this hotel soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above: the 7. floor restaurant!!

    Maybe Best location in Napoli. We were upgraded to a luxury room With a fantastic wiev of the Bay and Vesuvio. Beautiful old building. Only the roof restaurant staff was not up to standard. Not friendly and very slow. 30 min. for a spagetti a vongole that was expensive but not very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An absolutely lovely hotel right on the waterfront in Naples with friendly staff and well appointed rooms. This was a last minute booking and we didn't know what to expect, but were really impressed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Loved our dinner on rooftop restaurant and the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had several problems with room service—not answering phone one day then another day got our two breakfast entrees, but only one set of flatware. (Did they think that coffee for one meant that there was only one diner??). Another time, we got orange juice which we hadn’t ordered (we weren’t charged for it either). Perhaps someone else ordered orange juice and they didn’t get it!

    Loved our dinner on rooftop restaurant and the restaurant staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.8
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The map provided by hotel wasn't updated and a staff didn't mention it. I had trouble finding the nearest metro station.

    Location! Breakfast with a great view at the roof top terrace worth to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Classic Naples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast is not cheap but there are more accesible in-room options.

    Is there anything not to like about a classic hotel like this, where the interiors and exterior of the hotel are in perfect harmony. And to top it off we were upgraded to a sea-view room. Wake up and cast a casual eye across the bay to Vesuvius. Pure pleasure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Would love to go back. So much more to do !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small niggle Complimentary tea / coffee in room. Two sachets of coffee first day , we used ( no milk given ). Following day replaced , we used after that coffee never replace. As it was only thing we used thought it petty not to replace .. Breakfast rather expensive 54 Euro a couple !! Personally eat little in morning so not for me and particularly at that price.

    Location was excellent, and hotel had a lot of charm, we got a complimentary upgrade to room with port view looking right over To Vesuvius Beatiful !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent hotel. Will drfinetely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner one night at la terraza the roof tol restaurant where the food was average. It was not worth the money.

    The staff waS good. Specially the manageress in the breakfast area were very helpful. Location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location, clean and warm rooms, the service needs improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though the hotel was half empty they did not give us a room with better expose and view. The breakfast room doesn't have good disposal, it looks like a banquet room rather than well furnished breakfast room. Most of the hotel guests are couples or travelling for business, therefore tables for two would make more sense than such for groups of ten. Guests had to wait until someone comes to find you a place to sit, service was not professional.

    The hotel has great location and magnificent view of Castel dell`Ovo.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the bedroom windows looking at the back of the hotel. Shower was aged, shower head was not clean. A bit overpriced for what it was.

    Breakfast Big bed Quiet location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Good aside from the comment above
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not like the cleaner of the room moving my suitcase etc. I do not appreciate the cleaner adjusting the heating from the temperature I had set it at, I woke up in middle of the night and didn’t sleep again as a result. If the cleaner is cleaning the room I had thought it was literally to make the bed and clean the bathroom not to tidy things away I find this particularly irritating when there are crumbs etc on the table yet my things are moved.

    Decor authentic, great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.3
    Location is perfect but traffic is a nightmare trying to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 30 nights

    Parking was a complete rip off 35 euro a night

    Location is perfect but traffic is a nightmare trying to move thru Naples. Recommend train and taxi over driving.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Good only for location, nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were downgraded to a room for handicapped that did not have a bath but had a shower that the curtain covering it was filthy. We asked for a double bed but got a twin bed. We asked to change rooms even with an extra charge but was refused. We got lousy recommendations from the staff

    Great location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    Bad Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was terrible. Eggs were so runny, no meats just a few cheeses and very little pastries. Like everything was a picked over breakfast. I asked for cooked eggs and they brought me a plate of eggs the size of a pizza..they smelled terrible and looked rotten.

    It's in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    Old style Hotel ... nice situation but nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came at 10h but they let us wait until 14h to get a Rome ... no coffee ... nothing

    The Situation of the hotel is incredible .. in front of the Marina which was quiet practicle

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel. Just make sure you're mobile in some way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I gave 3 stars and not 4 on 4 things. Here's why: 1. I got a room with a bath and a small glass divider in case you want to shower. Since I'm a shower, not bath, person, I ended up flooding half the bath room because the glass screen was so small. I asked for a room with a proper shower, but was told there was only 1 in the whole hotel and it was occupied. 2. The location can be considered amazing if u have a scooter, car or can take a taxi anywhere. Yes, its right on the sea with amazing view, but if like myself you wanted to go see a museum or experience city center it'll take either 2 buses or a 30-40 minutes walk 1 way. That's a lot when you think about going out in the morning, coming back for a siesta, then going out again for the evening-night. 3. Yes, the roof restaurant has an amazing view, but 5 euros for a cappuccino is a bit much. 4. In the room the wifi was decent. But for some odd reason it didn't work in the bathroom.

    The room was clean, comfy and spacious. The roof terrace is recommended for its panoramic view. The staff are helpful, accommodating and very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You could not turn off the heat in the room and it was too hot.

    It was right on the water overlooking the Castel Ovo and the Bay of Naples. Mt. Vesuvius was off across the Bay. It was close to Via Toledo and great shopping.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.4
    Both me and my wife got severe foodpoisoning after ordering...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Both me and my wife got severe foodpoisoning after ordering fish from the room service. The manager claimed it must have happened somewhere else... Great start for a trip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    The bed was enormous !!! 4 people can sleep easily in one bed). Great hotel with a lot of charm. Breakfast was amazing with a great choice of Italian desserts !

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Eurostars Hotel Excelsior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: