Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Excelsior Palace Hotel 5 stars

Via San Michele Di Pagana 8, 16035 Rapallo, Italy

#2 of 28 hotels in Rapallo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2677 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    We loved it and would come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor sound isolation in rooms - can hear neighbours talking and early wake up with cleaning ladies talking loud and moving furnitures in rooms above/nearby. No coffee/tea facilities in the room, however, there is a quick room service.

    The pool area was very large and with an amazing scenery view! Staff were very kind and friendly everywhere, restaurant was good too (one of best salt-baked fishes ever). The view from our rooms (executive double) was breathtaking. Definitely best hotel in Rapallo!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Stunning!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish we’d have had a sea view to make everything perfect but that is the only slight criticism

    From the moment we drew up the fantastic service started! They just couldn’t do enough it was superb. Beautiful views and lunch in the Eden Roc restaurant overlooking the sea was really lovely.We genuinely felt welcome and looked after. We’ve been to Rapallo so many times but never stayed at this hotel and we won’t stay anywhere else now. Cannot recommend it enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Third return visit to an amazing area and a wonderful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third return visit to an amazing area and a wonderful hotel! The views are stunning, the restaurant in the cliff is world class, the staff aim to please, and the floating cushions in the sea are unforgettable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our stay and found the location, staff and our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The elevated location was nice to look over the town but meant there was a hill to access the entry if walking.

    We enjoyed our stay and found the location, staff and our room to be of high quality. Breakfast was consistent with a variety of items and the option of special order preparations was appreciated. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice view, absolutely overpriced hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrogant staff in the restaurant. When I wanted an extra early morning coffee, the headwaiter asked me If we could enjoy our company for a long (?!). Strange smells in the corridors because of old carpits and furniture. No evening life in the hotel. Extremly expensive room service and restaurant.( One main course is about 30€. ) Official breakfast time till 10.30. At 10.45 waiters ask everybody to leave the restaurant. This is not a five star+ hotel.

    Beautiful view, nice room. Perfect view from the pool to the sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower door was broken on day2 of our 8 day stay by the cleaning staff and was never repaired so the floor was always drenched from the shower, but we were provided with extra floor mats . There seemed to be no urgency in repairing the door and returning it to the shower !!!

    Location view staff excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    I would highly recomend this Resort for almost any type of trip and we will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would suggest a better lunch menu in the causal restaurant poolside - it was very limited.

    I was skeptical to stay outside of Portofino but I could not have made a better choice - the hotel, the staff, the beach club, the views - all amazing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful view, excellent facilities and very well situated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the service can still improve; our concierge forgot to book a table for us at the restaurant. Also, staff at the breakfast area should be nicer to guests.

    Beautiful view, excellent facilities and very well situated. I love the spacious room and clean bathrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some everyday things can be quite pricey (7€ water, 18€ fruit salad), although that is to be expected in such a place.

    The hotel is very elegant, the room was well equipped, all staff members were polite and helpful, and the onsite restaurant was spectacular. The beach club was great as well. The hotel absolutely lives up to its 5 stars and I highly recommend it. A truly dream-like stay, especially for the price we got.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit of a walk to the restaurants in town and quite a hike to get back to the hotel. The road up and down to the hotel is too narrow for 2 cars.

    The suite was very spacious and very clean. The bed was very large and extremely comfortable. The breakfast area was very relaxing. The outdoor pool area was fabulous! The view is amazing. There is also an indoor pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    It quite big and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was quite bad, barely any selection and constantly running out of everything! If you have almost no selection the at least make double of what you have. The breakfast was really 2-3 star... The reception at noon is a chaos, so much happening, they are extremely busy. And a queue waiting. Get another person! We got a great deal from booking with maybe 60% discount! So it was great! Other wise, if you pay the full price, this is really not worth it.

    It quite big and nice. Classical. The rooms are nice, even though old, well maintained. The location in not bad. Great view though and a beautiful beach, if you like rocks. The staff was nice, even though under staffed a bit on the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    This amazing hotel surpassed all our expectations !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything ! However the size of the indoor pool may disappoint some families

    The position of the hotel is amazing. The views are unbelievable and it is only a short walk to the centre of Rapallo. Our bed was huge with a choice of a soft or firm pillow !! The hotel surpassed all our expectations !! We went for our 40th wedding anniversary as our daughter had spent her honeymoon there 5 years ago. When we arrived a lovely lady on reception informed us that our room had been upgraded to a superior with sea view ! I was also presented with a personal envelope containing a free drink voucher for myself and my husband. I felt very emotional . What an amazing start to a perfect holiday !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.5
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price the breakfast is not even mediocre. A real disappointment. We got an upgrade to a corner room with terrace. The room was very nice taken care however the terrace not. I understand that sea gulls leave their mess, but if you take a kaercher you could do wonders. The wooden cover of hut tub on the terrace would need fresh paint. Being guided to the room, the girl did not manage to open the door, did not explain anything of the room but obviously expected a tip. As said the room was absolutely ok but overall the hotel gave the impression money is not reinvested and it has seen its best times.

    We got an upgrade when we arrived. The view from the terrace was exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms spartan. Not a picture nor carpet and very little table space. 50x 100 table. Not a single drawer. No dark curtain but screen with gaps. Serviceable, clean, sterile almost. Small shower area but has a bidet. Little shelf storage. Breakfast good. Most staff great. Watch out for long dark haired battle axe aged 40 or so.

    Clean. new

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Old world elegance and modern luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of chair was the only (and surprising) omission in otherwise perfectly appointed Classic bedroom

    Elegant, comfortable and refined old world glamour overlooking Rapallo Harbour with cracking views out to sea and to Portofino. Beach club membership is included with stay and includes access to the hotel’s infinity pool looking out over the sea and their private section of coast. Yachting Bar and terrace a lovely, informal contrast to the Lord Byron restaurant (bar does great Negronis too!). Byron restaurant is pricy but it does everything very well - formal, old fashioned service, good and authentic Ligurian cooking, atmospheric setting overlooking the bay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only suggestion would be more variety, salads etc on sale at the Sporting and Yatch Bar. Having said that the buffet at the Eden Roc Beach Club was excellent.

    Very attentive staff, “old school” luxury and fantastic views of the Portofino coast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    This property would have been great had everything not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con,phone lines and WiFi all went down in the hotel for the entire night making for a hot sweaty and uncomfortable stay which was a shame as otherwise it would have been a great hotel.

    This property would have been great had everything not broken the night we stayed there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    A dream come true
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a few works to get the Beach club ready disturbed us a bit by the pool but did not take long.

    Wonderful tradional Italian Hotel. Staff so helpful and made us feel so welcome and as Our Wedding Aniversary upgraded our room .. perfect break in a very special hotel and location.. very very pleased.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Amazing time wharp
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was like going back to the 1920's. Beautiful hotel with all the staff immaculately dressed in their military style uniforms. Nothing is too much trouble for this amazing hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Palace in the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok)

    Everything was okay: Good breakfast, comfortable bed, clean room, fresh towels, Garage for the car. Location: it is situated not in the city center where the beach line is and all the restaurants. It’s like a palace in a green and beautiful botanical garden. Downstairs, where the yachts and boats are, you can find good restaurant Luca, where the locals eat: delicious and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    The luxury option in a resort with good transport links.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is building a new spa and wellness area and it is overdue. The current area is dated and very tacky and frankly not worthy of a hotel that claims to be one of the top 50 in the world. The gym is dated, cluttered with a few large machines but very few free weights. Then sauna and steam bath were poor. On a rainy day the indoor pool was not properly staffed so we had to use very small towels that were lying around. Our sea view was a little hampered by the crane being used to rebuild the facilities.

    Traditional hotel. Quite grand. Staff were friendly and very professional. We had an upgrade which was nice. Rooms have recently been refurbished and they are nice enough but the hotel is expensive. Nice location and views but Rapallo taxis are hugely expensive so a short ride to Portofino cost over 40 euros.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    My daughter and I truly enjoyed our stay at this exceptional hotel. Grazie!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from our spacious, tastefully appointed room were amazing. The large walk-in closet and marble bathroom were also top notch. The breakfast was delicious (especially the warm chocolate croissants) and the views from the the refreshing warm saltwater infinity pool and from our lounge chairs on deck cannot be surpassed. The staff were also very attentive and accommodating. The hotel’s location overlooking both the sea and the harbor yet just a five minute walk to the great shops and restaurants in the center of the lovely town of Rapallo is also ideal. We can’t wait to return next year!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Spacious amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No easy walking way to hotel Breakfast service a bit messy No lnfo given either verbally or pamphlets on sights to see or of interest and no rail boat or bus schedules to hand Réception desk didn't encourage you to come again Also paint in bathroom and outside Plus road up to hotel in need of work before it becomes expensive to do

    Spacious amazing views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    We loved it. And we had a very good rate for our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not take a car so going up to the hotel was difficult. We could not find a taxi at night.

    I loved the excellent views. Breakfast was excellent and the terrace is superb. Tha bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.1
    The location couldn’t have been more perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I didn’t feel the staff offered a 5 star service. Due to the good weather, I feel they were a little overwhelmed and lacked staff, especially by the pool area.

    The location couldn’t have been more perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Luxurious way to start visit to Cinqueterre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep walk up to front entrance.

    Amazing Buffet Breakfast. Prosecco was served we sat there for over 1 1/2 hours. It was so luxurious. Comfortable beds lovely rooms with great views. Sky Movies on TV in English which is unusual for Italy. Very helpful staff. Very very relaxing. Would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    An ellegant and lovely hotel with awesome ocean views and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I went in the end of March and the pool and restaurant near the beach was under renovation, but this was not surprising for the season. I am sure when it is open in the summer it will be amazing.

    Breakfast was excellent , rooms excellent. The view from my ocean view balcony was wonderful and special. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    It was my 4th time in Rapallo and every time I stay in this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was my 4th time in Rapallo and every time I stay in this hotel. It's one of the finest hotels in the world. I always wanted to get my family here and we finally made it. We've got a free upgrade, the food was excellent, service too. My family felt very comfortable here. Thanks for such an unforgettable experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful Hotel - beware of current renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Extra Bed and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was undergoing renovations which we had not been pre warned about and at the cost of this property we felt a bit cheated!!

    The room was wonderful will a full on sea view. I liked the older style and the feeling of past luxury.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small disappointment.On checking out the gentleman receptionist hardly looked up from the desk .No mention of how we might have enjoyed our stay .No Bon Voyage for our onward journey .If I was the general manager of this beautiful 5 star hotel I would have expected a little more engagement .

    Breakfast was amazing.Location overlooking the sea and marina was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    As above 😂😂. Git carried away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved every min of our stay. We were there 10 years ago also. Never thought I'd get back to this place. Amazing. Hoping to go again for our 25th wedding anniversary. Room was fab and view amazing. If anything I would have loved a balcony to sit out on. Outside is amazing as inside. Thanks to all the staff making our 5 days with them one to remember.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.6
    The best hotel in Rapallo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best hotel in Rapallo. We booked the room with a sea view and balcony, really very nice view worth for money. Hotel is just amazing, with a helpful staff, super comfort room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Looking forward to my next visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I have been coming here for 18 years and it is always excellent, if anything this visit was even better. Staff really make you feel special. Lord Byron Restaurant for dinner is truly 5 star. Stayed 6 days and sorry to leave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent. I would definitely suggest and come again myself too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a minor point: a noisy aqua gym course in the small swimming pool, attended by a group of ladies that seemed not to be guests’ hotel

    The charming style of the bedroom and lounges with antiques. Very kind and professional staff (reception, room attendant and restaurant)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Room with a view of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not choose this hotel for the Spa but decided to check it out since we were there, we found it a bit small for the size of the hotel, other than that we had a great stay and would go back.

    We really enjoyed our stay in one of the Exclusive rooms at the Excelsior Palace hotel, the bed was comfortable and the view amazing. The breakfast is ample with a variety of breakfasty foods and served in the beautiful Lord Byron restaurant. We had a dinner at the restaurant which was spectacular and the service impeccable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Elegant hotel with beautiful decoration and excellent food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sauna and steam bath not up to the rest. No kettle for coffee in the room.

    Elegant hotel with beautiful decoration and excellent food (room service and breakfast, did not try the restaurant). Room was very comfortable and spacious (junior suite). Efficient staff, very helpful and friendly. Very quiet and peaceful (we were there in low season).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Very Satisfying
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location with beautiful views of Rapallo and the Mediterranean coast. Old style "Grand Hotel". Lovely bar and excellent restaurant. Good Value for money. No crowd of guests in the off-season at this very popular hotel in the high season. Parking underneath the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    A truly luxurious hotel in Rapallo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The climb up the stairs to return to the hotel.

    The ocean views and the overall decorations were very nice. The manager at the breakfast area deserves a big compliment for his wonderful service and attitude. A truly great manager.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Elegant hotel in the beautiful Italian riviera
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air-condition and jacuzzi work only in the summer. If the outside parking is full, you have to pay 16 euros per day for the garage.

    Elegant room, nice breakfast with cappuccino and omlette made according to order, hot inside pool and sauna. We stayed in an exclusive room with a balcony and the view of the coastline was great! (apart from a large crane in a construction site just outside our room...)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Remembering old times in Rapallo.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was under construction.

    Staff and view and facilities. Exceptional view from the pool, which was under construction as we went off season. We have been there before 15 year ago. Got an upgrade to a suite.😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay, would be very happy to stay again and have no hesitation in highly recommending
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the balcony for sunset was lovely. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in. Shower great. Breakfast - something for everyone. Bar drinks expensive - 18 euros for 2 small beers. Staff efficient and friendly. Short walk in to town, with good selection of restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Fint boende som borde revidera texten på bookings hemsida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Utomhuspoolen var stängd vilket var en stor missräkning. Bokade ett 5-stjärnigt hotel med utomhuspool eftersom det var osäkert med vattentemperatur i havet. Att vi blev uppgraderade till ett finare rum uppvägde inte avsaknad av bad i poolen. Bad i havet kunde nog ske efter en lång promenad. Någon har tidigare skrivit på bookings recension att maten var billig på hotellet....då tycker man att dubbla priset jämfört med restauranger nere i stan är billigt. The pool outside was not in use. If we had get that information before arrival we had cancel our booking. No information on arrival about the closed pool. When the outside parking was full we had to pay 16€ for insideparking. No reduction on roomprice when the bath/pool was closed...but full price for parking. Why was not the homepage up to date about the closed pool. The pool was closed for several months.

    Vi blev uppgraderade till en liten svit där vi hade utsikt.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing; in our case everything was perfect. We even got two bags full of breakfast things because we didn’t warn them we were leaving at 05:00 am; so they didn’t know they had to prepare early breakfast and they let us find those two bags. Absolutely kind!

    I liked every single thing. The hotel is full of paintings and other important pieces of art; I felt like we had an art gallery inside the hotel. The staff is really kind and absolutely ready to satisfy, and even anticipate, your needs. Absolutely outstanding service. I wouldn’t find something to criticize not even if I wanted to.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Incredible property, views out of this world and yes we are going back again complete luxury in Rapa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The our door spa and pool being renovated, but there was a fantastic indoor pool and Turkish sauna to use. It will be even more stunning when they complete the renovations of the outdoor spa and pool that is on the edge of the cliff.

    The incredible view from the cliffside where this location is. The view of the marina, the uni erupted view of the Medeteranian Ocean absolutely stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    A memorable stay at a lovely hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we knew the pool wasn't available to use that time of the year we were disappointed that it didn't even look nice (it had been drained and there was tape around it). It would have just capped it off if the "famous" infinity pool looked the part, especially considering the weather was so beautiful!

    We loved the view from our room - breathtaking!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful hotel but wait until they're done with construction before getting a room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got this room based on the swimming pool and private beach location, but because of construction we couldn't use either. The price was good--I'm sure because of the construction--but we would have certainly stayed somewhere else had we known this. In fact, it felt like a scam to not let us know we couldn't have access to these features. Our room was also supposed to be Sea-view, but we faced the bay and town (technically a sea-view of the bay, but this should be clearer in the room descriptions). Also, I couldn't get wi-fi in the room which posed a problem.

    Comfortable bed. Amazing breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful views from aging hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room. No flexibility in switching the room even though off season. Also thought the hotel was an aging old hotel living on their history. Old fashioned and a little tired. Steep charge for parking.

    Views of the sea and breakfast. Lavish buffet breakfast with views of the sea and both indoors and outdoors tables. Bar service and setting was also lively.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Very very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi a lot and I mean a lot worse than 3G .. I wonder why?! Did not like seeing the biggest pug ever laying next to my table at breakfast... couldn’t help thinking a similar dog might have laid in my bed the previous night..

    Choice of soft or firm pillow, Breakfast fit for kings except canned fruit in own juice ... nobody is perfect!..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    We had dinner in the 2 restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had dinner in the 2 restaurants. The menues in both restaurants were far from interesting and what was worse the presentation and taste not up to standard. Not even such a traditional dish as caesarsallad in the barrestaurant was to satisfaction. Sorry for the critics

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing short break in Rapallo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor pool was not heated , it was cold in october

    We stayed in a sea view suite with panoramic views,good buffet breakfast ,spacious terraces ,outdoor swimming pool & health club , short walk to restaurants, bars & port, this is my 2nd visit to this hotel & will return again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Á relaxing weekend in a beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I would have known that there were terraces in some rooms. I would have tried to request a room with a terrace.

    I requested a room with a view and they were able to give us one.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Aristocratic Italian hotel with the highest standards of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast on the hotel terrace- would be nice if you offered the possibility to make a reservation for the table, as on peak time 10.00 its full.

    We loved stay in this hotel & will definitely go back. It was very classy, could feel Italian traditions & very accommodating staff. We enjoyed a lot our upgrade to sweet. Pool & beach- one of the best on the coast, with no need to fight for the space. Breakfast- the biggest & best choice I have seen on the coast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    a very romantic & exceptional hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is the best hotel I've ever stayed at! overall experience is 10 stars, excellent service, excellent room, the infinity pool and beach are just magical....i will come back to stay there for sure... truly exceptional hotel and experience!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    We had an excellent time at this hotel and appreciated the view, kind staff and cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food on the bar was unsatisfactory and expensive. Bar staff was gossiping in a negative way about a client in my presence-- they didn't know I speak Italian-- and it was offensive to hear. The hotel is on a rather noisy road.

    Bed was comfortable, Staff in lobby was very kind and helpful, especially Francesco, a bell person. View was fantastic. They not only allowed us to have our small dog, they brought us a complementary can of dog food. The welcome could not have been nicer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    The hotel is beautifully decorated, with charming staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is beautifully decorated, with charming staff and gorgeous views. The cliff side infinity pool and steps down to the rocky beach were a delight. The restaurant had fabulous food and attentive staff. I wish I were there now.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    A must
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you take a walk out of the hotel on foot returning up the driveway is very steep, so bear in mind if you are a little unsure on you feet.

    The hotel was outstanding. Great facilities and pool area. Very relaxing and lovely breakfast and cocktails.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Definitely worth the money. Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool water is little too cold. The hotel is little old but it's Nicely kept. The wireless service and bussiness center weren't working properly at all

    The beautiful infinity pool. The beach club. The nice service which is not too common in Italy. The breakfast. The shower water pressure was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Refreshing. Romantic. Expensive. Breathtaking views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room's door locked got jammed all the time. The management was nice enough to upgrade our room though.

    The Beach Club & hotel view over the ocean!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Location, services, staff is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi speed is good but it didn't work in my room because of poor coverage of the network

    Location, services, staff is perfect. View from my window was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay, highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A balcony was all we were missing but as we got upgraded to a junior suite can't complain at all! Loved it all

    Lovely hotel, great staff, fabulous sea view, lots of comfort, great bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Great break in good 5 star hotel which exceeded exprectati
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area great. Great choice of breakfast. Eden Roc restaurant beautifully situated right at the sea. Thursday night buffet good value for money food exellent. Seafood risotto fabulous good service all round friendly staff. Reception very polite and helpful. Hotel arranged birthday cake for my wife sent a letter wishing her happy birthday provided us with a free drink of choice and prosecco with cake at out meal.Upgraded on arrival and then changed us on request to room with view and balconey same standard as upgrade and at no extra charge

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    We had a complimentary upgrade to a suite room and the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a complimentary upgrade to a suite room and the room had an amazing view of Rapallo Coast...Really nice breakfast buffet...Amazing hotel to enjoy the coast...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    Beach Club Fantasy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really impersonal check-in and interactions with the staff while staying at the hotel. I wanted to spoil my wife on her 40th birthday with a stay here after a recommendation. I informed the hotel before our arrival, but they didn't use the opportunity to create personal rapport with us. No mention on arrival, no special turndown, not a word. My wife didn't expect anything so it was still a special stay for us-I just expected more.

    The Beach Club makes this hotel-it is absolutely amazing! The view from our room was great and the facilities are what you would expect from a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    great hotel and the best asset is the beach club
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not very strollers (baby) friendly since there are a lot of stairs from the street level to the hotel with no elevator, and a lot of stairs all over the beach club

    great beach club and pools. great view beautiful hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Historical hotel that would really need to be refreshed and upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smell mold. Hotel hasn't been renovated/refreshed in years. The $100 charge for a child crib in the room is outrageous. The gym is super small and hot. Breakfast was OK but we have seen better at other 5 star hotels. The restaurant was average. Lobster pasta did not have much lobster at all.

    Beautiful infinity pool and views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    Good stay as location is wonderfull but wifi and beach club to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Le beach club is far away from the hotel. The swiming pool closes between 6 30 pm to max 7 pm but the personnel is already asking to go earlier. The WIFI was poorly or sometimes not working at all. This is not acceptable and even less when you are paying 360 € per night.

    the locatisation is wonderfull and the people at the bar and restaurant are very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous hotel with wonderful staff. The buffet breakfast is great! The swimming pools are on cliffs hanging over the sea. There is a great ocean view restaurant in the cliffs. It's a lovely place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Indulgence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mirrors in bedroom. Traffic noise.

    The Luxury. Valet car parking. Electric curtains. Fellow guests with no tattoos. Perfect service. The beach club. Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Almost every part, beach, swimming pool, restaurant , room ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the view from my room, it was facing the parking lot.

    Almost every part, beach, swimming pool, restaurant , room but the most awesome was a pool of course. Ahh, and the staffs were really, really kind. (I should say too much ;)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful location with views of the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    We have stayed here previously 4 years ago and again our stay was excellent. Nice rooms beautiful views of the sea, comfortable bed. Beach Club excellent with helpful staff. We were only eating breakfast at the hotel but there was a good selection. Hotels in Italy are expensive so you can't say this one was good value for money but I we would say worth every penny.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.0
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel with old smell Breackfast was very poor ! 3 tables with food : 1 with prosciutto and cheese - 1 with sweets - 1 with vegetables. The badest breackfast i have ever eat ! Same food every day. The staff don't bring new foid when is finished and i asked why is this ! Their answer : i don t care ! What !?!?!? In my opinion it is a 3 star hotel.

    It is near Portofino

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    Classic with no style
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel needs a refresh. Rooms and common spaces are too old! The gym is too small and empty. No upgrades, no late check out. Prices are definetly too high! Unfriendly staff in the reception

    Amazing beach club and the hotel restaurant The view The parking The service at the beach club

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable stop to enjoy Cinque Terre and Portofino!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice property and location. Good breakfast and view of the bay. Comfortable rooms, though a bit small. Very nice and helpful staff! Convenient parking out front for our large rental van.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely place, great location, pleasant staff. Worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was a little bit dated. The room was fairly small and the AC only fair.

    Breakfast was very nice, with an omelette/egg station and delightful service. The infinity pool looking out over the yachts and the Mediterranean Sea is not to be missed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    The best of the best incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The kindest and most accommodating staff you could ask for. A perfect hotel with every amenity. Truly a five star hotel. We rebooked already.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Excelsior Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: