Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Excelsior Splendide 3 stars

Via Lungo Lago Manzoni 28, 22021 Bellagio, Italy

#10 of 15 hotels in Bellagio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 599 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Get the right room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rear facing rooms are small and average. They don’t help with parking and it’s just luck if you find a spot close (5 mins away) or much further away.

    Place is in a great location and if you get a lake facing room it’s spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Loved this place - romantic location, view and relaxed hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise from the car ferry late at night when the window was open was a problem for me as a light sleeper. Not the hotel's fault of course, but the bar which DOES belong to the hotel went on until 1am with people screaming and shouting. When I called to complain, the receptionist did respond immediately to tell them to close up.

    The location was perfect for Bellagio and the ferry terminal. The view from our lake view room was breathtaking. Staff were also very hard working.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in beautiful Bellagio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the morning of our departure, we had breakfast at opening time, but the hot (cooked) items were not yet available. Not a serious problem, but the full breakfast should be ready when they open.

    This hotel is perfectly located, with glorious views from our bedroom and bathroom balconies. The room was comfortable, spacious and beautifully decorated. Reception staff were helpful and professional. Overall an excellent choice in Bellagio.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Basic quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that while I appreciate the old charm of the hotel, it lacked quality. Hard bed basic room, very small TV, lack of towels and toiletries.

    Location was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Truly fab. Lake Como is stunning and we intend to return to Hotel Excelsior Splendide.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were a bit slow in clearing used cereal bowls/plates at breakfast but this was only a very minor issue.

    Lovely size very clean grand room with a very comfy bed. We made good use of the swimming pool. The Hotel is in a perfect position close to the ferry terminal. Plenty of choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely lake views in centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a challenge at busy times in the street area (by meter 8 - 20:00) but that is true of most hotels in Bellagio if staying in the centre

    On the lake front with lake view room and right in the centre. Traditional old hotel that has been renovated and improved over the years we have been visiting but kept character. Rooms and bathrooms have been upgraded in last few years although relatively plain and simple furnishings Outdoor pool at the rear which again has been upgraded since we first came over 10 years ago

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money. I have stayed in much better hotels for less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was self service and poorly laid out to cope with a rush of people. The food was average and exactly the same every day.

    The view from the dining room window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is very welcoming and in a great location with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After paying our highest cost per night on our three week trip through Italy I was expecting something special. We walked up the wide sweeping staircase along the magnificent wide corridor down some narrow stairs, into a narrow corridor and into a small room. Quite disappointing. The list of TV programs in the handbook provided showed some English channels that weren't possible to get.

    The hotel is very welcoming and in a great location with a great pool. One of the receptionists recommended some very good places to eat in Bellagio. Their breakfast buffet was one of the best on our trip through Italy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic rooms and very thin walls. The main problem being the sound issue from the floor/ceiling; you could hear every move your upstairs neighbour made very loudly.

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had a broader variety like fresh fruits and not only canned fruits. But was ok.

    Location, room size, outdoor pool. Great place and accessible without steps (given the many steps in Bellagio that was important for us with a child in a buggy)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely stay in the heart of Bellagio wonderful breakfast and stagg
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room was a wall there was no kettle no relax chair to sit in bathroom and shower very small

    Location and staff comfortable bed very clean free towels for the pool the new comfortable sun loungers breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Get a room in the upper floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is an incredibly noisy hotel. The AC has to be connected from the main desk TV options were minimal. The staff was not very friendly

    The location is outstanding

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful Bellagio and Lake Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position was fantastic. There was an electronic shutter plus double glazing to shut out noise and light, which was great. It was a great start to a holiday and recommended by a friend Good staff and breakfast..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast and meals are of good quality large choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great loction staff extremely helpful rooms very large and comfortable. Excellent value for money.

    Breakfast and meals are of good quality large choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position right across from the lakeside promenade and a few steps from the alley ways containing the shops and restaurants. The old world marble lobby and stair well lend to the charm of this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    A really lovely stay in a wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    This hotel was lovely. We had a lake view room, which was beautiful. Location, the room itself, the staff, the breakfast were all great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Staying at this hotel was Splendid!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a wonderful place right on the waterfront in Bellagio. We enjoyed the pool and everything about the place. The free breakfast was delicious and the staff was professional and kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Bellagio is one of the most picturesque places in the whole Italy.This trip is a pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking on the street could be a challenge.If you come to Bellagio early in the morning or after 8pm you should be OK.

    This property is in the middle of beautiful Bellagio .This property is close to everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    The pool was lovely, although I have no idea why they said...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge in the room or a place to make a hot drink. Even though the hotel blurb suggested we hang up towels that we were happy to use again ( to save the planet's resources) the towels were changed every day regardless. The towels were coarse..... Probably overwashed. On 2 of the night's we were there, loud music was playing on the street until 11.30 pm, making sleep impossible. The lift was temperamental and often never came to the 3rd floor when you pushed the button.

    The pool was lovely, although I have no idea why they said you couldn't use it after 8 pm. ( It seemed a bit too early). The room was very clean. And the breakfast was amazing. The staff were relatively helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel that is centrally located
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lower limit of the air conditioner was set to something slightly higher than I normally prefer, but it didn't affect me enough for me to ask the receptionist to turn it down.

    Location was excellent - close to the water and just a few minute walk from the ferry. The staff was friendly both in the reception area as well as at breakfast. The hotel has old world charm - it felt like the type of place movie stars might have stayed in bygone days.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit lacking, but we weren't really too bothered by that

    Perfect location, great view from the room and friendly staff. Recommended!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, stunning location, what more could you ask for?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little outdated.

    Perfect location right on the lake, clean rooms with gorgeous opening double windows over looking the lake with a window seat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are old and shower is very small which was pretty standard for Europe in this price range.

    Can’t beat this location in Bellagio. Very central. Good breakfast in morning. Attached restaurant right on the water. Room had a partial view of the water which is great. Room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, friendly staff, wished i had stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    if you want to stay in the centre of Bellagio its ideal, breakfast had good selection - and fresh. It is what you imagine of an Italian hotel on Lake Como - imagine Cary Grant, Bogey, Grace Kelly or Jane Russell walking down the grand staircase.... (OK I'm showing my age!!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    It was adequate but I’d choose elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar fridge in the room. Also I selected a yoghurt at breakfast which was mouldy. No one made any comment. I get the impression this isn’t an overly happy staff situation. Not a lot of smiling or happy talk but there is a lot of staff standing and seemingly watching what goes on. We wondered if they were trying to cut costs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Super location and very compfortable !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle makes washing quite tricky - a small kettle for tea would be helpful - plus a fridge for drinks

    Fantastic location - great streetscape and aspect - very good breakfast - thoroughly enjoyable !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable with a central location that made it convenient for us to call back and refresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower in particular was a little small Other than that it was everything we needed

    Central location gave us easy access to all sites and the ferry to move between the 4 towns Breakfast was excellent- in fact the best we experienced during our month of travel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay, excellent location, very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Initially were allocated rooms (lake view) on 4th (top) floor. These are small, attic-type rooms, quite cramped with a pathetic "view" of the lake. Would not recommend this floor. Luckily the air conditioner was not working, so we were re-allocated to second floor; much more spacious room and excellent view of the lake.

    Superb location; on waterfront near ferry terminals, yet not too noisy. Very helpful staff, who made every effort to answer our requests efficiently and courteouslyl

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    View from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a large bathroom, recently renovated with quality materials, but it has a hand held shower head. The holder for this Is attached to the wall at about hip height and so it is just a bit tricky when you want to wash your hair. There is no shower screen either so you either have to sit in the bath or position yourself carefully not to saturate the room. Would have preferred a normal shower. But then, the beautiful view compensates for this!

    View from the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    Half decent hotel and room - you’re really only paying for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a loud gurgling pipe in the bed room as well as a door which had a large gap at the bottom letting lots of light into the room - which disrupted our sleep every night. The facilities in the room were lacking, not even a kettle or a mini fridge! The TV was also placed on top of the wardrobe so almost unwatchable. Our room was also close to the lifts and the stairs so quite noisy and poor noise isolation.

    Close to ferry port and there is a lake view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Charming . Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt liked the AC system.

    The breakfast was excellent so as the staff. The location is excellent, too. Staff very helpfull and kind. We have appreciate all the informations,timetables, things to do and visit about the area that we have in the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Excellent stay in a beautiful area and great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy rain .....

    Had room on 4th floor in roof was great views and very peaceful ..... never slept so well. Staff were very friendly and extremely accommodating would highly recommend and we will be returning in summer months. The boat service was brilliant they just need to learn a little more of the English Language

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing view in a stunning location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit firm for my liking.

    The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the foreshore of Lake Como & the lake view room we had was just stunning to wake up to in the morning. Friendly, helpful staff assisting with travel options back to the airport on a public holiday. Great breakfast with a lot of choice. Close to the ferry terminals & lots of great cafes & restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay here again & recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Hotell is located in a very center of Bellagio, a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you travelling by car it will be pretty difficult to find a parking (especially a free one).

    Hotell is located in a very center of Bellagio, a lot of restaurants and coffee places. Ferry station is also very close.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, useful in price range. Don't eat there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast eggs/cooked food almost cold. Dinner we had one night [only...] very poor.

    Excellent view from our room. Great location for ferries around lake and bus to Como. Easy to access from airport and Milan city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Fabulous location and great value in all respects!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at this hotel at the same time last year, so our repeat visit speaks volumes about this lovely hotel. Perfectly positioned in the centre of Bellagio, overlooking the beautiful lake, and a short stroll to shops, restaurants and water ferries. The bedrooms are very large, spotlessly clean, and with very comfortable beds and bed linen. The staff were extremely efficient and friendly, obviously well trained. We could not fault the breakfasts...delicious eggs and bacon, hams, cheeses, fruit, yoghurts and lovely pastries...all you could want and in a lovely setting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent choice for the perfect stay in Bellagio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing to complain about.

    Excellent hotel, very clean and comfortable room in a beautiful old villa. Just on the border of the lake with beautiful view and extremely close to the ferry. Excellent employees, I appreciated the kindness of the lady at reception who spoke an excellent Romanian! Very good breakfast and nice to feel the smell of baked cake in the morning, in my room :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location right across the street from the lake and great comfort at a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing at all not to like at this hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

    We got very lucky and found a metered parking spot very close to the hotel. Charges do not apply from 8 PM to 8 AM and you can pay for next day hours on the day before so you need not rush out to put money in the meter by 8 AM each day. Also, there are spaces (a good distance from the hotel) which are free and you can probably find one of those open late in the day and simply leave your car there for the duration of your stay. Reception kindly explained all of this to us. The hotel retains its "old world" Pallazo charm with modern updates to make it very comfortable. Our high ceilinged bedroom and charmingly tiled bathroom with a good shower was very comfortable and quiet. The dining/breakfast room is positively grand! And, the breakfasts are quite good, with many choices of food and two coffee machines that dispense all manner of coffee choices. There was a large group of older people staying at the hotel during our stay so the dining room was very noisy while they were having their meals; we ate elsewhere in the evening and waited until the group had departed to have our breakfast, making our morning meals very calm and comfortable. And, scenic since we were able to sit at a window table with a view of Lake Como each morning - bella! There was a problem with the elevator door on the third floor where we were originally assigned a room. We would have had to take our luggage to the fourth floor by elevatpr and lug it down the staircase to the third. I mentioned that I had had recent back surgery and had purposely booked hotels with elevator service but that we would cope by having my husband carry both bags down from four to three. A woman who was probably either the manager or the owner of the hotel immediately stepped in and found us a room on a floor with working elevator doors. Bless her!!! It was a considerable upgrade since the room was on the only floor that had balconies - directly facing Lake Como!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    I would stay elsewhere but it was pretty booked by the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The grumpy woman who owned the hotel at reception! But for the money it was good!

    The location was super to open your window on the lake is very special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Well located and obviously very historic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff 'confiscated' our passports for the duration which was quite disconcerting. The elderly lady at reception needs to go and do a refresher course on hospitality and guests 101.

    Well located and obviously very historic. New bathroom facilities were fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location, but better places to stay in Bellagio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was unbelievably hard, elevator broken and did not go to third floor where our room was situated, breakfast was horrible and coffee was worse. We ditched the included breakfast and went to a local restaurant after the first morning.

    Location and view from our room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    We love the relaxed old-school comfortable feel of Hotel Excelsior Splendide...nothing pretentious..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be nice to have tea & coffee making facilities in the room, but that is a very minor matter.

    Very friendly & helpful when we were rearranging room bookings and asking transport queries. We have been here before, and loved it, which is why we re-booked the same hotel again. Cant wait to come back again as soon as we can!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.2
    I'd stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was updated and the bathroom was very well done. A little annoyance was no soap dish in the shower. The bedroom was very comfortable.

    Central location and convienent to ferry from Varenna (train station).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was on the 4th floor, elevator wasn't working, no one to help bring our luggage up the stairs, could leave it down stairs until elevator was fixed, but they didn't know when that was going to be. Our room was in the attic, it was hot, tiny, with a double bed, my husband had to watch his head in halls, (he's not tall) and couldn't stand upright in room, because of structural supports. Asked for a different room on different floor, upgrade was only 15 euros more a night, but the room was large with a king bed, daybed, and nice bathroom, which looked out to the lake, go figure, not sure booking online is the way to go, alway inquire when you get there!

    Hotel had a nice appeal when entering, clean, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    Very romantic get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit worn and could use a general update but this adds to the nostalgia of the place so this isn't a real negative.

    Awesome location with excellent lake view. Ask for a room with a balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Close to main shops and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unable to control own air con. Need an iron and ironing board in the room. Shower was very tight. Our room had no view.

    Close to main shops and restaurants

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    Over priced over rated basic room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or iron in room. The most basic room for a ridiculous price. Staff on reception are not pleasant at all.

    The view is breath taking but you have to pay through your nose for it. The staff in the bar opposite the hotel were so nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful old building with spacious rooms in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toiletries in the bathroom were very poor and the breakfast was very average. The bacon was always cold but the scrambled eggs were nice.

    The location was excellent, right in the heart of Bellagio and very close to public transport. We had a nice view of the lake from our little side balcony.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous getaway we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, visit the other towns by day and enjoy Bellagio later on when all the other tourists have left. Prepare to drive around a bit for parking as it's very limited, be patient you will find a space...hotel pool was clean and quiet, breakfast was average- need to improve on the coffee like that available across the street @ the hotel restaurant ....after all this is Italy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    A Beautiful Hotel in the Beautiful Town of Bellagio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't bother me too much as I am no slave to social media but some would object to the somewhat slow WiFi but this could have been a temporary issue. Would certainly re-visit and recommend

    Location is possibly top 3 in Bellagio. Lovely medium sized period building with a relaxing atmosphere. Staff are very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi does not work well in the room The hotel should have a door bell. If you arrive before 7 am (eg from running), nobody hears you knocking at the door, since the man in the reception is preparing for breakfast Breakfast below average

    Perfect location Fantastic view from the room Lovely garden for relaxation , sunbathing or swimming in the pool Very helpful and service minded in reception Free parking available nearby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    One night in Bellagio
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is a problem in Bellagio; we spent 40 minutes looking for a parking space, driving around the town probably 3 times. This wasn't made obvious on the website. Information about where the facilities are (eg pool) and about the WiFi were not given to us by the reception staff on-check in or the in-room information booklet. We had to go back to ask at the reception. Also, you need to take your device down to reception to get the log-in. The internet was also intermittent (kept dropping out). The breakfast was served from 07:30 - 09:30 which may be a little too early for some people. You have to contact reception to ask them to turn on your AC too.

    The location is great for walking around Bellagio and also hopping on the ferry! The pool was lovely and refreshing. The building itself is welcoming and the room size was large.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous Hotel and staff. Best location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available. Street parking extremely limited. We drove around for hours unsuccessfully until a staff member offered us their street parking.

    Fabulous location and staff. Walk to everywhere easily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Bellagio the highlight of our Tour, Thanks Hotel Excelsior for the best accomodation!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best hotel in Bellagio, with the friendly Staff. I especially would like to thank LUCCA hotel manager, who made our stay in Bellagio the best. I would recommend this hotel if you visit Bellagio. The best breakfast buffet and the servers are very friendly and welcoming! THe Hotel is close to all shops and 1 minute walk from the most famous staircase of Bellagio. Come in the morning to get a perfect shot with no crowd! Thank you Hotel Excelsior!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Solid choice but not remarkable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing remarkable or special about this hotel. It is a middle-grade, inner city hotel. Convenient location, acceptable rooms but not up to par with a typical American hotel such as a Marriott or Hilton property. This is a safe choice but not a premium hotel.

    The breakfast was excellent! Very nice selection of choices and the quality was great. The front desk staff was extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Italian paradise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Technically, if anything, the breakfast was a bit disorganised. the staff meeting the people rather than serve them. I happened to like that. Very Italian.

    The view, The room, The swimming pool half way up the back garden, Sunbathing area in the garden, Location location location, The front of house staff booked us tickets for the night cruise on the feast of St. James. they were only available locally an they paid up front for us. the fireworks were immense. I will never forget that gesture. I dont understand people complaining about no coffee in room, no iron (they loaned me one) no fridge, no water. ITS A HOTEL in Italy. that's the way its done there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location, unpleasant experience with staff, pool not always open
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because it had a pool. Yet, the pool was closed in the morning until at least about 10. So if you want to swim before breakfast, it's impossible. In addition, breakfast is only until 9.30. This is information we would have liked to know beforehand. Also, when I asked about the pool and complained saying that we got the hotel for this reason, the receptionist said that it was, I quote, "my problem" that I wanted to swim at that time.

    The location is excellent! And we had a balcony with a beautiful view of the lake.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location but limited facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No tea or coffee making facilities or complimentary water in the room & no room service available, all of which I would generally have expected for a hotel of this calibre.

    Excellent location on the lakefront. Parking isn't the best & costs Euro 15 per day, but it's limited in Bellagio anyway. Best scrambled eggs I've ever tasted for breakfast! Staff were friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegetables at breakfast, but the food was good anyway.

    Great location. Very comfortable bad, nice and clean room. Nice garden in the back of the hotel, near the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Beutiful Belagio Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kettle / coffee facilities in the room would have been nice.

    Great central location. Had room with amazing lake view. Lovely staff. Pink marble staircase with coloured glass windows and ceiling artwork. very Italian feel. Nice pool if you dont want to jump in the lake. Included buffet breakfast with wide choice and good quality. Bar restaurant by the lakeside was just the place to sit and stare.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    I will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young female staff in your outdoor restaurant were extremely rude. The male waiters were fine

    I loved the location, that there was a pool, breakfast, dinner, veiw, cleanliness,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel for travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle in your room to make tea would be wonderful.

    Very friendly helpful staff and the inside of the building the staircase was amazing. Plenty of room in your room with great views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Great Location but property needs a little TLC to bring back that luxury touch..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very out-dated.. Looked a lot more appealing in the photos... View was non existent.. we were in Room 14.. Suppose to be a garden View.. View of concrete.. A little TLC and I'm sure this hotel would have rated better.. Can Imagine back a few years ago this being the place to stay for sure!!

    Location and Staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    4.2
    Don't stay here it is awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms was horrible small very basic small Rv perched on top of a cupboard done up with tape air con went off every time your left the room No kettle no good toiletries no good service Vile food run down all round

    Very poor hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.7
    Did not quite live up to expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in need of a refresh. Breakfasts were very poor with limited choice and sparce platters. Especially missing was fresh fruit

    Bellagio is a busy tourist centre. The Hotel is located opposite the ferry station and in this small town is close to all attractions and facilities. Our room was comfortable although the furnishings were a bit tired. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.3
    Fantastic view, however .......
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy location and a very bad drain smell in the bathroom. Also the double bed was two singles together and not comfortable.

    Spacious room. Helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel but too many bus tours staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee/tea making facilities in room and no iron! There was a bus tour staying here and breakfast was chaotic, not enough staff or food!! Had to keep asking for fresh food to be made, won't stay here again!

    Nice welcome, superb location, bedroom was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was very temperamental and breakfast was a bit chaotic, although may have had something to do with the elderly bus tour that was staying in the hotel.

    Best located hotel in Belagio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    5.4
    not worth what we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    central noisy position. rather basic,minimal room facilities, toiletries, breakfast, disinterested staff attitude,appeared to be controlled by an elderly matriarch. To sum up, well beyond sell by date. The promised parking was non existant.

    convenient for ferries

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit of noise from the ferry terminal nearby when the ferry came in, but not a problem for us.

    This hotel is a short walk from restaurants, shops and ferries in Bellagio. Booked a room with view of the lake and Italian pre-alps, which was lovely. Breakfast was a good standard hotel breakfast. The hotel has a historical decor, but our particular room has a modern ensuite bathroom. The ladies who clean the room did a very efficient and excellent job.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Beautifully clean in all areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel bar was across the road, therefore to get a drink whilst at the pool you had to get up, dressed, go down the stairs, out of the hotel and across the road.

    Beautifully clean in all areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.1
    Incredible location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin internal walls meant next doors TV was very loud in our room and the snack bar was awfully noisy and the food cheap quality and over priced

    Location amazing but that means it's noisy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    4.6
    Old Hôtel and needs refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very basic and old and in need of refurbishment.There is no fridge in the rooms and no water to drink provided by the hotel. As it was hot in Bellagio and the reception advised not to drink the tap water, there was no where to keep a drink cold. It would have been good to have a kettle in the room or access to cold/hot water throughout the day. The Hôtel has a bar across the road but it is very difficult to get served. Another bar next door has live music on Monday and Tuesday nights and from our room on the second floor you could here it until 11.30 at night even with shutters down. While the Hôtel has no control over this it is something to be aware of. Tiny shower with good water pressure. Internet access is given by tickets for a few days at a time rather than access for the whole seven days of our stay. Would only recommend if basics ( fridge and water) were included in the room.

    The room was clean and bed comfortable . Breakfast and staff were ok. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    An awesome place to stay in Bellagio
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really no parking facilities

    Excellent location, air conditioning was fantastic, room neat and spacious, staff was very friendly and outstanding, breakfast was plentiful and delicious

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.1
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rather hard and dressing table chair was threadbare and split in places.no mini bar or tea making facilities.

    The hotel location is superb and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: