Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Holiday Inn Express Parma 3 stars

Via Naviglio Alto 50, 43100 Parma, Italy

#14 of 31 hotels in Parma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 917 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A 40 min walk to the down, in a strange area.

    Decent hotel, did the job for what we needed. A little bit out of town but a large car park which we needed. Friendly staff and the breakfast was okay! For anyone wanting to visit Parma it's worth considering this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms have poor wifi/internet connection

    Everything perfect, but the wifi connection which is not equally smooth over all the rooms. This means a huge problem for me, who am usually staying on business trips. For anything else, it's just plain top notch - room, mattresses. restroom, breakfast etc - one of the best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative thing that I'd say about was the fact that in the shower the bottle of shampoo was empty and I had to go to the reception and ask the staff for a new one.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was really nice in the morning. The room was super cozy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on a trip in the North of Italy and the hotel was the most expensive with the worst price/quality. Breakfast was poor.

    The room was ok. The bed was large and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilette broke and needs to be fixed. No compensation..

    The breakfast was very good and had lots of variety. The lady at the front desk was excellent in providing details about the hotel and surrounding area restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to fault.

    Excellent one night stop hotel. Reception manager was really helpful and the bar staff. Room was immaculately clean and fine for 2 adults and 2 kids. Power shower was great and loads of towels provided. Breakfast was a good selection. Hotel is near motorway but only 5 mins by taxi to the centre of Parma.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel wi fi did not seem to work. Our room was slightly too warm. Everything else very good.

    The staff were very personable - better than usual for a large hotel chain. Luigi on reception was most helpful and Caterina our waitress was delightful and even taught us some Italian! Delighted we found this great place to stay at short notice at a very good rate!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was a very good self service buffet . The hotel had everything that you'd expect a modern hotel of this type to have and the staff were very helpful. Its location is very good, being 10 minutes drive from the centre of Parma,parking is easy just outside the centre, and walking into the centre is no problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location wasn't good. It was far from the city center, requiring a taxi every time we needed to go anywhere.

    The staff was accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was included and not bad at all. In short, this hotel is your basic Holiday Inn Express.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not expect too mouch , so I think all was ok .

    Nice place for one night to stay , we had family room ( 4 persons ) for fair fee with suprising big breakfast .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting there was not simple. We could not have found it if not for the assisting GPS system in our car.

    My wife and I arrived soon after midday. The staff was very kind to accommodate us nicely. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and we found the quality of the meals we had ordered to be excellent in presentation and taste. It was a wonderful service by their staff. Multi gratzie!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far to walk into town

    It's a good hotel if your going to watch Zebre rugby as it's a 15 min wal k to the ground. The Hotel was cheap, clean and staff friendly and helpful. Either a 30 mind walk or 5 mind taxi ride into town, cost 9-10€. Hotel also easy to find if your driving as it is located just off the motorway.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not in the waling distance to anywhere, a car is mandatory if you want to stay in this hotel

    Hotel has lots of parking space and room is quite big and clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really close to the airport. The cab ride was cheaper from the center of the city. If you need to get to the airport, better take the shuttle than a cab. Also, dinner is overpriced.

    Overall nice for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and friendly. Evening meals were available if wanted. The position of the hotel on the edge of Parma suited us well and the reception staff provided a useful map of the city and clear instructions about driving into the city and where to park.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed for the evening and so we ended up eating at a McDonalds - but apart from that it was a great experience

    We have stayed here several times in the past and as always, it was a great overall experience - perfectly placed close to the A1

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not as good as other holiday inns that we have stayed at across europe but i would still be back here if i was in the area.

    The food in restaurant was awsome and very well priced. No need to go out. Its a holiday inn, you know what to expect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    :))

    Great location. We stopped for the night as we were on our way to Rimini for holiday. Great location/hotel to stop overnight for a good night sleep. Good food too.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was not exactly right on the highway nor in the historic center and I wasn't sure if it was going to be in a decent neighborhood at first. It was a bit away from everything, not a lot of restaurants around. However, it was quiet and the drive was no more then 5-10 minutes away from the highway.

    This was a comfortable, quiet stop on a busy 2-week journey. It didn't have the quaintness or the history of many of the places we stayed, but it was clean, had a restaurant to feed 4 tired and hungry travelers, and was reasonably priced.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address in Booking.com is no correct! It is NOT Via Naviglio Alto, BUT INSTEAD Strada Naviglio Alto!! My Navi system couldn't find it!!

    Really convenient, great value for money and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal weren’t so friendly

    it is an Hotel just to stay one night .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable with good staff and on site restaurant. Also underground car parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    clean modern rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel exceeded my expectations in every area. The accommodation, staff, catering and location are all first class for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy but I suppose that depends on other clients!

    Good facilities with on site restaurant and plenty of parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    big rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very basic, most hotels offer a much better breakfast with more choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place to stay. Excellent service and great food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location if you are visiting Zebre Rugby and also want to spend some time in the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing near the hotel but great for an overnight stay.

    Clean quiet room. Safe parking. Decent on site restaurant for dinner. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Fridge in the room

    The concierge put some food for us in the fridge overnight as their was no fridge in our room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location & poor staff service

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not suitable for no car traveller.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for the money we paid, this room was big, comfy, quiet, good wifi, good breakfast, good parking facilities and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable bed; good location;nice staff; clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet could had more space and quality

    Quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was simple, cosy and modern. The breakfast was very satisfying.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Luigi front desk was the best!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money! An enormous bed. You could get lost in it...😉

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a very good average hotel nothing bad nothing very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The. Shower in the en-suite leaked on to the floor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly multi-lingual staff, high quality food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good breakfast, friendly staff, quiet location close to the centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was very average.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great staff, both at reception and in the restaurant. I appreciated the free bike rental!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could not sit outside

    Nice bed, goodwill breakfast, everything ver clearing and friendly people

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice stuff. Very nice rooms and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are nice, the staff is friendly and you get a decent breakfast. The bar is open 24 hours, which is nice if you want to get a nightcap.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside the town, staff ok but Could be better.

    On the way to toscana it was a good alternative.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    a bit far from Parma city center

    not far from higway to the south / breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The breakfast was OK but not exceptional, the machine hot chocolate came straight from the witches' cauldron in Macbeth. The Nesquik powder preserved our family harmony however.

    Great location for stop over when motoring south - halfway between the motorway and the town centre with parking. Very friendly and helpful staff who gave an excellent restaurant recommendation.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My GPS still found it a little confusing to get from the motorway to the Hotel. The signs could be little more prominent.

    This was our fourth stay at this Hotel, the staff, as before were accommadating and friendly and the food was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The access is a little confusing although we know it well now. We think the roads have changed and the GPS hasn't!!

    We have stayed at this hotel a few times and it is always excellent. The staff are friendly, the rooms and beds are clean and comfortable and the food is really good. We particularry enjoy the breakfasts. We will be back in a couple of weeks.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    They told us the wrong time for breakfast on Saturday and we arrived too early. However, they opened up the breakfast area early for us and we just had to wait for coffee to be made.

    The bedroom was roomy and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. The best of our trip.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was limited room service in the afternoon.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms are light and airy and a good size and there were a lot of facilities near to the hotel including a park to walk the dogs in. We picked up a parking ticket on an evening out and the waiter at the hotel explained we could pay it at the post office down the road.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms are pretty small Overall it's an old hotel Breakfast was very simple, not much choices Not worth the price we paid to stay, could be cheaper due to the age of the hotel and simplicity.

    Staff is friendly and despite the fact that it's an old hotel, it's pretty well maintained.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The map we were given had the location of the hotel marked in the wrong place - about 1km closer to the city than in fact it is. This is unacceptable.

    Clean, functional.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    slow wifi with even slower login procedure (it's just a few steps but it takes forever to load), air con always on when you're not in the room, therefore it's cold, location quite far from the city and public transport (tough a short path would significantly shorten way to bus station)

    Huge and comfortable bed, clean room, wide choice at breakfast, free parking

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No minibar (not even refrigerator) in the room. A bit out of town.

    Good hotel, comfortable but rather small room. A bit far from the city center but we had a car, so ti was no problem. Perfect for 1 or 2 nigths stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No minibar in the room. Located far from the center. May be preferred if you travel by car. We found how to turn on the conditioner but could not switch it off and have to switch off all electricity.

    Comfort and clear lodging. Very bright and spacious. Useful free parking.Quick check-in.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel full of kids and parents to attend football match nearby; very noisy but it was likely atypical; room not carpeted; AC and/or heat needs to be controlled by front desk, a fact we did not hear on checkin; thermostat is apparently for show; needed to come down to desk late in the evening to find out why we had no AC.

    Best breakfast we had while traveling 3 weeks in Europe; nice modern hotel. Parma location is great while traveling the A1 rome to Milan.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was one stay member whosnname escapes me but who was extremely helpful and made our staff cery pleasant He dod everything he could to ensure our family was looled after!

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Couple

    Restaurant menu extremely limited. You don't expect fresh chef prepared meals at this style of hotel but a wider range of high quality pre-prepared options would make this a true service rather than a last resort. The breakfast was fine.

    No quirks. Just basic clean modern accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Couple

    A pleasant experience. Nothing to complain about. The standard of the hotel was typical of what is to be expected from a Holiday Inn Express. Pet friendly.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast selection could be enriched.

    Size of room and cleanliness good, staff great. Good parking

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    well placed for our travel purposes. City centre reasonably close by, but Parking was available thjere after a short drive

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is helpful, restaurant has simple but good food.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place in total

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restutant is poor -

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant is not very good

    Location good for my customer, maybe not for holiday

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything about the hotel was excellent. I'll recommend it a million %

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very welcoming, polite, and friendly staff. Good cuisine. Miss Stefania at the reception is excellent in her duties.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Couple

    Easy to access from motorway. Ample car parking. Good restaurant.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Holiday Inn Express Parma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: