Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fabricia 4 stars

Localita Magazzini, 57037 Portoferraio, Italy

#30 of 57 hotels in Portoferraio

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 306 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value with great pool and garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit smelly in the evening sometimes and we’d rather have a bed with one matress

    really nice outdoor pool and garden area. This was amazing and well cared for. Our room sometimes smelled a bit funny and the bed was a two matress double bed so less comfortable when you’re a couple. Would reocmmend to visit the area with a car or renting a scooter to viait the island as you have to cross a busy mountain road to get there. But overall great value and great outdoor life, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    4.2
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a really dirty beach and unfortunately I have to be honest but it is not a 4 stars as they mentioned.. it could be slightly 3 stars hotel ... a lot to improve

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    The whole thing was lovely . Lovely hotel , smiling friendly staff , beautiful pool , lovely beach . Able to swim off a jetty . Wonderful views . Please tell them

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Idyllic Elba Family Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very Italian family hotel with excellent staff and a surprisingly good restaurant ,great pool and overall facilities, although a little tired it made up for it in character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    5.8
    Handy hint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a very unpleasant smell. The restaurant had constrained dining options but there is a wonderfull little restaurant 100m further up the main road.

    The pool was very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.0
    Management needs serious training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front desk staff were not good at communicating with each other. We were to change rooms on the second day of our stay because our initial room was right above the kitchen and noisy. In the morning, whilst confirming our room change we were told that we could change our room anytime after 12h30 to allow for cleaning. We asked specifically if we could come after lunch at 14h00. We were told yes. When we came back, we were told by another front desk manager that we should have packed everything so that staff could have moved us earlier. We told the manager that that was not what we were told in the morning. The manager said that the other staff member could not have said to come at 14h00 as that would not allow enough time to clean the room we were vacating. As a very frequent traveler, I had made it a point of specifically asking if it was alright to move rooms at 14h00 as this is not the first time I have encountered such a situation. I am sorry to say that the manager was just short of being insulting. Story not over! When we asked the following day if we could have lunch at the hotel, we were told that this was possible at the poolside bar open until 18h00. We further inquired about the menu at the poolside bar and we were assured that indeed our choice was possible and that the bar was open until 18h00. When we arrived at 13h30 there were no tables available. We asked the waitress to inform us when a table became free. We waited about 40 minutes whence we were told that our choice was no longer available. We were lucky to find a restaurant nearby that served us after 14h30.

    Very good salt water swimming pool, cleaning staff very friendly and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Super clean, nice staff, excellent food and great pool for an affordable price!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe air conditioning in the rooms, but we were there in May during the off-season so they weren't turned on yet.

    Staff was extremely nice and welcoming, with great suggestions for food and beaches to check out in the area. The entire property, including the rooms, were super clean and spotless. The food at the restaurant was excellent. Pool was huge and super nice. All the outside maintenance was well-kept up too. Overall it was a great stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    4.2
    BRITS BEWARE!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was severely under staffed, we had to keep going upstairs to reception to get someone to get us a drink from the bar as no one manned it despite being "open" from 3.30pm onwards. The cocktails were a joke and overpriced. The hotel on a whole was out dated and desperately needed refurbishing from the dining room, to the sun loungers and even the moldy sun umbrellas. The bathroom in our bedroom was small and pokey, I am quite slender (size 12) and even I i found it difficult getting in and out of the tiny shower! Towels were old and needed replacing. Blankets in the cupboard gave my husband awful allergies and smelt like moth balls. I wish I had taken my own toiletries as the complimentary ones were very budget. Compared to some quite flash 5* hotels we have stayed in, the price for Fabricia was comparable and far too expensive for what it was. We were looking forward to the buffet breakfast the next morning and oh what a let down. Tinned fruit, budget cordial juice and the bare minimum in bread/toast and conserves :( Lastly, the butter at the buffet breakfast smelt like cheese and was clearly off. Lucky my husband spotted it as I am pregnant and cannot afford to get sick!

    The pool was nice but when you dived in it was salt water and stung your eyes. The grounds were pleasant with nice trees and ferns. They had a few items at breakfast available for my husband who is gluten free.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    nice place,but the room is too small and bed is not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two Connecting Double Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nice place,but the room is too small and bed is not comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Totally disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was old, but not in a good way. Outdated.

    The garden and the view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.3
    Enjoyable but expensive for what you got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning did not work. Interior design old fashioned. Salt water pool took some getting use to.

    Good food Beach jetty Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.9
    good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach smal and full of seaweed, not possible to swim there.

    Staff friendly and professional

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.0
    The breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel.needs refurbishment

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    5.0
    Italian food is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We went for dinner, which was supposed to occur between 7:30 and 9:30 pm. Salads and sweets were supposed to be buffet, however when we arrived at 8:30pm, most of it was gone and there were no plans to bring more. We were offered a bottle of wine as an excuse for the inconvenience, but that was the last time we stayed for lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant.

    Italian food is great

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.8
    swimming pool and outdoor area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    furniture is a bit tired, rooms should be renovated but all clean

    swimming pool and outdoor area peaceful garden where you can find privacy breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.5
    I liked that there was more than enough to do at the hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel could do with a makeover.

    I liked that there was more than enough to do at the hotel; swimming, tennis, beach, ping pong, or just relaxing around the pool. We did not need to leave if we didn't want to. Personally, I liked no wifi in the hotel room. Reception in the hotel lobby and next to the swimming pool was good.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.7
    The staff was really helpful and gave us good suggestions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the room was outdated with problems with TV, wifi and in the bathroom. Bad impression for a 4-star hotel. Many people stayed in the lobby to use the wifi as it was not working in the rooms. The private beach was quite small and not special at all. The hotel was far from everything and not easy to access with a bad public transportation.

    The staff was really helpful and gave us good suggestions. The pool was very nice and big.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.3
    Lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool was a bit too warm but spent most of the time in the sea.

    Lovely place. Always loungers available. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed the food - particularly the anti-pasta buffet for the evening meal. Sea is beautifully clear when there's an offshore wind and a lovely view from the small private beach across to Portoferraio. Had rooms in the annex on the ground floor with a shaded terrace. Quiet and peaceful. Great base for exploring Elba (we had a car). Took the snorkelling trip with the dive school which was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.2
    The hotel was set in lovely gardens with a lovely pool &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The decor was a bit faded & had been patched up. There was a slight smell of dampness in the bar area but the only thing that detracted from our enjoyment was that the air-con in our room produced a very unpleasant smell & this was never resolved properly. Some of the staff on reception weren't friendly or welcoming.

    The hotel was set in lovely gardens with a lovely pool & direct access to the beach. The food was wonderful & fantastic value for money. The waiting staff were outstanding - very friendly & very attentive & looked after us very well. Our chambermaid was lovely & very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.6
    Fabulous, large saltwater pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience but wifi connection is erratic and you definitely need a car as the bus service is poor, the hotel is five miles from Porteferraio and there isn't much else around.

    Fabulous, large saltwater pool. Great staff, particularly the waiters who were extremely professional but also fun and friendly. The evening meal was incredible value for money, four wonderful courses of good Italian food

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    7.9
    The location of the hotel and the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were unconfortable, very old and used ones. There was no WIFI at all. The breakfast was the same every day and there isn't any vegetable options. Unfortnately there is no option of quiet room, as from one side there is a generator and a construction. From the other side there is the restaurant where they were prepairing the breakfast from 7 am,

    The location of the hotel and the beach.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    10
    All staff work exceptionally hard to make everything perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pool was less clear than last year, which is a shame because it is a beautiful pool in which to swim for exercise or just relax.

    All staff work exceptionally hard to make everything perfect

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    10
    Private beach, pool, and other facilities are comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had dinner in the restaurant of the hotel, but the service was sometimes too slow to wait.

    Private beach, pool, and other facilities are comfortable even for families with small kids.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    Private beach, excellent facilities, extremely friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quite isolated, but that is part of the appeal.

    Private beach, excellent facilities, extremely friendly staff and lovely restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    10
    the outdoor parts are very charming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we were a bit disappointed by the quality of the breakfast but the say was great nonetheless

    the outdoor parts are very charming

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: