Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mercure Palermo Excelsior City 4 stars

Via Marchese Ugo 3, 90141 Palermo, Italy

#26 of 74 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 604 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in a good position for using local buses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to keep asking for replacement coffee and milk in the room.

    The hotel is in a good position for using local buses. The staff are very pleasant and eager to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a little awkward to use. That's all

    The staff were very friendly and went the extra mile; the waiters, concierge and the restaurant staff. Beautiful hotel. Also liked the bathtub.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable bed, upgraded to a larger room after they made a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit of a distance to the old town so you need to walk a lot. Hotel needs redecoration. Rooms rather tired. Breakfast not good.

    Comfortable bed, upgraded to a larger room after they made a mistake with the first room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.3
    Decent place in a nice location with lovely rooms! Just a poor breakfast experience.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At breakfast the staff seemed a bit off. No one approached to seat me or ask which room I was in. When leaving I informed a waiter and asked him to bring me the bill. What the staff did was whisper amongst themselves if they were around and just glance over the room and walk away. Cutlery and napkins were missing on more than half the tables. I felt very uncomfortable that the hospitality offered to others was not extended to me. My overall stay was great but this spoiled it a bit.

    I stayed in a large spacious airy room. The room has a bureau and an armchair as well as a table with two dining chairs. Lots of natural light through a sky light. Big comfortable bed. Huge range of toiletries of a good standard. Late check out of 13:00 was possible and appreciated! Super soft towels! I stayed in a few hotels on this trip. Mercure was the only place to have lovely fluffy white towels!! Had a couple of well made cocktails in the bar too! I would stay there again. But no breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Beds and size of bath we did have a super room but was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Manager instead We hit his car parked in the front for guest to unload No marks on either auto 🤔

    Beds and size of bath we did have a super room but was very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Peaceful stay in a beautiful old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor and mattress was a little tired and most of the gym kit was broken

    Staff were friendly, I liked the location in the new town near the beautiful gardens. It is a short taxi ride or the old town but we were ok with that. Room was quiet which I loved.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After protesting about noisy rooms allocated to me I was upgraded to a junior suite which was very comfortable. Reasonable price for good wine in the bar. Choice of restaurants in the vicinity.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.3
    No parking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, no Aircondition, the stuff is rude. The place needs renovation. The room was noisy from the road, shutters can not close, broken. The service was terrible. STAY AWAY !!!!!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Very friendly, nice room and beautiful historical facility...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to unlike anything in Palermo !

    Very friendly, nice room and beautiful historical facility with amazing location. Thank Celine, Claudia and Antonio. Hope to see you again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is well located and offers an adequate service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I noticed that paint was peeling on the outer wall and this does not give a great impression.

    The room was clean and well equipped if a little small. Service in the restaurant for breakfast was uneven - the head waiter was a great help but the other waiters were uninterested. I asked for gluten free food and the restaurant obliged. The cooked breakfast was less than hot and quickly cooled even more since the plates were not heated. The public rooms were gracious and pleasing on the eye.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Mercure Excelsior is an ex Hilton hotel, hence it offers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mercure Excelsior is an ex Hilton hotel, hence it offers more than a standard 3* Mercure can provide you with. Very nice decor, comfy beds and great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    Superb hotel..best in years!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked lot of water onto floor..drain in sink broken..room 130...have to leave a car in the middle of the street in front of the hotelwhen you arrive during the day as there's no place to put it..

    Excellent 5 Star...staff could not be better...courteous and efficient!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.4
    Reception staff need some training in customer service, and maintenance needs to be addressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were friendly, particularly in the dining areas and the porters. The reception staff were on the whole indifferent, often ignoring you when they could see you waiting at reception and they were in the back office. Their behaviour made you feel more like a number than a guest. Although there was extensive choices at the breakfast Buffett, bacon was almost raw, scrambled eggs were cold and so were the hash browns. Local cheeses and cured meats and fresh fruits were delicious, as were the pastries. The pasta was tasty and the accompanying sauces flavoursome, but desserts were bland and tasteless. Although tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room, there were only one or two tea bags, minimal sugar and no milk. These weren't replenished when the room was serviced either. The shower door wasn't properly sealed and so every time you had a shower the bathroom floor was flooded, making it slippery and dangerous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.3
    Location close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old building, less expected facilities than normal hotels, no perfect parking for my rent car, breakfast have limited choices.

    Location close to the city. staff and cleaning ladies very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Nothing

    Great Hotel although a little way from the old part of the city. The buses to the old part were very frequent. Bus drivers do not take payment for your travel, you have to obtain these from various ticket kiosks along the route. The 101 bus is the one to take.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, great staff, good price, excellent breakfast. I will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I absolutely loved this hotel!!! I had a really fabulous room (number 142) which I would definitely ask for again. It was a cornber room with two large windows, one with a nice balcony. The furnishing was grteat and what I have come to expect from staying in Mercure hotels previously. It was lovely to have a big sofa and two armchairs arranged around a lovely big television with all sorts of films available. They were all very comfortable. The bed was huge and so incredibly comfortable with some of the best cotton sheets I have ever slept in along with lovely big pillows. The bathroom ws glamourous and absolutely perfect for my needs with a separate shower and bath. The shower cubicle had a great rainfall shower in it and was a big two person shower. The whole bathroom was done out in marble. overall the decorations were great. The staff were incredibly friendly both at the front desk and in the restaurant and bar. They even let me check in early free of charge - I checked in at 10:30 which was amazing. The breakfast, and I need to make special mention of this, was brilliant. A huge selection of different foods as well as cooked items. I have to say they made the best scrambled eggs I have eaten in a very long time. Delicious! Thanks to all there at the Mercure Palermo!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.8
    The hotel needs a refurbishment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is old and many things are too worn out. There is an awful smell in corridors of the 3rd floor caused by old rugs full of humidity and mildew. The air-condition inside the room also smells bad when is on.

    Sicilian food corner for breakfast. The staff in the reception is friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent. Would certainly go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was nothing we disliked. The coffee available on tap at breakfast was a bit weak and bland. I know that staff would also make a capucino or espresso, but it did not seem convenient to interrupt the busy staff to ask for a purposely made cup of coffee.

    The room was large, the bed excellent. Staff were uniformly friendly and courteous. We had a problem with a leak from the bedroom ceiling, and the response was instant and extremely helpful. The restaurant was also very good, staffed by helpful and amiable waiters.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    The property was a grand old lady in her day, but is looking and feeling a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our basin plug in the bathroom didn't work and the outlet in the shower was blocked releasing the water very slowly, so you were left standing in water. Both were reported but nothing was done. The shower recess needs a good clean. The bed linen felt very damp, possibly from the heat and humidity. Non of this stopped us from enjoying our stay in Palermo. It is a very old city.

    The room was very spacious. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.5
    Palermo - a wonderful and interesting location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative - value for money in this older hotel.

    Although located backing on to the busy main street we found the hotel very quiet and easy walking distance to the city centre. The airport bus had a stop right by the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception staff excellent except two lady staff who seemed to be new if not inefficient because one was unable to understand a problem and the other directed me to a newsstand streets away instead of the one in front of the hotel

    Bed comfortable, room very nice, restaurant excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little challenging.

    Staff helpufull and friendly. Very pet friendly parks for dog right next to hotel. Elegant hotel good proximity to the port.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    The staff went to good lengths to see I had what I needed in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went to good lengths to see I had what I needed in terms of navigating the city and comfort items. I was offered a nice beach towel to use in Cefalu on a day trip. The breakfast was very delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    We liked the Superior room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    We liked the Superior room . The breakfast was fantastic. The staff were great. We will return on thursday June 15, 2017 for 2 more nights. We hope we have the same room !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    I had a decent stay, my expectations weren't met but most of my basic needs were met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of wifi reception or rather strong wifi reception. The connection doesn't reach certain rooms. Had to request a robe and slippers which were not in the room originally.

    The hot shower was my most memorable thing about the hotel. I had a good view from my room which overlooked a garden. I was disappointed with the quality of the WIFI; to connect id have to step out of my room or sit in the lobby. The breakfast wasn't spectacular either. The staff are friendly enough and were helpful with questions i had.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi in room was slow and needs to improve

    Concierge was excelent and went out of his way to help parking car and carry luggage, which made you feel to return home!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel base for a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was a pest - kept dropping out.

    Great location and comfortable. Good restaurant and breakfast. Well maintained, helpful staff and good ambience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.3
    Isn't worth money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying in the hotel for the second time in 2 years. Wifi still doesn't work - only for mail checking near reception, even paid wifi for 9 Euro Did not work as was supposed to. Fitness center was alright, but one machine was not working. Personnel is quite attentive only in case you are Italian, for other foreign tourists they are rather calm. In a bathroom there was mold and when you take shower the shower doesn't protect floor area from water, so you have all floor completely wet after every shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.5
    Palermo Mercure Excelsior City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We were on third floor - the WiFi was hopeless. Would not stay connected. Friend had an iPhone and I had a HTC phone. WiFi was very unstable on both phones. There is NO air-conditioning available until MAY. Our room had skylights which we could leave open for fresh air and circulation. Two Mercure Hotels (one is Excelsior City) quite close to each other. Be aware when getting taxi and buses.

    Breakfast was plentiful. Bed comfortable. Staff most helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entry on side street a little difficult to locate initially and awkward to access with baggage, hotel used by tour groups (including mine) so often the lobby or breakfast room could be crowded. Green shutters on windows and curtains in need of cleaning as covered with road grime.

    Beautiful palazzo-style building with high ceilings and ornate fittings, located beside a major street with public buses but within walking distance to central area with sightseeing, shops, restaurants. Rooms spacious and well equipped as were bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location for shopping and landmarks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from cars around the hotel and pollution in Palermo is unpleasant.

    The staff was very helpful and cheerful at all times. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Disappointed at the parking!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertisement claiming parking at property when there clearly isn't any!!!! TV in the room didn't work!!!

    The ease of booking on Booking.com the cost for the room the bathroom was brilliant!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was just fine.

    Everything just fine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    Fantastic local breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy on the first floor. Bathroom could have been cleaner.

    Fantastic local breakfast. Great waiters.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    The accommodation was excellent and we had a great view of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged twice but they did eventually refund the $2000.

    The accommodation was excellent and we had a great view of a park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Best hotel in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the historical centre.

    Excelent staff, very good breakfast and a clean hotel. Close to the bus stop

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    5.4
    The nice location with nice shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so dated. It needs a big lifting

    The nice location with nice shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Good position. Large room and very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.5
    A good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to be refurbished

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.3
    Old glory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old glory

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Excellent would deffinatley stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired in places but the staff and the food made up for it

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly faded glory but very grand...

    Grand hotel, very large room, great facilities, great breakfast, nice location just outside the centre...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    excellent to stay working or in holiday
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    bedroom separated by bathroom and wardrobe area and windows in every room excellent!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Grand old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grand old hotel. Value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    LOVED this hotel. exceptional value for money. epic location. beautiful rooms and balconies and view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i loved the room!!! comfy bed. breakfast looked great but i had to leave straight away for airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.5
    We’ were facing the main road which was very noisy , it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’ were facing the main road which was very noisy , it might pay to offer ear plugs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    Needs upgraded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs upgraded. Lovely old hotel with emphasis on old

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming hotel. Five stars staff. Absolutely clean. Huge rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Exceelnt location, great staff but poor poor shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was awful. No water pressure at all

    Location, fitness centre, kettle in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Good place. I recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Size of the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv

    Place n location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Everything is ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tables

    fruit

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.0
    Runned down.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Runned down.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking policy. Very difficult to park .

    Comfort Staff Room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    My group had a great time at the Mercure Excelsior
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Only there 1 night but would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driving in Palermo is an experience!!

    Great breakfast. Beyond our expectations. It was really a Brunch fish, desserts etc etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Great balcony!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great balcony! Good Sicilian breakfast Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, great breakfast, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I

    Selection was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel near city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    we liked the location as is very close to city center, public transportation and local restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak airconditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    The beds were wonderfully comfortable, the bathrooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were wonderfully comfortable, the bathrooms exquisite and the staff were absolutely fantastic

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Great front desk help

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    very good stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    much noice from the street

    very well located, close to town center and to the bus stop from the airport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Very safe part of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very safe part of town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Décoration

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfasts. Large comfortable and quiet room. Centrally located close to the historic downtown Palermo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.1
    Reception and public areas were very spartan and not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception and public areas were very spartan and not welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi slow

    Rooms are large and quiet staff isexcellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.5
    Great place to sightsee
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Celine and Claudia on front desk were charm personified... All staff were friendly and efficient

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Fair value.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.2
    Central Palermo hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast selection a bit dull - the scrambled eggs were almost inedible

    Position next to parks and short walk to the touristy areas

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wonderful hotel. the staff is a 10. we will return!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    10
    The facility is really good and the staff very professional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Internet could be faster, but it is a very minor issue

    The facility is really good and the staff very professional and friendly, we arrived early and one of the room was nor yet ready. They changed the room and accommodated us all immediately. The breakfast is great, with some local specials. The location is very convenient, near the new center and the shopping area.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    7.5
    It was pretty good for off-season, late night Palermo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I wouldn't stay in central Palermo if I didn't have to as parking, traffic etc. are grim but that's no reflection on the hotel.

    It was pretty good for off-season, late night Palermo. Breakfast was superb. Otherwise didn't stay long enough to judge.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.8
    Very good room, perfect breakfast, good internet, free of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There were different peopole on reception, some were good some - not really, however that did not spoil the impression.

    Very good room, perfect breakfast, good internet, free of charge printer, generally - a very nice hotel

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mercure Palermo Excelsior City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: